Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DFB recruitment

• 12-10-2012 6:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭

So I see on the Internet that DFB may be recruiting if they get enough votes from unions.
    They need to recruit 80.
    28 coming from control so that leave 52 recruits.
    I wonder will it happen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭djor88

Really? I haven't heard this, would love to see them recruiting! How'd you get on with CFB? I didn't get a call back for interview after passing the other stages..

Oh I see it now, on rte news site. It says 28 from control, but the worrying thing is "the other 25 firefighting posts will be filled by confined competition for staff in the four Dublin local authorities."

Confined Competition, in other words, you need to be employed by a Dublin Council to apply for the job, brutal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 newposter12

Yeah,a relative of mine 'works' in Dublin City Council.By his own admission they are overstaffed even before privatisation of bin service so to save money they will recruit full time people from other areas of Dublin City Council for DFB instead of increasing numbers/wages by recruiting externally.

It's unreal, Croke Park Bull! The only way in now would be to go for the Controller job and hope in 4 years that you can manage to switch to Firefighter role!

djor88 wrote: »
    It's unreal, Croke Park Bull! The only way in now would be to go for the Controller job and hope in 4 years that you can manage to switch to Firefighter role!

Croke Park was negotiated pre bailout,its definetly a load of bull.The Govt cant be seen to recruit as they went down the route of cutting numbers instead of reductions in pay for existing PS workers.
    This way DFB will be paying a new firefighter a salary which they would of had to pay him/her in their previous job anyway.

Makes no real sense today, at all! It's just political crap, they can't/won't go back on it no matter how much sense it would make, very Irish. I'll keep watching to see what's happening...

Yeah,Croke Park is great for exisiting public servants but the pay for new ones has been butchered with little or no opportunities for new people to join for the forseeable future,as is the case with DFB.I suspect it'll be more or less the same post Croke Park 2014 such is the huge vote count PS has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭wreckless

imagine having had a crystal ball years ago eh..... any auld job on the DCC to get in the door, now you can apply to be where you really want to go. jeez...id reckon lads who were on the panel for 5 years must be sick beyond belief at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

wreckless wrote: »
    imagine having had a crystal ball years ago eh..... any auld job on the DCC to get in the door, now you can apply to be where you really want to go. jeez...id reckon lads who were on the panel for 5 years must be sick beyond belief at that.

id say they are wreckless - i would be

the DAA have done similar in order to join the Airport Police/Fire - You must be a DAA employee in order to apply

perhaps the Gardai and Defence Forces will go this route too - you must be a reserve member in order to be eligible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 xperi

jobs for the boys again & are the unions against this unfair practise i bet not, all these new "recruits " will probaly related to someone already in the brigade, bet all the lads & lassies who dreamt of a job there for years are gutted to hear this closed shop crap reappearing,

xperi wrote: »
    jobs for the boys again & are the unions against this unfair practise i bet not, all these new "recruits " will probaly related to someone already in the brigade, bet all the lads & lassies who dreamt of a job there for years are gutted to hear this closed shop crap reappearing,

well if its true what they propose to do, anyone who wants a position within DFB now knows what they must do.....

for those who really want it, it shouldnt be a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

WilcoOut wrote: »
    well if its true what they propose to do, anyone who wants a position within DFB now knows what they must do.....

Are DCC even recruiting themselves ? Also to get a job in DCC to maybe get a job in DFB is madness in my books.

To me regardless of where the personal come from once they are up to the task at hand and give 100% and don't get up too some of the horror stories, I have heard about the DCC. People taking weeks to do a 1 or 2 day job. We should be alright. I do feel for the people on the panel waiting 5 years.

Well this pretty much answers my own question.

http://www.dublincity.ie/Careers/
    Due to the Moratorium on the recruitment of staff in the Public Sector, Dublin City Council has been directed by the Department of the Environment, Community & Local Government, not to fill any post by recruitment or promotion.

Exceptions to this will only occur in very limited circumstances, where posts are of a critical nature, subject to receipt of sanction from the Department of the Environment, Community & Local Government.

You would wonder how the government plan to cut the numbers on welfare when they won't even hire themselves, private sector will just say sure the public sector can't take anyone either. It's all well and good given people early retirement and redundancy, but there is experience flying out the window.

msg11 wrote: »

You would wonder how the government plan to cut the numbers on welfare when they won't even hire themselves, private sector will just say sure the public sector can't take anyone either. It's all well and good given people early retirement and redundancy, but there is experience flying out the window.

Yeah,your right,Govt talk about creating jobs but wont recruit themselves.It makes financial sense for the Govt though when you are already paying somebody and move them into DFB..instead of employing an extra person.DCC from what I hear in many areas is seriously over-staffed so they'll have no problem losing a few of them to DFB.

Very true,it always happened in the past but for future public sector recruitment with how scarce jobs are its definetly going to be a requirement to get a job imo.

It'll be a massive problem,as you'll have to apply for a full time position in DCC to apply for DFB.Minister Hogan is going to cut 500 people from the county councils tomorrow,they wont be recruiting for years to come with this endless moratorium we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Papp9

Does anyone know when this vote will be taking place and then if passed, when will they advertise for the positions?
    There must be a push on to get some of it going before the budget.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

What is the staffing like in the DFB at the moment? I assume they're fairly understaffed? In hospitals front line staff like physios, nurses, OT's etc can be hired fairly freely due to them being essential to patient care. Why is this not the case with the DFB, Guards etc who are essential to the welfare of the public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Dave087

It's an absolute disgrace what their doing. Like alot of ppl I've done everything I possibly can to try and give myself the best chance of getting into DFB (getting a good leaving cert, joining the civil defence AFS and FCA and also doing first aid courses at every opportunity) The big boys shafting the ordinary joe soap as usual lads! ****in disgrace. However if DFB do decide to take on 25 control room positions through external recruitment I will definitely apply for it. At the end of the day it's better than nothing.

Dave087 wrote: »
    It's an absolute disgrace what their doing. Like alot of ppl I've done everything I possibly can to try and give myself the best chance of getting into DFB (getting a good leaving cert, joining the civil defence AFS and FCA and also doing first aid courses at every opportunity) The big boys shafting the ordinary joe soap as usual lads! ****in disgrace. However if DFB do decide to take on 25 control room positions through external recruitment I will definitely apply for it. At the end of the day it's better than nothing.

Don't give up your hopes and dreams, if you want something you will get it.

Votes are passed and the jobs should be advertised within the next two months from what I have heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭antichrist

Dave087 wrote: »

Did you ever consider the HSE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Dave087

To be honest i've never considered anything other than DFB it's just always been my dream job from a very young age but I no with the way things have gone I may have to consider other options if I plan on getting a career in the fire or ambulance service. However, with all that said i've still not given up hope on getting into DFB. Lets just see how things go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

25 from external applicants and 25 from DCC is what I've been told by DFB people.

BX 19 wrote: »
    25 from external applicants and 25 from DCC is what I've been told by DFB people.

Every Tom, Dick and Harry from here, there and everywhere will be applying for these positions.

Anymore word on when they will advertise, these jobs?

Papp9 wrote: »
    Anymore word on when they will advertise, these jobs?

Soon is all I know. I'll be applying myself as will thousands of other people

EDIT: control room staff is the position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

You seem to think you know what you're talking about but in reality you haven't a clue. You have no idea how much the unions have been pushing to get recruit classes. While not ideal it's a hell of a lot better than the alternative which was reduction in numbers and loss of the control room.

Still no word of when, the waiting and not knowing is the worst.

EDIT: control room staff is the position

so they are taking on control room staff, not active frontline firemen?

From what I've heard, it's control room only.

roger that

and is it open to the wider public or....?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

It is tough on outsiders but it makes financial sense to recruit from within the DCC

i hear ya

thats how the Airport Police roll - u must first be a DAA employee

it would make sense for DFB to do the same

and even the Defence Force and Gardai going forward may also do it

i hear ya

thats how the Airport Police roll - u must first be a DAA employee

it would make sense for DFB to do the same

and even the Defence Force and Gardai going forward may also do it

Is it legal to recruit in this manner? All that equality and that crack..

roger that

and is it open to the wider public or....?

Look above, 25 external/25 internal.

As for FF jobs? I would say if there was recruitment for them, as a control room op you would nearly get first preference.

Is it legal to recruit in this manner? All that equality and that crack..

im sure it is

all jobs have entry requirments

and one of the requirments is you must hold a specific job in order to be viewed as elligible

im sure it is

all jobs have entry requirments

and one of the requirments is you must hold a specific job in order to be viewed as elligible

I personally don't agree with it, should be open to everyone that's just my option on it. But why don't they take the 50 from DCC in that case? Is this a new call center 50 seems a high number, how many of these jobs will be answering phones?

Might throw my name in the hat when it comes around!

I personally don't agree with it, should be open to everyone that's just my option on it.

maybe

but people who know the system etc will have an advantage over those who dont anyway

so makes sense to recruit from that bunch and not the other

I'll make some enquiries, but from what I know, they're control room/call takers positions.

maybe

but people who know the system etc will have an advantage over those who dont anyway

so makes sense to recruit from that bunch and not the other
    I'll make some enquiries, but from what I know, they're control room/call takers positions.

What are the entry requirements ? What skills are needed, what software do they use? Where is the center also stupid question but these are 999 calls?

Has anyone heard anymore on when these jobs will come up, its gone very quiet.

Also would the new call takers that have just been put on the panel have anyting to do with the DFB call takers because they work out of the same bulding on Pearse street in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭gomamochi1

Hi. I am a hse dub mid Leinster employee and really interested on becoming a fire fighter. Is it only limited to civil servants of the councils? Would ye recommend any good sites Etc re prep for interview etc? Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Resceu247

The latest news is that the people taken in from the councils will go to a F/F recruit class, but not to sure if there has been enough applicants yet so its unclear.
    Those recruited to be a DFB Dispatcher from the general public will go through control room training and after 4 years will automatically/guarenteed go to F/F training and their dispatchers duties are then finished, they will then be assigned watchs and stations, thats the last anyone has heard, will keep you posted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Fire1985

djor88 wrote: »
    Really? I haven't heard this, would love to see them recruiting! How'd you get on with CFB? I didn't get a call back for interview after passing the other stages..

I got on the panel. Patiently waiting to be called. Best of luck with DFB

Well done mate, cheers and all the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

So the Public Sector is bloated, (and I hear they eat swan for lunch, babies on Friday's), you want them to hire staff after they've beeb trying to reduce numbers. genius

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Resceu247 wrote: »
    The latest news is that the people taken in from the councils will go to a F/F recruit class, but not to sure if there has been enough applicants yet so its unclear.
    Those recruited to be a DFB Dispatcher from the general public will go through control room training and after 4 years will automatically/guarenteed go to F/F training and their dispatchers duties are then finished, they will then be assigned watchs and stations, thats the last anyone has heard, will keep you posted

I haven't seen any positions advertised internally yet. (Dublin local authority)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Resceu247

kceire wrote: »
    I haven't seen any positions advertised internally yet. (Dublin local authority)

There hasnt been yet, and nobody seems to know the reasoning for there not been, the agreement has been signed off so its just a matter of time really