Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overtake lane hoggers!

• 10-11-2012 2:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

Why do they do this?!
    Nearly every other day I have to deal with them, usually on the M50. They just sit there in the overtake lane doing 100kmph like some RSA enforced speed restrictors completely unfazed by the trail of cars they're holing up behind them (quite dangerously often). Some people need to be to places at a certain time and 5-10mins can make a huge difference. Why can't they be a considerate person and pull over to let people who are in that much bit of a hurry through?

Everytime I'm driving on the overtake lane and someone faster pulls up behind my, I just move over to let them through even if they're doing way above the speed limit. They might think they're doing us all a favour by driving at or below the speed limit but instead are more of a hazard as they're bunching up cars behind them quite close to one another and not letting them through freely. How hard can it be to simply pull over and let the faster people through??

/rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

Zzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭kaahooters

the speed limit on the m50 is 100k, and cars bunching up together is unsafe, its just another example of irish people not knowing how to use the motorways correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

In parts.

Anyway, most people who think they are doing 100k, are probably doing closer to 90kph due to speedo inaccuracies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Everyone seems to be in a mad hurry these days. Too much aggression on the roads, people need to chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

That's why your car is equipped in flash feature which you can trigger while behind land hogger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

bazz26 wrote: »
    Everyone seems to be in a mad hurry these days. Too much aggression on the roads, people need to chill out.

I'd have to agree with that.
    People get so stressed on roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Why do they do this?!
    Nearly every other day I have to deal with them, usually on the M50. They just sit there in the overtake lane doing 100kmph like some RSA enforced speed restrictors completely unfazed by the trail of cars they're holing up behind them (quite dangerously often). Some people need to be to places at a certain time and 5-10mins can make a huge difference. Why can't they be a considerate person and pull over to let people who are in that much bit of a hurry through?

Everytime I'm driving on the overtake lane and someone faster pulls up behind my, I just move over to let them through even if they're doing way above the speed limit. They might think they're doing us all a favour by driving at or below the speed limit but instead are more of a hazard as they're bunching up cars behind them quite close to one another and not letting them through freely. How hard can it be to simply pull over and let the faster people through??

/rant over!

Another one ?!?!?!? :rolleyes:

https://www.google.nl/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=lane+hoggers+site:boards.ie&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&channel=suggest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

CiniO wrote: »
    That's why your car is equipped in flash feature which you can trigger while behind land hogger.

I'm often too nice and will end up patient sitting there behind the speed conscious car rather than flash him or honk at him... but I guess I should start flashing them if they don't pull over. I just personally don't like drivers who flash at other driver or honk for the minutest reasons...

kippy wrote: »
    I'd have to agree with that.
    People get so stressed on roads.

Its sorta tough when you have to be at a certain place before a certain time and being late by 5-10mins is unacceptable and will be bad for your reputation and all... If I wasn't in a hurry, I would have travelled through the city and avoid the M50 toll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Its sorta tough when you have to be at a certain place before a certain time and being late by 5-10mins is unacceptable and will be bad for your reputation and all... If I wasn't in a hurry, I would have travelled through the city and avoid the M50 toll...

Just leave that bit earlier then, you cannot control traffic behaviour or other road users no matter how frustrated you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

This logic makes no sense, there could be an accident, you could get a puncture, there could be any number of reasons you get delayed on the road. You are here stating you are aware of people doing this, so leave 5-10 mins earlier to give yourself time to get to where you are going?

People get way too stressed out on the roads, totally agree with bazz26 and kippy.

^If only it was that simple...

I know if I left earlier you don't need to worry about these things, and often I don't.
    Its just the times you're that wee bit late and you need to be to the place on time.

Also unfortunately the people in authority don't give a **** what happens to you. If you have a crash or an puncture or your car breaks down or whatever at the end you were late and that's what matters... The world can be quite cruel sometimes...

Anyway, my post was questioning why can't people just pull over and let faster cars through? Why do they have to sit in the overtake lane (where they shouldn't be in the first place) and bunch up a trails of cars behind them which is quite dangerous as all the bunched up cars going at 100kmph close to one another have a high chance of an incident taking place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It's Fog Lights and Obnoxious Parking that gets me. :mad:

Moar Fog Light Discussions!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

This logic makes no sense, there could be an accident, you could get a puncture, there could be any number of reasons you get delayed on the road. You are here stating you are aware of people doing this, so leave 5-10 mins earlier to give yourself time to get to where you are going?

People get way too stressed out on the roads, totally agree with bazz26 and kippy.

And what happens when your caught behind a slow driver for an age and when you do pass, you are stuck due to an accident? It does and has happened. I have left 20 - 30 minutes before I needed to and have still been late due to the reasons I have pointed out. Slow drivers on both motorways and dual carraige-ways would have been the main cause. Had they not been there I would have been past the accidents before they happened, yes it happened more than once.

OP you mentioned about when you in the overtaken lane you move in when a faster car comes behind you, you should have already been moving in after overtaking and not because a faster car is coming behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

The day I find out I have terminal cancer is the day I'll go on an overtaking lane rampage using an artic lorry.

It will make Kitt vs Goliath look like a joke. Be warned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

The day I find out I have terminal cancer is the day I'll go on an overtaking lane rampage using an artic lorry.

It will make Kitt vs Goliath look like a joke. Be warned.

If you'd be so kind as to position yourself in front of drivers with fog lights on and then slam on the brakes causing them to collide into your rear end, it would be most appreciated.

And what happens when your caught behind a slow driver for an age and when you do pass, you are stuck due to an accident? It does and has happened. I have left 20 - 30 minutes before I needed to and have still been late due to the reasons I have pointed out. Slow drivers on both motorways and dual carraige-ways would have been the main cause. Had they not been there I would have been past the accidents before they happened, yes it happened more than once.

Eh, accidents can happen anywhere and everywhere and slow drivers do not prevent you from getting past accidents before they happen :rolleyes:

The only point being made is that you have no control over other road users or events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Eh, accidents can happen anywhere and everywhere and slow drivers do not prevent you from getting past accidents before they happen :rolleyes:

Agreed about accidents happening anywhere at anytime, but I have been caught several times from what I have pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This will probably draw the "it's a limit not a target"/"speed kills" brigade out like a moth to a flame, but here goes...

I do a lot of driving (over 200,000km in the last 4 years) in all conditions (day/night, dry/wet/foggy/snow/freezing etc) and primarily on motorways. Last year the motorway/urban split would have been 90/10 I'd say, though this has come back a bit this year to maybe 70/30.

I drive appropriate to the conditions at that given time and I've never been overly concerned with an (often arbitrary and nonsensical) speed limit. If I'm in a built up area or it's busy (eg: coming through a town), I'll often find myself doing say 30-40 km/h in a supposed 50 zone. Ditto if I'm on a wide open motorway with little to no traffic about, I may find the speedo nudging just above the 120 mark - not to ridiculous 160/170 levels mind!

Seeing as we're talking about motorways here though, there are a number of things that really annoy me on Irish motorways...

- The dawdlers. Not so much because they're driving slower, but because they are holding the rest of the traffic up. Get out of the way! I don't care if you're not in a rush, or you're saving a fiver in petrol by doing 80 km/h, or you're not comfortable driving faster (although this last one should mean you shouldn't be on the motorway at all IMO) - it doesn't give you the right to hold the rest of the traffic up

- Tailgaters. We all know the type. It used to be fellas in A4s and BMWs but these days I actually find it's a 20-40 year old woman in a hatchback that is trying to get into my back seat when I'm overtaking someone - on motorways this can mean 3/4 cars because they are all driving like sheep. Grow up and back off! You won't be bullying me off the road and I've no problem sitting right where I am until I've finished the move I was making.
    To add to this, I don't "hog" the "fast"/overtaking lane either, but I will stay in it if there's a line of slower cars to my left rather than weaving in and out every few seconds.

- Idiots driving with no/minimal lights on in bad conditions. Speaks for itself really.. drives me mad though! Ditto those who don't indicate before moving or when moving back in.

- Idiots driving with full beams on and refusing to dip because they're on the other side. If you can see me, I can see you. Turn your f&cking lights down.
    Ditto the eejits who when you overtake them continue blasting you with high beam light in your mirror rather than dip

- The weavers. The types who swing out in front of you without any indicators (although I can usually spot these in advance and a blast of the horn works wonders before they move at all) or the type who - especially on the M50 - cut to the inside lane and try to bypass the slower middle lane and you who's overtaking said middle lane driver.

- The Gardai. Last but certainly not least, our boys n girls in blue who spend their time camped out on the nice little ramps that were built for them with the hairdryer, rather than proactively detecting and stopping poor driving such as the above. There's not even a point reporting stuff to them as they have no more interest than the cows in the field most of the time. This is perhaps the biggest issue - the piss-poor level of enforcement beyond doing people for "speeding"

As for the idea of "leaving earlier" - that's all well and good until you come across the above mentioned dawdler, or the rubber-neckers on the M50 when someone has a tip. If people just learned to drive properly there'd be no issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Beer Baron wrote: »
    It's Fog Lights and Obnoxious Parking that gets me. :mad:

Moar Fog Light Discussions!!

Will this get added to the list?:D

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    - The dawdlers. Not so much because they're driving slower, but because they are holding the rest of the traffic up. Get out of the way! I don't care if you're not in a rush, or you're saving a fiver in petrol by doing 80 km/h, or you're not comfortable driving faster (although this last one should mean you shouldn't be on the motorway at all IMO) - it doesn't give you the right to hold the rest of the traffic up

Unless you specifically mean dawdlers in the overtaking lane, why not just overtake them? How are they holding anyone up (unless they are in the overtaking lane)?

That's exactly who I mean... the type who are doing 90/100 and come up behind a truck or bus, pull out and continue to do 90/100.. thereby inching past the obstruction in the inside lane

Ah, I get ya. But they do get out of the way after they dawdle through the overtake?

So they might cause a very short delay but you are not sitting behind them for extended periods of time? Cant say it bothers me tbh.

Ah, I get ya. But they do get out of the way after they dawdle through the overtake?

So they might cause a very short delay but you are not sitting behind them for extended periods of time? Cant say it bothers me tbh.

Doesn't bother me either if they just get on with it and move back in, nor do I myself sit on their bumper waiting either... It's when they decide to stay out there because they see another truck maybe 300m away (which is also moving on of course), or because they just don't "like" being in the inside lane is when they start annoying me.

9 times out of 10 though a flash of the high beams to wake them up coupled with a nudge on the right indicator gets the point across and we both get on with our day.

Oh a few more to add to the list...

- The "you're not getting past me" types who when you move out to overtake them floor it. I usually find that mine's faster though (I know, I know.. :p)

- The "yo-yo". You know, the type who come flying up the outside lane, pull in ahead of you and then slow down to less than you are doing yourself. Related is the one who will come flying up and then start inching ahead as they get alongside. Meanwhile you find yourself rapidly gaining on the next truck or bus or dawdler so you either A) put the foot down and get ahead of both of them or B) slow right down yourself so you can slot in behind the Yo-Yo

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Why do people think the overtaking lane is their own private race track!

9 times out of 10 though a flash of the high beams to wake them up coupled with a nudge on the right indicator gets the point across and we both get on with our day.

Yes agree with that, but sometimes the middle lane is too busy at that point to pull in safely, and It happen to me before, somebody started to flash their lights and comes right up the back of you, my response is to slow right down which really seems to piss them off.:)

robertxxx wrote: »
    Why do people think the overtaking lane is their own private race track!

Care to expand on what you mean ?

Speeding.

Yes agree with that, but sometimes the middle lane is too busy at that point to pull in safely, and It happen to me before, somebody started to flash their lights and comes right up the back of you, my response is to slow right down which really seems to piss them off.:)

Yep I've had a similar response to the girls and boys that try to climb into my back seat. :p

I agree with you that if it's not safe for them to pull back in I'll just wait until it is and "prompt" them if they don't move then. As I say 9 times out of 10 it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Agreed about accidents happening anywhere at anytime, but I have been caught several times from what I have pointed out.

Well, you say if slow drivers had not slowed you, you would have been past the point of the accident.

Who knows, one of them slow drivers may well have just as easily prevented you from being part of the accident, as having prevented you from being past the point before it happened.

Speeding.

That's a completely different discussion. If you're not overtaking a car, then get out of the overtaking lane.

What if you are travelling faster than all the slower cars in the left lane?

IMO, unless you are physically overtaking a car in the left lane, then you have no need to be in the overtaking lane.

Obviously if there is a gap of 100m between two cars in the left lane which you will overtake, then there is no need to return to the left lane for a few seconds. It's all just common sense.

No hard and fast rule here, but maybe if you spend more than 20 seconds in the overtaking lane without overtaking a car, then you are in the wrong lane.

IMO, unless you are physically overtaking a car in the left lane, then you have no need to be in the overtaking lane.

Obviously if there is a gap of 100m between two cars in the left lane which you will overtake, then there is no need to return to the left lane for a few seconds. It's all just common sense.

No hard and fast rule here, but maybe if you spend more than 20 seconds in the overtaking lane without overtaking a car, then you are in the wrong lane.

If I'm driving on a mostly empty motorway, I stick the the left lane mostly (I might go across lanes from time to time to pick the quickest lines between bends cuz its an empty road so who cares and adds some fun to a monotonous motorway drive!). On busier roads such as the M50 or N4, I just go into the overtaking lane cuz it easier to go at a constant 100-110 (can i say 120?!)kmph while overtaking the slower cars in the middle/left lane, than keep popping in and out of the left lane every few seconds to overtake someone slower than you...

On busier roads such as the M50 or N4, I just go into the overtaking lane cuz it easier to go at a constant 100-110 (can i say 120?!)kmph while overtaking the slower cars in the middle/left lane, than keep popping in and out of the left lane every few seconds to overtake someone slower than you...

Not to mention the chaos that ensues at the N3/N4/N7 junctions as they start ducking and weaving to/from the exit/on-ramp.

Better to sit in the outside doing the limit-ish and have only one lane of dawdlers to worry about, then move back in when past these junctions

Also the 80kmph speed limit on the N4 after (or before depending on which way you are travelling) the M50 is a bit ridiculous. Its like the 30kmph speed limit on the Quays. No one does it. And its a huge 3 lane road, one can easy do 120kmph and go a whole 40kmph over the speed limit without driving dangerously (not saying that I do that, I stick to around 100kmph on it which is still 20kmph over the speed limit).

I personally go into the left lane when possible.

As long as you are pulling in for faster drivers coming up behind you, then you won't get a tap from my Scania.

On busier roads such as the M50 or N4, I just go into the overtaking lane

Oh - so you are one of these overtake lane hoggers you speak of! :rolleyes:

Nope, because as I mentioned in the first post, I always pull over to the left lane if there's someone faster behind me or if I'm holding up someone behind me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

bazz26 wrote: »

I often leave in good time, stick to the limit. Since changing car, I just want to sit back and enjoy driving it :)

Someone doesn't want to go to the limit, fine that's no problem. The problem lies when people have no manners and hog the overtaking lane. Why? what do they gain? Nothing.

Nope, because as I mentioned in the first post, I always pull over to the left lane if there's someone faster behind me or if I'm holding up someone behind me...

Do you often find people behind you going faster when you are at (by your own admission) 120kmph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

OP, what you do is explain to the guy in front that you've discussed it on Boards and they are in the wrong and I'm sure they'll move over and oblige you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

On busier roads such as the M50 or N4, I just go into the overtaking lane cuz it easier to go at a constant 100-110

You Sir (Madam) are the problem.

Do you often find people behind you going faster when you are at (by your own admission) 120kmph?

Very very rarely

RustyNut wrote: »
    You Sir (Madam) are the problem.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

How so?

You're giving out about users on the road when infact you're not using the road correctly.Irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭ibebanging

Because your blocking the overtaking lane. It's for overtaking and nothing to do with the speed your traveling at and presume its acceptable to stop others from passing you safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

I was doing about 105kh on the overtake lane today when some guy aggressively comes up behind me and flashes his lights 3 times,normally I see a car coming and move bit this guy came out of nowhere,tbh I was going to move when I got space but he flashed again and I gave him the finger instead,if you're gonna be that aggressive on the road you need to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

How so?

By your own admission you drive in the overtaking lane and only pull over to allow other traffic to pass if you notice them behind you, this is not what it is for. The rule is keep to the left except when overtaking.