Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halloween

• 11-10-2012 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭

So what are people doing this year? Any costume ideas? Was in town the last 3 years running and loved it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Been searching for a proper Hitler costume but I can't find one anywhere :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

falls on a wednesday :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Been searching for a proper Hitler costume but I can't find one anywhere :(

There'll be a few Germans around Dublin tomorrow night. You should ask them for a loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

felt goatee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Knacker drinking in a field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

davet82 wrote: »
    falls on a wednesday :(

True, but town was full of people who dressed up the previous Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

On a Wednesday this year :( Load of crap!

Bank holiday weekend though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I wanna be a meme this year.

Maybe goatse or the chocolate rain guy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Locking the door and waiting for it all to blow over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 jlacey

mask cost me 6.50 in Supervalu today, must have cost 50 cents to make..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Gonna do the same as every year- nick the parish priests Morris Minor and drive it onto the bonfire.

It's silly, but traditional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

gerarda wrote: »
    So what are people doing this year? Any costume ideas? Was in town the last 3 years running and loved it!
    What, you went as Usain Bolt since 2009?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Gonna dress up as Patrick Bateman. All i need is the clear raincoat. Anyone know where id get the one i need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Well, go as a runner again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not answering the front door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

MJ23 wrote: »
    Gonna dress up as Patrick Bateman. All i need is the clear raincoat. Anyone know where id get the one i need?

euroshop sells rain macs for €2 and you can get a hachet for cheap in any harware.

do you like hughie lewis and the news?

humberklog wrote: »
    Gonna do the same as every year- nick the parish priests Morris Minor and drive it onto the bonfire.

It's silly, but traditional.

that takes me back, yes the aul dublin halloween games like 'maim the fireman' and 'shooting fireworks at the elderly' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Robocop or Edward Scissorhands.

I'd go with Scissorhands but I know I'd eventually spill everyone's pints reaching for mine :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'm gonna go with something original, like The Joker from Batman, or maybe wear a Scream mask.

Fizman wrote: »
    I'm gonna go with something original, like The Joker from Batman, or maybe wear a Scream mask.

i think i'll rob your idea :rolleyes:

Yeh I didn't even make my costume this year. I've got a nurses costume. I'm gonna just zombify that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I know it's more Christmasy, but I'm going as Buddy the Elf! Was originally going to go as Chazz Michael Michaels from Blades of Glory, but as it was sold out, opted for Buddy instead. Looks good though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Pig Benis

I bought a pretty expensive Bane mask online but dont wanna shave my head, i really didnt think that one through.

Pig Benis wrote: »
    I bought a pretty expensive Bane mask online but dont wanna shave my head, i really didnt think that one through.

http://www.partyworld.ie/Mens-Fancy-Dress-Wigs/Bald-Head/5470/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Pig Benis

Thanlks, but i already have those glasses :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

I'm going on the piss in Dublin as Heisenberg from Breaking Bad. I will also be handing out free bags of meth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

A few years ago I was stuck on the day for a costume so had to come up with something quick. From around the house...
    • Biscuits
    • Ketchup
    • Shower Cap
    • An electrical chord from an old VCR
    • Tungsten tipped screws (good for making points)
    • My shower curtain
    • My bath mat

Top-Tip: you sweat your head off with the shower cap on in a nightclub.

Another top tip, try to avoid anything with a mask. May look good but you're neglecting the fact that you're going to be drinking/smoking for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

That's all well and good Forrest Gump but I fail to see what that has to do with Halloween :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

I personally think the pefect costume to wear is an evil clown suit, a lot of people have a fear/phobia of clowns = Coulrophobia, someone dressed up in an evil clown outfit would scare some people-best clown costumes Id recommend on amazon.uk plus other sites are in the following links.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fun-World-Twisted-Jester-Costume/dp/B0036LDJNK/ref=sr_1_20?s=clothing&ie=UTF8&qid=1349976529&sr=1-20

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mens-Costume-Carver-Killer-Medium/dp/B00307P9T2/ref=sr_1_5?s=clothing&ie=UTF8&qid=1349976951&sr=1-5

http://www.halloweenmart.com/adult-costumes/clown/Pennywise-Costume.html

http://the-joke-shop.com/showprod.asp?product=18384&category=185&parent=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

irish-stew wrote: »
    Not answering the front door.

I like to use the first knock as a reminder to turn off the front lights. Then I walk out to the door (they can see me through the glass panels) and just turn off the light and return to what I was at.

Just as good as answering the door and telling them to fcuk off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Why don't people answer the door? I love giving sweets out at halloween. We give out the best sweets on the estate. I pride myself on that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

phasers wrote: »
    felt goatee.

Darkest timeline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Culleeo

I'm dressing up as a wet floor sign because anywhere I go, bitches be drippin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

sexy cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Ahlee

I was thinking of Alan From the Hangover.... anyone have any idea whered id get a beard/wig/baby carrier haha very unorganised!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Go in shell suit with plenty bling and a cigar, and get your significant other in a school girl uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I Just bought a costume online. Was going to wear my ostrich costume but you have to inflate it and that's a pain and awkward to get around.
    So for trick or treating I'll be the ostrich, for going out on the piss I'll be little miss muffet! Might throw some fake blood on and put some scars on my face, maybe a stab wound and a slit throat....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Im going as Orion's right shoulder, or BeetleJuice, cant decide which

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Go in shell suit with plenty bling and a cigar, and get your significant other in a school girl uniform.
    I'm actually dreading having to put up with 100's of Jimmy Saville impersonators. I'll be as "original" as the Heath Ledger Joker costumes of the last few years and the hipsters dressing as the Jack Nicholson Joker..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I'm going as a bit of wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

That's all well and good Forrest Gump but I fail to see what that has to do with Halloween :confused:

Well if he tells us his route, we can all line up and throw bangers at him, he can pretend he's in the Hunger Games.

OneArt wrote: »

You're a plank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

OneArt wrote: »

I did that once for a Star Trek convention, I was the captain's log...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

Will be going out the Friday & Saturday nights before Halloween. Is the husbags favourite holiday. His job has a Halloween party that is good craic and a cheap night out.

I am going as a zombie cheerleader one night and then I have a pirate, Greek goddess, belly dancer, french maid and all this Hawaiian stuff to choose from for the other night.
    The husbag is going as He-man.

We'll take the nippers trick or treating on the actual day itself. I love giving out sweets to the little kids and I always give good stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

It's great cos its "carte blanche" for the ladies to dress as a slutty - <insert anything in the world>

Shivers26 wrote: »
    We'll take the nippers trick or treating on the actual day itself. I love giving out sweets to the little kids and I always give good stuff.

I've still no idea what I'm dressing up as, but I wont be at home. I can't stand the kid situation for the last few years. Used to be, you'd open the door, get your "trick or treat!", then you compliment all the costumes, throw a handful of sweets in the bags and get a big "Thank You!!".

For at least the last three or four years, the kids are of a different sort completely. Open the door, get demands for sweets, in some cases get complaints about one kid getting one bar that the other one wants, rude yummy mummies and generally a bad vibe altogether. The kids from the council estate up the road are still of the cheeky good fun attitude, but the hoards of 10-15 kids being dragged around by groups of yummy mummies are almost invariably rude. I know I'm being horrible, but they've ruined the whole halloween-at-home thing for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Sorcha16

I love Halloween but it seems a lot of people confuse dressing up for Halloween with looking like they belong in a window in Amsterdam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Sorcha16 wrote: »
    I love Halloween but it seems a lot of people confuse dressing up for Halloween with looking like they belong in a window in Amsterdam

That's the Halloween miracle! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Emeraldy Pebbles

I guarantee you every party will have a Jimmy Savile this year...