Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda Wheelers Louth Coastal Tour

• 05-11-2012 8:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭

Drogheda Wheelers will hold their final promotion of the year on Sun Nov 25th at 10am from the retail park on the Donore Rd.The route will take in Baltray,Termonfeckin,Clogherhead,Annagassan,Castlebellingham,Tallanstown,Ardee,Collon,and back to Drogheda.The tour will be in aid of Scoil Naomh Mhuire in Donore who make their premises available to us every year for one of our race promotions.Tea and hang sambos on return.Lovely route and all welcome.e10 sign on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Can you put up the route please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭wav1

Can you put up the route please?
    Will get a map my ride route up before the weekend.Its 80km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭lennymc

im looking forward to this. Wav1, I'll do the map thing when I get home tonight, and send it on to you to make sure its correct, then post it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭ugsparky

Hope to do this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

That's a lovely route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

must book that day off so i'll say i will be there

Great news for us re the tour.
    The current National U23 Road Race champion Philip Lavery from the Node 4 team has agreed to be guest of honour and lead the spin for us on the day.Philip won his first ever prize on his 10th birthday in August 2000 at a race at the school in Donore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

wav1 wrote: »
    Great news for us re the tour.
    The current National U23 Road Race champion Philip Lavery from the Node 4 team has agreed to be guest of honour and lead the spin for us on the day.Philip won his first ever prize on his 10th birthday in August 2000 at a race at the school in Donore.

so it will be a nice handy spin so :eek:

This should be the route. Nice roads for the most part. Looking at the CX diary, ill be racing on the 25th, but I hope to do this route on Saturday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

is the start accurate ? just for those of us who dont know Drogheda !

michael196 wrote: »
    is the start accurate ? just for those of us who dont know Drogheda !

Yep, big retail park with homebase, halfords, argos etc. Lots of parking, just off the motorway at the donore exit (head for drogheda)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Lambretta

Looks like a lovely route.
    I could not decipher from the map if there are any big climbs, is anyone familar with the route here? have one or two lads doing their first sportive with me so trying to gauge how tough the course is.

Thanks for any info.

the only climb of any note would be from ardee to collon but its not to bad the rest is pretty flat

granda wrote: »
    the only climb of any note would be from ardee to collon but its not to bad the rest is pretty flat

... or you could go up Mount Oriel and descend into downtown Collon :eek:

ugsparky wrote: »
    ... or you could go up Mount Oriel and descend into downtown Collon :eek:
    Not happening.We will be on the N2 from Ardee to Collon where we return to Drogheda via Tullyallen.We will turn off at Tullyallen and go down King Williams Glen,and return to base via battle of the boyne site along the river.

might do this but it will mean me coming home on my todd so if i make it as far as tullyallan i think i;'ll just go home alone.
    mind you reckon i'll get dropped long before that.:eek:

might do this but it will mean me coming home on my todd so if i make it as far as tullyallan i think i;'ll just go home alone.
    mind you reckon i'll get dropped long before that.:eek:
    Never.Keep her lit.

nah the flame went out yonks ago.:D

It'll be a steady pace for me - see how I feel when I get to Collon - might try to light it up a bit from there - or I might just glow dimly like the lamp on the end of a train ... the slow mail train ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

In. I hope you organise the same kind of weather as the one a few weeks back with the mud sections as well.:D

bcmf wrote: »
    In. I hope you organise the same kind of weather as the one a few weeks back with the mud sections as well.:D
    No bother at all.Broom wagon possibly needs to be a bit bigger this time and equipped with allen keys.

maybe the particpants should ensure their cranks and pedals are fully tightened before be venturing out ;-)

Special rates from cycling experienced physio at the ''Treatment Room'' Bettystown to all those who enter for the tour on the day.Every little helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Any other Newbies doing this? or will I be bringing up the rear all by myself :D

Looking forward to it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

I have a family thing that I somehow 'forgot' about so I will miss this one.

Nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 bokpaddie

detones I'm no super-duper racer but no newbie so if you are wanting company wrangling up the stragglers I’ll help…

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

bokpaddie wrote: »
    detones I'm no super-duper racer but no newbie so if you are wanting company wrangling up the stragglers I’ll help…

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Thanks bokpaddie, your help will be appriciated! I should be easy to spot, i'll be the one at the back grumbling and giving out going over every hill bigger than a speed ramp.

I'm sure i'll be fine, was looking at the map and there looks like a nice hill at 60k should be fun, hopefully the weather is better than today.

detones wrote: »
    Any other Newbies doing this? or will I be bringing up the rear all by myself :D

Looking forward to it anyway.
    Leisure rep from club on to me this morning to confirm about 12 ''newbies'' coming along on Sunday.Route will be well marked.

if its any help i expect to get droppes after 6 miles but i will be doing the route anyway;) i intent to take it east average speed will be around 14 mph for entire trip .
    i 'm the one on the raleigh carrying a carradice barley bag cant miss really all the drogheda wheelers will be avoiding me like the plauge :D:D

will be around 14 mph for entire trip .
    Whats that in Euro's :P

23km i think ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

ooh leisure rep sounds like a nice job. Any one from around my parts headin over i am hope in to cycle over and back weather permiting

Is this the start of an A3 preparation programme?See you then.

going but in the car with bike rack if anyone wants a lift.

bcmf wrote: »
    going but in the car with bike rack if anyone wants a lift.
    Complete with set of metric allen keys.

Yes.A 'certain' sized Allen key has found a permanent home in my mini toolbag.Any more stuff makes it's way into that toolbag and I will need panniers then I will become one of those tourer types

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭padjo5

Really looking forward to this. Looks like there'll be a good turn-out, so should be plenty of craic too. Did I hear there'll be whiskey in the broomwagon this year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

This one is looking good for me so far. Fingers crossed.

padjo5 wrote: »
    Really looking forward to this. Looks like there'll be a good turn-out, so should be plenty of craic too. Did I hear there'll be whiskey in the broomwagon this year??

wont make any difference for you paddy as youll be leading us round,but if you want i'll bring you a little something to warm your cockles

padjo5 wrote: »
    Actually its Brandy,but its only given out on special occasions.About once every 10 years,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 bokpaddie

after 5345km I had to replace my 1st ever tube on the trusty steed so I decided to change both tyres. Think I got more than enough km's out of them. Hope the new ones are just as good...

So bike has been cleaned & serviced all ready for Sunday...:D

don't think i'll make it sunday got the bloody flu ah maybe it'ds as well would not last the distance anyway.
    good luck with the trip hope yis get the weather.;)

Just had word from Philip Lavery.Cant make it on Sunday as he has to stay on for an extra few days at this training camp in the USA.Sorry to all in advance and just to keep you all updated.Thanks.....

Just did a recky on the route and marked the junctions [ big yellow arrows].Roads in fairly good nick.Long drag on the N2 between Ardee and Collon comes at the 58km mark.

got out for a short spin today to test the legs ,defo staying at home on sunday i suffered like a dog.if its anything like today folks wrap up well it was bloody cold .:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Any one from around my parts headin over i am hope in to cycle over and back weather permiting

What parts would that be? I may cycle up from NCD.

enjoy the spin on sunday lads. i ownt make it. ill be getting muddy in st annes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

What parts would that be? I may cycle up from NCD.
    same parts NCD balbriggan was goin to allow 30min to get down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭furiousox

Not sure if I'll make this now. :(
    Just coming out of the worst dose of food poisoning I've ever had.
    The good news is I've lost nearly half a stone overnight. :)
    The bad news is I'll probably never eat cod and chips from a take-away ever again. :(

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I'd love to be doing this but I'm working. It's a bit of a trek from Zurich for the day!