Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM Shame on runners.

• 29-10-2012 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭

As a steward today in the Dublin City Marathon I was appaled by the attitudes of the runners particularly the first three thousand runners or so.

The orange energy bottles which were given to the runners were being thrown without any regard for safety. They nearly hit spectators and narrowly missed my head. Many rolled back onto the road causing danger to all the runners present. After the runners had passed the 500 metre stretch of road on which i was located looked like a dump.

It was lucky the no one was injured or hurt. My thanks to all those who acted responsibly and to those who didnt on behalf of myself , the other stewards , the spectators , local residents and the general public shame on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Probably better off sending your complaint to the Dublin marathon team, not everybody who ran the marathon posts on boards to be fair. Also I don't think it's right for you to speak on behalf of the other stewards, local residents and the spectators, I spent all day spectating at several different points on the course and near water stations and saw none of the activity you describe, sure people threw bottles on the ground (like they do in every marathon in the world) but no one was nearly "injured or hurt" by flying water bottles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

For those looking for a synopsis, guy at marathon saw the drinks bottles being thrown, nobody got hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭tkd93

It depends on your location. I ws located just at the 8 mile mark. Everyone had bottles on them so i must have been just a mile or 2 after a water station. I added in the on the behalf part as my view were shared by everyone i talked to which included all the groups i mentioned. Also the manner in which the bottles were thrown were extermly dangerous.

I was just after the bins at the water station on Grand Canal Street. I was in more danger of getting tinnitus from the cheer station at Spar.

Seriously though, it's a marathon, that's the way it is. And if you go by there this evening there'll probably be no trace. Having said that, the cleaning crew missed a little pile on Chesterfield Avenue this evening but otherwise you'd never know 14,000 people had been through there a few hours earlier.

Must say the best part of being a steward was the look of horror on the faces of the cleaning crews when they arrived , poor devils. Interestling after i was finished I went into the City Centre and talked to some of the stewards near the finish line and they hadnt had any of the trouble I had. Guess it depends all on location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

Boo to the OP, as a steward myself today I have nothing but admiration for all who took part today.. I was on dorset street and a lot of runners were getting rid of the extra layers and hats and gloves etc so I picked them up along my section, not a problem at all.

I'm not sure what you expect people to do with their empty bottles, throwing them on the ground happens in every marathon.

I don't know, if I was out watching so many people in such an event, I don't think my favourite part would be the cleaning crews turning up. I don't think stewarding is for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I don't know, if I was out watching so many people in such an event, I don't think my favourite part would be the cleaning crews turning up. I don't think stewarding is for you.

One person either sprained or broke his ankle when he ran on the bottle on the road.

Really im not cut out to be a steward? i got up at 7 o`clock on a bank holiday for free. I spent 5 hours freezing in the same spot. I got abuse off motorists trying to explain to them thet they couldnt turn right. I got abuse off spectators when i kindly asked them to stay off the road for their own safety. I had to organise all cones and barriers.What did you do today??

BTW the cleaning crews coment was a joke but at least they didnt give me abuse.

their actions were reckless and were causing danger to others.

He didn't get hit on the head by a flying bottle knocking him into the path of another did he?

Look, be realistic about it. As I said, I was after a water station, many people threw their bottles into the bin, many didn't. I kicked a couple out of the middle of the road myself. But to start a thread saying shame on runners is a bit Maude Flanders.

Then let me be more specifi shame to all runners today who carelessly threw away their bottles and thanks to those who acted responsibly. Your opinions are based on what you see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not meaning to attack you OP, but have you ever taken part in a road race, or stewarded at one before today?

I have done serveral over the last 18 months, and have never seen a bottle been thrown beyound waist height, and are usallty aimed towards the gutter, or a ditch.

The problem was not the height. It was the way they were thrown. The runners threw them across the crowd with force. Many then rebounded off the walls and fell baxk onto the race course. And I have been involded in organisation of many different sporting events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭doledude86

Its a real shame this thread exists to be fair...the majority of runners I seen ensured (including myself) threw bottles to the side of the road away from the runners, I do agree that some ppl can be irresponsible but I suggest that these ppl are the minority rather the majority, please be completely in grip of the facts at have a firm rethink about the title of this post.

Also I would like to thank you for your dedication today, to you and all stewards, its above and beyond the service you have given the runners and must say you all did an amazing job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tkd93 wrote: »
    The problem was not the height. It was the way they were thrown. The runners threw them across the crowd with force. Many then rebounded off the walls and fell baxk onto the race course. And I have been involded in organisation of many different sporting events.

Well all I can respond with, is that anytime I have released a bottle, I have done so, so that it dosn't land in the path of another runner.

Fair play to ya anyway being out so early on a wet bank holiday, glad to hear most of the evidence is cleared up by now. I done the Belfast marathon earlier this year, and drove home around this time along a section of it, and the road and gutter were still littered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Wow, I'm glad I didn't take any of the orange bottles - I'd now be scum too if I had.

Your post doesn't make sense, if 3000 runners had recklessly thrown bottles around without any concern for others' safety, surely a sizeable number of people would have been hit on the head, yet you admit that nobody had actually been hit.

Most runners I have seen today showed plenty of concern for their fellow runners. In a big enough crowd there are always a few idiots, but calling shame on all of the first 3000-or-so runners is appalling.

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

Really im not cut out to be a steward

You've got it in one there maybe next year take part and you can compare views. Although you'd probably be on boards complaining about all those people running really fast and in a dangerous fashion with all those flailing arms. :rolleyes:

Life is short try living it instead of complaining about it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Perhaps I'd you tasted the spar energy drink you'd understand why it was thrown so violently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

As a steward today in the Dublin City Marathon I was appaled by the attitudes of the runners particularly the first three thousand runners or so.

The orange energy bottles which were given to the runners were being thrown without any regard for safety. They nearly hit spectators and narrowly missed my head. Many rolled back onto the road causing danger to all the runners present. After the runners had passed the 500 metre stretch of road on which i was located looked like a dump.

It was lucky the no one was injured or hurt. My thanks to all those who acted responsibly and to those who didnt on behalf of myself , the other stewards , the spectators , local residents and the general public shame on you.

Wow! 3,000 people flinging bottles around sounds highly dangerous to me!

It also sounds highly exaggerated. I saw lots of bottle being thrown away as happens at all marathons but not in the manner you describe.

OP, what did you expect? Did you want the runners to place them in a bin and lose time? You do know that this is a sporting event and that timing is crucial, don't you?!

I think, shame on you, for posting this.

Wow, I'm glad I didn't take any of the orange bottles - I'd now be scum too if I had.

Your post doesn't make sense, if 3000 runners had recklessly thrown bottles around without any concern for others' safety, surely a sizeable number of people would have been hit on the head, yet you admit that nobody had actually been hit.

Most runners I have seen today showed plenty of concern for their fellow runners. In a big enough crowd there are always a few idiots, but calling shame on all of the first 3000-or-so runners is appalling.

I took a few bottles but were no bins a half mile up the road road(:

Still can taste the bloody things

i never said 3000 bottles were thrown. Im entitled to my opinion. Again let me mention it depends on your location. Plently of runners disposed of them correctly with no loss of time. So shame on you for encouring littering

Ah for God's sake get over yourself. It's a major road race and runners, particularly in the top 20%, are looking for for PBs or at least fast times. I think this might be why they are less conscious of where they throw bottles. They are definitely not flouting the littering laws on purpose and even less thinking of sensitive souls who are offended by flying bottles.
    As others suggest, maybe you're not cut out for stewarding

Im leaving this post as it is getting pointless. Ill have you know i did very well at being a steward and will do it again in the future. However i am allowed my personal opinion. Again let me state spectators agreed with me that the runners where not taking others safety into account.

So 3,000 bottles weren't thrown.
    Why then have you an issue with the first 3,000 runners?

I said I was appalled by the attitudes of this group. There were other issues as well. Lack of respect to other runners , excessive pushing etc. I carried out all my duties as a steward effectively and to the best of my ability. Every point I have raised was agreed by spectators , garda and other stewards. Around 120 bottles were thown with around 15 rolling back onto the course causing a real danger to other others. 3 bottles which were thrown landed back into the crowd. As a steward I would have a different view point from a ordinary spectator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭lipi

Wow, a bit harsh on the OP people. He is stating his experience at a particular water station and unless you were there with him, why contradict him. Let's be honest there were plenty of runners throwing bottles at a variety of heights, the higher ones probably as the runners were in the middle of the road so they were throwing them hard to ensure it got to the footpaths. Not intentionally dangerous but potentially none the less.

Fair play to the stewards as it's a tough job. I'd say it can be risky business too, especially for the kids when a couple adults run through the water station all aiming for the same person. I do remember hearing a little fella go f**kin mad when he was nearly knocked over on fosters avenue water station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 8_Ace

OP, It takes all sorts in life, I'd never dream of stewarding (I applaud you doing it) but I'd try to put my bottle in a bin. Put it down to the vagaries of the human condition.

Well done on today, don't let it put put you off doing the same in future, at least you'll know what to expect next year !

Congrats to all that took part, both runners and admin.

I said I was appalled by the attitudes of this group. There were other issues as well. Lack of respect to other runners , excessive pushing etc. I carried out all my duties as a steward effectively and to the best of my ability. Every point I have raised was agreed by spectators , garda and other stewards. Around 120 bottles were thown with around 15 rolling back onto the course causing a real danger to other others. 3 bottles which were thrown landed back into the crowd. As a steward I would have a different view point from a ordinary spectator.

There was a lot of pushing going on and the few times it happened to me it was people with head phones.

One interesting point to those who are critizing me . I was located just before a courner after a bridge. My best mate was located around that courner. he hadnt had one bottle thrown in his area and like you could not understand why i thought it was so dangerous. After i was finished I went into town and talked to stewards in there. They had had none of the problems I had experienced. The route is 26 miles not every part is the same.

Also ask yourself how long where you in the same spot? I was in the same spot for 4 hours. You were proberly watching for fun while I was completly focused on the competitors safety with loose bottles in the middle of the road are a danger to runners

Same event two different viewpoints

Also to those who moan about my abililty as I steward you didnt have to put out all the cones and barriers , direct traffic , dodge stray bottles , deal with traffic , deal with anrgy spectators try not get run over and get a ten minute earful off some auldfella because he wouldnt effect that the road was closed so he couldnt turn left.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

OP I really think you're not cut out for stewarding. Putting yourself in the line of fire like that, it's way to dangerous with all those crazed terrorist scumbag runners trying to take out the competition with their sniper style bottle throwing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

tkd93 you could well have a valid point here but you have to realise that coming on here and opening a thread with a stand out title accusing 3000 runners of being pretty ignorant is not a great way to get it across.

If bottles were being thrown, maybe there is an argument for placing skips on the course at that point.

Also to those who moan about my abililty as I steward you didnt have to put out all the cones and barriers , direct traffic , dodge stray bottles , deal with traffic , deal with anrgy spectators try not get run over and get a ten minute earful off some auldfella because he wouldnt effect that the road was closed so he couldnt turn left.

Perhaps you should keep in mind that you are not required to steward either, you chose to do all these things so stop moaning about the hardships of something you chose to do.

In response to you mocking me I was located in the middle of a main junction if I didnt keep my wits about me i could have been hit by a car. Nice to know I got up at 7 on a bank holiday to benefit people like you. To any joggers who take offense to me note the following

If people like me didnt get up at 7 would entry fee would be double what it currently is.

My issue is with under 200 runners.

To any one who thinks im crap try spending your bank holiday dealing with the public its a experience ull never forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

in the ops defense, at one stage i saw someone fire a bottle so hard and so high it hit the windscreen of a parked jeep.

it was an isolated incidence in the race from my perspective.

I also greatly enjoyed being a steward today and will gladly do it again. I have created this post in the hope that next year people will be more responsible

folan wrote: »
    in the ops defense, at one stage i saw someone fire a bottle so hard and so high it hit the windscreen of a parked jeep.

it was an isolated incidence in the race from my perspective.

Ooh, a regular war zone.

I also greatly enjoyed being a steward today and will gladly do it again. I have created this post in the hope that next year people will be more responsible

And how many of the 14,000 runners will be reading this thread?
    A few dozen at best. This thread will achieve nothing.

You make it sound like a horrible chore that you hated. Your attitude stinks.

I was up at 5.30am this morning for work. If I'd a choice of that or stewarding I'd chose stewarding any day of the week. And I'd enjoy myself doing it!

In response to you mocking me I was located in the middle of a main junction if I didnt keep my wits about me i could have been hit by a car. Nice to know I got up at 7 on a bank holiday to benefit people like you. To any joggers who take offense to me note the following

If people like me didnt get up at 7 would entry fee would be double what it currently is.

To any one who thinks im crap try spending your bank holiday dealing with the public its a experience ull never forget.

200 or 3,000 trouble making runners?

Which is it? There is a big difference.

You're aiming your complaint at the wrong forum you should forward any complaints or advice to DCM itself. Perhaps suggest skips or bins be placed a mile down from water stations etc.

Every runner values the role a steward plays but it is not one that should be taken lightly and you seem to have more of an issue with getting up early and directing the public which contradicts you thread title.

Hopefully you have a better experience next year.

Oh I have no issues with my duties and very much enjoyed doing them. They were raised in response to a earlier comment. And to the commenter above you maybe ull arrive on my patch next time where i can send a car your way seening as I cannot do a steward job. Even though i keep 14000 runners and 300 spectator safe for 4 hours this morning for which i wasnt paid.

Can a mod please lock this forum as we are off topic.

Thanks to everyone who maybe today a pleasant and enjoyable experience. I look forward to returning next year to ensure your safely and enhance your enjoyment of this great event.

That is off course if a stray bottle doesnt take you out first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Moonfruit

Tough one this. The stewards were fantastic today, hats off to them. True, some runners throw bottles aimlessly. Many don't. The world is full of different types of people. Some who are considerate and some are not. Those who are less than considerate would cast your complaint from their thoughts like the bottles they aimed at you today.
    But it's good that you brought it to everyone's attention, the behaviour of few.
    But an extra large a positive note, congrats to everyone who participated in the Marathon. It was my first time and I was very impressed with the organisation. A few more portaloo's maybe but that's it. An extra thanks to the 4 ladies(northern accents) on grand canal street at the small hill who helped me stretch out a cramp.
    Hope this experience hasn't turned you off stewarding and you'll be back next year or even better, you should run it.
    Thank you

Oh I have no issues with my duties and very much enjoyed doing them. They were raised in response to a earlier comment. And to the commenter above you maybe ull arrive on my patch next time where i can send a car your way seening as I cannot do a steward job. Even though i keep 14000 runners and 300 spectator safe for 4 hours this morning for which i wasnt paid.

Thanks to everyone who maybe today a pleasant and enjoyable experience. I look forward to returning next year to ensure your safely and enhance your enjoyment of this great event.

You mean can we lock the thread coz no one agrees with you ?

You'd swear you were the only steward on the course.

I can't imagine how you could possibly "enhance my enjoyment" of the event, the opposite if anything.

You mean can we lock the thread coz no one agrees with you ?

Well my view and point was that I was unhappy with the manner in which some runners disposed off their bottles. We have drifted now to personal attacks and other topics such as bein a steward etc which is ogff topic.

ebixa82. i was the only steward for 500m. I keep people like you safe , keep cars and stray runners away from you. Try having this event without people like me and see how many more injuries occur.

Or would you rather not have me and be hit by a car??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Thread title is "DCM Shame on runners"

First post

and now

First off, if your problem is with 200 of 12000 runners, say so at the start :rolleyes:

Second, what do you propose runners should do? If they throw bottles off the course, there is a risk that some will be too high or too hard. But if they don't thrown them off the course, they're a hazard to other runners.
    You do realise, I hope, that asking the runners to form an orderly queue at the nearest bin is not an option?

So, where were you standing anyway? You say orange bottles, so that's mile 9, 12, or 18. Just before a corner after a bridge, standing in the middle of a major junction...
    ... there are very few bridges on the route...:confused: