Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sub 3 Muffin Man

• 18-10-2012 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

Scrap the long intro waffle... Its a sub3 log until the following are achieved...
    Sub3 marathon
    Sub3 10k swim

128794742881901826.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Apart from a few lovely dips in the Med, I took 2 glorious sugar munching weeks off exercise after Barcelona. It felt suitably gluttonous even by my own Muffin Man Standards. Enough sinning to fill a few pages of the confessions thread! Last week I started back gingerly with a couple of easy short runs and my mothers bodypump class which left me positively aching for days afterwards. I got a short swim in too and felt like a rusty ship's anchor.

So far, this week has been a little better but still not good.

Monday: 12.33km easy run with a mate including 5*30 second cadence drills. Avg pace 4:54, HR 147. Enjoyable run nattering. He is aiming for the GLR too and has taken on some American Coach. I'm taking the self coached approach so it will be interesting to see how this pans out.

Tuesday: Its a good morning to swim at the Arena as its quiet. A straight 6*400 off 7:30 in on 6:43/6:42/6:28/6:33/6:33/6:56. I paced the first 2 like a warm up and pressed the next 3. I died a death on the last one. Generally felt like I had no length, no power, no roll, legs sinking etc etc.. The Barcelona swim is still a mystery to me :o

Wednesday: 13.71 sodding km in the rain. I felt drained of any energy. The breeze felt like a gale, inclines felt like mountains. I checked my cadence a couple of times and was plodding along at 82bpm. It was a struggle just to complete this run. Pace 4:56, HR 153. I just couldn't keep the HR down.

Thursday: 20 minutes on the rowing ergo at 1:55.6/500 and 22spm, power 226w avg. Steady piece pushed towards the end. Its about the limit of what I can muster on thedreaded machine at this point. 40 minutes on the treadmill followed. It sucked. I hate the treadmill. I struggled for the first 25 minutes but then just HTFU'd and stayed on the thing. Pace 4:30, it felt extremely laboured. Next up 45 minutes yoga. My quads were a little shot from the machines which made some of the poses even shakier than usual. I lacked concentration for this class and fell off balance a few times. I'll get it back. Overall an ok workout. I felt the impact on the core which is good :)

Muffin Man weighed in at 79.4kg last week. Still getting the sugar fixes but reduced the volume. 72kg is the very ambitious target for the Great Limerick Run in May. I've never seen the scales read anything under 75.5... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

I'll get onto the mods on the A/R forum and see if they will allow you move your log back! Don't hold your breath now but I'll put in a good word for you :)

Did you follow a marathon specific program for Berlin? Are you going to race anything shorter like 10k/10 milers or halfs in your build up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Come run Boston in 2014. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

Over the last 4 years since beginning this multi sport lark, swimming has come on leaps and bounds, cycling always solid but running has consistently been my weakest split (even without cramps) and the thorn in my side to being decent age grouper!

Swap around the words swimming and running and you could be talking about me. We should have babies.;)

For the last two years you've undertaken a hell of a lot of racing. You've had some good results, but I still think your IM and marathon times in those two years are some way off your true potential, and it's probably a good idea for you to give marathons your full focus.

With a PB less than a minute outside a sub 3 in Connemara, I'd be amazed if you don't smash 3 hours in 2013. It's a nice round number to get under as well, and once achieved I think further time gains will be easier to come by.

Good luck with the training!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Welcome to boards.ie I hope it goes well for you ;-)

Great to hear you're a date set too. Will we be getting an insight to the wedding planning like we got for the new house renovating? ;-)

Theres no doubt in my mind you're good for sub 3, id reckon a hell of a lot lower once its the key focus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Best of luck Muffin Man, glad to see you sticking to logging your exploits around here. Next time i am down your way i will make sure i have a pair of runners in the car and a bag full of muffins:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

The main goal of the year however is on June 7th. Caz and I will get hitched!!

Am i going to be pageboy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭BennyMul

Congrats to ye both,

Also planning on Dondea and GLR myself, if your looking for company on a long\long run give us a bell,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

The main goal of the year however is on June 7th. Caz and I will get hitched!!

Excellent. Delighted for you both. Will Oakley be sponsoring the event? (HM flashback :rolleyes:)

Nice targets so enjoy the challenge :)

@TRR - don't worry after the marathon the log will get funky and groovy for a multi sport summer! Yes I will do a warm up race or 2 . Probably s 10k and a HM. A litmus test to see what simply higher mileage or kilometerage has yielded. A positive benchmark will instill a lot of confidence with a layer of speed and PMP work to add.
    @hoochiedoubledee - I wouldn't rule it out. I love Boston. Must check entry reqs ...
    @JB - Tell you what. We will test youin the pool vs shotgunjunior. Ye have about the same arm span so it would be fair. Simple 50m including a tumble turn. Best form wins. Ill get some of the fish to judge...
    @bennymull - deadly. Ill give you a bell soon
    @RedB - If JB wins that little challenge he can choose the sponsor!
    @Bambatta - Get suits. Show up. Done!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Running focus? Sacked as mod.

Yee finally get your tri forum and now you're all opening running logs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

@Bambatta - Get suits. Show up. Done!

This is also my plan.

Best of luck with the new log and targets. I'll be following with interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Best of luck with the running Mike. Sub 3 is there for the taking.

Best of luck with the big day also. Congrats.

Looking forward to seeing how GFW goes for you. Some tasty climbs on the bike by all accounts too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Best of luck with that. Sounds like you have a fun calendar ahead.

Might give the Donadea 50km a whirl myself.

Here you go....and my understanding is the qualification times are the same for 2014. Sub 3 and you're grand.

http://www.baa.org/races/boston-marathon/participant-information/registration-information/qualifying-standards.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Good luck with the new goal. One thing you should be mindful of, is avoiding peaking for the Donadea 50k. Because it will be your highest mileage (and will likely require a substantial amount of effort (though obviously not when compared to an Ironman) you want to ensure you don't leave it all in the forest, before Limerick. Keep the taper before the event as minimal as possible, and get back into training afterwards as soon as you can. This may mean taking it handy during the event itself, but you gotta figure out which one is the real goal (which is of course the wedding! Congrats!).

@RQ - Yes run focus but its a multi sport log really :)
    @KC - Sound running advice as ever KC. I don't intend to treat Donadea as a goal, even though its my first 'ultra'. Its simply a benchmark to get the running volume up. The only aim is to complete it as a nice comfortable pace and finish it hungry for a go at Limerick. I'll taper for a week and resume training within a week.

Swim Squad
    Its been weeks since I swam with the morning group and I knew this would not be fun. The gang has since swollen to take over 4 lanes. I thought about dropping down a lane when I saw DaveR1 get in but figured I'd just suffer my way through it. Suffer I did.
    600m warm up including some catch up drills. Then...
    8*50m max effort off the bat!! Way to toast us before the set even starts!
    It was carnage after that.
    5*200m off 3:30 and 6*100 neg split off 1:45
    4*50m 'recovery' as 25 kick 25 backstroke
    2*100m max effort off 3. In on 1:23/1:23
    100m swim down
    3,100m total

I felt OK on the initial fast 50s but the 200s were a case of hanging on for dear life. Not that I was hanging onto the fish, they were gone. I swam in no mans land between them and the pack. I made the RTs with maybe 10 secs to spare but I could feel my pulse through my neck. It was supposed to be endurance 2 effort :rolleyes: The 100s were not as bad but I was wrecked after them. The kicking recovery 50s was no recovery and my heart was still racing ahead of the fast 100s. I basically muscled through them. The Coach smiled when he called for a PB +5 sec effort. I nearly burst a blood vessel getting within 10 secs on the second rep. Despite the suffering I did the 100 swim down with as good a form as I could.

I had this evening free and was going to go to the running club interval session. I only get to attend once in a while and try to seize the opportunities as the come. The session plan was speed reps of 45 and 90 secs. I don't think my legs are ready for that yet, plus the swim this morning toasted me proper... The joy of being self coached. No pressure... yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

It's a big challenge but one you'll be well capable of.

But this thread makes me want muffins and I'm trying to eat well this week :(

Long Easy Run
    It was a mild sunny autumn morning. Perfect running conditions. 90 minutes 18.87km. 2 laps of suburbia. I was breaking in a new pair of Adidas Supernova Response 21s. They are a psychedelic luminous yellow with silver stripes and I felt a bit conscious of them. The main aim of "easy" was to keep the effort under 150HR for base development. The first lap was fine but I struggled to keep it down despite the pace dropping off by 10-15 sec per km after the hour. I had a stitch for 20 mins too despite only having water before I left the house. In truth it felt a million miles from sub 3 form but its a start...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Best of luck and congrats, mcos - sub 3 will be no bother to you - I'd say the wedding is likely to cause more stress:)

Short one

2 swims: 5.5km
    4 runs: 55.8km
    1 row: 5.2km
    1 yoga class

3 weeks from Barcelona. Recovery done now, time to embrace the winter training. I wanted to run today but after 1.5 hours of back twisting forward, backward, sideward and combo trampoline summersaults with shotgunjunior I chose to lie on the couch and allow my vertebrae click back into place. Its been 3 weeks since I sat on a bike. Thats the longest absence since I opened my knee after running down a steep wet trail in 2009. The tired tri bike has been disassembled and tidied away for the winter and spring. The muddy mountain bike cleaned, checked and moved to the shed for the odd commute and trail fun over the winter. The reliable roadie hasn't been touched for a few months so that was given some TLC and moved to the attic along with the turbo for some post long run spin downs and the occasional group cycle.

I got some new toys for the pool since I'm the only pleb down there without them. Fins to practice and strengthen my kick. A pullbouy to eh, I'll figure out something to do with it. A pair of paddles as I've seen the fish use them and was enthusiastically informed one morning they help build swim specific strength and give you a heightened feel for the stroke. The only thing with the pair I got is that they look like shovel heads in comparison to the tidy ones I see scattered on the pool deck. I'll try them out this week if I can work out what to do with the tubing :rolleyes:

The other bits were some shoes. A pair of Adidas that I tried out yesterday. They feel different to last year's Supernovas but that may be down to being new and having normal laces instead of stretchy lock laces. The other pair I have to break in are a pair of Asics DS Trainers. A bit annoying though as I had only bought my first pair of DS Trainers a couple of months ago and left them in a transition tent in Spain :mad: I've since emailed in hope.

Right then, on with the Muffin Man goes sub 3 mission! Hmmm.. speaking of Muffin, Caz has a banana bread in the oven... :D

I think you'll figure out the pull buoy easily enough since it goes between your legs. ;)

Weekly Objectives:
    2 Swims intro tech in one session
    6 runs and circa 70km
    Run drills
    Longer easy row

Medium Easy Run
    Another lovely mild evening. I was breaking in the DS Trainers. They felt like running on clouds immediately. Comfortable, light and responsive. Best shoe I've tried in ages. 74 minutes split between the city streets and suburbia. I enjoyed the trot around town and my base hr felt more controlled. By the time I hit the inclines of an active suburbia I had to reduce the pace to limit the cardiac drift. Overall 15.36km at 4:48 pace and 144hr. I had various little aches going on from the trampoline antics yesterday. I guess its not the safest cross training! I felt better tonight. Maybe the few drills I did before the run helped.

Solo Swim Session
    Its fun and rewarding to drum up your own set and then execute it :)
    200m swim
    200m pull buoy
    100m swim
    200m power paddle
    100 swim
    5*400m off 7:30 in on 6:26/6:25/6:23/6:25/6:28
    4*100m kick with fins
    100m breast stroke

3,300m total

The warm up with the toys was interesting. I opted to swim 100 after the pull and paddle to feel the effect of them. After the pullbuoy I really noticed the weight of my hips dragging and the drag of my legs sitting lower in the water too. I took the paddles very easy. The speedo power paddles are very large and I instantly felt the workload on the shoulders. I had researched their use on you tube and taking a broad sense of the advice, kept it easy. The 400s were at the high end of aerobic in that I was working hard without hitting red. I thought I probably should be going off 7 if I could hit them all sub 6:30 but I'll leave that jump until I'm a good deal fitter. That won't happen on 2 swims a week, which I deem as a bare minimum to maintain current form and fitness.

I wanted to go for a run after work but a hellish day at the office followed by a call to babysit my crazy niece afterwards killed that ambition. I also hit a low and made 3 visits to the vending machine too after 2 weeks clean :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Just get straight back on the wagon MCOS! I always find im most at risk when i fall off, its like "ah sure ive already gone bad, why not just have 10 more!"

Medium Easy Run
    A 2 lap steady trot around suburbia. Its my last week of all easy and easy really should be feeling easy. The first lap was just that. I happily kicked my way through fallen autumn leaves. It felt loose and comfortable. Lap 2 however proved that I have a long way to go. I had to focus on keeping my heart rate down and it shot up on any form of incline. Ill know I've made progress when I can keep the hr down running over a short flyer by my house. I have to inject some tempo and speed next week to avoid becoming a single speed looker :-) Overall 16.31km in 76 min, hr 144, cadence again a lazy 84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Footpod or did you count to 6,384 :p

Weekly Objectives:
    2 Swims intro tech in one session
    6 runs and circa 70km
    Run drills
    Longer easy row

Actual
    1 Swim 3.3km :(
    2 Runs 32.4km :mad:

For various reasons I have nothing to report for the last 4 days of the week :( The 'Prep' phase of this chapter hasn't been good but I'm positive still

I'm drawing a line under it as no point complaining about what is not done :)

Onto Winter Training then...

Weekly Objectives
    2 swims - 1 group, 1 solo work + drills - target 6km
    6 runs - 3 easy, 1 session, 1 long, 1 short tempo - target 70km
    2 hours S&C with row, yoga, run drills,
    Ideally a short easy bike spin too

Medium Easy Run
    I generally like Autumn but it got dark very early today and it was wet by the time I hit the road. A northerly breeze made it feel cold enough to stiffen the knuckles and turn on the nose tap. I had been feeling rather ashamed of myself after stepping on the scales 2.1kg up on last week knowing it was sheer sloth. I did spend most of yesterday on the couch watching James Cracknell documentaries of his incredible adventures which didn't help. Couple that with an eye on the DCM tracker this morning however and I was suitably motivated :) I had to check the ego though and rein the effort back to a controlled base development. 2 laps of suburbia. 16.24km at 4:47 pace, HR 144. It felt ok for an hour but unsurprisingly finished somewhat laborious. Nothing but consistency will get the fitness back. No more excuses...

Tempo Reps
    12.51km including 4*1km at tempo effort with 3 minutes recovery. My legs are not up to interval pace yet so I used a tempo effort to keep a sort of lid on the first intense session in a long time. I ran easy for 15 minutes to warm up then got stuck into the work. It was cold but I wasn't long heating up. The reps
    3:53 - avg hr 163
    3:52 - avg hr 165
    3:53 - avg hr 167
    3:51 - avg hr 169 - max 174

Overall it was a good session but I felt a little stiff from the run drills I did before yesterday's run. Particularly down to the lunges I suspect. The effort was steady enough but the cardiac drift shows the lack of fitness. I finished the last rep at the upper end of threshold. The DS Trainers felt very good for this run too. It felt like a bit of a shock to the system but will be nothing compared to the shock it will get this weekend...

I had intended to do a cross country run on Saturday for a bit of craic. I had my eye on the 6km beginner event as I've never done XC before and am in no shape for a race. This was all good until the club bumped me up to the 10k event into a team for the Senior XC County Championships aka the deep end :eek: I'm expecting this to hurt and anything better than coming dead last and falling face first into the mud several times will be a result. Although it might not be a bad idea to do so to hide my blushes as I trail in long after my team mates :o

Swim Squad
    Had several comments like "welcome back", "well stranger?" etc... A fair indication that my absence was noted. Looking back on my diary I have averaged 1 swim per week for the last 8 weeks. As stated earlier in the log, 1 swim is enough to limit the loss of form and fitness, although you will still lose both. 2 swims is minimum to maintain where you are in terms of form. 3 swims to maintain or gently progress fitness. I thought about hopping into the next lane with 1:55/100 RTs but the Coach eyed me suspiciously enough to stay put in the fast lane. I joined the tail of it and struggled from there...
    10*50m easy including sculling drills
    7*200m/100m neg split of 3:30/1:45
    8*50m hard off 1:20
    4*50m breast stroke
    4*50 kick with fins
    200m easy
    3,500m total

The fish, DaveR1, the Tecnician and some tiny young wan bolted off and did their own thing finishing the 200s almost 50m ahead of me. I hung onto the feet of the only other girl and barely made the RTs for the main set. I mean, I struggled to hold 1:40 pace throughout. It almost felt like a continuous swim. To make matters worse, a slight niggle I had in my right shoulder over the last 2 months seems to have gotten worse and was quite stiff and sore afterwards. The 50s max effort killed me and I barely hit 39s for them. DaveR1 summed it up afterward when he looked at me and said with a smile "you can tell you are way off form!". Not only was I way off the pace but this was confirmation that my stroke had gone to pot also :(. Its depressing how fast you can lose everything you worked hard for in the water :mad:. The Coach knew the young wans name and said something to her as she hopped out. She was clearly one of the superstar fish using our set for "recovery" :rolleyes:. My only consolation was that my nemesis, who was equally absent recently, was swimming in the next lane...

Medium Base Run
    Another 2 laps of suburbia side stepping groups of tiny ghouls, witches, mad scientists, clowns and monsters :). Thankfully no flying eggs this year but I kept away from punk land. It was cold out, misty too with the moon bright but half shrouded. Good eerier conditions then for a Halloween run. 16.51km at 4:44 pace, hr 144, cadence 84 again. Lap 1 felt good, I kept base endurance effort comfortably even on hills. My first cadence check was 85, progress! Lap 2 was less comfortable. The cadence checks dropped to 84, the pace dropped right down to hold the effort steady on hills. My calves and hips felt tight and I was working too hard for this zone for a finish. Maybe it was down to actually hitting sessions this week :). One thing is for sure, Saturday is going to be a trip to Sufferville.

I was barely in the door when the little scary motley crews started to call :). I basically sweated into the first couple of witches hats. A couple of boys then thought my psychedelic yellow green runners were the coolest things they had ever seen. They actually lost interest in the fist fulls of marshmallows and jellies I was holding to get a better look at the shoes! The Adidas definitely do not feel as good as the DS Trainers. I liked the 2011 model of the Response shoe but the 2012 version feels stiffer and harder. Maybe I just need a few more runs to break them in...

Short Easy Run
    I meant to do this first thing this morning but slept in. What greeted me at lunchtime was my penance! I was barely out the door when a sudden squally turn of conditions kicked up a headwind that blew wet leaves off the street into my face. An icy torrential shower accompanied it and I was both frozen and soaked to the bone within minutes. I strongly considered turning back but pressed on thinking I was about as wet as I could get anyway. Thankfully the sun came out just as suddenly after a few more minutes to thaw me out. It was just 8.15km at 4:46 pace, HR 141. Controlled, but I felt stiff and tired too and will be glad for a break tomorrow. My legs need it.

Row/Yoga
    Driving over to the Arena in the rain, I was happy to have the run done. I just could not have faced the treadmill in a sweaty gym again. I hit the gym nonetheless to cross train on the concept 2 rowing ergo. 30 minutes at 1:56.9/500m and 7.7km later and I was toasted. I held a steady pace for 25 minutes then built it to the running equivalent of 5k pace. I tried to do a few chin ups afterwards but managed just 4 before my sweaty palms failed me. I was a bit early for Yoga so did 15 minutes stretching. My legs appreciated it. The tecnician "the instructor's favourite pupil" showed up along with some other athletes for various sports, which meant the ante was raised. Poses held for.that.second.loonnnger. I pushed them this week until the limbs shook. I'm determined to improve my flexibility and core strength. It is part of becoming a better runner... or so I'm told :rolleyes: Anyway, I sweated a lot and enjoyed it in a kind of sadistic way. As hard as yoga can be, you always feel smashing afterwards :)

+1 on the yoga. I'm really incorporating it into my daily/weekly routine. Core and flexibility, it's a nice enhancement to all the other working parts.

Swim Squad
    Large group down again. The only fish was the technician and no one wanted to follow her as it essentially meant watching her bubbles vanish and leading out the pack. I hid for the first quarter of the main set before I was discovered. I spent the rest of the set chasing the technician in vain. My stroke felt better than last time though. Same RTs and was getting more rest. The choice stroke wrecked me again but at least I can make a full length of breast stroke and back stroke now :)
    Session
    10*50m warm up including drills
    8*50m hard in on 37-38
    3 sets of 2*100m/200m/2*100m
    6*50 choice strokes
    Griffin100's 15 minute challenege*
    50m easy
    3,600m total

*Griffin100's 15 minute Challenge was grand. 5 minute kick with fins 275m, 5 minute treading water, 5 minute kick with fins 275m :) I need the kicking practice anyway so treated this as part of the session. Some of teh gang though I was in trouble treading water in the middle of the lane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Thats some serious swimming, would love to be up around that level. Think the idea of joining a group would help no end.

Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Trig1

Short Easy Run
    I meant to do this first thing this morning but slept in. What greeted me at lunchtime was my penance! I was barely out the door when a sudden squally turn of conditions kicked up a headwind that blew wet leaves off the street into my face. An icy torrential shower accompanied it and I was both frozen and soaked to the bone within minutes. I strongly considered turning back but pressed on thinking I was about as wet as I could get anyway. Thankfully the sun came out just as suddenly after a few more minutes to thaw me out. It was just 8.15km at 4:46 pace, HR 141. Controlled, but I felt stiff and tired too and will be glad for a break tomorrow. My legs need it.

Row/Yoga
    Driving over to the Arena in the rain, I was happy to have the run done. I just could not have faced the treadmill in a sweaty gym again. I hit the gym nonetheless to cross train on the concept 2 rowing ergo. 30 minutes at 1:56.9/500m and 7.7km later and I was toasted. I held a steady pace for 25 minutes then built it to the running equivalent of 5k pace. I tried to do a few chin ups afterwards but managed just 4 before my sweaty palms failed me. I was a bit early for Yoga so did 15 minutes stretching. My legs appreciated it. The tecnician "the instructor's favourite pupil" showed up along with some other athletes for various sports, which meant the ante was raised. Poses held for.that.second.loonnnger. I pushed them this week until the limbs shook. I'm determined to improve my flexibility and core strength. It is part of becoming a better runner... or so I'm told :rolleyes: Anyway, I sweated a lot and enjoyed it in a kind of sadistic way. As hard as yoga can be, you always feel smashing afterwards :)

Nice erg session there, I must get into U.L. to do some cross training of my own. when are the yoga sessions on Mike and what is the story with them, do you have to pay up front for few sessions? or is it pay on the night? is it only for tri club members?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

If you mentioned this already, I must have missed it- but, are you following a specific marathon program once base training is over? And have you any thoughts on the FIRST program?- seems to be ideal for multi-sporters who are looking to run a marathon.

Best of luck, that sub3 itch just doesn't go away till its scratched, does it?

@BUACHILL - group swims def the way to go, brought my progress along a lot. Bear in mind though that the group swims will plateau eventually but many ways to progress further by leading out your lane, moving up a lane, doing a similar set on your own...
    @Trig1 - Its my Mum's class and she does Wednesday morning 0715hrs. Thursday 1915hrs and Saturday morning too. Its pay as you go. I do the Thursday class, usually get there for about 6 so I hop on the erg for the cross train. The erg, I have found, will help swim fitness too :)
    @Kurt Godel - I'm going to use a hybrid of 3 resources.
    1. - The best of Boards advice (I've checked all the sub 3 marathon blogs). Seems the staple, 3 easy/base runs, one tempo, one intervals, 1 long easy/progression is the general diet. Use your own spices and seasoning :)
    2. - The running club Coach. A Coach has moved to our club from another well established club and I trust his advice as he has facilitated plenty of runners I aspire to. He also advocated more mileage and keeping most of it at base intensity even during the marathon phase.
    3. - P&D. I've just bought the Advanced Marathon Book so I'll use it as a general guide. BTW, I also bought the Swim Smooth book and its superb! I highly highly recommend it.

@Kurt Godel - I'm going to use a hybrid of 3 resources.
    1. - The best of Boards advice (I've checked all the sub 3 marathon blogs). Seems the staple, 3 easy/base runs, one tempo, one intervals, 1 long easy/progression is the general diet. Use your own spices and seasoning :)
    2. - The running club Coach. A Coach has moved to our club from another well established club and I trust his advice as he has facilitated plenty of runners I aspire to. He also advocated more mileage and keeping most of it at base intensity even during the marathon phase.
    3. - P&D. I've just bought the Advanced Marathon Book so I'll use it as a general guide. BTW, I also bought the Swim Smooth book and its superb! I highly highly recommend it.

Good stuff. I used the P&D (55mile first, 70mile second) for both my sub 3 attempts, found the book very useful indeed. Its a marathon bible. The Boardsie advice does seem to distill down to those three (or four) key runs a week, filled with easy/cross/spicey stuff. FIRST just fills the spicey with swims/bikes, from what I can see.

Anyway, I'm gonna be real interested seeing how this log goes, whatever program you decide on. I'll steal a look at SwimSmooth, that book keeps coming up in conversation!

Limerick Senior Cross Country Championships
    My first go at cross country! I was anxious about it since I was on a team and the other 3 guys are all much better runners than I. It was a 10k event and I didn't want to let the team down. I met the guys and we jogged over to the start in the back fields of UL. The ground was very soft and muddy. It was cold and dark clouds threatened rain too. 30+ serious looking runners gathered for the start. I recognised enough of them to start at the back of the group. I got some advice from one of my team to take it steady. 10k on mud was a lot tougher than 10k on road.

I heeded the advice and watched practically the entire field bolt off ahead of me. The route was 5 laps of the perimeter of some fields including a steep muddy bank to be negotiated on each lap. My Garmin had acted up earlier so I was running on feel. Within minutes the cold air pinched my lungs and my heart rate was beating through my chest. I thought I had gone a bit hard on the first lap and settled. I wore Innov8 Mudclaws and they really held their own on most of the course. Some of it was just Wellington territory!

The field had spread out by the second lap and I thought I was about 20th. I would have taken that there and then as my expectations for the race was simply not to come last! I passed 2 more gradually on the second lap but my 3 team mates were way ahead. We had one running in the top 10 and the other 2 were together in a small group a few hundred meters ahead. I found the 3rd lap mentally tough. There were 2 more runners between me and my next team mate with about 100m separating the 3 of us. I recognised the West Lmk AC guy ahead and knew I was quicker than him on the road. He seemed a lot stronger in the mud though. Half way through the race my calves and quads were really feeling it. We also had a heavy hail shower to contend with. The muddy bank almost brought on cramp at one stage but I was determined not to let the gap get any bigger.

We stayed in these positions for the third lap until I noticed the guy ahead pushing to reel in the Lmk AC vest ahead of him. I pushed too to hold the gap steady. In doing so I actually closed it and half way through the 4th lap passed him. This was where it started to really feel like a race rather than running for a time in a road 10k. I knew that positions mattered for the team event. He stuck to me though and sat on my shoulder. Damn! Had I moved too soon when I was tracking him nicely. I maintained the pace hoping to shake him and passed his hare in the process. Lap 4 was really hurting now. My quads were screaming at me to ease off. I thought great now was someone between West Lmk and me and perhaps I could open a gap. I had learned already how hard it was to bridge just 30m!

At the end of lap 4 though he was there again and passed me! The gap was growing by the second until I dug in. I gritted me teeth and pushed passed him again. I knew there was going to be a hard finish. We hadn't lost the Lmk AC vest either! On the long straight on a back field with half a lap to go I pushed again. My heart rate was racing and I wondered how long I could do this before I blew up. Had I gone too early again? Unbelievably I was reeling in one of my team mates. He is 4 minutes faster than me over a road 10k! I pulled up beside him before the bank for the last time. I stumbled on the bank and he pushed ahead. I looked back and saw the 2 boys holding a 20m gap and battling each other. We had 300m to go...

Before the final 150 stretch, the firmest part of the course, you had to run back down the steep bank. I wasn't going to match my team mate's kick but I didn't mind. I just wanted to hold off the 2 chasers. I was all out with 60m to go and glanced back to see the 2 had started to sprint. I immediately sprinted and beat them to the line for 15th position. 6 seconds separated the 4 of us and I had my hands on my knees, spent!

I felt like I had run 10 miles rather than 10k. The coach seemed happy with our performance. The winner pulled a minute clear of the rest and did a 35 :eek: I ended up with 41:02 just 2 seconds off a team mate scalp that would have shocked me. It took 20 minutes to shower the mud off my runners and myself. I headed up for the tea and sandwiches and learned about the intense rivalry between Limerick clubs. It was a great experience, very tough but very rewarding too. I was happy with my performance and was very surprised when we got Bronze! It was our club's first men's team medal at a county championship ever :) Sweet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Well done Mike, Great report and welcome to the world of Cross Country.
    Congrats on the club medal as well, all the better when you have to work that hard for it.
    I also see the ladies team took the title.
    As you said its real racing, non of this garmin pacing stuff. You will learn a lot more about yourself in few xc races than you will ever with a garmin, well that's my opinion anyway lol,
    I didnt know your first scoring man ran with that club, did he only change this year, Great win for Colm, he had some very good lads behind he, a long way behind him.

Best of luck with the new goal's for '13.

Any insight into who the club coach is ?. JC maybe

@Ceepo - Thanks. Yep Coach is JC. All 3 of my team mates have come over from WLAC. The ladies sweeped it alright. They have a strong team and Liz Hussey on board to make it even stronger too. XC is the real deal. I remember you telling me about it up in Portlaois. I'll definitely do it again. Colm had a comfortable win. He is unreal when he decides to do a bit of training and race hard. If only he committed to something properly!

Short Easy Run
    I would have liked to get a short bike done today to spin out the legs but there was a lot to do. It was late by the time I hit the road. It was wet and cold but I suppose its something we must get used to for the next few months. 11.4km at 5min pace. I kept it very easy. The legs felt stiff but turned over. I had a bad stitch for most of it which was my own fault for scoffing apple tart before I left :rolleyes:
    Weekly Objectives
    2 swims - 1 group, 1 solo work + drills - target 6km
    6 runs - 3 easy, 1 session, 1 long, 1 short tempo - target 70km
    2 hours S&C with row, yoga, run drills,
    Ideally a short easy bike spin too

Actual:
    2 swims - 7.1km including the 15 minute mash up challenge
    6 runs - 76.91km substituting XC race for long run
    1 row - 7.7km
    Yoga, run drills, flexibility - 2 hours
    Weight Check: 78.4kg - -1.0 from last check

Much better week. I'm happy to hit the run target and delighted with the race :) The second swim felt a little better in that I had some sort of feel for the water. The 30 minute row left me with blisters which is shocking but it has been a long time since I rowed or used the machine. Caz got her Marathon sub4 quest started with a couple of short easy runs. We both have a long way to go!

New Weekly Objectives
    2-3 swims
    6 runs - similar to last week but with a long run and 80km total target
    2 Yoga sessions
    Do my own 15 minute mash up challenge to see if its doable in the time
    Maybe do BTH's zumba challenge

Medium Base Run
    Same 2 laps of suburbia as last week. It will become my Monday run whatever the conditions so a decent run to benchmark base development. It has a nice few drags too. Its a lovely night out there, chilly, calm, dry and no wind. No progress on last week really. 16.55km at 4:44 pace, hr 145. Cadence checks every 20 minutes 84,84,86. The 86 was forced though and my heart rate had climbed outside base zone after the 30 second count. Lots of people out running tonight. The DCM is over so I wonder what the buzz is. Perhaps all these recreational runners are actually launching into a winter's training ahead of Jan 1st :eek::D Comfortable run.

Lots of people out running tonight. The DCM is over so I wonder what the buzz is. Perhaps all these recreational runners are actually launching into a winter's training ahead of Jan 1st :eek::D

I reckon thats what it is. This iteration of the running boom is a few years off the couch, they're in general that bit more clued in. At the pacer stall for the Dublin Marathon, we were handing out pacebands. 3:45 was the most popular (it was always 4:00). We ran out of 3:00 and 3:15 pacebands, thats a first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Kurt Godel wrote: »

I reckon thats what it is. This iteration of the running boom is a few years off the couch, they're in general that bit more clued in. At the pacer stall for the Dublin Marathon, we were handing out pacebands. 3:45 was the most popular (it was always 4:00). We ran out of 3:00 and 3:15 pacebands, thats a first!

Met a good few runners out in Phoenix Park in miserable weather yesterday, one in a DCM finisher shirt (mine was in the wash).

Short Easy Run
    It was late when I got out and I had a slight stitch most of the way around because it wasn't long after eating. Lovely night again for running, not too cold, dry and hardly a breeze. Just 9.5km at 4:46 pace, hr 140. I felt like running more which is a sign that it was easy enough for easy :) I'm digesting the P&D book but flicking through the plans it looks as though I'll use the bones of the 55-70mpw plan. It has precious all speed work though so that's one area where I'll change it up a little. The 18 week plan will start in January after 8 weeks base and I'll split it something like 8 week speed/10 week specific marathon. I'd look to do a 10k or 10 mile towards the latter end of the 8 week block and another 10k and/or half marathon in the 10 week block. It all depends on available races. Apart from that I'll incorporate some hillwork, swims and cross training.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Well done in the XC, tough running if you don't have any spikes.

@RQ - I didn't have spikes but the Innov8 Mudclaw were good for traction except where the mud was a foot deep

Medium Long Base Run
    I made the mistake of checking back over the Roth diary to see that I used to do this run sandwiched between 2 hard turbo days with a couple of swims lobbed in for fun :eek: I have zero bike focus at the moment but I will inject a couple of easy 30 minute recovery spinners when the going gets tough on these runs. 2 slightly longer laps of suburbia on a miserably damp evening. It has been a long mentally draining day. I could only watch shotgunjunior having fun at the pool the office sapped so much grey matter. I was chatting with a rowing mate for a while before he hopped in with a heart full of hell of the west ambitions. I felt a bit annoyed with myself that I've let the swimming go. Back to the pool in the morning or else :cool:

Anyway, I was in no mood for the run but just got on with it before the excuses set in. 19.13km at 4:42 pace, hr 146. For the first few minutes the garmin was playing with my mind showing a slow ass pace for a threshold heart rate :rolleyes: I ignored it and ran by feel for the first lap. It was milder tonight, still no real wind but enough drizzly showers to ensure I was sodding wet. Lap one felt long but at a shade over 45 minutes it gave me a mini goal to get home in 90. I had poor control on effort and I felt my form collapse on hills. I chanted some crap from Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence out loud to myself to pass the time, why, I have no idea. It felt like a long run! I just about got home in 90 minutes when my legs were starting to give out.

Aerobic Swim
    Cross training day. Intended a swim, row and yoga. However woke up at 4am and couldn't get back to sleep. Mind in overdrive. I was up anyway so took my time getting organised and had a coffee and a banana with peanut butter spread on and honey drizzled over. I've converted to a new peanut butter from Peanut Butter & Co from New York. 99.5% peanuts and nothing added :) I digress. The swim was a straight 3,000m easy.

Metrics
    Average Pace 1:42 - I have ambitions of a 10k swim and this pace would get a sub 3. I'd have struggled to do another km this morning so another 7 :eek:??
    Its a metric I'll use to see if I can maintain the pace as I progress distance in the new year.

SPL - strokes per length (50m) 19 strokes average (19 cycles so 38 actual strokes). Not the worst but I was passed by the waterpolo fish about 10 times and he was holding 30 strokes per length :eek: We chatted about metrics afterwards and this is one to monitor too. Ideally you don't want your stroke to be shortening as the swim goes on so an even 38 would be better that starting at 36 and finishing at 42.

SPM - strokes per minute. I watched some swim smooth videos of leading PRO IM females. At their "all day" pace they were at 58spm. I averaged 44 spm in the pool. Waterpolo fish disregards this metric as you spend 3-5m of each 50m gliding.

SWOLF - the number of strokes you take + seconds per length. I averaged 70, 19 strokes + 51 seconds. I'll disregard this metric as I count my strokes as 38 so this just puts me off, plus the garmin measures this as an actual efficiency score too.

Efficiency - average 35.54 for the 3,000m. It based on a similar calculation relative to 25m but its an easy metric to guauge, lower is better.

In summary - pace, stroke count and efficiency will be used to monitor the aerobic swim progress, or lack thereof

I was wrecked after work and knew that if I did a row and yoga I'd be home late, eat late, sleep late and probably miss the swim in the morning. I prioritised the swim and bailed on the cross training :(

Short very easy run
    An all out effort of my own cross train mash up challenge left my Glutes in bits the last 2 days. Typical A type personality on overdrive. 11.5km at a shade over 5 minute pace. I could barely jog to start. It loosened by the end but I also had a dodgy tummy and needed a quick dive into a leafy ditch. Not many of them in suburbia that are not in someone's front garden too. All in all a very unpleasant run.

Assuming you start each swim lap with the same arm, that means for every 100 meters you take 20 strokes with your lead arm and 18 strokes with your non-lead arm. Just thought I'd give you something else to worry about at 4am. ;)