Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Old Head of Kinsale Worth Playing ?

• 29-10-2012 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Lads, have a chance to play this , this week. A bit involved, leave etc.

Is it a must, or wait till spring/summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Iv a burning ambition to play it. I say go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Mono25

a friend of mine played it a few months ago and he said to me that it was that good he would drive down (from dublin) play it and drive home on the same day..........

cant tell you what its like in this weather etc etc just passing on what was said to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Mono25 wrote: »
    a friend of mine played it a few months ago and he said to me that it was that good he would drive down (from dublin) play it and drive home on the same day..........

cant tell you what its like in this weather etc etc just passing on what was said to me

Yes that is the sort of stuff I want to hear - because I am near doing that, not as bad , but totally going out of my way and time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Yes that is the sort of stuff I want to hear - because I am near doing that, not as bad , but totally going out of my way and time.

DO IT!!!!

You never know, you might break 80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭ccmp

Well worth the trouble. One of the best golf experiences on a half decent day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

I played it summer 2011. It's definately worth playing it once anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

big_drive wrote: »
    I played it summer 2011. It's definately worth playing it once anyway

Ditto - worth it for a game. Can be very difficult if cold as the wind will cut through you up there.

Be interested in your views as it's coming into winter. Actually I thought the course would be closed by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Lads, have a chance to play this , this week. A bit involved, leave etc.

Is it a must, or wait till spring/summer.

As far as i know the old head is now closed for the winter. This weekend was the last of it they dont open now until Aprilish.

ForeRight wrote: »
    DO IT!!!!

You never know, you might break 80.

(lol) :p Not there man, but never say never, wind will be tough, 90 there would be a good score, I think I Will, feck it, you only live once, closed Wednesady for season.

Enjoy. I look forward to your blog about it.

Come on wind, blow that rain away -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

Played there on Saturday, got an absolute gem of a day weather-wise. See pics.

OP, well worth the trip today or tomorrow if you can. The course is in great condition. The greens are lightening fast - fastest I've played on this year.

Play 18 from the back sticks - see pic for the carry to the fairway, approx 230 yards.

My God!

The photos are unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

The ultimate golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭nuts86

Played Saturday as well, hands down the greatest days golf I've ever had.....

Johno holding up the flag in your first pic buysellsway..

San Miguel.... Ryder Cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Played it myself there earlier on in the year, bring the A game FDP! Well worth doing once in a lifetime.
    Strangely I wouldn't be in a hurry to go back there-but then I never am if I haven't played the course well!
    Only thing I did on the day was empty the bag of a lot of golfballs and birdie the 16th!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Played it last year. Got a good deal to stay and play at the time. Strange because while I don't think I would ever bother going back again, for all kinds of reasons, I'm definitely glad I went and ticked it off the list. The bottom line is that if you don't go and play it you'll probably always wishing you did.

Some astonishing golf holes down there. First is pretty, eh, meh, but from the 2nd onwards it's jaw dropping stuff at times. Like one of the previous posters, I played piss poor the day I was there. Decided to be the big fella and play off back markers but the place killed me! Particularly that 18th.

Played it last year. Got a good deal to stay and play at the time. Strange because while I don't think I would ever bother going back again, for all kinds of reasons, I'm definitely glad I went and ticked it off the list. The bottom line is that if you don't go and play it you'll probably always wishing you did.

Some astonishing golf holes down there. First is pretty, eh, meh, but from the 2nd onwards it's jaw dropping stuff at times. Like one of the previous posters, I played piss poor the day I was there. Decided to be the big fella and play off back markers but the place killed me! Particularly that 18th.

Lads, won't play backs , with mid and higher handicap players, but I wouldn't anyway in winterish weather.

Weather not looking great windy and wet.

Ignoring weather, well it is windy. But how would you play it if you had a 2nd go, Like irons off most tees ?

Thanks for the push. I don't tend to play well when there is a big build up. But, out to enjoy , see how it goes.

Actually it's funny, I played crap because of the exact reason you mentioned there - the build up. I travelled down on my own and stayed over night and was basically thinking too much about the course. Silly really that I couldn't enjoy a game at a place like that.

So I wouldn't really advise taking irons off tees or anything. Personally, my normal game would have been grand but I just struck it badly and there's not a lot of room for error down there.

Like, the 16th for example, the par 3 in the pix, if you're right at all, even if it's a decent hit, it's a lost ball. There's an awful lot of holes like that.

Hard to do if you're any way competitive but you've got to really turn off the brain and forget the score for a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Ignoring weather, well it is windy. But how would you play it if you had a 2nd go, Like irons off most tees ?

Its certainly going to be windy. If you can punch the ball and keep it low you'll be fine. If you can only hit it high, good luck :). Simple rule of thumb, whatever iron you have left to the green take 1 or 2 more and hit an easy punch shot

amazing played great. tough out there 86. report to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

Agree with all the previous posters, it really is spectacular. What are they charging these days? I paid 90e about two years ago for an August tee-time but I hear it's gone up considerably now. Surprised nobody's mentioned the 12th (I think) with the huge carry from the drive over the cliffs, best hole I've ever seen in golf. The gas part is the 1st hole is so bland that you're wondering what the fuss is about but then you hit the 2nd tee...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

grimbergen wrote: »
    Agree with all the previous posters, it really is spectacular. What are they charging these days? I paid 90e about two years ago for an August tee-time but I hear it's gone up considerably now. Surprised nobody's mentioned the 12th (I think) with the huge carry from the drive over the cliffs, best hole I've ever seen in golf. The gas part is the 1st hole is so bland that you're wondering what the fuss is about but then you hit the 2nd tee...

That 12th hole is a scary teeshot. It's the only hole I'd consider dropping the trousers just to play off the ladies box.
    I wouldn't say it's gone up in price at all if even, I paid "only" 75 euros last April.

amazing played great. tough out there 86. report to follow.

Great score. I got my ass handed to me there as well as all four seasons. Didn't break 100.

Thanks played well, putting was not great. But was off the whites too.

The 12th is a great golf hole. Hard when playing it for first time because a good straight drive will clear all - but may even run out on far side of fairway

A draw if you can, or a fade and aiming way left and cut the hole is a shot I seen - also considered just hitting an iron over marker, but looked too long.

Great hole, had a 4 iron for second and was thinking will I go for it in 2, chickened out and hit a 6 iron to 40 yrd short.

Should have bloody birded it- 6 inch short on putt. But you should always be happy leaving a hole like that with a par.

This may be a bit out there, but I’m not sure it is a tough course on a still day, if you know the shot on each hole, it is up to you on the course if you go for a high risk shot, there are large fairways short of the danger zones. That is a clever aspect of the course.

Only lost one ball and that was a PW – mad when you think of cliffs etc.

Will go back.

Funny clip here - not me. I felt great on that hole for some reason - good sign. What a view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Lucky enough to play it 2 years ago, big group of us in a society, with discount & society fund we got it for €60 i think.

Wind was a factor, highest score on the day was 31pts (me :))!!, spectacular views, a great layout, lovely clubhouse, professional practice-area, the whole experience is worth it (at whatever cost you're willing to pay obviously).

16th Par 3

C15FD21E746542A0BB75F1511E049E31-800.jpg

Looking back to 18th tee box and 17th green on right

461A609874434EDB848B1D5AA051E5EF-800.jpg

Me on the 4th
    /you can just see the green to the left of my left glove ;)

DBB0DB948DFF434EB6AB7CDB88C4BF9B-800.jpg

18th green

4850EC5361AB4C89A53D5D039717AC9B-800.jpg

Out of bounds, left !!

6A83716AD9004515855CB69D0811B274-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

I'm booked for May 2013. This thread made me salivate for it and I had to play it.

Thanks FDP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

if you have the chance, play the 18th off the blacks. The tee is under the lighthouse and you are so close to the cliffs that you feel that you could actually fall in, if you swing hard.
    the tee box cant be more than 6 yards wide....

oh and watch out for the OB all down the right with the wind coming off the ocean....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Funny clip here - not me. I felt great on that hole for some reason - good sign. What a view.

Sounds like Bill Murray on the phone!!:D

if you have the chance, play the 18th off the blacks. The tee is under the lighthouse and you are so close to the cliffs that you feel that you could actually fall in, if you swing hard.
    the tee box cant be more than 6 yards wide....

oh and watch out for the OB all down the right with the wind coming off the ocean....

I did that and the wind just carried the ball miles to right cost me a double.

Fair play lawman , still mad money.

Lads, I'm heading back next year. What is the cheapest way to play it ?

Seve's 3I ;)

Do you mind me asking why you would not play again ?

Lads - if you want some of the background and politics - I did some digging.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/supreme-court-ends-costly-old-head-saga-491651.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

I'm from Cork and its fair to say I've never heard anything positive about the place from locals down there. Everyone agrees its a great course but the problem is the owners only ever showed interest in bringing in wealthy foreigners in to play and pi**ed off the locals in a big way and made it feel like they weren't wanted anywhere near the place

big_drive wrote: »
    I'm from Cork and its fair to say I've never heard anything positive about the place from locals down there. Everyone agrees its a great course but the problem is the owners only ever showed interest in bringing in wealthy foreigners in to play and pi**ed off the locals in a big way and made it feel like they weren't wanted anywhere near the place

true, but the same can be said of waterville, ballybunion (old) and even Lahinch. A mate of mine has been a member there since 2009, so they are attracting local players.

I hate some of the people who run Mount Juliet, but the course is great. And when I am standing on the first tee, I couldnt care less.

true, but the same can be said of waterville, ballybunion (old) and even Lahinch. A mate of mine has been a member there since 2009, so they are attracting local players.

I hate some of the people who run Mount Juliet, but the course is great. And when I am standing on the first tee, I couldnt care less.

But at the same measure - I'm sure there are locals who would not play it for free out of a point of principle.

you can have your principles but I want a free round on a great great course :p

Mate of mine said it was "bloody awfull" the set up - but he is dying to play it again. I'm on the fence, but would love to be on the wall on the 5th.

Seve's 3I ;)

Do you mind me asking why you would not play again ?

Not at all. Generally, I found the place a little anal and Celtic Tigerish. 'Allow me to take your clubs from your car and bring them to the door sir'...'Did sir have a good trip down?'....By the time a guy walked straight into my room at 9.30pm - and me sitting on the bed in my jocks drinking a can of smithwicks - and told me he was just 'setting my morning alarm' I swore I'd had enough and wouldn't be back.

It is a quality track and I'm definitely glad I played. But, living in Meath, I can't ever see myself driving that far again, paying so much and putting up with that level of nonsense for a game of golf. Bet you're sorry you asked now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

By the time a guy walked straight into my room at 9.30pm - and me sitting on the bed in my jocks drinking a can of smithwicks - and told me he was just 'setting my morning alarm' I swore I'd had enough and wouldn't be back.

Possibly the best sentence I have ever read on this board.

Not at all. Generally, I found the place a little anal and Celtic Tigerish. 'Allow me to take your clubs from your car and bring them to the door sir'...'Did sir have a good trip down?'....By the time a guy walked straight into my room at 9.30pm - and me sitting on the bed in my jocks drinking a can of smithwicks - and told me he was just 'setting my morning alarm' I swore I'd had enough and wouldn't be back.

It is a quality track and I'm definitely glad I played. But, living in Meath, I can't ever see myself driving that far again, paying so much and putting up with that level of nonsense for a game of golf. Bet you're sorry you asked now!

No not at all - that is class - you told that one before, I've been know to have a can in a 5 star resort meself.

But - the money there is not real Celtic Tiger, maybe you staying over was one of your Celtic Tiger moments. :p

Yes I said it in other thread, all that carry on is not really what the Irish (most) are into at all, just give me a bleeding game of golf, a big steak and a can.

Interesting that your reasons for not wanting to go back are due to their American-style service model and don't seem to have as much to do with the course itself.

Probably close 80% of the players in the Old Head are American, so I can very much understand their priorities there. Americans like that stuff and will go elsewhere if they don't get it - it's the norm.

I would actually like to go back one more time as I think the local knowledge did actually count for something and I would like to give it another day. Conditions there can be very extreme and I wasn't too keen on that aspect as some of the shots were just comical.

One funny moment was when our Old Head professional caddy was standing on the green tending the pin and the hailstones were pelting him so hard in the face that he didn't see my putt and it actually wound up hitting him in the foot. :eek:

Kace wrote: »
    Interesting that your reasons for not wanting to go back are due to their American-style service model and don't seem to have as much to do with the course itself.

Probably close 80% of the players in the Old Head are American, so I can very much understand their priorities there. Americans like that stuff and will go elsewhere if they don't get it - it's the norm.

I would actually like to go back one more time as I think the local knowledge did actually count for something and I would like to give it another day. Conditions there can be very extreme and I wasn't too keen on that aspect as some of the shots were just comical.

One funny moment was when our Old Head professional caddy was standing on the green tending the pin and the hailstones were pelting him so hard in the face that he didn't see my putt and it actually wound up hitting him in the foot. :eek:

Kace me too. Want to go back. You had an awfull day, there is me going on about a but of wind.

But it is in Ireland - would an Irish experience be more sensible.

I guess a professional caddy sums it up - most lads don't want a professional caddy near them. Somebody telling me where to place a putt and carrying my bag - is just not my thing. Golf is you versus the course for me.

"Hello Sir", is just cringeworthy.

Read somewhere that 1000 euro tips have been given to some caddies - that is a sin. Pulling the poor Paddy story for the tip I'd say. :rolleyes:

thats the problem with living in meath......a high percentage of the very best courses are far far away!
    Old head, waterville, tralee, dooks, killarney, ballyb, lahinch, carne, murvagh, ballyliffin, rosapenna, portrush....isnt this fun?

of those many many great courses, I think old head is probably the closest driving wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

me sitting on the bed in my jocks drinking a can of smithwicks

You can take the man out of Meath but not the Meath out of a man!

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    You can take the man out of Meath but not the Meath out of a man!

I think that's harsh. I normally drink Bass. But I upgraded to Smithwicks for that particular trip to match my surroundings at the Old Head.

Seve are you Bertie Ahern in hiding.

Actually now you mention it I do like a pint of Bass in Fagan's from time to time and I often toddle on down to Parnell Park for Dublin games in my auld green jacket. If they'd only let me in next door to Clontarf for a few free rounds, that would be gift.

Back on the Old Head issue, I have to admit I played piss poor down there. Definitely affects the way you remember a course too. Like, I'd honestly prefer to play Luttrellstown in the morning or even Beaverstown, just a couple of places I always score well on and go home happy from. Bizarre to be mentioning them in the same sentence as Old Head I know but horses for courses.

Anybody know of any good deals or stay and play packages for this place?

€160 for a round on their site in low season.

Anybody know of any good deals or stay and play packages for this place?

€160 for a round on their site in low season.

Jeez - they must have forgotten to update the website since about 2009 !! :eek:

Kace wrote: »

Jeez - they must have forgotten to update the website since about 2009 !! :eek:

That's what I thought so I rang them and was told its €160 to be payed up front upon booking.

I want to play it again with the 2 lads I played it with last year. Big change from free to 480 euro for a 3 ball - has to be a more sensible way to get out on it. That is mad money.

Fore Right when you going ?