Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things I love about golf.

• 10-11-2012 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭

I'm getting depressed reading about all the bad thing people hate about golf. Lets have a thread talking about the things that most give us pleasure to brighten up these dark wet dismal days.
    I'll start the ball rolling with the feel and sound of a well struck drive flying into a blue sky with the birds singing, the sun shining and pleasant company for the round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Forefore2

Having a rubbish round and then hitting a corker of a shot near the end that means you can't wait for your next round.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭thewobbler

The feeling you get on the 1st tee of your first visit to a renowned course. That's what golf is all about for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Love it.

The Scenery in Ireland is amazing, it keeps you in love with this great little county.

Hitting a great 6 iron, and landing 6 foot from the pin, the moment when you know it looks on it.

A great long putt that has hit a foot mark that somebody stood on and pops in the hole :p (sorry Onlyfinewine)

The pint after -there is nothing like it and you are not driving.

The fact it is a game for life.

You can forget all your troubles.

Golf shops - the crazy dream that this thing could work.

A nice cold coke on 10th with any sort of food.

Doing something you never did before, back to back birdies - there is always something else to do.

The smell of the seasons, the wildlife.

The friends and shared experience, the hope for your playing partner to get a great shot or turn it around.

Sharing of a problem in a place no one can hear you talk, saying things you have never said to someone.

The lads who work on the course - they are just legends.

Winning something anything.

Teaching your kids, handing it over.

The crazy clothes and being able to play alone when you need to.

A nice draw and fade when you meant it.

A shot under trees or through it.

Waking up to a blue sky on your day out.

The feed after.

A massive drive.

Giving up on it all and going back and saying sorry.

The great books and photos and gifts you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

You know that feeling when you hit it perfectly flush. Well that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

The 4 hours of freedom:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭plumber77

Getting some new gear in the post :) laying out the gear the night before playing a top course and struggling to get the sleep you know you need.hot shower after a cold days winter golf.listening to today fm live game travelling home on a saturday.so many little things that contribute to making it the great game it is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Tap in birdies

Playing a hole from tee to in the hole flawlessly

Shooting under my handicap and entering it on the computer feels nice

Chip ins for par

Good company for a round

Playing top quality courses

Getting out in the fresh air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭evillive

nothing like getting your first drive away cleanly phew

or coming up the 18th in full view of the bar or those watching just getting the approach shot on in regulation:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

Forefore2 wrote: »
    Having a rubbish round and then hitting a corker of a shot near the end that means you can't wait for your next round.:)

Exactly what I thought when I read the first post.

Same can be applied to the driving range. 99 slices, hooks, topped shots, duffed shots and sh**ks but that one sweetly stuck 5 iron is enough to get me back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Nice thread. Much better than the one I started.

6 pars in a row and that feeling that everything you hit is how you wanna hit it.

The walk to first tee box.

Cleaning the clubs the night before round.

Sambos on 10th tee box.

Practice going well. Leaving the range after a great session.

Meeting someone in work that's into golf and you never knew. Spend an hour talking to someone you never got on with.

Leaving an 8 iron approach on a par 4 after a flush drive.

There are countless more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I love the way after coming home from a cr*p day in the office I can't wait to put on my golf shoes, jump into my car and be on the first tee in under ten minutes (blessed I know) and another ten minutes later all is forgotten and all I'm consumed by is playing a great ballgame.

Of course thats not going to happen for another 5 months now. :(

Edit: Thats the one that stands out for me. There's tons though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Playing golf on my own, late into a summer evening in shorts.
    Course is empty, have the place to myself and playing nice golf.
    Fairways are striped, greens are smooth, temperature is perfect and there is no real wind.

I used to love coming home after a good day on the course and telling my dad how I played. Going through each hole, shot by shot and comparing how he played them. Unfortunately he died last year so I dont get to do that anymore, but I really loved that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Out on a (beautiful....aren't they all) course and realising that if that slice is the worst of my problems, then I'm a lucky man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭neckedit

GreeBo wrote: »
    Fairways are striped, greens are smooth, temperature is perfect and there is no real wind.

I used to love coming home after a good day on the course and telling my dad how I played. Going through each hole, shot by shot and comparing how he played them. Unfortunately he died last year so I dont get to do that anymore, but I really loved that.
    Says it all.....perfect man.....just perfect!

Your best post ever ;)

I'm the same as that - he gave me the gift of this game, even though he is now too old to play, he asks me about my round, I try to describe it in a way he can visualise it.

For once I'm not snarling at your post ;)

Very nice Greebo. My dad loves the golf still and always asks me for a re run of my round when I've played.

Your post just reminds me to make the most of it and not take it for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Watching a US tournament finish on a Sunday night and being really excited about playing on Monday morning.

Spending hours on the net reading reviews and deciding on a club to buy.

Driving 30 minutes to a link course and the sky's are blue when its raining at home (Donegal has strange weather)

Out first thing in the morning or on a deserted course and you have the course to yourself.

Hitting a better shot than your lower handicap playing partner.

The moment when you miss your approach and you're off the green, your playing partner is 8ft away for birdie and you hit the chip to 6 inches. He's now under pressure and you both walk off with a par knowing he played the hole well but you can hit the right shot when its needed:D

Knowing the exact distance to the pin and knowing you have a club that hits it that exact distance.

And of course "PURING":D a drive off 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Pars, birdies and eagles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Visualising the shot beforehand and then to hit it exactly as you imagined. Magic feeling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Winning. You need so much to go your way, whether it be your good play or an average day for the field, any win these days is an achievment. Maybe we dont give ourselves enough credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,122 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Getting over the water on the 8th in shannon in two, i need a bit of wind and a belter of a 3 wood but it feels good when you get over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Putting for eagle
    Doesn't happen often but it's a buzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭simonp1

Refreshing clubs results page to see if you placed anywhere....then golfnet to see what cut you got....doesn't happen very much now though:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Putting your first drive down the middle and the relief as you walk off the tee...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Nedser101

Having an absolute shocker and realising that even the worst game you are having is better than your best days in work .love this game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

All week in work talking to my playing partner about how well we are both going to play Sat and then go out a shoot a round in the mid 20s ðŸ˜႒

Love the feeling of walking off the 18th not knowing for sure but praying you hit that 30 point mark .

Love ringing a course midweek to book a tee time , I know it's the simple things ðŸ˜႒

And as said so many times having a stinking round but having that one great tee shot on a par 3 that you can't miss the putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

I love that feeling when I hit that all too rare, perfect shot.
    I love winning the euro ..... front, back and overall, bragging rights is most important.
    I love the challenge.
    I love the players, especially the ones that love golf as a bit of fun and not as a badge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

The way you can go out with the weight of the world on you shoulders but within ten minutes all stress is gone.

Also when you hit a drive so far you think you lost the ball but find it a few minutes later on the fairway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Jaysus. Bring a tear to a glass eye. My oulfella died before I took up the game. He'd of loved to hear all about my golf now. Same with the missus old man. He was mad into the golf but never played before he passed away. Would of loved a knock around with him. Beating him would have caused murder in the house :D

Anyway...

The way it simply gets you out of the house to do something you feel was productive

The bit of colour you get everyone thinks you were away. No was just out golfing. Jaysus you've a great life.

The mileage of conversation you can get out of one round

The way you can feel like a pro one minute to a complete cabbage the next. Keeps you coming back for more.

All the gear and equipment!!! Love shop credit to blow on stuff!!!

The banter and bitching sessions on the course :P

Always something new to learn and achieve

The feeling of driving out of the course having shot a worldy for yourself. Or as a previous poster says posting your score.

Having played football on my life another thing I love about golf is its injury free. No twisted ankles, elbows in the face or pulled hamstrings.

That is all assuming your mate doesn't smash a ball with a 3 wood straight into your calf muscle from 5 yards away :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Arsenium

The whole anticipation from mid week to your Saturday / Sunday tee time and the full honest belief that you are going to shoot your best score ever. Looking forward to the first tee and that lingering bit of nervousness about your first tee shot.

Oh and the way that even after playing a rubbish round the anticipation for next Sat / Sun morning starts all over again a few hours after you make it home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭TrapperChamonix

Driving into the deep rough or the lateral tidal water hazzard. Looking for the ball out of habit rather than hope and miraculously finding it. Playing to in front of the green and with a chip and a putt, salvaging par.
    But the thing I love most is the look on your playing partner when with pencil hovering over the score card, he asks how many you had and you reply 4.

"Howdya Like Them Apples!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭gigawatt2007

I love the feeling of holing a pressure putt for par downhill slider type, especially if it rams off the back of the hole coz you know the one back would have been twice as long as the first one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Specific one for me this week -

Having been custom fitted for new irons and knowing that they are going to be ready for collection some day this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Paranoid Android 2

Playing a links course on a fine summer's evening with family or friends. Pressures of modern life forgotten, as all you can think about is how natural and simple enjoying life can be. Bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Sinking a 15ft putt for birdie ... mmmmmmmMMmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I love links Golf. Chocolate toffee mice & flat lucozade being my pay as a 10 year old caddying for my Dad on the fairways and dunes of Lahinch & BallyB.
    The below sound, It's that of a curlew bird and whenever I hear it it brings me right back to those perfect days growing up on the south west coast spending so much time in the company of my Dad and the game I love on the type of golf course I love. Nothing comes close to it.....

http://www.xeno-canto.org/sounds/uploaded/BPSDQEOJWG/Storspov_spelande_Krak2009-04-13.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Getting a brand new box of pro v's and marking them all with your new sharpie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

I've been out of golf for three years now due to football/work commitments, but after reading this thread, i'm just dieing to get back!!

I loved talking to my best mate after a round, we'd discuss every hole, shot by shot.

Getting yp really early on a Sunday, when the roads are quiet and you've the car full of gear heading for the course.

Playing until twilight on your local course and hitting the ball almost in the blinde, but neither of us want to call it off.

Match play.

Playing against people of a lower handicap and beating them on their gross score.

Winning.

The days wne the golf was terrible, but the craic was mighty!!

New golf shoes: i'd a pair of those footjoy ones that tightened around your foot and I thpought they were heaven!!

Playing woth better golfers and learning new things, particularly their course management!!

That's it, I'm going to the range this evening!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

The friends I have made from the game and that feeling of the getting a par after playing some terrible golf. Reminds you there is a golfer inside :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Locking the front door on the way out on the morning of a round-the house is asleep and I'm "off" for a few hours.
    The banter on the way if travelling with others-and the expectations of the round being played out:pac:
    A wedge in the hand to get up and down for par,just the same as the playing partner only he did it the "right" way..
    Repairing a pitchmark on the green,knowing I'd hit the shot I wanted.

Opening the pouch half way round to find a cold jambon I bought earlier on I'd forgotten about.
    Buying the coffee knowing I'd lost but couldn't give a s*** as I'd loved every bit of it!
    Going to sleep that night with that one shot in my head, all the other rubbish stuff forgotten about!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

You could hit (depending on ability!) say 89 bad shots during a round but that ONE shot you nailed will make you smile all day long and leave you that you can't wait to get out again!!!

Golf is a game that brings your true personality out without you even knowing it.
    Wether you are a calm quiet person or a short tempered person your exact personality seems to shine through on a course unlike other sports.

In other sports lads seem to be different on a pitch or the likes compared to real day to day world.

I like that.

I also like the fact you can play a doctor or similar big wig and hand him his arse on a plate even though you are an unemployed panel beater. The course is a great class leveller.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Golf is a game that brings your true personality out without you even knowing it.
    Wether you are a calm quiet person or a short tempered person your exact personality seems to shine through on a course unlike other sports.

In other sports lads seem to be different on a pitch or the likes compared to real day to day world.

I like that.

I also like the fact you can play a doctor or similar big wig and hand him his arse on a plate even though you are an unemployed panel beater. The course is a great class leveller.

But are you any f&&ing godd at fixing a fridge.

I'm good at fixing sub 80 scorecards to fridges that's about it.

You will not be requiring my services ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Arsenium

I'm loving this thread I have to say...after an awful round last Saturday, cant wait now till next Sat morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭ronjo

For me I love seeing the starting list for my Sunday morning tournament on a Saturday evening. I really start looking forward to it at that stage.

Hitting a perfect drive on 1st hole when there are a few people standing around watching.

Golf is a great stress reliever for men.

Out to kill 100 balls now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Golf is a great stress reliever for men.

Out to kill 100 balls now.

I'm going to the range now myself.

Driver and 7 iron is all I have in the car. Get some desk stress out of my body and home to relax.

There is no other game like it.