Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silver Linings Playbook

• 10-11-2012 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

I did search to see if there was already a topic for this, but I couldn't find it, if there is, I apologize.

Anyway, I saw the trailer for this on the tv last night, then went onto youtube and watched the full trailer, looked really good. Some of the reviews already on the net are pretty positive, and its out in just over a week, the 21st, and some pretty good talent, including Robert De Niro and Jennifer Lawrence. Anyone else excited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭WatchWolf

I'm looking forward to it.

It has been too long since DeNiro's been in something good.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

It would certainly be interesting to see De Niro in something with a script worth a damn, it's been a long time since we saw him at his best. Would also be good to see how Bradley Cooper fares with a role that stretches him beyond the sorts of roles he's taken so far.

I'm not too sure about that trailer though - it will largely depend on how it's executed since the overall structure of the film (including its likely outcome) is blatantly telegraphed in the trailer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Out on Tuesday, I'm fairly excited :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I see Chris Tucker is also in this it will be interesting to see how he fares in a David O Russell flick, the current tv spot trailer makes it look like a average rom com but given the writer/director involved probably wont be and seems to be a bit of oscar buzz for Ciooper and Lawrence already so looking forward to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Silver Linings Playbook seems to be being marketed as Silver Linings here and in the UK. I saw an ad on TV, in which the voiceover man only called it Silver Linings, and the title on the posters looks like this:

SILVER
    LININGS

PLAYBOOK

Is this because a playbook has associations with American Football and Basketball, and the marketing people regarded it as having little or no relevance across the Atlantic? Or is it just because Silver Linings is a more conventional, cosy title, more likely to get people in to see it? Theories?

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

Silver linings playbook is a nicer title I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Eeeeuuugggghhh... am so sick of bloody Jennifer Lawrence.

She's this year's Emma Stone (i.e she seems to be in every second movie).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

I wasnt expecting much but actually really liked it. I hate rom coms but this one was probably the best ive seen. Quite a lot of funny moments and while predictable it seemed fresh and took a lot of the good things from others in this genre.

Was looking forward to seeing Silver Linings Playbook but no need to now. Trailer played before Argo and it seemed to pretty much condense the entire film down into 90 seconds.
    Basq wrote: »
    Eeeeuuugggghhh... am so sick of bloody Jennifer Lawrence.

She's this year's Emma Stone (i.e she seems to be in every second movie).

I think that it's ridicous to write an actor off just because they are prolific. Lawrence is a great actress and has impressed in everything I have seen her in to date. Also it's not like she's been in all that many films lately, this is what, her third film released over the past year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Put romantic comedy, Robert DeNiro and dancing in the same sentence and thats me doing a scarper for the bar.However it defies logic by being enjoyable and I'm glad I went. So there:P

I think that it's ridicous to write an actor off just because they are prolific. Lawrence is a great actress and has impressed in everything I have seen her in to date. Also it's not like she's been in all that many films lately, this is what, her third film released over the past year.
    You say "prolific".. I say "saturated".

Thought she was excellent in "Winter's Bone" and not much else..

She's been in 3 films released this year, hardly a lot to be honest.

Not just exposure in movies.. but she seems to be acclaimed as the "next big thing" everywhere. Like I said, this year's Emma Stone.

Anyways.. each to their own.. as I said, I thought she was great in Winter's Bone. But not much else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

From what I remember of the novel both of the main characters were in their mid-30s.
    Bradley Cooper is 37 and Jennifer Lawrence is 22 ,seems a very large age gap.

Is Jennifer Lawrence only 22? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

cloud493 wrote: »
    Is Jennifer Lawrence only 22? :eek:

Yes ,she was 21 during filming.Bradley Cooper is almost old enough to be her father.

I thought she was like.... late twenties? Mental that. Anyway, I just booked my ticket to see this tomorrow :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 5,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Watched it last night. I didn't expect much but I enjoyed every minute of it - even the easy/predictable/you-name-it final part!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Saw it earlier and enjoyed it, but would have to agree with those criticising the third act. However, it does come after an hour or more of impressive character work. Fair play to Lawerence, finally gifted another script that allows her to impress as she did in Winter's Bone (although I still think she did a grand old job in The Hunger Games given the relatively limited material). In the film's best scene, she literally dominates everyone in the room - considering the room is occupied by the likes of Robert de Niro and Jackie Weaver, that's no small feat :) I'm no big fan of Coopers usually, but he does a good job capturing the troubled frame of mind of his character. It's an honest, moderately complex portrayal of bi-polar that doesn't feel exploitative, and the attraction that develops between our two troubled leads is an engaging one. Like the best rom-coms, we are at least rooting for them to get together, even if their mood swings makes for some difficult sequences.

It's a shame some of the most intriguing conflicts are abandoned towards the end for a formulaic, clean-cut finale. It's not an elegant way to wrap up the story. The ending at least does have a sense of humour about itself - the film on the whole is consistently amusing without being on-the-floor hilarious.

Like most O. Russel films, it has lots of good ideas that fall just short of becoming a fully satisfying whole. Still, the characters are intriguing, and the film has lots of smart touches and subtle moments alongside the broader ones, like the way the soundtrack adapts to Cooper's frame-of-mind at any given time. Wasn't as fond of the frequent and weird crash zooms. Still, entertaining and a welcome break from your usual shallow rom-com, even if it doesn't quite nail the landing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

adamski8 wrote: »
    I wasnt expecting much but actually really liked it. I hate rom coms but this one was probably the best ive seen. Quite a lot of funny moments and while predictable it seemed fresh and took a lot of the good things from others in this genre.
    Eminently watchable at the start. They should have gone the whole Tyler Durden on it at the end and not introduce the wife, but instead have some twist where the 'wife' didn't actually exist.
    it has lots of good ideas that fall just short of becoming a fully satisfying whole.
    Agreed.
    The wife has the character development of rice paper and isn't a hurdle to overcome.

This is more Winter's Bone than Twilight fan fic. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Victor wrote: »
    Eminently watchable at the start. They should have gone the whole Tyler Durden on it at the end and not introduce the wife, but instead have some twist where the 'wife' didn't actually exist.

I was expecting this sort of a twist myself, which would have made it predictable but not as predictable as the chosen ending ;)

I just saw that there today. and, it was just as good as I thought it would be. Jennifer Lawrence is very very good, much better than in the hunger games(not that she was bad there either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

It's a shame some of the most intriguing conflicts are abandoned towards the end for a formulaic, clean-cut finale. It's not an elegant way to wrap up the story. The ending at least does have a sense of humour about itself - the film on the whole is consistently amusing without being on-the-floor hilarious.

Agree about the ending, it was too pat, too easy. After all, they are both suffering with forms of mental illness, it's all a little too happy ever after.

That said, I enjoyed it. Loved the dance competition, and the joy when they see their score. It was more complex than most rom-coms.

And as for Jennifer Lawrence, as I posted in another thread here, I thought she was stunning in this film, and dominated practically any scene she was in. This was her film, for me, thought she was mesmerising.

Jennifer Lawrence and Cooper stole the show, Lawrence especially. But it was fantastic overall :) think il be seeing it again tomorrow actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

I'm torn on this. On one had Lawrence and Cooper were excellent playing very difficult roles and I thought they handled the balnce between humour and darkness quite well.

Saying that, I thought it was a bit of a mess overall, an enjoyable mess, but a mess nonethelless.

Also was a bit disappointed with De Niro and Weaver as the parents. Maybe it was the writing for that particulur subplot involving the football, but I thought they sightly overplayed their parts and came acrioss as slightly hammy.

I wish
    we'd heard what Pat said to Nikki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

I wish
    we'd heard what Pat said to Nikki
    Probably:
    "Have you ever seen Lost In Translation..? It's excellent"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Raoul

Footoo wrote: »
    I'm torn on this. On one had Lawrence and Cooper were excellent playing very difficult roles and I thought they handled the balnce between humour and darkness quite well.

Saying that, I thought it was a bit of a mess overall, an enjoyable mess, but a mess nonethelless.

Also was a bit disappointed with De Niro and Weaver as the parents. Maybe it was the writing for that particulur subplot involving the football, but I thought they sightly overplayed their parts and came acrioss as slightly hammy.

I thought DeNiro was excellent. :confused: Such an enjoyable movie. Will definitely watch it on DVD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Footoo wrote: »

My sentiments exactly, I liked this but didn't love it. Bit of an oddball movie if I'm honest, Lawrence was brilliant but took me a while to warm to Bradley Cooper in this type of role. Too many slick Hangover-esque roles perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Attempted to do the crimbo shopping on a day very(too)close to christmas. Abandoned ship after several hours of parading around town like a headless chicken. Found myself near cineworld so decided to feck the crimbo shopping and catch a sneaky film. Went to see The silver linings playbook and honestly I thought it was the film of the year. I know someone who suffers from bi-polar disorder and this films depicition of mental illness is about as accurate a reflection as the quiet man is of life in rural ireland. But having said that, I didnt mind, I enjoyed this movie so much I was almost revitalised to the point where I'd make another stab at the crimbo shopping......almost.
    A lot has been said about how good Jennifer lawrence is, and she is great, no argument there (in fact I think Im in love with her)but I thought Bradley cooper was brilliant too. Honourable mention to Bobby D aswell, first film in ages where he was working with decent material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

was not expecting such a chick flick

the final third of the film seemed to forget entirely that the pair were supposed to be "crazy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Really enjoyed this.

DeNiro giving one of his best performances in a good while too. Lawrence steals it as usual though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Jonny7 wrote: »
    was not expecting such a chick flick

the final third of the film seemed to forget entirely that the pair were supposed to be "crazy"
    Having a stable life and taking the meds you are meant to be taking helps people with social or psychological problems to lead a more normal life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

Wasn't expecting this to be so good.
    Great cast and a great move.
    Jennifer Lawrence is some actress, cooper was very good as well.
    By the numbers for de Niro I thought but he was decent enough.
    Chris tucker was also great.
    Chick flick it may be but I really enjoyed it.

Does anyone know when this is out on blu ray?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Jennifer Lawrence and Cooper stole the show, Lawrence especially. But it was fantastic overall :) think il be seeing it again tomorrow actually.

I'm sorry, don't mean to be rude, but this is a pet hate of mine. How can you say they stole the show when they are in actual fact, the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Good film, just saw hunger games the other day, Jennifer Lawerence is very good.
    Nice happy ending

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Couldnt get past an hour of it, too much of bitch film:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Raoul

NinjaK wrote: »

A "bitch" film? :confused:

yeah

What's the definition of a bitch film?

Maby you guys didnt think so but I did.

Raoul wrote: »
    A "bitch" film? :confused:
    yeah
    What's the definition of a bitch film?
    200x200px-zc-10f79e4d-michael-jackson-eating-popcorn.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Really enjoyed it, clever and funny.
    Even the cheese at the end fit for me

I would recommend it to anyone wanting to go see a decent movie, too few of those around :pac:

Is it still in cinemas? I'd be well up for a 4th viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Have to say, pretty much watched this over Lawless or Django as a thank you to herself for picking me up from the airport on Sunday evening, but I really enjoyed it. Rom coms are not my thing in the slightest, but I think the film took a heavy subject, and treated it with respect without letting it overpower the feel good sentiment - the silver lining I suppose - and the performances were excellent. Lawrence is a natural star and De Niro's line about smashing the camera off the neighbour kid's head is probably the best line he's had in anything since the glory days of Goodfellas and Casino. The amount of men posting in here positively about a rom com speaks for itself. Thumbs up!

And to think, you could have spent that hour pretending to be a ninja on the internet!!
    kraggy wrote: »
    I'm sorry, don't mean to be rude, but this is a pet hate of mine. How can you say they stole the show when they are in actual fact, the show?

http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/steal-the-show-scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Just finished watching this... Didn't think it would be for me at all but have to say it was one of the maddest things I've watched in a while! Very funny in ways and also extremely nice in a weird sort of way! Really enjoyed this :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yeah it was a great film imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Lawrence just picked up Best Actress for this at the Screen Actor's Guild awards. I wonder what that says about her Oscar chances?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray