Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problem with Neighbours cattle

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

aonsceal wrote: »
    Simple the cattle are the farmers responsibility there should be no obligation on other rural dwellers to make their plots stockproof.

I would be of the opinion that there should be an obligation placed on rural dwellers to do exactly this.

We've a section of the farm about a mile long that borders a small road. Since I was runnin around in the shorts we've moved cattle along this road to utilise a paddock system. Perfectly legal, we're well entitled to do so.

Then along comes the boom and some of the neighbours decide to cash in on the whole party and they sell a load of sites to a bunch of townies.
    Not one of these sites has gates put in initially and all of a sudden we have to put 4 people along these entrances everytime we want to bring cattle along the road.
    Now the Co. Co. refused planning to anyone who wanted to go two storeys high because the two pre-existing houses were single story. If the Co. Co. wanted to do the locals a favour then the planning should not have been granted without the requirement to put gates in place. By now all the houses incidentally do have gates. If we're moving cattle we fly up the road 1st and close all the gates.

But my point is this explosion of rural once off housing has dramatically altered how roads can be utilised by farmers.
    If your building a house in an area surely the priority from a planners perspective should be, how can the house have a minimal impact on the existing locals in the area?
    By requiring a rural dwelling to be stock-proof at the planning stage is a fair balance between the interests of the locals and the home owner. After all its the home owner that ultimately benefits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

its gas isnt it . in the past week i have had two women gallop their horse s around our feild,had too put the run on a couple of gangs hunting(none of them ever ask first) and couldnt spread slurry in a field because someone had parked their car in the gate of the field i was going spreading while they had gone off for their walk.but if my cattle break out........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

By requiring a rural dwelling to be stock-proof at the planning stage is a fair balance between the interests of the locals and the home owner. After all its the home owner that ultimately benefits.[/QUOTE]
    keep going wrote: »
    its gas isnt it . in the past week i have had two women gallop their horse s around our feild,had too put the run on a couple of gangs hunting(none of them ever ask first) and couldnt spread slurry in a field because someone had parked their car in the gate of the field i was going spreading while they had gone off for their walk.but if my cattle break out........

This is it in a nutshell
    The law (and the SFP scheme)as far as I am aware require us as farmers to have OUR property stockproof.
    How does the homeowner benefit?He or she has probaly paid a tidy sum for the site in the first instance;usually to a farmer.Are they not entitled to some respect?
    In case anyone thinks im all anti farmer then let me assure you I have had lots of hassle re. people trespassing on my land,dumping rubbish from their pristine houses into my fields and generally taking the p**s with things like "shur what harm is the young ones pony doing to your big field" etc.
    Its a matter of give and take eg no bother putting up signs saying no shooting etc and running everybody but then when you are busy in the spring (and I usually am) where do you turn to to get someone to spend half the night shooting foxes or all day shooting pigeons off crops.
    Time to cop on methinks; this is 2012 and all this bulls**t of "well im a quare busy farmer and shur what if my cattle ploughed up your lawn and done a few grands worth of damage;didnt me auld lad and all before him run stock up and down here before ye all came along"
    We (as quoted above)are very quick to point out when we are inconvienced but when the shoe is on the other foot???
    Living in the countryside entails a lot of give and take and yes ,I agree people should have gates (try moving 4 or 5 hundred ewes with their lambs past a few houses with maybe one helper plus the dogs;not simple) and anyone who sees cattle on the road and refuses to close their gate and run in the cattle in is only a messer
    Getting back to the op,he said it was(a)a regular occurance and (b) got no soot from the farmer;thats very different from a once off or where people make a genuine effort to reinstate works or offer to pay either thru insurance or otherwise
    Like I said earlier we as farmers (me included) wouldnt be too happy with damage caused by outsiders be it either stock or people
    The suggestion about making it a condition of planning re. gates etc is a good one.My neighbour told me that his solicitor told him that when selling a site it should be a condition of sale that he was responsible day one to stockproof the site and that the homeowner was then responsible for maintaining it afterwards.
    All this "morra ya its just a few sucks" is like saying "ah just a few kiddies messing " when they accidently on purpose set fire to a few bales in the field or start messing about on quads.
    Time for bed now;just in after a few scoops in the local(drove home and all bold boy that I am !!)
    Brought up this topic in the pub tonight;To set the scene there was 14 people there not including the owner;9 farmers from 38 to 70 years and 2 more who are from farms but work elsewhere ;the other 3 live locally and have either worked for farmers years ago or have a relative who did
    Everyone (and I mean everyone)was in agreement that its up to us as farmers to keep in OUR stock and ok nobody likes someone trying to make a quick killing from insurance etc but thats just life(who amongst us would turn down a handy tax free couple of k?) We also decided(amongst other things like solving the CAP problem and worrying about our east coast US properties!!) that all these new houses around us makes life a a lot less simple
    In fairness only one present has sold sites and that was to either(A)purchase more land or(B) pay a few bills and dig himself out of a hole depending on who you listen to.
    By the way priced 600m sheepwire and one strand of barbed today for a guy and its coming in at 2.47 per metre for materials(inc. vat)Thats using 6ft stakes and all ht. wire including one of plain on the bottom.Ok thats a cash on the day job and add in labour but even so cant cost us that much to keep things right
    On that note its time to say goodbye to this thread and lets just agree to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Lads how would you like it if 20 or 30 bullocks came roaring through your yard and ploughed all along the top of the silage pit or burst a few half ton bags of fert.?
    Woke up one winter morn to find 10 cattle in the back garden; feckers had jumped the back wall, and were eaten the grass. The wall went from 4 foot to 7 foot rather quickly! But I'm a "townie", so ye can ignore me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

My experience
    My relative builds a house on the home farm, around her house she puts in a good post and rail fence
    to form a good stock proof barrier. Over time she sells up and outsiders move in. Over time they alloow the fence to
    fall apart, at one stage they buy a few posts and a bit of rail fence. Your man goes out and drives a few of the posts in im
    guessing with the sole of his shoe, A few weanlings pay a visit maybe twice a year next thing he demands i control my stock.
    I ask will he go 50/50 on a secure fence, he looks at me as if i asked could i murder his family.
    My point is that historically the cattle roamed the land,next thing some genius builds a house and suddenly its the farmers problem if
    the stock go into his garden, sure thats crazy. Its like this if you own a house and you leave the front door swinging open and a sign on the
    road telling robbers no one is in you would be liable for your own loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Cran

royalmeath wrote: »
    My experience
    My relative builds a house on the home farm, around her house she puts in a good post and rail fence
    to form a good stock proof barrier. Over time she sells up and outsiders move in. Over time they alloow the fence to
    fall apart, at one stage they buy a few posts and a bit of rail fence. Your man goes out and drives a few of the posts in im
    guessing with the sole of his shoe, A few weanlings pay a visit maybe twice a year next thing he demands i control my stock.
    I ask will he go 50/50 on a secure fence, he looks at me as if i asked could i murder his family.
    My point is that historically the cattle roamed the land,next thing some genius builds a house and suddenly its the farmers problem if
    the stock go into his garden, sure thats crazy. Its like this if you own a house and you leave the front door swinging open and a sign on the

maybe I'm totaly missing the point here but surely it is the farmers job to prevent the cattle getting into the garden. Would a farmer be so agreeable for joint fencing if the persons dog was running around a field of sheep? No you would expect the dog to be kept under control in the garden.
    I'm surronded by tillage farms and would never expect them to share the burden of keeping my stock off their crops, is this not the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Cran wrote: »
    maybe I'm totaly missing the point here but surely it is the farmers job to prevent the cattle getting into the garden. Would a farmer be so agreeable for joint fencing if the persons dog was running around a field of sheep? No you would expect the dog to be kept under control in the garden.
    I'm surronded by tillage farms and would never expect them to share the burden of keeping my stock off their crops, is this not the same?

My parents sold two sites a while back to refurbish their house. It was a stipulation on the sale agreement that the site-owner and any following owners were to be responsible for ensuring the boundry was stockproof at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

My experience

Whoever erects the original fence would be responsible or passed response to the next owner. It all gets a bit muddled when your animals break in as your supposed to have control of your animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

My experience

Just put up an electric fence on your side of the line. If his fence falls apart then that is his problem.
    Save yourself a fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Cran

bbam wrote: »
    My parents sold two sites a while back to refurbish their house. It was a stipulation on the sale agreement that the site-owner and any following owners were to be responsible for ensuring the boundry was stockproof at all times.

Now that makes sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭dzer2

I never put my cattle into a field unless it was fenced completely by electric fence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

Cran wrote: »

In this instance its not the same, but im only speaking from what my issue was personally. Its not always black and white.