Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wiggins in Training Crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

Oh ooo...

"Tour de France winner reported to have injured ribs, hand and wrist after being hit by hit by white van
    Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) has been hospitalised after being hit by a car while out training close to his home, according to the Lancashire Evening Post. The Tour de France winner was reportedly struck by a white Vauxhall Astra Van, as it pulled out of a filling station forecourt, at around 6pm this evening.

It is believed that Wiggins suffered several broken ribs, as well as injuries to his hand and wrist, although Lancashire Police - who attended the incident - refused to give any further details.

“By the time I got there he had moved to a safer place but was still on the ground and he was in a lot of pain,” said filling station attendant Yasmin Smith, who rushed to the Tour de France winner’s aid.

“He said he thought he had broken his ribs and while a lot of police cars arrived it was about 15 minutes before the ambulance got there by which time he was blue.”"

Read more: http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/13246/Bradley-Wiggins-hospitalised-after-training-crash.aspx#ixzz2BZw35Psn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭lizzylad84

stupid white van men....may get some flack for this but wiggins is my cycling hero....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Get well soon Wiggo. Your cycling style might be boring but you appear to be a decent sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Unconditional best wishes to Wiggo
    Get well soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 noreen.

Sky News are saying "minor injuries". I think that is a statement from his people. Hopefully it's not more serious than what's in the article so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

noreen. wrote: »
    Sky News are saying "minor injuries". I think that is a statement from his people. Hopefully it's not more serious than what's in the article so.

in cycling terms there minor injuries, imagine if it was a soccer player:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Reading the StickyBottle article, a witness said:
    “He said he thought he had broken his ribs and while a lot of police cars arrived it was about 15 minutes before the ambulance got there by which time he was blue.”

Does that mean he was sad, freezing, or effing and blinding in his usual fashion? :D

in cycling terms there minor injuries, imagine if it was a soccer player:P

Ok, well not life-threatening or career-ending injuries. They are just speculating on their press preview that they do each night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

i know what you mean noreen
    its just late and im being a smart arse

i know what you mean noreen
    its just late and im being a smart arse

ok, :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

He'd just shaved off his lucky sideburns and look what happens. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

lizzylad84 wrote: »
    stupid white van men....may get some flack for this but wiggins is my cycling hero....

Was a woman in the white astra it seems... Bloody w***n drivers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭calistro

Reading the StickyBottle article, a witness said:

Quote:
    “He said he thought he had broken his ribs and while a lot of police cars arrived it was about 15 minutes before the ambulance got there by which time he was blue.”

Does that mean he was sad, freezing, or effing and blinding in his usual fashion?

Possibly this:

302526_IMG_3717.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Hope Bradley is ok....must say I really really like him....love his testy straight talking personality...he takes no prisoners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I wonder if he had a helmet on?! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

.....and lights & hi viz given the time of year:)

Good to see he's substantially ok, but those ribs will hurt. Hopefully he'll have a quick recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Gotta lol (not ina funny way) about the poor woman. Imagine going home and saying I've only gone and knocked Bradley Wiggins off his bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Sky News were replaying his off-the-cuff (and subsequently qualified) comments on compulsion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

While I, of course, wish Twiggles all the best and a speedy recovery etc. etc., I can't help but be slightly cheered by this.

I think it's the idea that the road (and the oblivious berks who use it) is the great equaliser. It is no respecter of rank. It doesn't matter if you're a fat POB on your way to the bookie's or winner of La Grande Boucle - you're an invisible, fragile irrelevance to anyone with a tax disc and a heavy right foot. We all get SMIDSY'd eventually.

Cycling is done in the real world. I guess this is the flip-side to the coin that allows us to go and ride l'Alpe d'Huez or Ventoux or whatever - the pros have to do their mileage, at least some of it given the volume they put in, in Lancashire, in November, around white-van-(wo)man. Like us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Reading the articles and seeing the pictures, it seems way more likely he hit the car rather than what has been reported - that he was hit. If he was indeed on a training run, surely several hours, it is also very unlikely he had lights etc.

Obviously the car shouldn't have pulled out in front of him, but maybe just this once it wasn't entirely the motorist to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

niceonetom wrote: »
    While I, of course, wish Twiggles all the best and a speedy recovery etc. etc.

No you don't.

mitosis wrote: »
    Reading the articles and seeing the pictures, it seems way more likely he hit the car rather than what has been reported - that he was hit. If he was indeed on a training run, surely several hours, it is also very unlikely he had lights etc.

Obviously the car shouldn't have pulled out in front of him, but maybe just this once it wasn't entirely the motorist to blame.

29850259.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

We await your conclusive evidence with bated breath. It's about time that someone dealt with this issue of cyclists mowing down cars willy nilly (or wiggy nilly, in the circumstances). Justice must be served, and your moment has come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

doozerie wrote: »
    We await your conclusive evidence with bated breath. It's about time that someone dealt with this issue of cyclists mowing down cars willy nilly (or wiggy nilly, in the circumstances). Justice must be served, and your moment has come!

Look at the photo - all the evidence you need is there.....

1538990071.jpg

The position of the van, the marks in the grass all indicate that Wiggo swerved up on to the path, across the grass and into the van.......mind you isn't Lancashire remarkably bright at 6pm in the evening;)

Anyway that's what you get for riding a mountain bike.....:D

"Sky News understands that father-of-two Wiggins was on a mountain bike on his way to meet a group of local cyclists."

We're doing memes now? OK...

Is that yellow close enough to chartreuse to count as hi-viz? If it is, and he wasn't wearing the yellow jersey at the time, then clearly he must shoulder some of the blame.

Unless he was wearing hi-viz.

buffalo wrote: »
    Cute pic

Nice input there.

Wing mirror is off the car. Unless a vehicle is actually going sideways or turning right in the wrong direction, it is unlikely the car "hit" the bike - more likely the bike hit the car.

I am suggesting other possiblities, nowhere have I said I know what happened. I don't, anymore than you do. I have not defended the motorist who I expect is completely wrong, but am open to other possibilities, which it would seem you are not.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

God wait til they hear that a cyclist was POTENTIALLY at fault over in motors and AH! They will have a field
    "wise he was run down",
    "should have a license, insurance, number plate on the bike"
    "last week a bike passed me in traffic"

Hope the skinny man gets well soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Cyclist and motorist in collision..eight police cars arrive at the scene.
    Goes to show the importance that UK police attach to such collisions :cool:

Nice input there.

Wing mirror is off the car. Unless a vehicle is actually going sideways or turning right in the wrong direction, it is unlikely the car "hit" the bike - more likely the bike hit the car.

I am suggesting other possiblities, nowhere have I said I know what happened. I don't, anymore than you do. I have not defended the motorist who I expect is completely wrong, but am open to other possibilities, which it would seem you are not.

I'm not open to speculating on an accident that I didn't witness, and suggesting that someone was at fault, particularly when it's the injured party. "It's unlikely he had lights" - you have absolutely no idea whether that's the case or not, and it's ridiculous and dangerous to try to assert it.

It's a horrific example of the view that when there's an accident involving a cyclist, the the cyclist must have been at fault somehow, whether they were an idiot, or breaking the rules of the road, or not wearing hi-viz, nor a helmet (and therefore deserved those head injuries), etc.

snubbleste wrote: »
    Cyclist and motorist in collision..eight police cars arrive at the scene.
    Goes to show the importance that UK police attach to such collisions :cool:

I think that may be down to the fact that it was initially reported as a serious incident where the cyclist was reported as being critically injured - that being the case they'd want to secure the scene as quickly as possible.

Police in the UK (and the Guards) now treat fatal traffic collisions in the same way they treat murder scenes - which means securing the site for proper forensic examination.

I don't think Wiggo got special treatment - I don't think they even realised who he was until the police actually got there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I'm not open to speculating on an accident that I didn't witness, and suggesting that someone was at fault, particularly when it's the injured party. "It's unlikely he had lights" - you have absolutely no idea whether that's the case or not, and it's ridiculous and dangerous to try to assert it.

It's a horrific example of the view that when there's an accident involving a cyclist, the the cyclist must have been at fault somehow, whether they were an idiot, or breaking the rules of the road, or not wearing hi-viz, nor a helmet (and therefore deserved those head injuries), etc.

Yup, I hate that attitude too. Some people always feel the need to apportion 50% (at a minimum) of the blame to the cyclist, not matter how ridiculous their logic. In their eyes it is never up to the person driving the car, or van, or whatever to take any care in what they are doing. Their view - "cyclists are vulnerable so they should avoid me in my jalopy (doing whatever the hell I like)". I don't dig that philosophy.

For my two cents regarding the accident... the van was going into or out of the petrol station, their duty of care is to not hit anyone on the road. We've all nearly been zapped by people turning into or out of driveways and the like. Do we feel like we are to blame for someone else's silly manoeuver? Do you really think a world class cyclist came out of a side road and rammed the van? I think not.

Disclaimer: my opinion is based on nearly being run over by people pulling out of sideroads at me, not from being a world class cyclist. Just so that's clear! :)

I'll presume English is not your first language seeing as you have such a weak grasp of the meaning of words like "unlikely", and "possibilities", or the phrase "nowhere have I said I know what happened". If you think I said, sorry "asserted", anywhere that the cyclist must have been at fault your powers of comprehension are weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Vehicles entering or exiting a property must yield to all traffic, including pedestrians.

Unless Wiggins has mastered the art of teleportation I think claiming he could have been in the wrong is being anal in the extreme.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Let's tone down the personalisation of the debate please.

Thank you

I'll presume English is not your first language seeing as you have such a weak grasp of the meaning of words like "unlikely", and "possibilities", or the phrase "nowhere have I said I know what happened".
    huzzah for attacking the poster! I much prefer Polish, so forgive my inconsistencies. Perhaps I have not fully grasped the concept of hyperbole yet.
    If you think I said, sorry "asserted", anywhere that the cyclist must have been at fault your powers of comprehension are weak.
    You made this statement: "it is also very unlikely he had lights etc."
    To which I responded: ""It's unlikely he had lights" - you have absolutely no idea whether that's the case or not, and it's ridiculous and dangerous to try to assert it."
    You are asserting that it is unlikely he had lights. I recognise you are not asserting that he did not have lights, and nowhere did I say you were asserting that he was at fault.
    If you think I said ...anywhere that the cyclist must have been at fault your powers of comprehension are weak.
    I was inferring it from this:
    maybe just this once it wasn't entirely the motorist to blame.
    If you are not suggesting that the cyclist bear the rest of the blame, then who does?

edit: just saw the mod note. I don't think I've crossed the line Vlad, but let me know if you disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

How exactly is it unlikely that he had lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Rumours the driver of the car was a blonde Welsh lady with a camera have been dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Jawgap wrote:
    The position of the van, the marks in the grass all indicate that Wiggo swerved up on to the path, across the grass and into the van.

Worse, on his first assault the van repelled him with only a broken rib. So Wiggins attacked again, breaking another rib. And so on. The poor van was only protecting itself, the fact that Wiggins was silly enough to bring flesh and bone to a van fight is hardly the van's fault. And now its wing mirror will have to be sewn back on, the poor thing. Bloody cyclists, grrrr!!!

It gets worse still though, the following quote is from The Guardian:
    The AA's president Edmund King said: "This collision should act as a reminder to all drivers that we need to be more vigilant particularly when pulling out of entrances and turning at junctions.

"With autumnal weather and darker evenings it is essential to check and double-check for cyclists, pedestrians and indeed other road users before pulling out. We need to break down the 'two-tribe' mentality on the roads and co-exist in harmony."

Huh? What's all this pandering to cyclists stuff, has the world gone *completely* rational?

Running over cyclists was good enough in my father's day, etc. The world is going to hell in a handcart. Except that it'll never make it that far 'cos some inconsiderate fecker on a bike will almost certainly collide with the handcart and tip it over, like some world-saving hippie. Feckers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

You gotta love the sun. The multi gold medal olympic winner and Tour de France winner gets hit by a car so whats your headline: "sideburns ace in smash" - Thats right folks, no matter what you win, it's your sideburns that count.

Oh hell ...it is dangerous for cyclists on British roads...I live in London and there are so many more cyclists training around my area than last year ,.....and it is so hard to judge their speed as they as going deceptively fast especilly after dark... more needs to be done to ensure drivers are aware of cyclists

looking at the thread title again has left me wondering if he deliberately aimed himself at the car to practice crashing for next season - a training session that got out of hand:D

Rumours the driver of the car was a lady in a ballroom dancing dress, crying dramatically, have similarly been dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Witness on the BBC video reports that the bike had flashing lights "all flashing and dancing", wearing sky kit + his helmet.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cycling/20246940

Wiggo has been released from hospital, hopefully, will be fully recovered asap.

lescol wrote: »
    Witness on the BBC video reports that the bike had flashing lights "all flashing and dancing", wearing sky kit + his helmet.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cycling/20246940

Wiggo has been released from hospital, hopefully, will be fully recovered asap.

Obviously it's not right to speculate but it sounds to me like a classic case of:

"oh, there's a cyclist. Well, they don't move very fast, and anyway he can brake easily enough. Off I go so"

I'm sure we've all experienced that many times. Unfortunately if it's Bradley Wiggins he might be going a little faster than anticipated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

HA!

A7MQpzXCcAIXym5.jpg

joker77 wrote: »
    HA!

A7MQpzXCcAIXym5.jpg

NOT COOL BRADLEY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

doozerie wrote: »
    Worse, on his first assault the van repelled him with only a broken rib. So Wiggins attacked again, breaking another rib. And so on.

This whole scenario is highly unlikely..... Wiggins would never attack.