Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tallaght pallet hut fire child murder case today.

• 02-11-2012 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

It doesn't seem like 11 years ago since this happened, that kid would have been 23 years old today. Hopefully the family of this child will finally see some justice come out of this case.

A man will appear in court in Dublin this morning charged in connection with the death of a 12-year-old boy in a fire 11 years ago.
    Stephen Hughes Connors died when the makeshift hut he was sleeping in with a friend was set alight in Tallaght in the early hours of September 1st 2001.

A man in his 50s will appear before Tallaght District Court at 10.30am charged in connection with the blaze at Rossfield Avenue, Brookfield, on that date. Although gardaí originally believed the fire had started when the two boys knocked over a candle, subsequent examination of CCTV footage at the scene revealed an unidentified man approaching the hut after 5am.

The footage from a nearby business premises showed him with a dog, leaving and returning alone approximately nine minutes later. He then left for a second time, shortly before a small explosion was heard at the scene. The hut, which was predominantly made of pallets, doors and carpet in an alley between a derelict shop and a house, caught fire.

The deceased’s friend, Darren Hall, who was 14 at the time, awoke and tried to pull his friend to safety. While his friend escaped the blaze with minor injuries Stephen Hughes Connors died from smoke inhalation. The case was re-examined by the Garda serious crime review team in April 2006 when a 51 year old was arrested in connection with the case. A file was sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions but did not result in a prosecution. A man in his 50s was arrested and questioned in February of this year and a file was again sent to

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1102/breaking12.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

It doesn't seem like 11 years ago since this happened, that kid would have been 23 years old today. Hopefully the family of this child will finally see some justice come out of this case.

A man will appear in court in Dublin this morning charged in connection with the death of a 12-year-old boy in a fire 11 years ago.
    Stephen Hughes Connors died when the makeshift hut he was sleeping in with a friend was set alight in Tallaght in the early hours of September 1st 2001.

A man in his 50s will appear before Tallaght District Court at 10.30am charged in connection with the blaze at Rossfield Avenue, Brookfield, on that date. Although gardaí originally believed the fire had started when the two boys knocked over a candle, subsequent examination of CCTV footage at the scene revealed an unidentified man approaching the hut after 5am.

The footage from a nearby business premises showed him with a dog, leaving and returning alone approximately nine minutes later. He then left for a second time, shortly before a small explosion was heard at the scene. The hut, which was predominantly made of pallets, doors and carpet in an alley between a derelict shop and a house, caught fire.

The deceased’s friend, Darren Hall, who was 14 at the time, awoke and tried to pull his friend to safety. While his friend escaped the blaze with minor injuries Stephen Hughes Connors died from smoke inhalation. The case was re-examined by the Garda serious crime review team in April 2006 when a 51 year old was arrested in connection with the case. A file was sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions but did not result in a prosecution. A man in his 50s was arrested and questioned in February of this year and a file was again sent to

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1102/breaking12.html

Why woudl you even do something so ****ed up as to burn a kids hut down with them in it. I just ****ing hate being a human sometimes, you know that. I firmly beleive some people just need to be put to death, **** all the "oh he must have his own trouble" lot, if a person makes a decision which ends in someones death, they should have the same inflicted on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

so whats the conspiracy here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

No Daily mail link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'd never heard of that case. Horrific stuff, what sort of mind would make someone do something so f*cked up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

allibastor wrote: »
    Why woudl you even do something so ****ed up as to burn a kids hut down with them in it. I just ****ing hate being a human sometimes, you know that. I firmly beleive some people just need to be put to death, **** all the "oh he must have his own trouble" lot, if a person makes a decision which ends in someones death, they should have the same inflicted on them.

Aye but who executes the executioner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

Makes a good argument for bringing back the death penalty.I reckon if they had a vote today it would be voted in overwhelmingly.They won't have a vote because the do-gooder minority have too much say and make up a large portion of the media and politicians.How in the name of God were 2 kids aged 12 and 14 allowed out all night in a makeshift hut in a laneway?Terrible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

so whats the conspiracy here?

The only conspiracy i could see in this case is that the man in question was a grumpy old boll*x that couldn't get his sleep with a few kids making noise in a make shift hut so he decided to take the law into his own hands and torch the place.

No Daily mail link?

it says irish time actually, ass. its a real paper

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

why does someone have to! sometimes people just need to be puished for doing something, its not good holding thier hands all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

repsol wrote: »
    Makes a good argument for bringing back the death penalty.I reckon if they had a vote today it would be voted in overwhelmingly.They won't have a vote because the do-gooder minority have too much say and make up a large portion of the media and politicians.
    You're right. More do-badders is what we need.

For fuck's sake. Rolleyes doesn't suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

I think its about time we congratulated them! A case thats 11 years old and growing older is only made more difficult with each day that passes. with the current cutbacks, lack of Morale & Incentive....its Great to see a Case so old closed by the Gardai

I think the guards were aware of who did it but had a difficult time gathering enough evidence against the person to facilitate prosecution against a known criminal from the area. Some break came this year and allowed them to push for charges. Congrats to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

horrific case. excellent (if late) outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Makes a good argument for bringing back the death penalty.I reckon if they had a vote today it would be voted in overwhelmingly.

Do you really think that?! Jaysus...
    They won't have a vote because the do-gooder minority have too much say and make up a large portion of the media and politicians.

What a $hit theory! :pac: That's almost too fooking ridiculous to comment on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

its great to see someone being brought to justice over this, what a horrific crime it was

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    Do you really think that?! Jaysus...

What a $hit theory! :pac: That's almost too fooking ridiculous to comment on!

Well Wilkie, you say my theory is ****,so lets hear yours.

Nope. And why not? For the same reason I couldn't be prevailed upon to argue that the sky isn't green, humans can breath water or that black is actually white; I just really couldn't be ar$ed. Instead, check out El Weirdo for a pretty succinct and compelling argument:
    El Weirdo wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I knida feel bad for the guys who were working on this case. Some of those photos much be etched into their mind by now

are you of the mind then that we shoud treat all people who do somethign like this with compassion and all that and tell them they must have had hard up bringings and all that?

Where did I say that? It isn't either/or, you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Remember the case well. Hard to believe it was 11 years ago. For some reason, I thought it was in Killiinrden and not Brookfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I don't remember this, but it shows that while time might pass you can never rest easy.

Nope. And why not? For the same reason I couldn't be prevailed upon to argue that the sky isn't green, humans can breath water or that black is actually white; I just really couldn't be ar$ed. Instead, check out El Weirdo for a pretty succinct and compelling argument:

Is that all you have? Not the most articulate person in the world ,are you Wilkie.You probably think people who murder kids need a hug!

Where did I say that? It isn't either/or, you know?

it was just the pointless comment of do we need more bad-dooers that had me say it.
    and it is kind of getting to a point where it should be either or, people are doing horrific things and getting off with it cause some doctor from Foxrock says they must have had a bad upbringing and should not be accoutntable.

Is that all you have? Not the most articulate person in the world ,are you Wilkie...
    ... says the poster that labels those opposed to capital punishment "do-gooders".

Does your originality know any bounds?

... says the poster that labels those opposed to capital punishment "do-gooders".

Does your originality know any bounds?

What would you call them? Do you think the majority in Ireland are pro/anti death penalty? What do you suggest we do with these animals? I am not proposing the death penalty for stealing or fraud. I am suggesting it for people who kill children,people who carry out premeditated murder,serial sex offenders and paedos.You might not like/agree with my views,but at least I am not afraid to speak out unlike others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Coast guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How in the name of God were 2 kids aged 12 and 14 allowed out all night in a makeshift hut in a laneway?Terrible!
    Sounds like the urban version of kids sleeping in a tree-house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

What would you call them? Do you think the majority in Ireland are pro/anti death penalty?

If the majority are pro death penalty, then why isn't it legal? The majority votes people in, doesn't it? If it was "overwhelmingly" supported by everyone but the minority do -gooders (as you suggest), why doesn't any political party put it on the agenda?

Is that all you have? Not the most articulate person in the world ,are you Wilkie.You probably think people who murder kids need a hug!

Well actually I think I articulated my point rather well. You see, what I did there was implicitly liken your argument to some really fooking silly statements that really don't merit a discussion.

What would you call them?
    Do we have to call them anything at all? Even if we did, do you not think that "do-gooders" is a ridiculous label?
    Do you think the majority in Ireland are pro/anti death penalty?
    I don't know. I'd like to think that most people could actually *think* about what they're calling for when they shout for the return of capital punishment. But then, what do the general public really know, eh? Look at how many people watch X-Factor and look at the idiots they vote into power at every election.
    What do you suggest we do with these animals?
    Well I'm pretty sure that killing them just so people feel better about themselves is not the way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

What would you call them? Do you think the majority in Ireland are pro/anti death penalty? What do you suggest we do with these animals? I am not proposing the death penalty for stealing or fraud. I am suggesting it for people who kill children,people who carry out premeditated murder,serial sex offenders and paedos.You might not like/agree with my views,but at least I am not afraid to speak out unlike others

Seems to me the poor are the ones who always get it - no different that non-capital murder cases. To me, this is the main argument against it. That it is nearly class based on who gets to live or die and lots of innocent people have been given the death penalty.

Too risky to have the death penalty - so count me out.

Dodge wrote: »
    If the majority are pro death penalty, then why isn't it legal? The majority votes people in, doesn't it? If it was "overwhelmingly" supported by everyone but the minority do -gooders (as you suggest), why doesn't any political party put it on the agenda?

Did we get to vote on the subject?.I must have missed that.We only get to vote on treaties which are a waste of time because they just have another vote if they lose(Nice Treaty for example)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

The only conspiracy i could see in this case is that the man in question was
    ***a grumpy old boll*x ***
    that couldn't get his sleep with a few kids making noise in a make shift hut so he decided to take the law into his own hands and torch the place.

Not so... He was never far from trouble.

http://www.herald.ie/news/boost-for-gardai-as-drugs-trio-get-stiff-jail-terms-2816517.html

and

http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1P2-24924450.html

and

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/1996/1119/96111900028.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Did we get to vote on the subject?.I must have missed that.We only get to vote on treaties which are a waste of time because they just have another vote if they lose(Nice Treaty for example)

You vote on everything at general election time. if it was as popular as you believe, a political party would propose it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Did he know there were kids in it?

MagicSean wrote: »
    Did he know there were kids in it?

Dont know, Didnt ask him, but the fact he went there once, ten went back to it would suggest it was not just a fleeting act, that he must have put some thought into the actual doing of it, so it would be fair to surmise that if he needed to out thought it to do the damage, would he not have thought to check the place before lighting a fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

gurramok wrote: »

Jeez if that's the same fella, we really need a 3 strikes and your out policy.

It is the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Makes a good argument for bringing back the death penalty.I reckon if they had a vote today it would be voted in overwhelmingly.They won't have a vote because the do-gooder minority have too much say and make up a large portion of the media and politicians.How in the name of God were 2 kids aged 12 and 14 allowed out all night in a makeshift hut in a laneway?Terrible!

I gave you a "thanks" for that, because I couldn't find the "groan" button.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

it was just the pointless comment of do we need more bad-dooers that had me say it.
    and it is kind of getting to a point where it should be either or, people are doing horrific things and getting off with it cause some doctor from Foxrock says they must have had a bad upbringing and should not be accoutntable.

I'm not a doctor and I'm not based in foxrock; however, I do spend a good bit of my time with people who break the law, ranging from mild to quite severe. I often have to write court reports [I dislike this part of my job, but only as it intrudes on the relationship I have with the client]. No body ever writes reports stating that a person is not accountable from what they did, we write various things but we do not say let a person off.

The nearest to that would be where a person is mentally unstable and they get locked away for both their own protection and the protection of the public. Most of the time we are asked by the courts about how a person engages in treatment, or a psychiatrist may be asked if the person if mentally capable of standing trial.

Writing reports for the courts do not equate wanting people not to be punished for their crimes.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    It is the same person.

Then

1995 - 3 yr sentence
    1996 - 4 yr sentence
    2001 - alleged offence
    2011 - 14 yrs sentence
    2012 - Arrested outside Dublin District court.

Did this guy go to jail at all? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is a condition of being in the EU not that we cant bring back the death penalty either way?

gurramok wrote: »

Then

1995 - 3 yr sentence
    1996 - 4 yr sentence
    2001 - alleged offence
    2011 - 14 yrs sentence
    2012 - Arrested outside Dublin District court.

Did this guy go to jail at all? :eek:

Sure thats the Irish Judicial maths system

Typically..
    4 years for one thing
    3 years for another
    Running concurrently
    = 4 years sentance
    = 3 years prison with 1 suspended
    = out after 2. ??

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Sure thats the Irish Judicial maths system

Typically..
    4 years for one thing
    3 years for another
    Running concurrently
    = 4 years sentance
    = 3 years prison with 1 suspended
    = out after 2. ??

So if this fella received a consecutive sentence for his crimes, he would have been in jail in 2001 hence a child's death avoided.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I'm shocked that a man of his age could do that to two defenceless children. Scum. I hope he gets a horrid time in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭MattHelders

Horrible, horrible thing to do. Disgusting

But I must question why a 12 year was sleeping in a field at 5 a.m?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Horrible, horrible thing to do. Disgusting

But I must question why a 12 year was sleeping in a field at 5 a.m?

It was a well known haunt for local kids, they used it as a sort of club house. Afaik he had told his parents he was staying in a friends house and at the last minute decided to sleep in the hut. I read an interview with his mother years after his death and his family are just broken. I would say they regret not making him stay at home that night every single day. I really hope they finally get justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 turbotomie

where the hut was located was a popular spot for kids in the area, the other boy had a very luck escape.
    Allegedly, Dermot Griffin was using the lane way leading to the hut to deal drugs and set fire to the hut to try stop the kids using the lane as it was his 'spot'. Afaik he didn't realise there was kids in the hut, but if he wasn't such a scumbag he wouldn't have any business in the lane.

Dermot Griffins criminal life dates back to way before the 1995 incident posted here, i know for a fact that he has been in and out of prison since the early 1980's.

this is Dermots brother
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-charged-in-connection-with-fatal-stabbing-438660.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The hut was up against a local shop ,my brother lives near it ,the family won't allow the shop to reopen according to some and lays derelict