Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CustomPC.ie

• 12-11-2012 12:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

Three weeks ago I ordered a desktop off CustomPC.ie for a little over €900. They managed to send me the computer within 4 days, which was 6 days earlier than their average dispatch times. I was ecstatic, and I immediately plugged it in and was ready to try it out. :D

However, you know how this song and dance goes. It eventually dawned on me that the disk drive wasn't working properly. I contacted their support service numerous times and eventually got through to someone, who had me check if the wires behind the drive were inserted properly. There was no issue with the wires, yet the drive was still inoperable. He insisted that I package up the computer and that I have it ready for tomorrow, since presumably he would have ordered for a pick up. :confused:

No pick up the next day because he only bothered to make the request that morning, making me wait the entire Bank Holiday weekend. Come the following Thursday, the courier finally arrives, two days late. In contrast, CustomPC promised me on that Wednesday that they would phone up Fastway about the missing pick up, and then contact me the next day. No such thing happened, leaving me to sort it out myself. I rang Fastway, they acknowledged and apologized for the error, before sending out the courier an hour later. They also mentioned that they received no word of a late courier from CustomPC. It means that Fastway were lying to me, or that CustomPC just simply didn't bother to call them at all and completely neglected my problem. :(

The computer finally arrived at their premises the following Wednesday. CustomPC then e-mailed me saying that they couldn't find any problems with the drive, insisting that it was working fine, which obviously means that it probably fixed itself up while en route to their offices. ....and yes, I'm being sarcastic. :rolleyes:

Now, the computer is due to return to me sometime today, so hopefully when it arrives it will actually be working, and I won't have to go through all this crap again. :mad:

All in all, CustomPC have been ultimately unsatisfactory. While Fastway's lack of punctuation was definitely a contributing factor, at least they maintained the decency to respond and even apologize to me for their mess-ups. CustomPC lacked any sort of persistence with Fastway, and didn't even apologize to me for the damaged computer or for their inability to contact me when I needed their help. They take ages to reply by both phone and e-mail, they make promises that they don't keep, and pretty much come off as a company that makes only the minimal effort necessary to help its customers.

I wouldn't go as far to say that they're terrible, since their computers are nice and the customization options are commendable, but their customer services lack any degree of professionalism. I was nice and civil during all of my dealings with them, yet they didn't seem to bother with me at all. A shame. No customer should have to go through all this stress to get a damn machine fixed, and I'm sure that taking a few minutes of their time to keep in contact with me and sort things out with the courier wouldn't have been that costly to them. :o

To any future buyers, be wary of their customer support. They are far from ideal, and there is some serious room for improvement.
    Tagged:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Jaysus, I don't think much of what they have on offer, so probably not going onto my "supplier" list anyway. Very expensive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

why did you buy off them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

areyawell wrote: »
    why did you buy off them?

A few friends of mine recommended them, and I took their word for it. This whole situation has been a mighty slap on the face for me. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

Hardwareversand.de - it's in Germany but zey are vey efficient and very cheap

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Those Pc's are a rip off and some with very poor parts. Could build a pc from hardware versand for half the price. Graphic cards in most of the PC's are rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

areyawell wrote: »
    Those Pc's are a rip off and some with very poor parts. Could build a pc from hardware versand for half the price. Graphic cards in most of the PC's are rubbish

There is the GTX 560 ti, which can run the likes of Crysis and Battlefield 3 at very high settings and at least 4xAA without much hassle. I've had no issues with it so far.

But I agree, the variety of high-end cards isn't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Jonny7 wrote: »
    Hardwareversand.de - it's in Germany but zey are vey efficient and very cheap

I see what you did there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

If I'd have ordered at their prices I'd expect it delivered delievered Christina Hendricks and a soapy ... to have been forthcoming.

I suggest the Small Claims Court if you have future problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 DeanG117

would you be able to tell me if the computer you got off custompc.ie was good quality? because im considering buying a budget gaming computer off them and im concerned of there legitimacy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 295 ✭✭joetoad

DeanG117 wrote: »
    would you be able to tell me if the computer you got off custompc.ie was good quality? because im considering buying a budget gaming computer off them and im concerned of there legitimacy.

get one from hardwareversand, can build a decent gaming pc for 400 or less. There budget pcs are crap and so are most of their dearer ones. Start a new thread in this forum. hardware versand will put it together for 20 euro

Thanks for the reply,

Im am leaning towards them alright.

but price aside, do custompc.ie supply the computer well built would you know?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 295 ✭✭joetoad

Thanks for the reply,

Im am leaning towards them alright.

but price aside, do custompc.ie supply the computer well built would you know?

I don't follow, custompc are made of cheap parts and crap overpriced components. hardware versand deliver them built but you pick the parts

so would this computer be over priced and made of crappy components?

Intels H61 Chipset
    Hard Disk Size: 500GB Hard Disk
    Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 1GB GTX 650Ti
    CPU Upgrades: Intel G850 - 2 Cores - 2.9Ghz
    System Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz Memory
    Wireless - Wifi: 150 Mbps Wifi Internal Card

im on a budget gaming build and this costs €555.39 including assembly and delivery

i understand that the german site would be cheaper but they only accept bank transfers and paypal (dont have) i like the comfort of paying with a credit card as it comes with certain guarantees. also id be concerned of customer services from a company all the way in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

i understand that the german site would be cheaper but they only accept bank transfers and paypal (dont have) i like the comfort of paying with a credit card as it comes with certain guarantees. also id be concerned of customer services from a company all the way in Germany.

The customer service is very good , alot of people around here will testify about that . The following build I have specced up would walk all over that pc gaming wise and it is only €40 dearer but you would have to assemble yourself . You could get them to assemble it for another €20 if you wish .

Pc.JPG

The customer service is very good , alot of people around here will testify about that . The following build I have specced up would walk all over that pc gaming wise and it is only €40 dearer but you would have to assemble yourself . You could get them to assemble it for another €20 if you wish .

Pc.JPG

yes i was able to make alot of improvements to my build for alot cheaper =)

Im concerned about payment tho.

are you paying via bank transfer or paypal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Bank Transfer is the method of payment . In this day and age its very safe to do the transfer so I wouldn't worry about it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

I understand your concern but, I've used them and so have a lot of people in this forum. Hardwareversand is sound. The only thing is to check your spam filter for their e-mails after ordering. Then take the info into your bank and let them sort the transfer so, you'll know it's done correctly. It takes only a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

If they accept PayPal, just set up a PayPal account. It's free after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

There's a 3% charge for using Paypal so bank transfer is best if you can do it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i dont think they even accept paypal any more

indough wrote: »
    i dont think they even accept paypal any more

They do. I bought some stuff on there earlier using Paypal. Had to create a new account though using Gmail instead of Yahoo because for some reason on Yahoo I could only get a bank transfer payment option.

are you talking about hardwareversand? i just went to checkout on there and paypal is definitely not an option

indough wrote: »
    are you talking about hardwareversand? i just went to checkout on there and paypal is definitely not an option

Yes Hardwareversand. Must depend on what email you sign in on. Definitely is an option there.

There is a paypal option on the site using my hotmail email anyways.

the site says that they will assemble my computer for an extra 5 euro and delivery is only 18.99 euro?

is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

With new accounts on hwvs paypal is an option. Once you pay them with bank transfer I think the option is removed.

spix wrote: »
    With new accounts on hwvs paypal is an option. Once you pay them with bank transfer I think the option is removed.

it was removed from mine before i had bought anything, im wondering if it has something to do with the region set in the email account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 digimp

CustomPC.ie - STAY AWAY - BUY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

I am so sorry I didnt check the forums before buying from custompc.ie as it seems i am not the only one to have problems with this company.

The only thing I found them good at was charging my visa.

When I contacted them for support they gave me the runaround and oposite information to the component manufacturer and had me reinstalling windows to fix a faulty component which the manufacturer agrees to RMA as the item was a DOA component. CustomPC blamed everthing to avoid dealing witht the issue. When i returned the item to them they refussed to take delivery and it was returned to sender by courier as an undelivered item.

As i read in another post recently 'THEY ARE A JOKE'
    I could never recommend CustomPC.ie as they provided no customer care to me, just took my money!!!

MY ADIVSE, STAY AWAY - BUY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭bassybekx

Omg I wish i had of done a little more research on this company.. I ordered a 22inch LED monitor €116 including postage on the 1st of June .... guess what I'm still waiting.

I have tried calling their number no answer I have sent 3 emails .. no replies expect for the one confirming my order and payment ofc

i'm giving it to friday then I'm really going to take action.. this is the 8th working day 11th day since day of purchase .. you'd really think there would be some corresponsdance

If you payed with a credit card, I'd get on to them to cancel the order. Even if you get the monitor I'd say you'd get zero support from that crowd.

So Sorry to hear of another customer get caught with CustomPC.
    Also techdirect and laptopsdirectIreland are all the same company. It was these sites directed me to CustomPC for components and custom builds.

Please post to wherever you can to warn off everyone of this joke of a so called company.

I finally got my issue resolved by the manufacturer (no quibble replacement) but CustomPC offered no support, knowledge or returns. No contact via email or phone I would NEVER EVER deal with them again.

They should not be in business if they only take your money and offer no support or customer service.

PLEASE WARN OFF EVERYONE.
    We may have got caught be we can help avoid others falling into the same trap.

digimp wrote: »
    So Sorry to hear of another customer get caught with CustomPC.
    Also techdirect and laptopsdirectIreland are all the same company. It was these sites directed me to CustomPC for components and custom builds.

Please post to wherever you can to warn off everyone of this joke of a so called company.

I finally got my issue resolved by the manufacturer (no quibble replacement) but CustomPC offered no support, knowledge or returns. No contact via email or phone I would NEVER EVER deal with them again.

They should not be in business if they only take your money and offer no support or customer service.

PLEASE WARN OFF EVERYONE.
    We may have got caught be we can help avoid others falling into the same trap.

AGREED

i found their facebook page .. and i see that they do comment and like and post things quite a lot on there so I posted up on it http://www.facebook.com/custompc.ie

Out of interest does this mean .. I currently own that monitor because I have paid for it? therefore thats that the deal is done?...

Taken straight from their T&Cs

9. Risk/Title

The goods are at your risk from the time of delivery.
    Ownership of the goods shall not pass to you until the Supplier has received in full (in cash or cleared funds) all sums due to it in respect of:
    5.2.1 the goods, and
    5.2.2 all other sums which are or which become due to the Supplier from you on any account.
    The Supplier shall be entitled to recover payment for the goods even though ownership of any of the goods has not passed from the Supplier.

I guess you could say a contract of sale has been made as they took your money.......but then you got no monitor yet! so title cant pass to you. So you cant own what you didn't received.

I would get Visa to reverse the transaction. Visa have a dispute procedure where if you are defrauded they will refund you and Visa will recover the money from the supplier.
    I would ring visa and get them to open a dispute as your card was charged but you received nothing. This is a form of fraud the fact that you cannot contact them and they wont reply......they just took your money and then nothing????

They don't deserve the business when they treat their customers like this.

Stay away from Custompc.ie and their other companies.

I will leave it until contact visa after the full 10 working days are over but still the fact there has been no contact is extremely suspicious

I will in fact never be returning to them especially as a first time customer of them
    digimp wrote: »
    I guess you could say a contract of sale has been made as they took your money.......but then you got no monitor yet! so title cant pass to you. So you cant own what you didn't received.

I would get Visa to reverse the transaction. Visa have a dispute procedure where if you are defrauded they will refund you and Visa will recover the money from the supplier.
    I would ring visa and get them to open a dispute as your card was charged but you received nothing. This is a form of fraud the fact that you cannot contact them and they wont reply......they just took your money and then nothing????

They don't deserve the business when they treat their customers like this.

Stay away from Custompc.ie and their other companies.

Oops poor grammar XD

STAY AWAY FROM CUSTOM PC.IE

I though i would share the only contact I have actually had from this crowd in over 12 days since i purchased and order my monitor its a little bit scrambled (facebooks fault) but you'll get the gist.
    Sebastian Bekxposted tocustompc.ie
    16 hours ago ·

I have sent 3 emails almost across the last 2 weeks and you haven't responded to me .. I've been trying to call but your number doesn't work and i now see you have a Facebook page so maybe i will get your attention here.

All I am trying to find out is when i will receive the monitor I ordered and purchased (the payment has left my visa card) on the 1st of June? Can someone please get in touch?

Due to the negligence and lack of customer satisfaction my confidence in using this company again has in fact been very much discouraged.
    Like ·
    Katie Rooney, Japer Magonnaghue Johnston, Marius Kristensen and 2 others like this.
    Sebastian Bekx ok so now your cutting contact .. excellent
    Like · Reply · 17 minutes ago
    custompc.ie Please do whatever you see as being appropriate . Our staff are excellent at their jobs and our systems and procedures are proven . Our communications with our customers is over multiple platforms with the point proven again with the fact that we answered each comment from yourself . I have forwarded your comments to our roi manager for his consideration before I request a bar .

No further replies will be made on this forum until a manager has looked into your comments.
    Like · Reply · 19 minutes ago
    Sebastian Bekx Just done that theres nothing and the order still says "pending"
    Like · Reply · 11 hours ago via mobile
    Sebastian Bekx I have used both the form and my gmail through google.com
    custompc.ie You have been given details of how to contact various departments within custompc.ie . Please also note if you are not receiving emails the issue is at your end.
    Like · Reply · about an hour ago
    custompc.ie Then read the notes and or the emails the system sent as our staff updated the order . I cannot help further as this forum is not for order queries . Why not try manager@custom pc.ie tomorrow after 10 am.
    Like · Reply · 11 hours ago
    custompc.ie If you used the form the email would have been received and they would have replied . Please also note the telephone support number is for technical queries only and they would not be able to help you . Why don't you log into your order to view the emails and updates ?
    custompc.ie Please make sure your email server is not clocking the custompc.ie domain . If you believe this is possible use the contact form on the website .
    custompc.ie Please email sales@custompc.ie they reply to all emails within 2 hours during office hours .
    Sebastian Bekx I have .. several times

Also like to add since my last post they have delete the last 3 comments i made

well lads and ladies the good news is i finally received my monitor the bad news is that its the wrong one

they sent me this http://www.custompc.ie/aoc-e2250swnk-215-wide-led-black-1920x10805msvga-132775-p.asp

when i had in fact ordered this http://www.custompc.ie/aoc-e2250swdak-215-widescreen-led-glossy-black-multimedia-monitor-1920x10805msvgadvi-132773-p.asp

a multimedia monitor with DVI .. im that fuming at this company i dont care if they escaped with an extra 3 quid of mine .. i will never use this company again and i strongly recommend nobody else does ..

STAY AWAY FROM CUSTOMPC.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Ask for that 3 euro to be refunded.

I just sent the manager this
    well i received my monitor at last ... however its the wrong model ... I had ordered this http://www.custompc.ie/aoc-e2250swdak-215-widescreen-led-glossy-black-multimedia-monitor-1920x10805msvgadvi-132773-p.asp

you have sent me this http://www.custompc.ie/aoc-e2250swnk-215-wide-led-black-1920x10805msvga-132775-p.asp.

At this point I don't even care I am just happy to have a monitor although I will not be recommending this company and this was my worst experience in purchasing products online.

Regards

A lost customer

I would return this product under distant selling regulations. If you buy a product from an online retailer you are entitled to return for full refund without quibble or even without giving an explanation....THIS IS THE LAW. It exists as you have not had the opportunity to view or examine the product when bought on the internet.

You must return within 7 days under what's know as 'Cooling Off Period'. Get your money back and buy someplace else. They have to refund you its the LAW in Ireland and Europe.

Custompc.ie and their other companies Laptopsdirectireland and techdirect are a joke. They should not be allowed to trade.

I already know the regulations and laws .. to be honest .. Im not gunna sit and wait about for another monitor .. im gunna keep this one but like you said they are a joke and shouldnt be allowed to trade .. during my email correspondance last week with the manager ... he refused to fault his staff and insisted it was my fault for not receiving theyre emails regarding my order .. he contradicted himself though and they said that he was trying to pass blame onto me .. yet I re quoted him and eventually grew tired of the conversation .. however .. I will not and refuse to use or recommend this company again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

I would also return it. I'm the last person to be fussy over small things, but that cheaper one doesn't even have DVI. That's not good enough for a modern monitor.
    You could contact the National Consumer Agency (www.nca.ie) if you need some help, or just let him know that you'll be pushing if he doesn't accept replacement request.

Face it, if you don't return they have caught you like me and many more I'm sure. Its up to you but they don't deserve your business. I would return and be finished with their incompetence and bad business practices. It will cost you a few quid on shipping it back but you will have peace of mind forever more that you didn't get scammed. The LAW is the LAW so if you get any more runaround form this crowd remember your the one who is right.

I'd get in contact with the NCA and your credit card company to see what they say. You didn't get what you payed for so you should send it back. It sucks you got the VGA model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭MyNameIsBoxxy

That site sucks....I saw their ' i7 Extreme Gaming Machine' worth €1249 and it had a 650ti , i7 3820, crappy onboard stereo and a decent 8GB ram ?!?! That doesn't come with a monitor, ssd, mouse, wifi card, windows or even a cooler? With those specs their 'Extreme i7 Gaming Machine' should cost around €500....for €1280 I'm getting a CPU twice as good as that one, a GPU equivalent to a GTX 670, very good 8GB RAM, a good case, cooler etc and even a premium monitor and premium keyboard...for the same price I'm getting a compete gaming rig with everything needed...

That site is stupid, how aren't thy bankrupt if they're robbing people so much?
    My advice is to get a refund and buy a gaming rig that is worth it from hardwareversand. I heard something on EUs website about being able to return N online order for any reason besides you breaking it no matter what, in a 7 day period.

i only got the monitor from these ppl .. everything else is due to be here tomorrow from hardware versand.. which is why i dont want to send it back because i ordered this monitor on the 1st of june its now the 18th and it only arrived today .. iv had stuff cheaper and arrive faster from hong kong .. and these ppl are only an hour down the road .. surely .. the payment goes through the next day they grab it from the warehouse and max the following day it departs for my house absolute joke but thanks for the advice but im gunna keep it .. i eventually want 3 monitors so i'll be saving up and buying another one anyway .. just NOT FROM CUSTOMPC.IE

It's going to look crap against a monitor that has DVI though.

it'll do for now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

well from my experience with custom pc wen't rather well, now don't get me wrong they probably really liked me or they stepped up their game but i ordered a desktop from them for 500 quid, they also had a discount on too so it cost me 450 anyway everything went smooth but was running late so i emailed them and told them my pc was running late and they sent me a email back with the parcel info turns out it was in the van being delivered i was just the last stop so i didn't get it until about 7 or 8pm, that was in march and it's still running great it play's all the game's i want to play not a problem. so from my experience i would recommend but after everyone else post on here i think i might just keep it to myself i don't wanna have a friend buy from them and have it fall back on me for recommending them.