Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highest, Lowest, Current Handicaps

• 18-10-2012 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭

Just interested to see how guys started off then got to there lowest or are they currently improving.
    H 18, 2007
    L 7.8 2010
    C 10.7.
    Got to 7.8 early 2010 before the birth of my first child a lack of practice since then has seen a steady climb. Started on 18 in 2007.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Good thread idea:

H:12.5 L:12.0 C:12.2

Only have my handicap since 2011 though so not enough time for decent variation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Started in 1981 aged 12 with a handicap of 45.

Got down to 4 in 1993 and currently playing off 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭fearruanua

H 18.0 2008
    L 10.0 2011
    C 10.3

My aim for 2012 was to get down to single figures but a bad hip injury after a hurling match curtailed my efforts for a few months during the summer.
    2013 is another year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Starting
    18.0 (Jan 2007)
    Highest
    18.5 (19) (May 2008)
    Lowest
    8.5 (9) (Now)
    Current
    8.5 (9) (Now)

Got my handicap in 2007 so reckon I'm doing ok. Getting to 19 was the catalyst for my drop, got fed up and started practicing short game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

started at 18
    highest 19
    lowest 2.9
    currently 3.9
    began this year at 3.1 and got down to 2.9 by febuary,thought it was only a matter of time til i got down to 2, 10 .1s later im more likely to end the year off 5:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

First handicap in 2010 started off 16
    Highest
    Lowest
    Current

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Started August 2011

Started: 18
    Highest:18
    Lowest: 5.1
    Current: 5.2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

ForeRight wrote: »
    Started August 2011

Highest:18
    Lowest: 5.1
    Current: 5.2
    Wow impressive, u mush have cleaned up u bandit:D. I hope u vere minding it for the big prizes:D.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

mike12 wrote: »
    Wow impressive, u mush have cleaned up u bandit:D. I hope u vere minding it for the big prizes:D.
    Mike

I was given an inflated handicap no doubt but that ESHR rule sorted that pretty quickly. I did very well in comps and opens alright then slowed down but I can still get close to 38 points or so on a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Highest:20
    Lowest: 16.1
    Current: 19.6

Im rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭mag

started : 14 (1986)
    highest : 14 (1986)
    lowest : 2 (1991)
    currently : 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Got absolutely shafted on my handicap when allocated it in March this year.

Highest: 20.3
    Lowest: 19.1
    Current: 19.1

When i got given 18 i averaged out my first 10 rounds and averaged 26 points. Should of been given a 28 h/c but sure thats handicap secs for you. Its been a painful season of golf in terms of being competitive in comps but thankfully over the last 2 months i have a fair handicap and have had a few wins. Iv had a few very decent rounds in non qualifiers lately too which would of got me serious cuts. Onwards and downwards!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Highest 18 (2004)
    Lowest 8.1 (2012)
    Current 8.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Highest:24.0 (2011)
    Lowest: 7.4 (2012)
    Current: 7.4

Got absolutely shafted on my handicap when allocated it in March this year.

Highest: 20.3
    Lowest: 19.1
    Current: 19.1

When i got given 18 i averaged out my first 10 rounds and averaged 26 points. Should of been given a 28 h/c but sure thats handicap secs for you. Its been a painful season of golf in terms of being competitive in comps but thankfully over the last 2 months i have a fair handicap and have had a few wins. Iv had a few very decent rounds in non qualifiers lately too which would of got me serious cuts. Onwards and downwards!!!

You're winning comps of 19 and complaining that you should have been off 28 only 7 months ago :eek:

Well not really. Never complained once on anyone at the club over it. Just went about my business and worked on playing to a level that matched my handicap. Up to 2 months ago i was handing in some embarrassing cards. Very frustrating entering competitions all spring/summer merely making up the numbers. No I feel iv had some rewards for hard work and hopefully next season i can put a hole in my handicap.

Fair play to ya, you've had a decent year. Any win in singles is an achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭paulos53

Highest: 16 in 2003
    Lowest: 7.3 in 2007
    Current: 11.9

The lowest came at the end of a summer of unemployment. Bad for my finances but great for my golf swing.
    I am hoping for better golf next year and getting back to single figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭simonp1

H18
    L10.9
    C11.4
    always been a member of club but only started playing weekly and every Sunday comp 4 yrs ago.

Fair play to ya, you've had a decent year. Any win in singles is an achievement.
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Started 19 in 1997 Lowest 17 highest 23 in 2000.current 17. Playing about 15 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭thegolfer

Started: 18 about 1989
    Highest: 19 shortly after
    Lowest: + 1.6 2011
    Current: + 0.1 going backwards...

I think if everyone could add dates it would help to make sense of things...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Only got my first handicap this year

(L)15.5
    (H)16.3 - now

Was never 15.5 starting out...that's a whole other thread :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭evillive

original 18
    high - 19 (18.8)
    low - 15 (15.4)

got my GUI of 18 5 years ago
    just pottered about to a max of 18.8 last year -
    went for lessons earlier this year and put in the work - won a medal, 7th in the presidents prize and a few more GOY placings and made golfer of the year - have played 27 qualifying events this year and its been a big impact on my improvement, strangely enough following the lessons and my irons improving greatly my drives are easily 50 yards shorter (200y is all) ? with a controlled fade - cant remember the last time i lost a ball and honestly believe i can trim the handicap without too much effort

getting down to 16 was the goal this year - not expecting too many more events so 13 is 2013's plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

High 18.0 - 1994 first handicap when I was 14
    Low 5.4 - 2005
    Now 10.0 - Back playing after 6 years, got 9.4 as my returning handicap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

highest 12.5 - starting

lowest 2.7 2008

current 5.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dane rory

took up gold age 34 was playing of 4 2 yrs later. played hurling competitively - think it helps a great deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

Started: 10 (2007)
    Lowest: 3.7 (2011)
    Current 4.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Started: 14 (2009)
    Highest: 14
    Lowest: 5.5 (2012)
    Current: 6.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

1997 started on 16
    Highest 16
    Lowest 4.6 2011
    Current 4.9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Back9bandit

Started 2000, off 17.5 which was my highest,lowest was 9.0, currently 9.2

lads can you put the year beside each so we can see how long your progress took?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,878 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Started - 20 (1983)
    Lowest - 11. (1985 got bad injury then)
    Current - 15.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,849 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Started 22 (2010)
    High 22.4 (2010)
    Low 12.9 (2012)
    Current 13 (2012)

Its unreal the amount of lads allocated low handicaps. How were yous so good starting off? And then to see so many in which their allocated handicap is their highest ever. I would of thought most people would go up first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,599 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Highest 48 ( Age 10 ) 1992 [ oh noes - now you know my age! ]
    Lowest 4.2 ( 4 ) - 2012
    Current 4.6 ( 5 ) - 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

Started 2007 16.5
    Highest 2009 18.6(Club gave me a full shot back at the start of 2009)
    Lowest 2011 12.4
    Current 2012 13.4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭DiegoWorst

Started: 17.0 (2004)
    Lowest: 6.6 (2008)
    Current: 7.6

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

We have some amount of single digit handicappers on here. Good stuff.

Or is that the single figure like to show off :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,599 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

We need more of them in the society. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Starting 12 - Harsh at 16
    Highest 13
    Now 11

Strange one, have been the same sort of golfer for 20 years. Just sort of middle of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Started - 18 (1995)
    Lowest - +.2 (2003)
    Current - 2.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

Started - 22 (2012)
    Lowest - 22 (2012)
    Current - 22.8 (2012)

Still waiting to break that magic 100 ..... 101 in 3 of my last 4 rounds:mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Started - 22.0 (2010)
    Lowest - 22.8 (2012)
    Current - 22.8

went up to 23.2 before i got my first cut of a whopping 0.4
    next year is going to my year of the big cuts down to mid teen or better h/c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Started 18 (2012)
    Highest 19.3 (2012)
    Current 19.3 (2012)

Bigger is better right?? :D:D

Have had an up and down year. Broke 100 then broke 90 about 2 weeks later had my best score of 83 not long after that.

Cant seem to put a round together in comps though. Must be the pressure!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Eric the Eagle

Started: 16 (2005)
    Highest: 16.8 (2007)
    Lowest: 12.5 (2011)
    Current: 13.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 dazza1892

Started: 17 (2012)
    Highest: 17 (2012)
    Lowest: 10.6(2012)
    Current: 10.8

Played a lot of pitch and putt,only thing is im cack-handed but its working ok for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 PFiddy

Started: 22 (July 2012)
    Lowest: 22 (July 2012)
    Current: 22.4

Only joined a club in July this year & my 3 cards to determine h'cap card averaged +27. Was given starting h'cap of 22 rolleyes.png

I reckon my true h'cap is somewhere around the 26 mark, beginning to drift in that direction. Not too bothered about being outside the winners' enclosure with my current h'cap, would rather improve my game & getting down to sub-20.

First child due in March though, 22 could remain my lowest for a while :p