Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like or dislike children?

• 08-10-2012 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭

I don't like kids, hate the things. Love animals though. Do you like or dislike children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Wouldn't eat a whole one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I like them but I couldn't eat a whole one.

EDIT: beaten to it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Depends on the parents really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

I hate the parents more than the children..................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I don't like kids, hate the things. Love animals though. Do you like or dislike children?

Because they can't answer you back eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Some kids are animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

They wouldn't be my kind of thing at all. They improve with age but feck it at the start they're bad. I can't relate to the idea of them being cute either, they look the same for the first couple of years.

Back in the day everyone would be sitting around the dinner table (if we were lucky enough to have a dinner that evening) and everyone would be chatting away and the baby's face would suddenly turn red and they'd be all "aww, look he's trying to poop, will I get a spoon out?? I'll get a spoon from the kitchen alright?? aww the poor child God bless him" but I'd be out the door in a flash before the stink got to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Love animals to bits. Find children mildly amusing sometimes but mostly annoying tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Some kids are animals.

Some animals are Kids....like a Young Goat !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I'm studying to be a primary teacher so I clearly dislike them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Never get people who say they don't like them. Kids are so funny, you just make a funny face and suddenly they are pissing themselves laughing. Great craic altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I can count on one hand the number of children that don't make me want to push them slowly through a razorwire fence face first. And still have more than enough fingers to make rude gestures at the little bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Stark wrote: »

Completely agree with this. Had people over last weekend and they let their kids run riot around the place, kinda end up feeling guilty for trying to control them in front of their own parents.

My kids bloody well behave in other peoples house, If I want to bring them to the playground, I will (and do, they are happy kids :pac:)

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

I'd be alright, with kids if they weren't so patronizing... I mean I can come down to their level but what to do when they've outgrown you by 13 already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I like them so much im up on charges

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I dislike people who dislike kids. Im apathetic to animal lovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Love children, can't wait to have my own. My nephew always brings a smile to my face. L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

in the words of a comedian (Can't remember the name) who once said "Kids are like farts you think your own are great"....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I like kids. Get on great with them.

Screaming babies though?

Bone chilling noise that makes me want to run away quite fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Kids are brilliant, make me feel like a comic genius. Blow raspberries for a while, you're the funniest thing ever. Make a poop joke when they're old enough to get it, you're even funnier. It just goes on being brilliant until they grow up, have their own children and turn into insufferable twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I would actually eat a whole one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Love kids especially between the ages of 2 - 6, they just come out with the funniest things....they bring out the child in me also:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I dislike all children except for my own. FACT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

love them, they are so funny. i hate them being called kids thoough, they are 'children'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I like kids, I think they keep you young at heart, funny feckers a lot of the time as well. Don't like the obnoxious spoilt variety but I have a 12 year old of my own who can put those back into their box if needed. Cool kids with a bit of class/guts are fun and usually you can learn somthing from them/still beat them at soccer/climb higher up trees than them. I'm one of those embarassing dads that still climbs trees at 40, still likes soccer and go-karting and jumping off things that are too high to jump off but I think secretly my kids like that.
    I'm usually the one at weddings etc that ends up playing soccer with the kids and having wrestling matches/armwrestling etc - I usually have to tell them to feck off so I can get drunk with the other adults. I'd imagine the reason is I'm a big kid myself really and don't take anything seriously so they spot a kindred spirit. I sort of wonder a bit at people who really dislike kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Wouldn't it be great if we could swat them like flies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I've never understood how people can say they hate kids in general. They're all so different, as individuals but also at different ages.
    There's a world of difference between a three-year old and a nine-year old.

It's like saying you hate all people between the ages of eighteen and fifty-three.

I strongly suspect that anyone who doesn't like kids between the ages of two and six is exquisitely boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Bet they taste like chicken. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I'm like Jimmy Saville. I don't like them as he said himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

I'm a preschool teacher, so I like kids. They're usually great. Except the little privilaged bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I like them so much im up on charges

????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I like the kids I have.

They're good workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Glenn_Flinn

Have 3 myself. They're generally scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,984 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Kids that behave are ok but the noisy bratty ones that are let run riot around places are a bit hard to take all right.

We get it that every parent obviously loves their kid and thinks he/she is great but that doesn't mean everyone else does if the kid is let do whatever they want in places like shops, pubs and restaurants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I like the kids I have.

They're good workers.

In my day those were the only kind people had. They had the good sense to disown all the bad workers before they dragged the whole family down to starvation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Bet they taste like chicken. :)

pork, actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

OP, are you just wondering whether those "feelings" you are having are "normal"? Jim won't fix that particular problem for you I tell ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I think babies/kids between the ages of 0 and 3 years are adorable and cute and they don't wreck my head. (as long as they are not screaming a restaurant down!)
    At about the age of 4 onwards they become much more interesting and you can actually have a wee conversation with them, they come out with funny things too and are usually very entertaining.
    However at this age and onwards they are also very draining/tiring to be around for the whole day.
    They are so full of energy, and always want you to look at something, or to play something with them, or do something for them. I find when babysitting, I don't get a second for myself to chill, it's just constant activity and keeping an eye on every single thing they are doing so that they don't hurt themselves, or get up to dangerous mischief. Maybe I would be less anxious if they were my own kids.
    Still though, no matter how tired they make me, I wouldn't change my nephews for the world. They are good hearted, well mannered kids, and just very fun loving and loveable. Not their fault if I have less energy than them!:)
    I never mind babysitting because I know it is only ever for a short period out of my free time, but for my sister it means a lot to get even a tiny break to go somewhere for the night with her husband. And I enjoy this time with my nephews too, I hope we remain close when they get older and that I can be their "fun" aunty. :)

Some kids are brats though. Even at very young ages, some curse and give cheek/abuse/insults to adults. Some are terribly spoilt and/or incredibly rude and these types of kids I actually HATE to be around. Not my job to parent them, so there's not much you can do/say to them. In cases like that I do blame their parents, but it is very hard to not dislike the child as well, even when it may not be their fault how they turned out. They are just completely head wrecking to be around!

I don't have any kids and don't think I ever want any. As I said, it's not because I dislike them, most kids are adorable, it's because I like only having to answer for myself, and I love my freedom and being able to do whatever pleases me whenever I feel like it without having to factor in "the kids". I don't want to ever have to be responsible for another human life for 18+ years and how he/she turns out, I have enough to focus on just living my own life. Although fair play to those who handle that responsibility over another human life well! Ye have more patience and selflessness than me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

I like them in small doses, not sure if i want my own. its nice to be able to just get away from them whenever you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Slurryface

So long as they are kept well mannered and well disciplined they are fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Well I've always been surrounded by kids and babies since my mum babysits. In the words of Dylan Moran they're basically like drunk midgets!:p I find I've no bother with them as most of my life I've been around them. Definitley opened my eyes though that babies and kids may be cute but they're a lot of hard work! Thy're great craic though! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

emzolita wrote: »
    I'm a preschool teacher, so I like kids. They're usually great. Except the little privilaged bastards

Nice to know you treat all kids equal considering you are teaching them or do you ignore the privileged ones?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Like em so much i got myself two!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I love my own kids, I just about tolerate other people's though. I think one of the biggest misconceptions out there is that parents love kids, love talking about kids, love spending time with kids....I don't but maybe that's just me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

eviltwin wrote: »
    I love my own kids, I just about tolerate other people's though. I think one of the biggest misconceptions out there is that parents love kids, love talking about kids, love spending time with kids....I don't but maybe that's just me :D

Massive +1.
    I love my own child but I'm indifferent to other people's children, especially babies. Let's face it, children can and often are a pain in the hole. I have zero desire to discuss other people's children, if they ask I'll be as brief as possible about what my child is like but I know most people only ask out of politeness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 jamesjoyce1710

I love children!! I find it quiet trust someone who doesn't like children!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

i like some i hate others

my girlfriends neice is 3
    and she goes around saying , kiss off as in p*ss off haha
    and randomly goes up to strangers saying
    im a big girl ha
    love her ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Stark wrote: »

The biggest factor in a childs likeability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

its ok to say you love children.

but people look at you funny when you say you love 10 year olds.