Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why are there so many hippies in Galway?

• 12-11-2012 11:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

Hippies, crusties, new agey types, call em what you like, why does Galway (and West Cork for that matter) attract so many of them?

Is it a physical aspect of these places or some historical factor? Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

I've noticed a lot of hippie drum circles there recently too op. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

TheBody wrote: »
    I've noticed a lot of hippie drum circles there recently too op. :pac:

Thats the worst kind of circle too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Hippies, crusties, new agey types, call em what you like, why does Galway (and West Cork for that matter) attract so many of them?

...they like the vibe. I remember lads going there in the early 90's, but I thought the whole tribe would be largely extinct by now. Good to know theres still a few left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Hippies, traditionally tend to home towards the west.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Frank.....have you ever pondered that you may just be a hippy magnet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

They took over after Galway was liberated from the Indians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Many of them are English & come here with a romantic notion of moving to the West of Ireland to get away from it all, to a place where there's no traffic, no commercialism and is rural and isolated.

Lord knows why they stay though.

benwavner wrote: »
    Frank.....have you ever pondered that you may just be a hippy magnet?

Oh, im not in Galway. I only go there under the most pressing circumstances.

Many of them are English & come here with a romantic notion of moving to the West of Ireland to get away from it all, to a place where there's no traffic, no commercialism and is rural and isolated.

Leitrim would be ideal.

Does it have anything to do with the gathering?

Leitrim would be ideal.

Does it have anything to do with the gathering?

Leitrim. The only county in Ireland that doesn't have any traffic lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Oh, im not in Galway. I only go there under the most pressing circumstances.

It doesnt matter.........if you are a hippy magnet, they just come to you. Have you checked outside yet tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Give them some credit, they have 1 set!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Everyone knows and stop pretending that ye don't. It's the mushrooms, plentiful and potent.

An absolute disgrace in this day and age. Surely a TD down there could sort that out.

benwavner wrote: »
    It doesnt matter.........if you are a hippy magnet, they just come to you. Have you checked outside yet tonight?

I know how to keep safe, I've made a cloak from the jobs pages of newspapers. I find they flee in terror.

Give them some credit, they have 1 set!

Not any more - They used to have traffic lights in Carrick-on-Shannon, but they were replaced a while back with a pedestrian crossing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

An absolute disgrace in this day and age. Surely a TD down there could sort that out.

A Hipple TD? :DThey have one down the road in Roscommon...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Not any more - They used to have traffic lights in Carrick-on-Shannon, but they were replaced a while back with a pedestrian crossing.

OUTRAGE!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

how do you define a hippie?

Why do hippies wave their arms around when they dance?

To keep the music out of their eyes, man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Links234 wrote: »

I used to get called a hippy for wearing a Slayer t-shirt when i was 15 so god only knows what qualifies you to be one these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Triangular

Sun sets in the west.

Think irritating, think wool, think very, very pretentious, think wool, think utterly useless, think lots of bad hair, think healing stones, think perma-culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

No need for traffic lights they don't have cars yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

From a distance cause they smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Horticulture in NUIG

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Claddagh and Connemara people like hippies and hippies in turn like Connemara people and people from the Claddagh. An un-usual combo, bit like Fr Jack and the rabbitts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Think irritating, think wool, think very, very pretentious, think wool, think utterly useless, think lots of bad hair, think healing stones, think perma-culture.

Point to where the hippie touched you on this hemp doll..

Ah no, they add to the laid back vibe in the city. They bring big woolly hair and colourfully dyed hemp clothing to the rainy, grey city. I don't find them particularly offensive.

Butterface wrote: »
    Point to where the hippie touched you on this hemp doll..

Nope, like i said i know how to protect myself.

And there'll be nothing going the other way either, shudder, I saw this hippy chick once with armpits more hairy and smelly than my own, because it's natural man, barf barf barf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

There is traffic lights in Manorhamilton now as far as I remember.

There's also loadsa hippies out that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Thats Galway, tourists, students, musicians, artists, poets and hippies. Not everyone's cup of tea I'll admit, but I loved it both as a student , and the couple of years it took me to drag my ass out of the place after I graduated. Great craic and met some of the most interesting people I've met in my life to date. And of course, some pretentious arseholes too, but they were in the minority

If I lived there now, the place would drive me mad, but still one of my favourite places to visit when I feel like getting away from it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Which came first, Galway or the hippies.

Sure we all elected a President Hippy from there to rule us, dat fella from the Lord of the Rings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

Its not something new I lived in Galway in the 90s and it was the same then and had been like that for a long time. I would take hippes crusties whatever you want to call them over schangers gorgers hoddies you get in most towns and cities these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

The shades are pure soft on green here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Stroll down Shop St and you'll find an African man standing on a box preaching about Christianity. Very heavy accent on him, hard to understand

There was an old women who used to do the same outside Supermacs.
    We are all going to burn in hell she promised! :eek:

The local theatre group doing Macbeth and the lads MacDuff and MacBeth hammering each other with swords on Shop St :D

Having a quiet lunchtime pint and Warty Nora arrives in begging money. :mad:

Knacker Dwarf who is ridiculously agressive. Is he still around?

Flash Gordon out in Mervue, harmless old man. How are the boys?

Such characters :pac:

I think it's the buckfast that attracts them! Can't beat some buckfast down at the Sparch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Mikemac1 Dwarf is Seamus still bopping around town.

All those smelly crusties, go to college as mature students while still claiming the dole. Spending most of there day on some pub on quay street. Till finally getting some BA in women's studies or philosophy. I've wandered into house parties in Galway, that would was crammed full of these crusties. 10 of them living out of a 2 bed crack den.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Let's bring back Salthill air show :) 100,000 people and all spending money.

Oh no, Galway Alliance against War won't like that :rolleyes:

They should be tossed into the bay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Back in the day, Judge Garavan offered to suspend a jail sentence for a crustie if he agreed to have a wash instead, crustie declined the offer.

The GPO used to be a great spot up until 05. It was and every man/woman spot. Hippies, chavs and CP's rejects. Cuba was a little bit more pedestrian. And around 03/04 it seemed like the chipper Costellos on Dominck Street was the best fast food joint in all of Connacht.
    As for hippie crustations, Claddagh beach has a few at nightime
    But then Galway hippies are scum, with some of them being very much snobbs.
    A lot of snobbery by Galway crusties who in-turn claim to be 'left wing' and opposed to 'the man'. No use to annyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Used to be plenty of new agers around Dunmanway. Not sure about now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

1210m5g wrote: »
    I used to get called a hippy for wearing a Slayer t-shirt when i was 15 so god only knows what qualifies you to be one these days.

Same here. "Hippie freak! With your Trable of Fitch t shirt!".

Or as I liked to call it, my Cradle of Filth T shirt.

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭sunrise91

And dreadlocks. Dreadlocks on white people is not a good look and we shouldn't have to endure this offence to our eyesight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

cos you can chill out in galway long term and nobody has a problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

I blame the movie 'into the west'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

sunrise91 wrote: »
    And dreadlocks. Dreadlocks on white people is not a good look and we shouldn't have to endure this offence to our eyesight :(

I like it! :D

hell, I'd nearly get dreadlocks myself! seems it would really irritate some stuck-up busybodies :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,344 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Haven't really noticed any time I've been there in Galway. A bit more carefree maybe but no hippies...

You serious Leitrim has no traffic lights?! :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

mikemac1 wrote: »
    They should be tossed into the bay!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭ArtyC

eh cause its got " the roisin"

Like Roisin Dubh myself but its the only place some of them will go cause they can talk to likeminded people- ie bitch about bands/ shops/ festivals people have actually heard of.....cause their not sheep like ya know like!

Fuinseog wrote: »
    I blame the movie 'into the west'

On another note. 'Tayto' was Joe Canning's old college nickname.
    But not anymore since he lost the weight this year.

ArtyC wrote: »
    eh cause its got " the roisin"

Like Roisin Dubh myself but its the only place some of them will go cause they can talk to likeminded people- ie bitch about bands/ shops/ festivals people have actually heard of.....cause their not sheep like ya know like!

Well over the last two years the music in downstairs R Dubh has got decidely worse. All those horrible 'mesh-up's'. A type of music started by and perfected by the group 2 Many Dj's. They are playing this Friday in the Olympia and their damm good. However any in-house DJ that attempt what they do, really do sound like pants.
    Just play one good song after another and then another.
    Not the mix of 2 and even 3 songs basterdized together to form a poxy tune.