Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duo who burned speed van spared prison term

• 23-10-2012 6:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭

From the Irish Independent:
    TWO men who set fire to a speed detection van while its operator was inside have avoided jail.
    Martin Gowan (20) of Bolaney, Hollyfort, and Darragh Byrne (20), of Pine Cottage, Kilmurray, both Gorey, Co Wexford, pleaded guilty to causing damage by fire to a speed van, property of Road Safety Operations Ireland, on March 13, 2011.........Judge Thomas Teehan imposed a sentence of seven years, but suspended this on condition that both defendants enter a bond of €100 to keep the peace for seven years.

These guys must have had good lawyers.

But I presume they'll be liable for the damage.

How much does one of those vans cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

well before everyone jumps in saying how terrible these men are, how stupid to burn the van out etc... calm your horses, we all hate these as much as we hate the vans and operation itself. I think we should all focus our efforts into getting a jcb wth 2 large boulders.

put one either end of a speed van kissing its bumpers. u mad camera man ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Sure they're no worse than murders, terrible carry on altogether :rolleyes:

Ok, I'm off to Wexford for the bank holiday weekend to buy some lads a pint :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

A fine? They should have been given medals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

They got off exceptionally light..... Judge probably feels the same way as me.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The issue isn't with the guys operating them, it's the rotten system which sends them out. These guys are just trying to earn a few Euro in tough times.

OSI wrote: »
    Whatever about setting fire to a speed camera, setting for to a vehicle with a man inside it is utterly disgusting regardless of his occupation. And I'm quite shocked to see people condoning their behaviour.
    I can't see where this has been condoned on this thread...... :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

MugMugs wrote: »
    Cienciano wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

I can't see how anyone can condone what happened, flippantly or otherwise. It was a cowardly act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

KTRIC wrote: »
    Sure they're no worse than murders, terrible carry on altogether :rolleyes:

Ok, I'm off to Wexford for the bank holiday weekend to buy some lads a pint :pac:
    They got off exceptionally light..... Judge probably feels the same way as me.... :D

So wanting to buy them pints, give them medals plus your nudge nudge, wink wink comment about a Judge giving them a light sentence because he too dislikes speed vans, is not condoning what they did, and I thought you were somewhat intelligent.

Reg'stoy wrote: »

So wanting to buy them pints, give them medals plus your nudge nudge, wink wink comment about a Judge giving them a light sentence because he too dislikes speed vans, is not condoning what they did, and I thought you were somewhat intelligent.
    Eh, what? I wouldn't condone murder, nor have I be it attempted or not.....

It was a tongue in cheek comment with respect to the sentence and the apparent views of the judge..... Glad to see you can judge an IQ based solely on that. Well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

OSI wrote: »
    Whatever about setting fire to a speed camera, setting for to a vehicle with a man inside it is utterly disgusting regardless of his occupation. And I'm quite shocked to see people condoning their behaviour.

If you can't see, how wanting to buy them pints or give them medals is not tacitly condoning what they did; and I include tongue in cheek, well then I think I was correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

It should be at least attempted murder, absolutely scandalous decision by the judge. The Judges, are the single biggest problem this country has in terms of law/crime, a lot of their decisions are farcical. There's a man in a cell today who was jailed for importing tomatoes illegally, but these lads walk away? Inconsistency of the highest order

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Disgraceful sentencing yet again. If you walk away free for sexually assaulting a 17-year-old and doing the same to your nieces, these men should at least been given a fruit basket and 2 weeks in The Canaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

I wonder if the judge has clocked up 6 points from speed vans. Might explain the leniant sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

Surely it doesn't matter what the vehicle was? So what if it was a speed camera van? There was a person inside... Whole country up in arms the time that the car was set on fire with the 2 young children inside it a few years ago, this is very much along the same lines! In fact, the time of the 2 young children, the vandal said he did not know that the vehicle was occupied at the time, and he was jailed (and then earlier this year shot dead in connection with another violent crime)... In this case, the 2 must have been aware that the vehicle was occupied... It's an absolute farce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

"As sure thems is lovely lads, I know the mammy, respectable families, play with the local team and are lovely to their grannies..."

This is the normal defence used in modern Ireland for scumbags. And this is the problem - ' ah sure their grand - they didn't mean it'

Personally I would like to see the reintroduction of prison sentences with hard labour especially for such 'nice young lads'
    And as for the rest of the law breaking, bribe taking, bullying and embezzling gobsheens out there I would gladly see the administration of the same solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....well, welcome to the Banana GARLIC Republic.

A country where French presidents pat you on the head, where German chancellors kiss you one minute and tell you to fupp off the next, where sex crimes are measured in Euro's, and Garlic trumps real crime.

Yep, sure we'll be grand.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Pdfile wrote: »
    well before everyone jumps in saying how terrible these men are, how stupid to burn the van out etc... calm your horses, we all hate these as much as we hate the vans and operation itself. I think we should all focus our efforts into getting a jcb wth 2 large boulders.

put one either end of a speed van kissing its bumpers. u mad camera man ?

I don't hate them at all. I shall curse if one catches me, but I think they are about 1% of the job that needs doing to make our roads safer, a tiny step in the right direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭pom pom snaz peeler

them vans a re a menace to society..... and they should be left unmanned incase the accidentally go on fire!

corktina wrote: »
    I don't hate them at all. I shall curse if one catches me, but I think they are about 1% of the job that needs doing to make our roads safer, a tiny step in the right direction

I'll agree with that when I seen them on country roads at 2am. Parking up in 60kmph zones to milk people doing 65/70 though? That isn't saving lives at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

I wonder if the sentence would have been different if it was a Garda in the van it seems very lenient.

if they are on a €100 bond to keep the peace they cannot possibly have alot of money so probably not paying for the damage

Heres the beasts the first guy drives:

Beast 1

Beast 2
    Linking their book faces is a bit personal, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Jees you'd sware by some of the comments here the guys intended to cook the guy like the Christmas turkey. The van had plenty of doors which the driver managed to use successfully.
    I like the boulder idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

Linking their book faces is a bit personal, isn't it?
    Not as personal as nearly killing someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jees you'd sware by some of the comments here the guys intended to cook the guy like the Christmas turkey. The van had plenty of doors which the driver managed to use successfully.
    I like the boulder idea.

Houses have plenty of doors and windows, is petrol bombing someone's house cos you don't like their job ok?

EDIT. OSI got there first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Two very lucky boyos.

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....well, welcome to the Banana GARLIC Republic.

A country where French presidents pat you on the head, where German chancellors kiss you one minute and tell you to fupp off the next, where sex crimes are measured in Euro's, and Garlic trumps real crime.

Yep, sure we'll be grand.

Is this ****e about the guy locked up for tax evasion the go to thing now every time someone gets a lenient sentence?

You forgot to have a bit of a rant about bankers. Or are they old news now?

EnterNow wrote: »
    I'll agree with that when I seen them on country roads at 2am. Parking up in 60kmph zones to milk people doing 65/70 though? That isn't saving lives at all

Who are they milking? Is there something about 60km zones that people have to go faster in them? Sure everyone's a great driver, let them police themselves.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Something seriously wrong with some people in this thread,

Yes you might hate the vans and all but but these two idiots could have killed somebody, thats not something to laugh or joke about. People might say oh well the van has plenty of windows or doors byt you are assuming that smoke doesn't kill the guy first or somehow he doesn't get trapped.

If you disagree with Gardai checkpoints does that mean its ok for you to burn out a Gardai car with a Gardai in it?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Parking up in 60kmph zones to milk people doing 65/70 though? That isn't saving lives at all

err, yes it is.

Near where I live there's a 100km 10mile stretch of road, with the exception of 3km of it which it drops to 60km.

The 60km zone is slower because of some very dangerous turns, prior to the speed van setting up shop on the turns there was atleast 2-3 crashes a week.

Most of these crashes meant a car ended up in a ditch, a truck shed its load and people got injured etc.

Since the van setup shop there has been none as people have been forced to slow down on a road that just isn't suitable for anything over 60km/hour.

The drop in speed is reasonable and the van had to be put there because f*ckwits just didn't have enough cop on to drive at a safe speed for the conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

What were they tried for exactly? Criminal damage by the sounds of it? How on earth were they not tried for attempted murder...? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

this beggars belief, these sub human scum, got away without a jail sentence?! they should be made pay back every bloody cent of the damage, legal costs etc. take it out of their dole and if shock horror, these wasters are in fact working, take it out of that!

I like the boulder idea.

What if the driver hadn't of noticed it, & part of the wiring loom melted together causing a short circuit locking the doors & windows...you won't last very long in a smoke filled vehicle. It was reckless endangerment at the very least, ideally it should be attempted murder. There has to be consequences for actions
    Is this ****e about the guy locked up for tax evasion the go to thing now every time someone gets a lenient sentence?

I think its a perfectly valid comparison. Old news doesn't make it any less relevant.
    Cabaal wrote: »
    err, yes it is.

Near where I live there's a 100km 10mile stretch of road, with the exception of 3km of it which it drops to 60km.

The 60km zone is slower because of some very dangerous turns, prior to the speed van setting up shop on the turns there was atleast 2-3 crashes a week.

Most of these crashes meant a car ended up in a ditch, a truck shed its load and people got injured etc.

Since the van setup shop there has been none as people have been forced to slow down on a road that just isn't suitable for anything over 60km/hour.

The drop in speed is reasonable and the van had to be put there because f*ckwits just didn't have enough cop on to drive at a safe speed for the conditions.

Ok there will always be exceptions like that, granted. But for the most part, the vans are parked up nowhere near black spots & instead are poised to make money. They're a business after all.

can the verdict be appealed?!

I think its a perfectly valid comparison. Old news doesn't make it any less relevant.

Maybe they should have had these two up for tax evasion so :rolleyes:

That judge did their job properly. Other aren't. Like this case. Doesn't make that guy any less guilty.

Ok there will always be exceptions like that, granted. But for the most part, the vans are parked up nowhere near black spots & instead are poised to make money. They're a business after all.

There's a very simple way to not get "milked" for any money..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Idbatterim wrote: »
    this beggars belief, these sub human scum, got away without a jail sentence?! they should be made pay back every bloody cent of the damage, legal costs etc. take it out of their dole and if shock horror, these wasters are in fact working, take it out of that!
    Would you also make them liable for the loss of earnings that the van would have raised if it still out catching speeders?

That judge did their job properly. Other aren't. Like this case. Doesn't make that guy any less guilty.

Very true, thats the whole point. It seems the scummier & toe raggier you are, you get a much more likely lenient sentence than the average Joe will.
    There's a very simple way to not get "milked" for any money..........

Again very true, & I can gladly say in all my years of driving I've never recieved a single fine or penalty point. Though it doesn't stop me noticing how 'strategically' placed a lot of these vans seem to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Anyone who sets fire to a building or vehicle with people inside it is knowingly playing with others' lives and deserves a substantial sentence, not just a ridiculous slap on the wrist.:(:( I don't like traffic wardens, but always resist the urge to head butt one when I see him.

I sincerely hope the DPP appeals against this excessively lenient sentence.:cool:

Anything else only makes a mockery of laws that, ultimately, are there to protect all of us. Six years for ripping off the revenue in the garlic/apples scam, zero jail time for a potentially deadly act of arson. No wonder this country is so screwed up!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

. It seems the scummier & toe raggier you are, you get a much more likely lenient sentence than the average Joe will.

It might look like that from certain angles but the truth is there are people in all walks of life getting away easy. There's as many threads on boards complaining about people "buying" their way out of trouble or people at the top with mates getting them off as there are scumbags racking up hundreds of convictions.

Complaining about the times the judges actually do their job isn't the way forward, focussing on the ones that are letting people off is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Idbatterim wrote: »
    can the verdict be appealed?!

What verdict do you want appealed?

They were found guilty of Criminal Damage by fire, and sentenced to 7 years. The judge in his infinite wisdom then suspended the sentence. Their criminal record now shows a 7 year sentence and a conviction, along with whatever else may be on it.

I think its a shocking decision and cannot understand how the DPP did not direct to charge with attempted murder too

Would you also make them liable for the loss of earnings that the van would have raised if it still out catching speeders?
    good suggestion, i overlooked that one!

gerire wrote: »
    What verdict do you want appealed?

The suspended part maybe? Is that within the remit of the DPP or once the sentence (7 years) is handed down is that deemed harsh enough whether its served or sentenced.

Lets be honest though, a 7 year sentence that you don't spend any of in jail is hardly a sentence. They'll probably have forgotten when its up by the time the letter drops through their door informing them that it is.

but it is still a sentence and will limit their travel plans and job prospects for the rest of their lives

corktina wrote: »
    but it is still a sentence and will limit their travel plans and job prospects for the rest of their lives

I'd hazard a guess they see it as a victory though. There's probably a party in their local pub tonight and all I'd imagine. :rolleyes:

They should have seen the inside of a cell. Maybe suspend 3 1/2 -4 years of it at most.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭aman23

+1:P

I'd hazard a guess they see it as a victory though. There's probably a party in their local pub tonight and all I'd imagine. :rolleyes:

They should have seen the inside of a cell. Maybe suspend 3 1/2 -4 years of it at most.

it does send out the wrong message I agree.

Anyone who thinks people like this give the slightest fukc about 'travel plans' or 'job prospects' need to get a serious grip on reality. In the real world, this will be seen as a victory by those lads.

The judge's decision to suspend the sentence needs to be seriously & looked at...its farcical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I know its the one sentence that most crimes are judged against, but how can destroying private property and attempted murder or assault on the person operating the vehicle be only given a suspended sentence and a hundred euro fine, and a guy who labels garlic as apples gets 6 years. The justice system in this country is seriously fůcked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I know its the one sentence that most crimes are judged against, but how can destroying private property and attempted murder or assault on the person operating the vehicle be only given a suspended sentence and a hundred euro fine, and a guy who labels garlic as apples gets 6 years. The justice system in this country is seriously fůcked up.

He wasn't jailed for wrongly labelling apples as been suggested he was jailed for six years over a €1.6m garlic import scam.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=garlicman%20gets%20six%20years&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja ved=0QF jAB url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.ie%2Fnational-news%2Fcourts%2Fman-jailed-for-six-years-over-16m-garlic-tax-scam-3045619.html&ei=MOSGUKSWLdGBhQePv4HACA&usg=AFQjCNHIPLLp60euMtT3UOb0OCGIZN_wpQ

Them lads should have been given a custodial sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

You forgot to have a bit of a rant about bankers. Or are they old news now?

Who are they milking? Is there something about 60km zones that people have to go faster in them? Sure everyone's a great driver, let them police themselves.

It's not ****e. It's a court-recorded public record. Handed down by peers of the case I mention: that is, the same judiciary. If that doesn't lie easy with you, well, tough. Tough ****e, even......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”