Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rubberbandits

• 14-11-2012 12:50am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17

Thought this was amusing. How do people think they will do in the UK?? I hope they do very well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

M.Saggot wrote: »
    I hope they do very well!

Do you now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 M.Saggot

Sorry??

markesmith wrote: »
    Do you now?

I do.

Sorry??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

That is terrible and i felt embarrassed just watching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I don't find them funny at all, tbh.

Well somehow that absolute shite Mrs Browns' Boys was successful, then I see no need why they shouldn't be.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Not their best work but I like the RBs

1210m5g wrote: »

Move along now...

Well somehow that absolute shite Mrs Browns' Boys was successful, then I see no need why they shouldn't be.

True that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

One of the worst songs on the album imo, they've done a lot better.

Still a great bunch of lads though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Usually I do enjoy their stuff but that was ****e you facking mug kant, innit bruv..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I must be getting old cos I just find this stupid rather than funny.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    One of the worst songs on the album imo, they've done a lot better.

Still a great bunch of lads though.

I think so too but this is the pilot for the new Channel 4 show so wondering how people think they will go down in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

That looks like Marty Morrissey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

It looks more like Sean Quinn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

You can almost see their entire faces now. The holes in the bags are getting bigger and bigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Good luck to them. I enjoy their satire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Disappointing effort from them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

That was quite shìt considering they're capable of much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

That neither looks nor sounds anything like Danny Dyer. Maybe that's the joke

This is their best song by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

dagdha wrote: »
    That looks like Marty Morrissey

Reminded me of Ant McPartlin in Bo Selecta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Who are they again now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

why do people pretend to not know who people are?

Because they don't know who they are maybe? Are you saying EVERYONE in Ireland (or the world) should know who the rabbitbandits are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

Loved Horse Outside.

Saw them in Edinburgh fringe this summer. Laboured and unfunny, v. disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Don't think they're funny at all. The horse outside song is f*cking irritating.

Whats up with the plastic bags on their heads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

neil_hosey wrote: »
    why do people pretend to not know who people are?

Cause they think they're cool, innit. Mongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

They're incredibly clever guys and really nice. I got them to draw me this;
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Alk87anCIAAAn45.jpg:large It's a picture of 2pac playing charades with an albatross, which is an anagram of an in-joke of theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I have no idea who Danny Dyer is, so I don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I have no idea who Danny Dyer is, so I don't get it.
    He's a liar with a big head. Jasus, keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Whats up with the plastic bags on their heads?

They've always done it. They've loads of money and can walk around without any hassle. Perfect.

That said, the holes in the bags are getting bigger and bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Yer man is class as Robocop on Republic of Telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭hoff1

Daniel S wrote: »
    They've always done it. They've loads of money and can walk around without any hassle. Perfect.

That said, the holes in the bags are getting bigger and bigger.

I think its the mask of choice when robbing shops around limerick city. Anyways wats ppls opinions of their pilot episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

hoff1 wrote: »
    I think its the mask of choice when robbing shops around limerick city. Anyways wats ppls opinions of their pilot episode

Was good to see them expanding to different characters (on tape, rather than the voices in their prank calls etc) and creating a lot of really quotable material like 'cost a fortune.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Was good to see them expanding to different characters (on tape, rather than the voices in their prank calls etc) and creating a lot of really quotable material like 'cost a fortune.'

Did you ever see someone pull a girl that was way out of their league?? A fat kid pull off a trick playing football that wouldn't come off again if he tried it 100 times?? That's what Horse Outside was to the RubberBandits. It was a decent, fun, one hit wonder.

Their show is just awful. You could see where they had blatantly ripped things off from the mighty Boosh etc. Wouldn't watch it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Did you ever see someone pull a girl that was way out of their league?? A fat kid pull off a trick playing football that wouldn't come off again if he tried it 100 times?? That's what Horse Outside was to the RubberBandits. It was a decent, fun, one hit wonder.

Their show is just awful. You could see where they had blatantly ripped things off from the mighty Boosh etc. Wouldn't watch it again.

Interesting you should say that Weldoninho cos Arthur Matthews tweeted that it was brilliant, Frankie Boyle ditto and Jenny Eclair proclaimed it to be a breath of fresh air for British comedy....Hey weldo yeah you ..fat kid...what league are you in again .. ?:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nW8BWdIR0gs

kostafurchun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Jenny Eclair proclaimed it to be a breath of fresh air for British comedy....

Grrrrrr :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

That Robogarda is pure shyte on Republic of Telly, rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

smash wrote: »
    Grrrrrr :mad:

Well it's not on RTE is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Not funny at all. Annoying accents.

Horse Outside was crap, RoboGarda is crap.

Humour for Simpletons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

There is a Irish protest thread over there ^^

And you are praying for the rubberbandits to do well ??

You are the problem.

:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

The RB's had a lot of promise at one time, but it got old fast. Mainly because the range of their work was very limited. Good but limited.

Watching this video I am reminded of the moment when Bart Simpson no longer made the audience laugh as the I Didn't Do it Kid and Rusty pulls him to one side and compassionatly tells him. "Hey kid, don't worry about what happened. You're trough is all."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

It's the same with most Irish acts, dustin, jedward, richie kavanagh etc etc
    All a bit embarrassing tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Their songs are like really bad GLC songs. I don't find their stuff funny, but hope they do well.
    The funniest thing they ever did was go onto Joe Duffy and make a tit out of Joe and some idiot caller that was saying Horse Outside was promoting drug use.

Not funny at all. Annoying accents.

Horse Outside was crap, RoboGarda is crap.

Humour for Simpletons.

That s just cos you know well you re the type of simpleton they take the piss out of and it hurts to admit it ...ha ha Im only messing I dont even know you :)

Self esteem issues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

It's the same with most Irish acts, dustin, jedward, richie kavanagh etc etc
    All a bit embarrassing tbh

Jedward aren't intended to be a comedy act, sometimes you'd wonder tho.