Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle lanes in Bus Lanes

• 10-11-2012 11:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭

I had this ridiculously stupid overtake from a Dublin Bus Driver. He beeped at me from a distance and didn't even move out to overtake. I'm no fool and of all the things drivers do on the road, I know when someone tries to put me in place. Don't be playing with my life, is what I say.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxDLGEX4idE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I love the commenters on the video. 1 day old account, obviously the aggrieved bus driver having a go ha.

But yea, that is a close overtake. Have you any response from DB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭deadlyspot.com

Yeah I have. I'm still working through that. I will be writing up a full incident report soon, similar in style to this, only much much longer.

http://deadlyspot.com/content/old-man-shaves-me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Looks like he was clearly using his bus to teach you a lesson there was almost no traffic in the other lane. He had loads of space to overtake properly but apparently made a different decision.

If we had a reliable national police service in this country it would be a case for.them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

This is disgraceful and happening all too regular on the roads these days.

Looks like I'll just have to escalate to the Operations Manager in Dublin Bus.

I had 2 different but related chats with Dublin Bus last week. The Bus Depot were playing blame the cyclist. They said I should be cycling into the left like a good little cyclist and this wouldn't be a problem. Seriously, what a load of tosh. They actually took no responsibility for the overtaking actions of the driver. They said that the BMW behind the bus was preventing the bus from pulling out further to overtake. Nonsense. If that was the case, then the brake pedal on the bus needed to be applied. But you can even see in this that the BMW was well back and the bus driver had indeed seen me from a long way back, so had plenty of time to pull out and make a proper overtake. What a load of nonsense.

I'm not going to stand for that kind of fobbing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Well done for this, you are representing all of us cyclists and you were very polite to the bus driver even though he could have killed you, not that being abusive would have got us anywhere nor, is it helpful.

It amazes me that day after day on my bike too I encounter such outright disregard for me and my bike and I am not doing any harm whatsoever to neither man nor beast. What is even more annoying is that so many people roll their eyes when you mention you cycle, and mutter how much they hate cyclists, claiming that we are all light crashing, pavement cycling maniacs.

Well done, hope this gets exposed further and some follow up actions are implemented.

Shame on that bus driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

OP I would disagree with your 'punishment' comment. As can be clearly seen from the footage, the bus attempted to leave the 'bus lane' and was forced to take avoiding action from a high speed car that obviously threatened to smash into him.

I actually think these lanes are both dangerous and super annoying. There is not enough room on the road IMO to section bits off and it sets up the attitude of 'drive/cycle in your f*** lane' from other drivers, IMO both bus and cycle lanes should be new additions to the road network, it is seriously impossible to share and is making ordinary streets into motorways with no stopping or parking or drop offs .... recipe for disaster, and when we see it from a trained public service driver, and he is obviously in shock too, if he's about to be hit by a high speed motorist because he is pulling out for you, human nature would make him pull back in again.

I think it's intolerable to be forced into that situation and I've been saying, as more and more of these stupid lanes go up around the country that there will be more cyclists deaths as a result, it's not a safer situation, the lanes just make incidents more possible fatalities with no escape room.

A dangerous situation for all IMO.

Thanks for the encouragement and support. No one at Dublin Bus has been able to impress me with the driver training that is given to drivers. There is no special training given. Nothing in their official training that is any different from what a standard motorist picks up in training. Very poor show considering the immense difference in vehicles. I'm very unimpressed with DB and their attitude towards cyclists.

At the very least, every bus driver should be made watch this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-71rEJNvMXQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

gbee wrote: »
    human nature would make him pull back in again.

Instinct comes into play; the instinct operates on your basic values - when this happens to me, I freeze in place, because the fragile 70kg human on the bicycle is identified in my unconscious value system as more fragile than my 1,000kg car. Drivers of 3 tonne buses should be re-educated to understand how fragile cyclists are.

A huge truck passed me way too close yesterday; I caught up with him and he told me that he'd left three feet clearance; I told him politely that this was too close, it was dangerous and he put my life at risk. When the lights changed he waved and took off, leaving a good two metres of clearance.

I'm really surprised and unnerved that Dublin Bus is defending that overtake of the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

Maybe I am seeing this wrong but in your video that was about the only time you actually cycles in the cycle lane most of the time you are cycling in the bus lane/road. Which is fine and legal and all that but I didn't understand why you don't stay left a bit more.

You do see in you video that the bus had car to his right as be passed you, the still moves out of the lane a bit to pass you.. I don't see the pass as being particular close either, sure I would love the 1.5mtr law here but we don't have it.

Often stopped to give out

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

gbee wrote: »
    OP I would disagree with your 'punishment' comment. As can be clearly seen from the footage, the bus attempted to leave the 'bus lane' and was forced to take avoiding action from a high speed car that obviously threatened to smash into him.
    Surely everyone knows he should not have attempted to overtake the cyclist if it was not safe to do so. The fault lies with the bus driver and no-one else. He should have remained a safe distance behind the bike and only attempted the overtake when there was sufficient room. If that's the quality of his drivng he should not be entrusted with driving a vehicle like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

DB are #1 in bad driving in my books, taxis a close second with "fare diving". The most infuriating thing is they will accelerate as hard as they can to overtake you even though both parties can see a stop 20yrds up the road with somebody with their hand out. And I'm no slow cyclist. I've had it happen 4 times in a row with the same bus.

Had one clip me before, took of at a roundabout without even looking out the double glass doors to his left, at least he was super apologetic unlike most of them.

Anyone know what the stopping distance of a dublin bus is? Some just love to sit on your tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

650Ginge wrote: »
    Maybe I am seeing this wrong but in your video that was about the only time you actually cycles in the cycle lane most of the time you are cycling in the bus lane/road. Which is fine and legal and all that but I didn't understand why you don't stay left a bit more.

You've made the same mistake as the bus driver. It's not a seperate bus lane and separate cycle lane. It's a shared bus and cycle lane - the space is intended for both. As the OP points out to the bus driver, there isn't space for both. There isn't room for a bus to safely pass a cyclist while staying in the lane. He has to pull out into the next lane.

The narrow minded bus driver reckons that as long as he stays out of the marked cycle lane, it doesn't matter how much or how little space he leaves for the cyclist.

It does matter how much space he leaves for the cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

Yeah I have. I'm still working through that. I will be writing up a full incident report soon

http://deadlyspot.com/content/old-man-shaves-me

Get out your tape measure before you do the write-up and consider including a drawing showing the widths involved (unusable portion of cycle lane, 50 - 80 cm buffer between cyclist and the unusable portion of the cycle lane, width of cyclist/handlebars, width of bus including mirrors, width of bus lane). Going by the video, I imagine that you'll be able to demonstrate that busses cannot overtake a cyclist (leaving 1,5 metres of space) without pulling out unless the cyclist swerves out into the road every time he or she encounters a drain and then swerves back into the gutter afterwards (maybe not even then.) Surely that's not what Dublin Bus wants?

a) because drivers would have to be wary of cyclists suddenly swerving out, and
    b) because drivers would have to be wary of cyclists clipping the kerb in a moment of inattention or skidding on wet leaves in the gutter and then falling into the path of oncoming busses (or at least dropping their bikes in front of busses)

If you can show that ANY cyclist holding a straight course would have exactly the problem you had because the clear width of the cycle lane is only xy centimetres, it makes it that bit harder to argue that you're a danger to yourself with your cycling style.

PS: Are you going over a sunken manhole cover as the bus actually passes you?

a danger to yourself with your cycling style.

I found the OP's cycling style remarkably safe. He cycles in a straight line, looking over his shoulder every 10 seconds to check for traffic behind him. He cycles at the safest distance from the kerb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭ibebanging

To me the cyclist was slightly to the left of the broken line, the bus driver was well clear of and did not intrude into the cycle lane during the overtaking manoeuvre. The cyclist needs to cop on and learn how to share the road.

ibebanging wrote: »
    To me the cyclist was slightly to the left of the broken line, the bus driver was well clear of and did not intrude into the cycle lane during the overtaking manoeuvre. The cyclist needs to cop on and learn how to share the road.

You've clearly missed the point. Looking at the available widths suggests that the driver should not have been in the bus/cycle lane at all if he needed to pass a cyclist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I can only go from the video, but to me it didn't look that close! :confused:

You've clearly missed the point. Looking at the available widths suggests that the driver should not have been in the bus/cycle lane at all if he needed to pass a cyclist.
    Why ? The bus and mirror were well clear of the cyclist during the overtaking manoeuvre. As the video shows the cyclist was the aggressor by approaching the driver of the bus, if he has an issue with the driver he should report to the guards to deal with.

So do you cycle much? Do you find that driving acceptable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭tony81

I had this ridiculously stupid overtake from a Dublin Bus Driver. He beeped at me from a distance and didn't even move out to overtake. I'm no fool and of all the things drivers do on the road, I know when someone tries to put me in place. Don't be playing with my life, is what I say.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxDLGEX4idE

Those shared lanes are a menace. However you seem to be a militant cyclist. It looks like you swerved sideways just as the bus was trying to pass you. Respect works both ways and the bus driver's job is stressful enough without someone trying to teach him a lesson.

Get out your tape measure before you do the write-up and consider including a drawing showing the widths involved (unusable portion of cycle lane, 50 - 80 cm buffer between cyclist and the unusable portion of the cycle lane, width of cyclist/handlebars, width of bus including mirrors, width of bus lane). Going by the video, I imagine that you'll be able to demonstrate that busses cannot overtake a cyclist (leaving 1,5 metres of space) without pulling out unless the cyclist swerves out into the road every time he or she encounters a drain and then swerves back into the gutter afterwards (maybe not even then.) Surely that's not what Dublin Bus wants?

a) because drivers would have to be wary of cyclists suddenly swerving out, and
    b) because drivers would have to be wary of cyclists clipping the kerb in a moment of inattention or skidding on wet leaves in the gutter and then falling into the path of oncoming busses (or at least dropping their bikes in front of busses)

If you can show that ANY cyclist holding a straight course would have exactly the problem you had because the clear width of the cycle lane is only xy centimetres, it makes it that bit harder to argue that you're a danger to yourself with your cycling style.

PS: Are you going over a sunken manhole cover as the bus actually passes you?

Thanks. I think the point is simply if you are cycling in a predictable way, there should be no reason why someone couldn't overtake you with enough room.

Getting into cycle lanes, widths of traffic lanes. This cycle lane was painted into an existing bus lane. The bus lane was only big enough for a car. There is no way a cycle lane and bus lane is existing separately here. When the bus goes past he is straddling 2 traffic lanes. He could have easily used the lane on his right giving me a lot more clearence.

Don't get fixated on the painted line, but observe the actual traffic.

tony81 wrote: »
    Those shared lanes are a menace. However you seem to be a militant cyclist. It looks like you swerved sideways just as the bus was trying to pass you. Respect works both ways and the bus driver's job is stressful enough without someone trying to teach him a lesson.

Are you looking at the same video? I'm not sure how you think I swerved sideways. That would be total madness. So you think I am a militant cyclist that is crazy enough to risk death to prove a point. That's simply absurd.

Maybe at some subconscious level. A martyr for cycledom. They'll scrape your mangled remains from underneath a db yet the camera will still be intact showing two db drivers double-teaming you....

I'm just saying maybe you should examine your own behaviour.

Edit: actually I'm being a bit silly there. Honestly though, i don't think it's as bad as you made it look (in fact, it didnt look bad at all) and it's a bit disgraceful that you're doing this to the driver.

Why don't you post his vid to the motoring forum and see if you have such a captive audience.

If you feel it was too close will you be reporting it to the Guards and if not why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

The biggest problem here is the city council has marked out imaginary cycle lanes in what is actually a shared lane.
    This gives the false impression that the bus driver just needs to keep outside the markings and gives cyclists (especially occasional ones) a totally false sense of security.

I think if a cycle lane is too small or basically mixing with traffic it shouldn't be marked. It's the city council saying : we have loads of cycle lanes : see we've painted very expensive lines on the road. When in reality they haven't put adequate investment into cycle infrastructure at all.

They did this in Paris and people referred to them as Suicide Lanes as using them was so dangerous.

They should scrub off those lines on that fake cycle lane and mark it 'shared lane' Bus & Bike.

Solair wrote: »
    The biggest problem here is the city council has marked out imaginary cycle lanes in what is actually a shared lane.
    This gives the false impression that the bus driver just needs to keep outside the markings and gives cyclists (especially occasional ones) a totally false sense of security.

Actually, this isnt correct. It's not one big shared lane.

The cyclist is obliged to use the cycle lane and keep within the broken line.

The bus driver is obliged to keep within the bus lane line and obviously must drive with due consideration for the cyclist.

So reasonably, a cyclist should not veer outside the cycle lane ( im not saying the op did), while a bus driver should not drive in the cycle lane if there's a cyclist in it...
    However the usual rules of passing at a safe distance apply.

One of the worst places in dublin is at drumcondra where militant cyclists insist on cycling in the bus lane despite the shared footpath/cycle lane. They have in their head that it's somehow not a "real" cycle lane so hey don't have to use it.

The laws on cyclists and bus lanes changed this year; posting this again:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2012/en/si/0332.html
    S.I. No. 332/2012 — Road Traffic (Traffic and Parking) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulations 2012.
    Bus Lanes

32. (1)(a) A bus lane shall be indicated by means of traffic sign number RUS 028 or traffic sign number RUS 029 used in association with traffic sign number RRM 024.

(b) A contra-flow bus lane shall be indicated by means of traffic sign number RUS 030 used in association with traffic sign number RRM 024.

(2) A person shall not enter a bus lane with a vehicle other than a large public service vehicle or a pedal cycle during the period of operation of the bus lane indicated on an information plate.

(3) A person shall not enter a contra-flow bus lane with a vehicle other than a large public service vehicle or a pedal cycle.

(4) A person shall not enter a bus-only street with a vehicle other than a large public service vehicle or a pedal cycle except for the purpose of access.

(5)(a) Sub-articles (2) and (3) do not apply to a vehicle crossing a with-flow bus lane or a contra-flow bus lane solely for the purpose—

(i) of entering or leaving premises or property adjacent to such a bus lane, or

(ii) of entering or leaving a road inset adjacent to such a bus lane in order to load or unload goods.

(b) Sub-article (2) does not apply to—

(i) a taxi or a wheelchair accessible taxi which is being used in the course of business, or

(ii) a vehicle authorised and identified in accordance with sub-article (6), being driven by a driver authorised under that sub-article, in which is being carried, a member of the Government, a Minister of State who regularly attends meetings of the Government, the Attorney General or the Ceann Comhairle, in the course of his or her duties as such.

Actually, this isnt correct. It's not one big shared lane.

The cyclist is obliged to use the cycle lane and keep within the broken line.

The bus driver is obliged to keep within the bus lane line and obviously must drive with due consideration for the cyclist.

So reasonably, a cyclist should not veer outside the cycle lane ( im not saying the op did), while a bus driver should not drive in the cycle lane if there's a cyclist in it...
    However the usual rules of passing at a safe distance apply.

One of the worst places in dublin is at drumcondra where militant cyclists insist on cycling in the bus lane despite the shared footpath/cycle lane. They have in their head that it's somehow not a "real" cycle lane so hey don't have to use it.

Incorrect. There is no legal obligation on bus drivers (or cyclists) to stay within bus lanes. A bus lane marking has a specified dimension that makes it it different to the solid white "do not cross" marking. Bus lanes in law are shared with cyclists - cyclists are specifically listed as designated users. Shared bus and cycle lanes are provided as a means of giving these modes an advantage not as some kind of " reservation" to which they are to be restricted.

There is no longer any legal obligation on cyclists to use "cycle tracks" in these circumstances.

Edit: And in any case for the type of cyclists typically found in this forum- cycling on footpath "cycle track" is frequently more dangerous and conflict prone than cycling on the road. In law there is a higher duty to avoid injury and damage to property.

There is no longer any legal obligation on cyclists to use "cycle tracks" in these circumstances.

In that case , let's call them prescriptive. They're still there for a reason.. Sometimes it's dangerous for a cyclist to cycle in a bus lane when there's an alternative cycle track available.

I'd prefer to be alive than "in the right."

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

You'll notice the bus lane sign includes a bicycle symbol. It's a shared lane -- cyclists are legally allowed there.

Up until a few weeks ago there was no legal backing for shared footpath/cycle lanes -- so any body who said it was not a real cycle lane was right and cyclists still legally don't have to use it. And it's still not really a cycle lane, it's a shared use footpath.

Given the above, calling the cyclists militant is downright nonsense. It's worse again that you have no mention of the homicidal bus and taxi drivers -- those are the real ones acting militantly.

In that case , let's call them prescriptive. They're still there for a reason.. Sometimes it's dangerous for a cyclist to cycle in a bus lane when there's an alternative cycle track available.

How's it dangerous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Donelson

To all those who thought that db overtake was ok. Would you be happy if that was your child on the bike? It's like tailgating you haven't hit anybody but it's still illegal!

Anyone who thought the cyclist swerved out as the bus approached - I think what happened was that he looked over his shoulder, horrified, and that drew the bicycle slightly to the right - it's hard to look back without moving slightly to one side.

The noodly little comments here about who was in the right or wrong are horrifying. The bus driver should have been driving more slowly, given that he was passed out as he himself passed out; the car driver was driving very dangerously; both put the cyclist's life at risk.

I'd prefer to be alive than "in the right."

Why would it be "dangerous" for a cyclist to use a bus lane in which they are specifically deisgnated to be one of the users?

What would be the source of the danger?

Donelson wrote: »
    To all those who thought that db overtake was ok. Would you be happy if that was your child on the bike? It's like tailgating you haven't hit anybody but it's still illegal!

Thank God somebody is thinking about the children.....

EDIT: I referred your question to my Dad, and he said 'yes'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Donelson

Jawgap wrote: »

Thank God somebody is thinking about the children.....

EDIT: I referred your question to my Dad, and he said 'yes'

That explains a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Tony, the next time you are in Drumcondra, be more observant and look at the signage on the bus lanes (north and southbound) and you'll see that they are marked for buses and cyclists. It a weird mindset which sees those obeying the road traffic regulations as being "militant".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Where is the bus driver rushing off to?

I cycle the rock road daily, that's right where the right hand lane splits into two, so there is no reason for the bus driver not to move into it. The BMW was moving into the new lane anyway.

And for people who think that is adequate space...have a bus pass you that close at speed and see how it feels! There is a nice bit of suction created as it passes. All it would take is a slight wobble to the right, hitting a pothole, or something innocuous and suddenly the bike is under the rear wheels.

I've noticed that road is shocking for speeding, people wilfully deciding to drive in the bus lane during operational hours. It's shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Any argument that boils down to IT'S OK TO SKIM A CYCLIST AS LONG AS THERE'S PAINT ON A CERTAIN BIT OF TARMAC or (ludicrously) THE SUBSEQUENT BEHAVIOIR OF THE CYCLIST SEEMS A LITTLE TETCHY is just nonsense. There's no legislation out there that allows you endanger others like that and seeking out such a justification reads, to me, like utter disregard for basic civility.

These threads are a regular occurance. Has anyone ever actually gotten any satisfaction from going to DB with this? Doesn't seem like it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

niceonetom wrote: »
    utter disregard for basic . .

Well, it's like this, the bus driver nor his union painted the markings on the road. The cyclist nor the local cycling club painted the markings on the road. The motorist, nor the local automobile club painted the markings on the road.

I think it's total disregard for everyone, I can take all sides in this argument and agree with every sentiment already expressed.

It is total disregard for all road users and not only a silly situation but a dangerous one that, IMO would in fact be less so with no road markings, remember, if ye are still taught to drive like I was, you guide yourself by the lines, you're trained to do so.

So do you cycle much? Do you find that driving acceptable?
    Yes I cycle a lot, started in the 70s, raced in the 80s and still cycle daily. I find that type of driving acceptable as the bus driver did nothing wrong. I find the fact that you are aggressive and feel the need to film your riding style amusing to say the least.

On the other hand, if any Dublin Bus driver is involved in a fatal accident, if a bunch of these helmet videos are introduced in evidence, it wouldn't look so well, eh?

Yes I cycle a lot, started in the 70s, raced in the 80s and still cycle daily. I find that type of driving acceptable as the bus driver did nothing wrong. I find the fact that you are aggressive and feel the need to film your riding style amusing to say the least.

Aggressive? Clearly not. Assertive? Yes.

That kind of driving is not acceptable in any circumstances? What do you consider the safe passing distance of a cyclist? Just wider than their handlebars? I got passed *very* close by a DB 46A at speed along the N11 last year. The back draft caused me to clip a drain, buckle my wheel and damage the sidewall of my tyre.

Did DB care? Not in the least. Cost me 35 euro for a new tyre :(

IMG_20120301_102343.jpg

On the other hand, if any Dublin Bus driver is involved in a fatal accident, if a bunch of these helmet videos are introduced in evidence, it wouldn't look so well, eh?
    What evidence are you referring to in the video ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭blondeonblonde

Jesus Christ lads, to all those people saying this manoeuvre is ok - during any overtake - whether driving or cycling - the person performing the manoeuvre should:

A) ensure that they allow a minimum clearance of 1.5 metres from the vehicle they are overtaking in order to allow for the possibility that that vehicle may have to deviate from its course. Common sense stuff surely.

B) the overtaking vehicle should ensure that they can safely move out to perform the manoeuvre, giving way, where necessary, either to oncoming traffic or to following traffic in an adjacent lane.

By any stretch of the imagination, there was no way that the cyclist was afforded a safe amount of space.
    Likewise, if the car behind was to his right, he should've waited before overtaking.
    All of this nonsense about lanes is a red herring - we should all endeavour to drive in anticipation of what might happen rather than sticking rigidly to the idea that "I was in my lane therefore it's ok".

As other posters have mentioned, it is for this reason that cars should maintain a safe distance from the car in front - to allow ourselves & others a safe stopping distance.

Live and let live folks, it's everyone's responsibility to have a bit of cop on & see other road users as people rather than moving obstacles....

Donelson wrote: »
    That explains a lot.

Hey, attack the post........not the poster's Dad.

BX 19 wrote: »

Aggressive? Clearly not. Assertive? Yes.

That kind of driving is not acceptable in any circumstances? What do you consider the safe passing distance of a cyclist? Just wider than their handlebars? I got passed *very* close by a DB 46A at speed along the N11 last year. The back draft caused me to clip a drain, buckle my wheel and damage the sidewall of my tyre.

Did DB care? Not in the least. Cost me 35 euro for a new tyre :(

IMG_20120301_102343.jpg
    Bus driver moved to the right and passed cyclist safely. Cyclist has issue it should be reported to Garda and let them decide if driver or cyclist should be cautioned.

Passed the cyclist safely? I think most people are going to disagree with you there.

So in saying that, you obviously think that there is no need for a safe passing distance for cyclists given that your happy with buses passing as close as possible. Am I right or wrong in that assertion?

BX 19 wrote: »

Passed the cyclist safely? I think most people are going to disagree with you there.

So in saying that, you obviously think that there is no need for a safe passing distance for cyclists given that your happy with buses passing as close as possible. Am I right or wrong in that assertion?
    Most people will disagree, this is a cycling forum !

Cyclist looks over shoulder, bus approaching already several feet clear of the kerb.
    Bus passes, white line to distinguish bus lane is under the centre of the bus ! Come on how much room do you want ??

Come on how much room do you want ??

At least two metres, please. And a speed that won't endanger me by sucking me under the wheels. Thanks!