Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your view on After Hours

• 24-10-2012 9:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

Im just wondering what ye think of After Hours?

The popularity of the dental plan thread sums it up for me.

The more interesting discussions lose out quickly in favour of people having a pop at a gardas wife for complaining that she is not able to afford all the perks in life or for some reason being happy with someone elses misfortune.

Why do you post in after hours?

I post here because I have an old phone and the mobile site works well on it and eventually find myself in After Hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Sorcha16

A lovely bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Your phone makes you post in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i just wish the religion/atheism threads were moved to their proper forums, just like any threads about dublin and dead celebrities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

It feels more casual and laid-back than other forums, able to have a laugh, and discuss a wider range of topics.

Of course, great bunch of lads

apart from one of two w*nkers :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

If I want a serious discussion on anything else, I'll go to the other forums on the site. If I want a laugh, I'll go to After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

the only complaint i have is not about the forum but about the people who constantly complain about the forum.
    If you don't like it, then leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Makes me laugh when people get irate and p*ssy about an opinion they read on AH. Its the ultimate p*sstake forum, people should realise this and treat what they read as such. Pinch of salt required etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Because **** you!!
    That's why.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Lisa needs braces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

DENTAL PLAN!

Its great, but but allover the place and does seem to attract people who have a axe to grind or who have a fixation with certain groups in society...public services/immigrants/social welfare/Skanger's/the middle classes....people who who think they are funny and are not at all...people who are actually funny....men with various fixations about women...some nasty people some nice people...very right wing..propley mostly male and young

The thread about the gaurds family sums up the type who use the after hours the most because only a young single person could give some of the responses they do because they have no idea how much it costs to feed and educate a family with 4 or 5 children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Makes me laugh when people get irate and p*ssy about an opinion they read on AH. Its the ultimate p*sstake forum, people should realise this and treat what they read as such. Pinch of salt required etc.

This makes me laugh also, people get so annoyed because someone dares to have a different opinion than theirs and really take it to heart. I mean it is After Hours wtf were you expecting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

mariaalice wrote: »
    Its great, but but allover the place and dose seem to attract people who have a axe to grind or who have a fixation with certain groups in society...public services/immigrants/social welfare/Skanger's/the middle classes....peopel who who think they are funny and are not at all...people who are actually funny....men with various fixations about women...some nasty people some nice people...very right wing..propley mostly male and young

The thread about the gaurds family sums up the type who use the after houris the most because only a young single person could give some of the responses they do because they have no idea how much it costs to feed and educate a family with 4 or 5 children.

I love it because of the lack of grammar and spelling police. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Needs more poo threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

To see people ask for advice on something that clearly shouldn't be in AH.

I just sit back and watch the AH advice come in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Halloran springs

As already stated its more relaxed, light hearted and humorous than all the other forums. Which is exactly why certain topics should NEVER be open for discussion here, the recent April Jones case being a prime example. That thread was an absolute disgrace and never should have began, point proven by the fact its closed now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

If I never saw another Israel/Palestine thread I'd be happy - same folks, same arguments and boy does it get petty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

AH - the Friday Night in Coppers of Boards. (or is it Thursday?)

As already stated its more relaxed, light hearted and humorous than all the other forums. Which is exactly why certain topics should NEVER be open for discussion here, the recent April Jones case being a prime example. That thread was an absolute disgrace and never should have began, point proven by the fact its closed now.

I don't always get why people want threads closed. It's what everyone is talking about, there will always be some negative opinions but its the same in RL.
    Yes family and friends might read it but they could read worse in the paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

mike65 wrote: »
    AH - the Friday Night in CoppersGeoffs of Boards. (or is it Thursday?)

Fixed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

sure aren't they all great fellas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Feels like on 8 year long stretch of living with a few thousand housemates who are always in the front room when you wake up. You're glad of the company and chat but sometimes wish they'd piss off and leave you the remote.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Halloran springs

I don't always get why people want threads closed. It's what everyone is talking about, there will always be some negative opinions but its the same in RL.
    Yes family and friends might read it but they could read worse in the paper.
    Did you actually read the thread? it seemed to open the gates to an audience of absolute screwballs, many with their own insane theories of what happened.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

40 posts per page tends to be shorter here than other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Thinly veiled about three fiddy.... or something, I don't know. I feel dirty now for saying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Did you actually read the thread? it seemed to open the gates to an audience of absolute screwballs, many with their own insane theories of what happened.

Absolute screwballs with their own insane theories on things is the life blood of AH, it's what makes it such a hilarious and intetesting forum to be part of.

I read it and posters came up with their own theories, yes we speculated on what might have happened, what else did you expect from the thread, it would have been the same no matter where it was posted.

Is RL not the same because for me it is, we talked about it at work and yes we might have said some things that were not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

I DONT KNOW WHAT A TRACKER MORTGAGE IS?:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

It's a kip. Full of spotty gimps chimping the bellends off themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

I like after hours cause people thank my posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

After Hours is one of the few threads I post on regulary on boards. It's great for the banter and the laugh. But a bit judgemental IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Good bunch of heads here! Often find myself laughing at the screen with the shíte that is written on here. Few eejits that hate life, but other than that its aaalll gooood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's my spiritual home......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Could be a great forum - some very interesting topics/discussions, some great funny, sharp, intelligent contributors; even occasional funny trolls. But it's ruined by thicks.

1280 x 1024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I cam here for triforce, shovel dog and porn....oh wait thats 4chan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

It's not the open minded liberal talk shop it was intended to be.
    The standards in moderation vary too widely, some of the mods get it but sadly there's a few who just delight in closing threads to wallow in the thanks whoring of their sewing circle.
    Boards is a wonderful mine of information & a great debating forum but for real humour there's far more suitable sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

FionnK86 wrote: »
    I DONT KNOW WHAT A TRACKER MORTGAGE IS?:o

You're probably on a tracker mortgage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I like it except for all the posters to try to be witty/funny and fail 90% of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I used to spend an awful lot of time mooching around AH, and Boards.ie in general.

Took a break for over a year. Recently came back, and currently not that impressed. Not what it used to be like, and all that.

Ah damnit, I've spilled nostalgia all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Doubt it was ever intended to be anything, just hoped not to be infested with mentalists. Sadly hopes aren't always fulfilled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Yamanoto wrote: »
    If I never saw another Israel/Palestine thread I'd be happy - same folks, same arguments and boy does it get petty.

Trust me, that's not just confined to boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Im just wondering what ye think of After Hours?

Well then why the hell is the thread titled "What is your view on After Hours?"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

[-0-] wrote: »
    Well then why the hell is the thread titled "What is your view on After Hours?"?

Because thats how you would ask an opinion.....What is your view on blah blah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

Needs more cowbell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

I was going to say ........ I like to check the Mods out ......... but I won't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

Very odd folk who find acceptance on de computer and **** into their socks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I have a great view of all the thicks and loons from up here on my high horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I have a great view of all the thicks and loons from up here on my high horse.

I have a few questions for you Moo.

1) How high is this horse you are currently on? Please give your answer in imperial measurements.

i) How are on After Hours on a high horse? Smartphone? Laptop?
    ii) Are you effectively able to ride a high horse and post on boards at the same time or does the horse have to remain stationary?
    iii) How is the Wi-Fi signal being up on a high horse?

I'm looking forward to your answer Moo.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Lurked on here for years, always a great read and laugh.

One name and one thread sums AH up for me and that's Feeky McGee and his grinds teacher.

What's going on with the dental plan? My choppers are grand so I never really had a look at it.