Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gards or Guards?

• 22-10-2012 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭

What spelling is your favourite - I seem to vary and sometimes type Gards, mostly Guards but refer to them all collectively as AGS.

What is your preference?

^Votes here^ Funneh below:

How to you refer to AGS 113 votes

Guards
    0% 0 votes
    Gards
    83% 94 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    16% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Mister Robinson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Bah. Can a mod fix typo please.

How do you refer to AGS?

I'm an idiot. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't think gards makes any sense, it's like a bastardisation of the irish version of the word.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Gardaí

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't think gards makes any sense, it's like a bastardisation of the irish version of the word.

Gardaí

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Gards wtf ?

"Civic Guards "

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Garda

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Ngeardai

Gardaí
    Gardaí

Ngardee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Da Mothaf**kin' Po-Leeece or the 5-0.

I am actually rather ghetto fabulous, I'll have you know.

Gords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭sealgaire

ScumLord wrote: »

the Irish version....???:o:o

I think you mean the Anglicised version of the Irish....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Da Shades bhoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Garthee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

De boys in blue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Edz87 wrote: »
    Gords.

GORDS... GORDS... PROTECT THEM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Suppose Gardai is correct, but seeing it spelt 'gards' so much on these threads, i now consider it correct:D. Guards just looks stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

The old bill!:)

sealgaire wrote: »
    the Irish version....???:o:o

I think you mean the Anglicised version of the Irish....
    English is guards, Irish is Gardaí. So spelling it gards is like anglifying the Irish version. which is pointless as an english version of the word exists, guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I always quite liked 'The Bacon' with their flashing noisy beacons, pronounced 'bacon' by cultchies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The Fuzz :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Scortho wrote: »
    The old bill!:)
    f off back to Eastenders land maite, innit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Call them what you like, who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭UnawareCaesar

POPO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It's never 'Gards'. WTF are you all on!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

filth
    pigs
    cops
    lily law
    heat
    constabulary
    and many more

but the obvious abbreviation (which is what we are talking about ) is Gards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

Gord-ee (use D4 accent).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Anyone who says 'Gards' is an idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Anyone who says 'Gards' is an idiot

I agree. Well not the said bit but 'Gards' written just looks poxy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

'Gards' looks ridiculous. It looks like the writer can't decide whether to write in English or Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Does it matter, if they are going to do you your fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Only good Gaurd is a Mud Gaurd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Singular - Garda
    Plural - Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Hootanany wrote: »
    Only good Gaurd is a Mud Gaurd

Oh, the Ironing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

The pigs on a bad day but Garda / Gardai usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Guards, because I can spell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Is it true you can't call female guards banguarda anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I will always give them respect, (Garda), is something wrong, step out of the car sir (at this stage I close all zips on my punch pants) no probs sir,

(the garda) we believe you have done nothing wrong but it is a quiet night, so we are taking you in,

(me) jesus garda I dont think I have done anything wrong, unless I was not aware of one of my back lights being out,

(garda) listen fella, shut the fook up and get out of the car, (me) but garda, I have done nothing nothing wrong, yes my light might be out but this could of happened in the last 30 seconds,

(garda) step out of the car or we will take you out of it and throw you through the windscreen, your choice,

(me) I have windscreen coverage but I never thought I would be using it for this reason,

(garda) well we will take you out the back window, do you have coverage for that, mr smart arrse,

(me) no I dont but if you are ok with it could you pull me out threw the front of the vehicle, then it would be no cost to me or you, (other than the charges I will bring against you, sir, mr garda) 50 seconds later,

(garda) Hey Jim, there is a guy across the street, he just bought a kebab with chips lets do him, (garda) but what about this guy, (response) nobody gets a kebab with chips, he is a lose cannon, we need to retrive him,

(garda) ok lets go, (response to me) your one lucky monkey fooker who decided to take a chance, we are now going for the weel criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Because most of my dealings about talking about them are with people from outside the country its just a lot easier to refer to them as Police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

LordSutch wrote: »

Whats the AGS :confused:

An Garda Siochana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Is it true you can't call female guards banguarda anymore?
    Yes, they insist you call them Shexy Garda instead.

Evidence here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

MadsL wrote: »
    Yes, they insist you call them Shexy Garda instead.

Evidence here...

fuMs2dsHLlg

Jaysus. .... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 confusedlad

You can call them whatever you like,
    they wont get to the scene for another 3-6 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

MadsL wrote: »
    What spelling is your favourite - I seem to vary and sometimes type Gards, mostly Guards but refer to them all collectively as AGS.

What is your preference?

^Votes here^ Funneh below:
    I thought Gardai was the correct title.
    What's with the 'Atari Jaguar' ? Sounds stupid.