Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hauled off Ryanair flight over a poster..

• 04-11-2012 2:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

A Ryanair passenger was hauled off a plane by police after she pleaded to be allowed board with a book and a rolled-up poster that would not fit in her hand luggage.

She was told the two items were not the correct type of luggage and this meant she could not take her seat on the plane that was boarding at Manises Airport in Valencia.

It was reported that the flight crew told the woman to check in the items at a cost of €50. Passengers said the woman told the crew her credit card was not working and could not pay the additional charge.

The subsequent scene, which was filmed and posted on the internet, saw police officers eventually board the plane and take the Spanish-speaking woman back to the airport.

This was followed by shouts of support from other passengers who had already taken their seats.

Ryanair defended its actions by claiming the woman had become disruptive and had "pushed past" its gate agents without showing any ID or her boarding card.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/woman-hauled-off-ryanair-jet-by-police-after-luggage-row-212730.html

Ryainair would make you sick! She should have folded the poster or something.. The Nazi Generals at the boarding gate are obviously on a commission for every journey they ruin. I have brought stuff that was of a similar size on Ryanair. I just did a better job of disguising it while I boarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

You know what you get with Ryanair

If you don't like it, fly with someone else.

She should have known that she would probably have to fork out 50 cuid for the poster so why not put it in her holding luggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I remember my wife being "challenged" but a complete nutjob ryanair worker while we boarded a flight in Spain, my wife had a flight case and a bag of duty free, the bag wouldn't fit in the flight case and the member of staff was getting very aggressive. I walked a bit on down the stairs, left my bag sitting there and walked back up, said to the staff that i had no hand luggage and i would carry the bag, walked down the stairs picked up my own luggage and boarded the plane:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭caste_in_exile

You have to see it from their eyes. Could have been a bAzOoKa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭caste_in_exile

Was it a poster of zac efron; serves her right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

She wasnt hauled off the flight for a poster....she was hauled off the flight for breaking the rules.

She had been abusive at the gate, thats when the police were called.
    She ignored the staff and walked past them to the plane.

How do I know this? 1st hand from one of the flight attendants.
    The only reason shes getting any publicity is because it was put on youtube.

I doubt she'll want the footage of herself at the gates, published.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Ryanair's actions were probably a little excessive in this case but I'm so sick and tired of people giving out about them. Their policies are clear and if you don't agree with them, don't book a flight with them and don't act surprised when they try to enforce the policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

If the let her on with the poster then where does it end?

Would they let me on with my massive pole?

Where To wrote: »

If it fits within the hand luggage dimensions, yes.

So no problem for you ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

LizT wrote: »
    If it fits within the hand luggage dimensions, yes.

So no problem for you ;):)
    How did you guess it was retractable?

Well what use is a massive pole if it's not retractable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DonLimon

I think it's disgraceful that she was kicked off the flight, however its also pretty pathetic that she was willing to get kicked off the plane for the sake of a poster, but who knows maybe it was some kind of falling down scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

She shoved past and got on the plane without displaying a boarding pass or ID. If she was in the US she'd be in detention and probably be waterboarded by now. She should consider herself lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

fair enough. There is a very clear policy of bagge allowance which is applied fairly to all. If you allow people to break the rules it just encourages everyone to think that they can get away with bigger bags, multiple bags and odd sizes luggage.

Why should I adhere to their standards and watch people get on with massive bags just because they were brazen enough to chance it.

The policy is clearly laid out and anyone who can read should be able to follow it.

Whatever exchange took place and her behaviour was just bad on her part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

More free publicity for Ryanair!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Think the poster was of 1 direction,... Ryanair where right :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

You leave Magda alone, she's not massive, just big boned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Vojtek? is that you?

damn second page, beaten by 4 minutes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

jay-me wrote: »
    A Ryanair passenger was hauled off a plane by police after she pleaded to be allowed board with a book and a rolled-up poster that would not fit in her hand luggage.

She was told the two items were not the correct type of luggage and this meant she could not take her seat on the plane that was boarding at Manises Airport in Valencia.

It was reported that the flight crew told the woman to check in the items at a cost of €50. Passengers said the woman told the crew her credit card was not working and could not pay the additional charge.

The subsequent scene, which was filmed and posted on the internet, saw police officers eventually board the plane and take the Spanish-speaking woman back to the airport.

This was followed by shouts of support from other passengers who had already taken their seats.

Ryanair defended its actions by claiming the woman had become disruptive and had "pushed past" its gate agents without showing any ID or her boarding card.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/woman-hauled-off-ryanair-jet-by-police-after-luggage-row-212730.html

Ryainair would make you sick! She should have folded the poster or something.. The Nazi Generals at the boarding gate are obviously on a commission for every journey they ruin. I have brought stuff that was of a similar size on Ryanair. I just did a better job of disguising it while I boarded.

if people just followed the rules things would be so much easier. i have never had agro from ryanair cos they send me an email of what I can and cannot bring on board and specify how big cabin luggage should be and how many items I am allowed on board. I comply and there a re never any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    More free publicity for Ryanair!!!

In b4 heavily discounted ticket sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Maybe Ryanair can change the mentality prevalent in Britain and Ireland whereby people ignore the rules, encounter problems and then feel hard done by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Have you ever "queued" in Spain for anything? It's every man for himself. The woman forced herself on the plane without showing id or a boarding pass. Are you saying Aer Lingus would have left her on the flight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,090 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Fuinseog wrote: »
    Maybe Ryanair can change the mentality prevalent in Britain and Ireland whereby people ignore the rules, encounter problems and then feel hard done by.

Good try, but she was Spanish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I'm grateful for people like her. she makes tickets cheaper for the rest of us.

Fuinseog wrote: »

Ireland more than Britain. Was watching a cop show last night in Britain and an Irish lad was pulled over, hadn't got his licence on him, no tax, no MOT. He had his licence number though and said he had the MOT booked for the following day so everything was fine. Proper Irish logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Less space, more seats, cheap tickets! Thats how it works. its why you can now go to spain for €150 quid as opposed to plus 500 punts!!! even though fuel prices are much higher now than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ryanairs rules are simple - one item, of set size and less than 10kg. how f*cking straight forward can it be?

i dont think the police would have got involved for no reason so ive no sympathy for the woman, hope she gets a few weeks in jail for the disturbance.

Ryanair should just ban idiots who cannot comprehend simple rules, from flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

O' Leary pays no heed to the rule........"Attack the post not the poster".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I love Ryan Air, i have been flying with them for years and i have never had a bad experience with them, also i usually pay no more than £20 for a flight home. I can't stand people who don't follow the rules and then moan that they get a fine, ffs just print out your tickets and make sure everything fits in the correct sized bag its only 2 things to remember.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

unroll poster fold in half and roll up again

iron out the crease later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

I have personally seen Ryanair staff (Dublin-Madrid flight) man-handle a hysterical, elderly Italian lady, as she was trying to board with carry-on luggage less than a half kilo over limit. They only stopped when they realized a number of passengers whip out the smartphones to record the event.

Yes, they have a job to do, and unless they receive a bonus or some sort for catching the slightly over-weight bags; I can not understand the delight they find in this part of the job.

In the interest of variety; any past or current Ryanair staff on Boards?

professore wrote: »
    Have you ever "queued" in Spain for anything? It's every man for himself.

This I can vouch for. I was 'far' too polite in my first months living there.

And slightly off topic; the footpath blocking phenomena the Irish have to endure in the Summer months really is part of their cultural makeup.

Walking along at a brief pace, possibly with a drink in hand and they will quite literally STOP dead in their tracks without warning or reason - take in the scene and walk on again. Never seen anything like it outside of Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

She was kicked off for being a c*nt from what I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

unroll poster fold in half and roll up again

iron out the crease later

Unfold poster, wrap around leg, attempt to walk awkwardly, get charged 51 euro by Ryanair for needing a wheelchair to get to plane.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

IrishExpat wrote: »
    I have personally seen Ryanair staff (Dublin-Madrid flight) man-handle a hysterical, elderly Italian lady, as she was trying to board with carry-on luggage less than a half kilo over limit. They only stopped when they realized a number of passengers whip out the smartphones to record the event.

Yes, they have a job to do, and unless they receive a bonus or some sort for catching the slightly over-weight bags; I can not understand the delight they find in this part of the job.

It's been posted quite regularly in Ryanair threads that the ground staff do get bonus/commission for overweight/excess luggage that they check in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The Ryanair bashing is boring at this stage.

She didn't play by the rules and was dealt with accordingly. I for one like seeing a company take no bullshit from people who think they can take liberties when they like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Did she even have a ticket / boarding card for the flight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

This I can vouch for. I was 'far' too polite in my first months living there.

And slightly off topic; the footpath blocking phenomena the Irish have to endure in the Summer months really is part of their cultural makeup.

Walking along at a brief pace, possibly with a drink in hand and they will quite literally STOP dead in their tracks without warning or reason - take in the scene and walk on again. Never seen anything like it outside of Spain.

Great point, I'm tired of seeing the hoardes of Spanish/Italian students barging their way through the city. When they're waiting for the bus they all rush when the driver opens the doors at one stage pushing elderly people aside. The Europeans are cnuts for this. Think of a time when you've been on an underground system in a European capital...you can't be a wallflower.

Yesterday getting off Luas at Jervis and a group of adult Italians pushed towards the door before people could alight. I pushed straight through the crowd and in my best Italian told them, "Wait till we get off you ignorant thicks".

There's no respect. While in Belgium once with my ex Belgian gf, I stood up on the bus to let an old woman sit down. She was very pleased but I got stares from everyone else on the bus. The lady said something to my ex in Flemish. When I asked what she said it was, "He's not from Belgium is he?"

We are just too nice really...maybe we have to be more cnutish. Sorry way off topic but in a way related. I was thinking as I watched that video...how many Irish people would have piped up and shouted at the police if it had been an irish woman being removed from the plane. Granted most people may not have given a damn, but I can bet that even if people thought an injustice was being done, they would remain sheepish and read their little plastic menu card thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I have personally seen Ryanair staff (Dublin-Madrid flight) man-handle a hysterical, elderly Italian lady, as she was trying to board with carry-on luggage less than a half kilo over limit.

There ya go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 StankyStevie

So, what's your point OP?
    I see nothing wrong in the airlines actions.
    Fair play I say.

What are they supposed to do when someone is hysterical?

Vulcan nerve pinch?

Differentiate between a) profit and b) being a cnut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I think its a great rule, I have been on flights where people are ramming over sized bags into the overhead luggage holders and its dangerous. Its much better on a ryanair flight where you have to take normal sized bags.

Differentiate between a) profit and b) being a cnut?

So if I act hysterical I can break / ignore any rule I like? Sets a great precedent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Air hostesses are totally comparable to the Nazi's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Air hostesses are totally comparable to the Nazi's.

hot nazi's with nice uniforms..ok lets not use the nazi comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭SNNUS

1 piece of hand luggage, stated when you purchase a ticket and also they send you an email prior to your flight stating this, If everyone brings a suitcase, another bag and a precious poster then the aircraft would never get off the ground with the baggage bins jammed!. I don't know why these stories make it in the news, she broke the rules and also pushed through the gate to get to the aircraft. No sympathy for the woman, rules are rules for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭blindsider

So the woman was allowed to board without showing ID or card? Seriously? So she could conceivably have boarded the flight, dropped a small incendiary device on the floor, allowed herself to be taken off the flight, and then waited for the results.

Hmmmm. Doesn't stack up IMO.

If it's true, then Ryanair were in serious breach of security procedures. If someone 'pushed past' the gate agents I'd expect red lights and sirens within seconds. Did a Gate Agent not follow her?

Also, she actually boarded the plane - there's always someone at the entrance/top of the steps checking boarding passes and they are in contact with the Gate - would she not have been stopped there?

My money is on Ryanair diverting attention from the truth.

I don't especially like Ryanair, but I agree that their regulations are clearly indicated - and if you choose to fly Ryanair then you take your chances.

In theory, Ryanair are correct - the poster didn't fit in her luggage - I'd just prefer if they owned up to being absolutely inflexible and unforgiving re their T's & C's - most of us know it anyway, so why not just admit it?

blindsider wrote: »
    So the woman was allowed to board without showing ID or card? Seriously? So she could conceivably have boarded the flight, dropped a small incendiary device on the floor, allowed herself to be taken off the flight, and then waited for the results.

Hmmmm. Doesn't stack up IMO.

If it's true, then Ryanair were in serious breach of security procedures. If someone 'pushed past' the gate agents I'd expect red lights and sirens within seconds. Did a Gate Agent not follow her?

Also, she actually boarded the plane - there's always someone at the entrance/top of the steps checking boarding passes and they are in contact with the Gate - would she not have been stopped there?

My money is on Ryanair diverting attention from the truth.

I don't especially like Ryanair, but I agree that their regulations are clearly indicated - and if you choose to fly Ryanair then you take your chances.

In theory, Ryanair are correct - the poster didn't fit in her luggage - I'd just prefer if they owned up to being absolutely inflexible and unforgiving re their T's & C's - most of us know it anyway, so why not just admit it?

Admit what exactly? I don't see anything in your post to suggest Ryanair are the ones not telling the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

I suppose thats why they are the most succesful airline in the world with over 80,000,000 passenger journeys a year.
    Truth is people love to complain about Ryanair but they still fly with them.