Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do we improve the awful standards of driving in this country?

• 16-10-2012 7:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭

Everyday driving in this country is a pain becuase other users simply can't use the roads. Everyday on the M7/N7 is a disaster. Everybody is in the overtaking lane and constantly braking every minute becuase they can't judge the distance between the car in front of them. Why don't the Traffic Corps stop them? On the N7 today a Garda Traffic Corps Jeep drove most of the journey that I could see hogging the outermost right overtaking lane which is commonly known as the 'fast lane' :rolleyes: What sort of an example is that? Also on the M7 he drove by a guy pulled in on the hard-shoulder outside Smyths having a fag!

People in this country can't use roundabouts and it's a favourite here to not use indicators when taking the third exit. When did these people pass their test? The 20's? People are always on phones or have those stupid headphones in their ears when driving (I know headphones aren't illegal, but they should be). There is a culture of unsafe driving practice and habits in this country.

Why are we so useless at driving? I've seen many videos on the dashcams here where guys who have a genuine interest in motoring are fairly poor drivers and just don't know the rules.

I imagine a lot of driving problems in this country could be solved with better enforcement from the Gardaí. In the UK there is slightly better enforcement IMO and we should be looking to exceed that becuase right now we have a rubbish standard of enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

Don't let people drive their car home after failing their exam ..... That would be a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I don't think we're half as bad as people make out.

There. I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

More discussions on what to avoid and include as many people as possible. Here and in real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

weisses wrote: »
    Don't let people drive their car home after failing their exam ..... That would be a start

The Gardaí are never going to clamp down on learners I don't see why a fine and a re-voking of the permit can't be issued without the needs to summons the offender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Enforcement.

Middle lane morons are my biggest pet hate yet:
    1. I don't know anyone who's been pulled for it
    2. Even when you point out how stupid they are they just ignore you

Points & a fine might sort them out, likewise for the rest of the stupidity you see daily

Oh and I hate the line "we're not the worst, have you ever been to X, Y or Z". Irish drivers can't do the simplest things correctly on the road. I hate the "we're rubbish but someone else is worse so its fine" attitude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

I don't think we're half as bad as people make out.

There. I said it.

Maybe but at least 10% of drivers haven't a clue and that's 10% too much.

I'm genuine when I say I see at least 1 in 10 drivers take up at least one bad habit which I would consider dangerous or a bad driving practice and by 1 in 10 I'm being very generous.

We are much worse than the UK despite having similar driving tests etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

automatic 12 penalty points for any motoring error made outside a school, shopping centre or in a carpark, or for putting on makeup or talking on the phone in the car, or for driving a boxy starlet or glanza.

Id imagine that 90% of the problems on our roads would be gone in a week after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

1. enforcement of current laws would solve the majority of problems and start to change habits
    2. re tests every 10 years to ensure people are keeping up to date with changes and still driving in a correct manner. Sure you can just change styles for the day but it may pick up many people who are doing things wrong without even realising. Even the knowledge of it coming up may get people to be more aware.
    3. harsher penalties for specific things: mobile phone (as being done), faulty headlights and so forth.
    4. School module on road safety, driving ed and using the roads as cyclists, ped, drivers etc so there is a basic appreciation of all road users and their experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Or we could include motorway driving and parallel parking in our driver education, or better yet include it as a transition year subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Complete overhaul of learner driving process. Proper enforcement of learner driving laws so that learners are not free to drive as fully licensed drivers having passed a multiple choice exam on the rules of the road. A stricter and more thorough test, which takes into account all aspects of driving (such as motorway driving), not just a simple ride around the local town with a gentle hill start and three point turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Compare ourselves with Portugal, Greece or Italy.

That's how. Driving will seem instantly better.

How we compare to other countries is irrelevant in fairness; there is a lot that goes on on Irish roads every day that could be improved on immeasurably through better enforcement of driving laws and with a better driver education system. There are a disgraceful number of drivers out there who are either totally ignorant of the rules of driving or willfully chose to ignore them because they know there is almost no chance that they will be pulled up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

We beat ourselves up too much over this. A few weeks ago, i was in the UK and it was no better than ireland. Terrible overtaking, lane hogging, last minute change of mind.

Then I drove in Belgium for 3 days. Lane hogging again. Very aggressive driving. If someone blocks another cars progress, the following car will sit about 2 feet behind the other car and when the lane hogger changes back to normal driving lane, the follower will sit behind and continue at motorway speeds 2 feet behind them for quite a distance to make a point. I saw this many times.

I am currently in Milan. Stunning lack of any driving skill or manners in every respect you can think of. I am using public transport for my own safety.

We have improved vastly in the last few years but will never be perfect. I challenge anyone to point out a country with flawless driving technique. And before you shout Germany, I have seen first hand the Audi muppets who drive 2 feet from preceding car there too many times.

Noone is asking for flawless, but things the like the majority of road users knowing how to correctly use the lanes of a dual carraigeway/motorway or knowing the first thing about how to use a roundabout would be nice, and a big change from how it is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

We are not that bad at all here.

I was driving in England there for a good bit and noticed a lot more gobsh1tery going on there than one would in the hills of Donegal.

Ya see in Donegal you might have one lad with a noisy exhaust tearing along like there is no tomorrow but once he sees a pair of headlights in the distance he'll slow down and cop himself on a bit. In England though I would see a fair bit of actual agressive driving to try and get past people and 'shove' them out the way. Probably the same lads who are all 'sorry mate, excuse me' in real life but being enclosed in a sheet metal and glass shell gives them a false sense of security that allows them to let loose their inner gobsh1te.

There is no need to further ruin the experience of driving a car by letting the long finger of the law mess around with it any further. Things are grand the way they are, and they were grander about 5 or 6 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

The average IQ is 100.

That tells you all you need to know.

Stupid people do not good drivers make.

Rodin wrote: »
    The average IQ is 100.

That tells you all you need to know.

Stupid people do not good drivers make.

There are a lot of supposedly intelligent people around, well-regarded urban professionals with high paying jobs and high IQ's who almost couldn't be worse drivers if they tried. Only thing on their mind is how many peasants can they cut off and sneak past before they get to their modern apartment with boxy looking furniture and an underground car park to switch on the ould netflix machine and order an organic pizza

eth0 wrote: »
    We are not that bad at all here.

I was driving in England there for a good bit and noticed a lot more gobsh1tery going on there than one would in the hills of Donegal.

Ya see in Donegal you might have one lad with a noisy exhaust tearing along like there is no tomorrow but once he sees a pair of headlights in the distance he'll slow down and cop himself on a bit. In England though I would see a fair bit of actual agressive driving to try and get past people and 'shove' them out the way. Probably the same lads who are all 'sorry mate, excuse me' in real life but being enclosed in a sheet metal and glass shell gives them a false sense of security that allows them to let loose their inner gobsh1te.

There is no need to further ruin the experience of driving a car by letting the long finger of the law mess around with it any further. Things are grand the way they are, and they were grander about 5 or 6 years ago.

Drive the M7/N7 any day of the week and you will see that the overwhelming majority of motorists do not know which lane they are supposed to be driving in. Things are far from grand in this country; the standard of driving could be improved upon an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭outnumbered82

Irish ppl need to learn how to use indicators. Today on a roundabout some gob ****e indacated left but went straight through he was inches away from me, then next round about didn't indacated and took the 3rd exit off it causing another two cars to nearly ram him. You can't trust any driver in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

There are a lot of supposedly intelligent people around, well-regarded urban professionals with high paying jobs and high IQ's who almost couldn't be worse drivers if they tried. Only thing on their mind is how many peasants can they cut off and sneak past before they get to their modern apartment with boxy looking furniture and an underground car park to switch on the ould netflix machine and order an organic pizza

You're not a fan of them?

djimi wrote: »
    Drive the M7/N7 any day of the week and you will see that the overwhelming majority of motorists do not know which lane they are supposed to be driving in. Things are far from grand in this country; the standard of driving could be improved upon an awful lot.

Naas.

Theres your answer, unfriendliest town in Ireland, not much good could come out of that place.

But speaking of not knowing the lane they are supposed to be in, there is one roundabout in England I know that has a lane coming up to it with an arrow pointing left and only left. Very few people on that lane actually go left and most go straight on. Back in my day we were thought that meant you could only go left. In the end I was afraid to use the straight on/right lane beside it for actually going straight on because usually I'd find there would be someone beside me then also wanting to get off at the same exit and he'd feel the need to step on it because he couldn't put up with being behind a Fabia estate for more than a millisecond cause that would cramp his style

Irish ppl need to learn how to use indicators. Today on a roundabout some gob ****e indacated left but went straight through he was inches away from me, then next round about didn't indacated and took the 3rd exit off it causing another two cars to nearly ram him. You can't trust any driver in this country

Or maybe you should learn not to trust indicators. Like they tell you in first year.
    Rodin wrote: »
    You're not a fan of them?

No but I have a good laugh when the snow comes and they try to lob their expensive prundlebox SUV into 'S' for 'Snow' and think they're invincible and to see them stuck or sliding around the place like a right eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭nacimroc

OP, just give up. Drive like one of the people the others are moaning about. I would never get home at night if I drove the way half the people on Irish roads expect you to. If enough people beep / flash and tailgate the same person every day, they might even get the hint! I won't lie. I have to do it. What a lot of people don't realise when they are crawling to the shop, on the mobile, checking make-up, not indicating is the person behind them is trying to make a living.

If I crawled along the footpath holding out my arms out blocking, they would flatten me after 5 mins, so why do they expect respect and patience from me when they do it on the road.

Edit:

- In answer to your question, motorway testing and training is an absolute must!
    - On the spot minor fines for small infringments, like not indicating.
    - The councils need to paint lane markings entering roundabouts showing directions on a huge amount of roads in Ireland. To be fair to some it can be confusing.
    - Retest for over 60's. Seeing as it has been 40 years since they done their test, its a completely different road/rule system now.
    - Ban all tractors off motorways / Dual carrageways. Most dangerous things on the road as far as I'm concerned.
    - The very elderly driving far too slow is dangerous and forces all the traffic onto the wrong side of the road because of 1 person is ridiculously dangerous.
    - Anyone involved in more than 3 accidents/incidents in 5 years must do a retest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Today I had someone try to overtake me on a one lane roundabout. I saw him in the mirror and steered out to make space. He then tried to blame me.
    I almost wish I had let him write both cars off and got myself a new car out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

The problems with poor attitude, lack of consideration for others, poor law enforcement and general stupidity is so endemic on Irish roads that most people don't even see that there is a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

Or maybe you should learn not to trust indicators. Like they tell you in first year.
    In fairness indicators are for signalling your intentions and you should be able to trust indicators but it's the halfwit that's driving that you can't trust. There is a roundabout a mile from me I use most days and the amount of idiots that hold traffic up because they refuse to signal their intentions or are still indicating right while exiting so the people waiting to join that could have been around the roundabout are still sat there!!
    If no one is to trust indicators then what's the point in having them?? I just can't get my head around why people choose not to use them. Why all the secrecy with Irish drivers when it comes to letting people know what they intend to do? Maybe they don't know what they are doing, maybe they shouldn't be on the road at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Start at the bottom, the older generation is a lost cause but at least we can train the young to do it right.
    Do away with L drivers altogether. If you don't have a full licence you're not allowed to drive at all (unless at driving school).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

In the grand scheme of things is it really such an issue that some people call the overtaking lane the fast lane. Cant understand that with all problems with our driving that this is constantly mentioned.

Its only a word. It cant cause a major accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Oh my, Irish people have NO idea about what bad driving is. Of course there's a fair share of idiots but that's not an exclusively Irish problem, quite the contrary to be honest.

The trick - think and drive as if all other road users were brainless obstacles firmly set about causing an accident. Do not trust indicators or "what a driver is supposed to do" in any case, expect the unexpected - and be prepared for the unimaginable.

As for the controls, I am all for having more patrols around - especially to check on those "smart" people driving around with no insurance, tax and even driving license. It would also be good to ban people from driving forever on a provisional license; The new law forbids it for people just getting their temp, but there are people going aroung with temporaries they obtained 16 years ago ( I know at least two ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

weisses wrote: »
    Don't let them drive onto the exam in the first place. No (proper) licence - no drive, same way as it is in civilised world.

largepants wrote: »
    In the grand scheme of things is it really such an issue that some people call the overtaking lane the fast lane. Cant understand that with all problems with our driving that this is constantly mentioned.

Its only a word. It cant cause a major accident.

I dont care what people call it; its the fact that a large number of drivers dont know how to use it that annoys me!

Its a very simple process; you keep the left hand land unless you are overtaking. Couldnt be easier. Yet drive any motorway/dual carraigeway and you will most likely find the majority of cars in the right hand lane(s) with the left hand lane quite often completely empty. Baffling stuff...

djimi wrote: »
    I dont care what people call it; its the fact that a large number of drivers dont know how to use it that annoys me!

Its a very simple process; you keep the left hand land unless you are overtaking. Couldnt be easier. Yet drive any motorway/dual carraigeway and you will most likely find the majority of cars in the right hand lane(s) with the left hand lane quite often completely empty. Baffling stuff...

I don't find this at all really, the only place where this is a problem is where a 'climbing lane' appears and one has to actually go through the trouble of going left into the climbing lane to let people past, then a fair few don't do it. Or on the N20 (i think) that is an experimental "2+1" road but they have changed the markings in a few sections recently so by following the road you end up in the slow lane.
    Chriscl1 wrote: »
    In fairness indicators are for signalling your intentions and you should be able to trust indicators but it's the halfwit that's driving that you can't trust. There is a roundabout a mile from me I use most days and the amount of idiots that hold traffic up because they refuse to signal their intentions or are still indicating right while exiting so the people waiting to join that could have been around the roundabout are still sat there!!
    If no one is to trust indicators then what's the point in having them?? I just can't get my head around why people choose not to use them. Why all the secrecy with Irish drivers when it comes to letting people know what they intend to do? Maybe they don't know what they are doing, maybe they shouldn't be on the road at all!

Its a nice idea that you would be able to trust them, but to me they just let me know to watch that person because he's going to turn. I don't move myself until he actually starts to turn the way his indicator said he would.

biko wrote: »
    Start at the bottom, the older generation is a lost cause but at least we can train the young to do it right.
    Do away with L drivers altogether. If you don't have a full licence you're not allowed to drive at all (unless at driving school).

Back in my n00b days being able to get real life practice without having to pay through the nose to some 'driving school' was a great help to me and everyone else. Also most of the 'problems' mentioned in this thread aren't caused by L drivers

@OP
    Ever driving in eastern Europe?
    Now thats real awful driving.here its going slow in the wrong lane...drives me mad too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

I've driven all over Europe and in the US and Canada and to be perfectly honest, Irish driving is relatively sane, safe, slow and polite compared to most places.

Just got back from Belgium and driving from Dublin to Cork was an absolute relaxing, pleasant experience compared to dealing with aggressive and incompetent drivers on Belgium busy, badly worn out motorway network! It's full of potholes, ruts, bad signage, poorly designed obsolete junction layouts etc etc

The only issues that annoy me here are lack of indicators and some people hogging the overtaking lane.

You also seem to get a lot if slow, nervous drivers (mostly elderly) in Ireland who actually behave very dangerously on the roads by forcing people to overtake or by driving at ridiculously slow speeds, and use no indicators etc etc

I think a lot of it is down to the fact that there were no motorways of any significance here until a few years ago and there is no dual carriageway or motorway skills taught in the driving schools or tested.

They seem to assume drivers learn these rules by osmosis!

Getting real world experience is vital imo so I think this would be counter productive.

On topic I very much agree that in general Irish driving is not half as bad as people make out. Irish drivers tend to do infuriating things like drive too slow, drive in the wrong lane of a motorway, struggle to reverse/park etc but over all they are not overly aggressive or dangerous on the roads compared to a lot of other countries. Strangely enough they also have a lot more respect for their cars and other cars in car parks etc than places like France or Italy where reversing into someone when parking is common place.

Yeah people that think Irish driving is "awful" generally dont have any experience driving in other countries.
    I did a few 1000km's in the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungry last summer and seen at least 10 near misses from overtaking in 2 or 3 days.
    Seen some crazy **** on the autobahn too and according to the experts here Germans are the best drivers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Pauvre Con

I'm English living in Ireland. But I've also lived on the continent for several years and driven in lots of other euro countries on holiday etc. I don't think the Irish drivers are bad at all by European standards (which are probably about the best in the world at a guess...) and you've only to look at the state of the cars in say Spain or Lithuania to know this is so. On the other hand the Germans would be regarded as good drivers but for me a fair few of them drive at stupidly quick speeds on motorways (restricted autobahns too) and in the UK I'm always surprised by the amount of accidents which I can't simply attribute to the roads being so busy.

That said, I'll be biased and say that the UK standards are definitely amongst the very best. If I am to specifically critique Irish driving habits I'd say this:

1) People don't know that they're driving around with their front fog lights on because they don't know that they are fog lights.
    2) People don't like to be in the inside lane of a motorway and instead hog the overtaking lane even if there's nothing to pass. This is extremely irritating in rush hour traffic. Undertaking is a big no-no in the UK but here it becomes a necessity at times in Ireland.
    3) Use of indicators is a bit sketchy - but this is common pretty much everywhere.
    4) Lane definition on roundabouts is poor.

I'm not surprised standards aren't so high as the UK because in Ireland you can drive around with little more than a provisional license and don't need to pass a test. Legally this may not be so but it's hardly enforced. The mother-in-law is such a case and has been driving around for years in this way. This just wouldn't happen in the UK, at least not by any respectable citizen.

In the case of motorways...well they've not been around for too long have they? I guess the Irish are still learning how to use them properly. In the UK the first one opened in the late 50s/early 60s so the country's drivers have had decades to get to grips with the subtleties of multiple lanes.

Higher test standards and good enforcement are the solution to improved driving habits.

Statistically, Ireland has road accident rates very much in line with Scotland and slightly higher than England. It makes perfect sense given the population spread.

In general, the things we need to work on here are mostly to do with educating people on motorway driving and on using roundabouts.

A public awareness campaign should be done or, maybe even a short class in your local community school every few years to update your driving skills?

The problem is probably that there wouldn't be a budget for it and the government has more pressing priorities.

However, the media could do it for free as a public service by doing a bit of road safety programming

RTE in particular could play a bigger role.

There are countries with lots more driver education and compulsory classes before your test which still have worse results in terms of accidents and also general driver behaviour.

A lot of it is about creating a culture of road safety which is something I think we have. It's just a matter of working on the technicalities and keeping that safety culture of driving in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Not sure if more training would work. Maybe for some but we Irish are not good at conformance - if we can cut corners / bend the rules and get away with it, we will.....and then we congratulate ourselves on it!
    As for the argument "We're not as bad as the worst example I can find", well, 'nuff said!
    More enforcement? Tougher penalties? Certainly, but when you consider that stupid driving might cause injury or death, damage, misery and expense, AND WE STILL DO IT, you have to think there is something else encouraging it.
    I suspect that we all KNOW our driving - yes, yours and mine - could be improved but, for some inexplicable reason, we Irish actually enjoy winding others up, whether at social gatherings, school / work, sport, AND on the road! Provoking a nasty response is, for us, an achievement!?! Best of luck explaining that, never mind eliminating it!

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Not sure if more training would work. Maybe for some but we Irish are not good at conformance - if we can cut corners / bend the rules and get away with it, we will.....and then we congratulate ourselves on it!
    As for the argument "We're not as bad as the worst example I can find", well, 'nuff said!
    More enforcement? Tougher penalties? Certainly, but when you consider that stupid driving might cause injury or death, damage, misery and expense, AND WE STILL DO IT, you have to think there is something else encouraging it.
    I suspect that we all KNOW our driving - yes, yours and mine - is bad but, for some inexplicable reason, we Irish actually enjoy winding others up, whether at social gatherings, school / work, sport, AND on the road! Provoking a nasty response is, for us, an achievement!?! Best of luck explaining that, never mind eliminating it!

I actually don't agree with that statement at all. Speaking from experience in industry here and abroad, Irish professionals in technical areas are absolutely excellent and there is a very strong safety culture these days.

The driving issues are genuinely relatively minor and it's shown statistically that it's a very safe country to drive in.

We need to actually aim to top the league table on road safety though. It's just something we can afford to be complacent about.

Beating ourselves up over stereotypes isn't really helpful though.

Most of us aren't sloppy about most things we do!

Sadly we had a lot of cowboys setting policy in all sorts of areas over the years though, but I genuinely think there's very little tolerance for incompetence anymore.

You also have to remember that Ireland until the 2000s had very poor road infrastructure. It's only really been up to Western European standards since a few years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

As much as people sitting in the fast lane annoys me my biggest problem is roundabouts and people who dont understand how to use them.
    Driving to college for the past 3 years theres one roundabout with 5 exits that i have to use, so i need to get out at the 3rd exit and go into the right hand lane to do so, its gotten to the stage where i can tell with a glance if im gonna end up going around again thanks to some moron in the left lane trying to go for the 4th exit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

OP, try driving in Eastern Europe, them come back here.

Ireland will be the heaven of driving experience.

VinLieger wrote: »
    As much as people sitting in the fast lane annoys me my biggest problem is roundabouts and people who dont understand how to use them.
    Driving to college for the past 3 years theres one roundabout with 5 exits that i have to use, so i need to get out at the 3rd exit and go into the right hand lane to do so, its gotten to the stage where i can tell with a glance if im gonna end up going around again thanks to some moron in the left lane trying to go for the 4th exit

That coupled with local authorities planting ornamental forests on roundabouts resulting in it being impossible to see what's coming around them. There needs to be visibility across a roundabout. Any landscaping should be low shrubbery.

Cork's suburbs have fine examples of full height trees and statues on roundabouts!

A lot of the over complicated roundabouts also just don't work and should probably be replaced by intelligent traffic lights as they invariably have blocked junctions due to traffic flow patterns favouring one particular route through the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Solair wrote: »
    A lot of the over complicated roundabouts also just don't work and should probably be replaced by intelligent traffic lights as they invariably have blocked junctions due to traffic flow patterns favouring one particular route through the roundabout.

Its worse in dublin where one specific roundabout now has pedestrian lights on the exits where when red maybe 1-2 cars can fit without taking up space on the roundabout but any more than that and it causes a sudden and very dangerous traffic jam on the entire roundabout

One other comment I would make is that Ireland and Britain have a culture of community based policing and a strong civic society. That also applies in an even more significant way in Nordic countries.

A lot of other continental European countries and the United States tend to have a culture of heavy enforcement, stiff penalties and very aggressive, unfriendly policing.

I think you have to get Irish people on board road safety and to take ownership of it. That's how we operate. Something can suddenly become socially unacceptable. For example try lighting up in a bar or restaurant. It's not the threat of a fine, it's the fact that it's just an absolute no no.

That kind of thing is how road safety develops. It's very much cultural as much as about enforcement.

I think that's why Nordic countries, UK, Ireland, Japan etc do very well on this stuff. It's largely about a functioning civic society which we have in buckets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

FFS people stop goin on about other countries!

OP asks how do we improve standards in this country?

One word. Enforcement.

If its enforced, people will learn. Either the easy way or the hard way

Numerous times have i seen members of AGS doin the very things we are complaining about.

If people see the Gardai doing it, they will assume they can too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

the older generation is a lost cause

In what sense?

If "awful standards of driving" equals lethal driving, then it is not "the older generation" that is losing its way.

It might be worth considering gender in this context also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Cungi wrote: »
    FFS people stop goin on about other countries!

I made the same point in the 1st few posts but still there's a lot of "we're crap but others are worse so its ok" type nonsense

Without Improved education & actual enforcement there's no hope.

The example I always use is drink driving. I don't believe people's attitudes have changed at all, they're now afraid of getting caught. I've often offered a friend or relative a drink in the pub not knowing they were driving. The response is usually along the lines of "nah the bloody guards are out nearly every night this time if year"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

It should be stated to all road users that a driving licence is a privilege and not a right, and that by actions or inactions that cause bad driving that privilege can be revoked.

My pet hates:
    Mobile phone users
    Middle lane hoggers
    Last minute exiters
    Exit lane overtakers
    Weavers
    Lack of indicators.

Of course when I take over the running of the country after my coup, I will allow each driver two kills per year using bazooka or lazer guns without affecting their no claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

stoneill wrote: »
    It should be stated to all road users that a driving licence is a privilege and not a right, and that by actions or inactions that cause bad driving that privilege can be revoked.

My pet hates:
    Mobile phone users
    Middle lane hoggers
    Last minute exiters
    Exit lane overtakers
    Weavers
    Lack of indicators.

Of course when I take over the running of the country after my coup, I will allow each driver two kills per year using bazooka or lazer guns without affecting their no claims.

I am voting for you. You make about as much sense as the clowns in government this minute. :D:D