Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anger over TD Wallace’s hitman boast

• 07-10-2012 11:28am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Yikes!!! :eek:

From todays Sunday Times (England)
    http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/article1142591.ece
    Anger over TD Wallace’s hitman boast

Mick Wallace is facing calls to consider his position after admitting he threatened to use a “hitman” to recover an IR24,898.85€ (€25,400) debt from a building firm.

In an interview on RTE Radio yesterday, Wallace said that some years ago a building firm had refused to pay him for labour he had supplied and he was told by the contracts manager to “go to hell”.

The following night he “just happened to meet a guy in a pub” who told him he was a debt collector and advised Wallace to threaten the use of a firearm.

Wallace, now an independent Wexford TD, said he arranged to meet an employee of the building company, and told him, “Well, I hired a hitman, and I explained to him how he [the hitman] was going to get the money”.

Two days later, Wallace received a phone call from the owner of the building company and was paid 19,919.08€

If there is any modicum of truth in this - this could get very serious.
    I can't see him lasting in the Dail after this.
    ...But then as we discover this morning (in the papers) with the latest news about Dr O'Reilly owning land, etc... they seem to be all getting away once again with a lot of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Sounds like he is on the fast track to becoming a minister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Biggins wrote: »

...But then as we discover this morning (in the papers) with the latest news about Dr O'Reilly owning land, etc... they seem to be all getting away once again with a lot of stuff.

Judging by his ability to call in debt 'by any means necessary' , Some of the lads in the Dail may wish for him to be promoted tbh.

Nothing shocks me within Irish politics anymore.

Nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

isn't this old news? Or did someone else do the same thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

(he has talked bout this before so yep its old news)

Wallace is a Bowser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Viper?

Old news.

The Irish papers covered this already a few weeks back

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The smart ones always openly admit to extortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I read it as hitman boost, couldn't understand what was going on :/

Ot: he is a retard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Maybe we should send a few hitmen around to his home. Might help the state recover some of the VAT he hasn't paid yet.

This is the same guy found guilty of deducting but not paying his staffs construction pension contributions if I recollect correctly?

Who doubled his own salary at the same time as with holding the VAT?

Not sure why RTE is giving him an audience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

mike65 wrote: »
    (he has talked bout this before so yep its old news)

Wallace is a Bowser
    Grayson wrote: »
    isn't this old news? Or did someone else do the same thing?

Apparently because of the interview he gave yesterday, the matter has been possibly made worse and anger has further arisen.

From above:
    In an interview on RTE Radio yesterday...
    Lucinda Creighton, a Fine Gael junior minister, said Wallace’s claims were “extremely serious” and had to be investigated. “I would think the authorities would be interested in these claims,” she said. “I think it is reasonable to expect that any ordinary citizen who comes across a hitman would immediately report it to the gardai. The idea that a citizen, not to mention a member of the Oireachtas, would actively seek one out is extremely serious. It’s a criminal offence.”

Finian McGrath, an independent TD for Dublin North Central, said Wallace’s actions were unacceptable. “I don’t think people who threaten or bully other people should be a member of the Oireachtas,” he said. “I am appalled and disgusted at this talk about using hitmen, particularly in the current economic climate. It is entirely unacceptable for a public representative.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ghandee wrote: »

Nothing shocks me within Irish politics anymore.

He was not involved in politics at the time.

Still a pretty scummy way to behave...on both sides of the argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Even though I am not a fan of Wallace, I wouldn't blame someone from threatening such to some of the so called business people we have had operate in this country, particularly in the building game.

In fact I wouldn't blame some people using the same threat on wallace himself, because as sure as hell he has left others in the lurch.

Is it any wonder that the Viper had a thriving business in the debt collector game.
    It is the only thing some of these people understand.
    There is no protection in this country to avoid people, particularly sub contractors, getting screwed over.

There were rumours that a member of one building/developer family that went under a couple of years ago had got a good going over from a disgruntled subcontractor before he moved to the Middle East to work.

Most of the so called ex businessmen/entrepreneurs that we hear sob stories from on TV/Radio have left a long line of creditors up the creek.
    And then we have muppets feeling sorry for them.

This story by wallace just reiterates my opinion that he is just another muppet who likes to have a public profile.
    If you engage in this type of activity you keep your gob shut about it.
    The real clever ones never admit to anything on or off the record.

I am not allowed discuss …

In a parallel dimension the hitman may have turned his gun on Wallace and put us all out of his misery.

He was a fool for 1. doing such a thing and 2. speaking about it!
    Thats just asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

An uncle of mine always referred to all of them in Leinster House as a shower of feckin gangsters, so Don Corleone Wallace fits in quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Maybe we should send a few hitmen around to his home. Might help the state recover some of the VAT he hasn't paid yet.

This is the same guy found guilty of deducting but not paying his staffs construction pension contributions if I recollect correctly?

Who doubled his own salary at the same time as with holding the VAT?

Not sure why RTE is giving him an audience.

In fairness i'm no Wallace fan, he is a chancer in the extreme but the above synopsis is extremely inaccurate.

And its the description of events that gets spouted as fact.

The period he doubled his salary was different to the period he misrepresented his VAT calculations.

As for paying it back, theres no a penny outstanding.

But never let that get in the way of a good rant. Wallace is a clown, but its annoying to hear ill informed criticism spouted as fact.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    An uncle of mine always referred to all of them in Leinster House as a shower of feckin gangsters, so Don Corleone Wallace fits in quite well.

More like Don Juan Wallace given his romance antics too! :D

Jayob10 wrote: »

Hold it now...are you saying he has repaid all the outstanding VAT and associated penalties etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

What would you expect from an ass but a kick. He is an idiot and I can't understand how anyone voted for him.

jmayo wrote: »
    Even though I am not a fan of Wallace, I wouldn't blame someone from threatening such to some of the so called business people we have had operate in this country, particularly in the building game.

In fact I wouldn't blame some people using the same threat on wallace himself, because as sure as hell he has left others in the lurch.

Is it any wonder that the Viper had a thriving business in the debt collector game.
    It is the only thing some of these people understand.
    There is no protection in this country to avoid people, particularly sub contractors, getting screwed over.

There were rumours that a member of one building/developer family that went under a couple of years ago had got a good going over from a disgruntled subcontractor before he moved to the Middle East to work.

Most of the so called ex businessmen/entrepreneurs that we hear sob stories from on TV/Radio have left a long line of creditors up the creek.
    And then we have muppets feeling sorry for them.

This story by wallace just reiterates my opinion that he is just another muppet who likes to have a public profile.
    If you engage in this type of activity you keep your gob shut about it.
    The real clever ones never admit to anything on or off the record.

This.

I think he even admitted such, claiming the main appeal of being in the public eye was the fact it gave him the platform to make social comment.

Which is ironic because the man can barely string a sentence together at the best of times when engaging in political debate.

But never let that get in the way of a good rant. Wallace is a clown, but its annoying to hear ill informed criticism spouted as fact.

Mick, is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Id have done the same there is alot of this in the building trade . Builders always trying to not pay contractors .
    Fair play to him I say .

What would you expect from an ass but a kick. He is an idiot and I can't understand how anyone voted for him.

Well (to be honest), people voted for Haughty, Mr Ahern and others... I can't understand the mentality but sadly they do vote for such characters. :(

Hold it now...are you saying he has repaid all the outstanding VAT and associated penalties etc?

are you saying he doubled his salary at the exact same time as with holding VAT?

Mick, is that you?

I think my other comments will show you that I am not.

I'm just calling you out on your indulgence in populist nonsense.

You have padded out your argument significantly for effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Well (to be honest), people voted for Haughty, Mr Ahern and others... I can't understand the mentality but sadly they do vote for such characters. :(

True but Wallace is a joke and treats the job the same. We don't have one decent politician in this country but saying that politics is the same the world over. Its what they can get out of it not what they can give back to the voter that counts.

are you saying he doubled his salary at the exact same time as with holding VAT?

My apologies I got the timelines wrong. He doubled his and his sons salaries as the company was going down the pan. Is that more accurate?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/wallace-doubled-money-paid-to-himself-and-son-even-as-financial-troubles-began-to-hit-3133010.html
    Company records show M&J Wallace paid the TD and his son, the only directors, €290,000 for the year ended August 2008, when it made a €2.6m loss

Please answer my question or stop nit picking.

More like Don Juan Wallace given his romance antics too! :D

I thought he and Clare were just good friends?

My apologies I got the timelines wrong. He doubled his and his sons salaries as the company was going down the pan. Is that more accurate?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/wallace-doubled-money-paid-to-himself-and-son-even-as-financial-troubles-began-to-hit-3133010.html

But he didn't double his salary did he really?

Do you know what happens when 3 Directors becomes 2?

Oh and steady on there Vincent Browne :p

Go for a walk or something

...Its what they can get out of it not what they can give back to the voter that counts.

All sadly true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Were you ever a member of Fianna Fail? I saw someone allude to it the other day.

Yes, stated this a number of times over thread on boards.ie and will state it again for clarity.

Was a basic member of a FF cumman before moving to eventual chairman of said cumman, then in time moved to county level which gave access to party details previously not accessible.
    When I had this ability and saw/read what I did and what was then asked of me within hours of gaining such a position, I immediately resigned.

I not wanted then and still do not want anything to to do with any party which is corrupt from within.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yes, stated this a number of times over thread on boards.ie and will state it again for clarity.

Was a basic member of a FF cumman before moving to eventual chairman of said cumman, then in time moved to county level which gave access to party details previously not accessible.
    When I had this ability and saw/read what I did and what was then asked of me within hours of gaining such a position, I immediately resigned.

I wanted and still do not want anything to to do with any party which is corrupt from within.

A person who actually resigned from ff on ethical grounds.

You should be easy to find then. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

I not wanted then and still do not want anything to to do with any party which is corrupt from within.
    Well my opinion of you just went up a few notches. Pity more were not made of the same stuff as you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

In fairness i'm no Wallace fan, he is a chancer in the extreme but the above synopsis is extremely inaccurate.

And its the description of events that gets spouted as fact.

The period he doubled his salary was different to the period he misrepresented his VAT calculations.

Yup, he's a wanker, but all this hitman stuff was said in a recent interview on the Marion Finucane show and it makes ya wonder if anyone actually listened to the real story of events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Is this the second old news thread of yours in as many days OP?

In other news... link

Is this the second old news thread of yours in as many days OP?

In other news... link

As mentioned already, the reason why its come up again is because of an interview he's done yesterday it appears - and it thus appears as a major story in todays Times (English edition with Irish sections inserted).

The silly fool didn't know when to leave the matter alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

If he actually meant it, he was probably committing a criminal offence (again).

And if he was only bullsh1tting (much more likely), he was just acting like the politician that he was later to become.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Its a damning indictment on this country that the likes of him can be a TD. VAT fraud, a bust developer, threatening hitmen (i'm sure thats against the law), goes into the Dail looking like a bum still out on the piss, seems like he can't even string a coherent sentence together either.

woodoo wrote: »
    Its a damning indictment on this country that the likes of him can be a TD. VAT fraud, a bust developer, threatening hitmen (i'm sure thats against the law), goes into the Dail looking like a bum still out on the piss, seems like he can't even string a coherent sentence together either.

Well look at it from outside Ireland perspective.
    What must other European countries think (yes, while they have their own issues too) that they can look at our electoral house and see people elected that is willing to appears like gangsters, party leaders who is willing to overlook TD inappropriateness (Wallace AND the latest Reilly antics to just name two) and other personal TD stuff gotten away with scott free already.

Not selecting any one party here in particular - its not good overall good looking in general.

How can we be further of an attraction to foreign business when in government and as elected representatives, we appear to be most dishonest at times!

If TD's were REALLY serious about improving their much loved country's chances in the world, they would start clearing their own house before trying to attract others inward across our borders.

...But no... that would be too much to ask.

Wallace anyway, seriously, should be gone by now.
    He is just one more elected TD taking the pee.

I suspect maybe - just maybe - that government heads do not want him to go because if there was a by-election tomorrow, the nation would see exactly in percentages just how accurately parties now would gain and lose in votes!

Polls would perhaps be proved right (or wrong, even worse, top parties losing further?).
    Just maybe again, they fear yet another SF candidate getting in as a wallace replacement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Unlike nearly everybody on the thread so far I actually heard the interview.

It was a "Met a bloke in a pub" story, and to be honest it was a badly told tale which could imply that he either did or didn't hire a hitman to collect a debt.

TBH he sounded more like a fool than a knave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Well look at it from outside Ireland perspective.
    What must other European countries think (yes, while they have their own issues too) that they can look at our electoral house and see people elected that is willing to appears like gangsters, party leaders who is willing to overlook TD inappropriateness (Wallace AND the latest (Reilly antics to just name two) and other personal TD stuff gotten away with scott free already.

Not selecting any one party here in particular - its not good overall good looking in general.

How can we be further of an attraction to foreign business when in government and as elected representatives, we appear to be most dishonest at times!

If TD were REALLY serious about improving their much loved country's chances in the world, they would start clearing their own house before trying to attract others inward across our borders.

...But no... that would be too much to ask.

Biggins I'm awfully afraid that we get the politicians we deserve.

There is no grant we are not entitled to. There is always "someone to see" if we get a fine. I'll get that planning permission sorted.
    This it seems is what we want and time after time we'll elect the gombeens and sleveens who'll do it for us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I was heading up to the match in AVIVA yesterday and was entranced by the interview.

The Sunday Times excerpts quoted the the thread are inaccurate. Mick did not say the contracts manager told him to "go to hell" he said he told him to "f*** off". He also did say not he'd threatened anyone with a hit man or a gun. He told a former employee of his, then working in the firm that owed him 20k, that he believed he'd be paid because he had hired a hit man (I think "The Viper" Foley was on the go at the time). No threats, no guns, no advice to use guns, just a conversation between former colleagues.

He said he was also asked about an affair he was allegedly having with Marion Finnucane. Marion said she knew nothing about it. Mick said what started the rumour was that she'd allegedly been seen drinking in one of his wine-bars.

In Sept 2008 Mick reported that the directors' remuneration from the company accounts was 290k split between him and his 2 sons. In the same year the written-down value of that company was €15m. Given the audited valuation of the firm in the same set of accounts, Mick said their pay did not seem excessive.

Mick said he under-declared the VAT in the belief that the 400k would save the firm and he said he knew it was wrong and would not do it again if faced with the same circumstances. He was adamant that apart from the 400k all the other debts are cleared, which he said wasn't a bad record after 23+ years in business.

He was scathing in his opinion of most of his colleagues in the Dail. He said their prime concern from the time they're elected is in making the right moves to ensure re-election. Joe Costelloe rang in to deny Mick's statement that Costelloe had coerced him into hiring 4/5 ex-Gama workers and to deny that Mick had told him about the under-declaration of VAT before it became public knowledge.

mathepac wrote: »
    I was heading up to the match in AVIVA yesterday and was entranced by the interview.

The Sunday Times excerpts quoted the the thread are inaccurate. Mick did not say the contracts manager told him to "go to hell" he said he told him to "f*** off". He also did not threaten anyone with a hit man or a gun. He told a former employee of his now working in the firm that owed him 20k (according to Mick) that he believed he'd be paid because he had hired a hit man (I think "The Viper" Foley was on the go at the time). No threats, no guns, no advice to use guns, just a conversation between former colleagues.

He said he was also asked about an affair he was allegedly having with Marion Finnucane. Marion said she knew nothing about it. Mick said what started the rumour was that she'd allegedly been seen drinking in one of his wine-bars.

In Sept 2008 Mick reported that the directors' remuneration from the company accounts was 290k split between him and his 2 sons. In the same year the written-down value of that company was €15m. Given the audited valuation of the firm in the same set of accounts, Mick said their pay did not seem excessive.

Mick said he under-declared the VAT in the belief that the 400k would save the firm and he said he knew it was wrong and would not do it again if faced with the same circumstances. He was adamant that apart from the 400k all the other debts are cleared, which he said wasn't a bad record after 23+ years in business.
    Maybe your right about the paper - but then maybe we can't just now trust Wallace about what he says he said.
    (After all for paying off part of his debts alone, he maybe wants to hang on to his current position and would be now willing to say anything, change story?)
    Meanwhile into days papers, there is more photographic evidence of his romantic life - I'm not going there though.
    Who he gets romance involved with is a minor issue (or not really at all?).

As for the latest supposed latest interview he gave, I have not heard it yet but in either an old one or the latest one where he might have mentioned something about hiring a gunman - that is not good.

Oh and steady on there Vincent Browne :p

Go for a walk or something

Nice attempts at deflection. Do you stand over your earlier post?

A simple yes or no will suffice.

First off apologies, the auld mobile broadband connection is a bit ropey today and I'm having to do frequent saves so if you quote my post it might wind up different tio what you've quoted - sorry, but it's due to technical difficulties beyond our control.

I'm not an apologist for Mick I'm not saying everything he's done or said are right, but if we're going to debate his interview, we'd be as well to have an accurate version of it to talk about.

First off apologies, the auld mobile broadband connection is a bit ropey today and I'm having to do frequent saves so if you quote my post it might wind up different tio what you've quoted - sorry, but it's due to technical difficulties beyond our control.

No worries. :)

I'm not an apologist for Mick I'm not saying everything he's done or said are right, but if we're going to debate his interview, we'd be as well to have an accurate version of it to talk about.

The problem is not from what I can perceive, his version of events/words previous, has now changed according to what been said by him already previously?

He could have saved himself all this latest mess by keeping his mouth shut - but then when it comes to interviews, he's not the first to like the sound of his voice and subsequently slip-up.

(Was the the auld mobile broadband connection on the drink too last night in Dublin?) :D

Nah, left the AVIVA & Dublin like totally compos mentis dude, collected my niece from my brother's house and dropped her off at her mammy's, then home to my verminous crouch, sorry, virginal couch :(

...then home to my verminous crouch, sorry, virginal couch :(

Its day will come - or at least its owner will some day soon! ;)