Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Treating myself to a Macbook Pro

• 05-10-2012 2:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

I just want to know what do you think of the spec. It's the 13 inch Macbook pro.
    After my whole life (since the age of nine!) using Windows I am making the jump to a Mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

Overpriced waste of money.

Why are you paying 1400 euro for a 13 inch laptop with crap spec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

Media999 wrote: »

I don't know, I heard they were good and had a long life span.

Lets be honest. Its all about the looks. :)

If you have to ask about them its probably not for you.

What i mean is there more for professionals. No offence but in your case its gonna be an overpriced netbook.

Have you seen any ultrabooks? There really thin and light laptops. 1000 would get you a good fast one with 3 year warranty. Id highly suggest going to somewhere that sells laptops and have a look at the ultrabooks then just get it cheaper with a 3 year warranty from laptopsdirect.

Have a look at this and see if you like the look of it. Its a lot cheaper and can be had with 3 year warranty for 650. Not hugely powerful but great for internet etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

Lets be honest. Its all about the looks. :)

If you have to ask about them its probably not for you.

What i mean is there more for professionals. No offence but in your case its gonna be an overpriced netbook.

Have you seen any ultrabooks? There really thin and light laptops. 1000 would get you a good fast one with 3 year warranty. Id highly suggest going to somewhere that sells laptops and have a look at the ultrabooks then just get it cheaper with a 3 year warranty from laptopsdirect.

Have a look at this and see if you like the look of it. Its a lot cheaper and can be had with 3 year warranty for 650. Not hugely powerful but great for internet etc.

Well, I think you might be right. But I have wanted one for ages and I still think they are an excellent machine. I just wanted to ask if people thought the 13 inch was good enough or if it would be worth saving up a bit more to get the ones with larger capacity etc.
    I think some people just don't like Apple and would try to talk me out of it, but...I still want one! Anyone that I know who has one has nothing but good things to say about it.

The whole fact you came on just to tell people you where buying one says to me that you dont care what it does once it has an Apple symbol on it.

just buy one.

Also its not that i dont like Apple it just makes no sense to me that someone would pay 1500 euro for a macbook thats the same as a 500 euro laptop and then pretend its based on anything but looks and status.

is there anything anyone could say here to change your mind. No. Youve already said your friends have made up your mind for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ruski

If you're sick of Windows, why not buy an ultrabook as mentioned above (Lenovo make some very nice ones) and install Ubuntu on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

So the film industry and the media power houses waste their money when they buy macs . ?? I doubt it .
    They are dearer granted but they last a lot longer . They are not as prone to the securities risks that windows seem to have .
    Their apps are very good as well .

I agree with one thing though don't buy a computer just because it looks well . ESP if you end up dropping it . Letting it fall into the bath or the novelty wears off .

I would go into a shop where both windows laptops are and MacBooks are and compare the main apps are on both. Get the sales guy to give u a demo . U will make a more informed decision then.

I have to state my allegiance to apple though . Never looked back once I changed from Dell .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Using one for the past few years. Find it miles miles better than the windows machines I used before. I've had no trouble and they last for years. They also look good. I could never go back to a PC. The 13 does me fine for anything I've thrown at it. I don't play games.

Janedoe10 wrote: »
    So the film industry and the media power houses waste their money when they buy macs . ?? I doubt it .

No thats exactly what macs are good for. Professionals.

And they certainly dont use 13" MBPs.

I agree with one thing though don't buy a computer just because it looks well . ESP if you end up dropping it . Letting it fall into the bath or the novelty wears off .
    #

Also what? :D:D

Why would you have a laptop in the bath? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭john hanrahan

Go for its a great machine, no other laptop has the same build quality
    It's easy to use the 13 inch is big enough for most people and the new spec is pretty good.

The alternative when you look at the detail is cheaper but it also looks and feels cheaper, except for the Lenovo which is the best of the rest

If you buy and don't like it the resale value is very good.

Don't mind the naysayers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

You could get a reasonable laptop with similar technical specs for half the price, one with better specs and an equally durable exterior build for about a grand at the most.

To answer your original question if you are set on a MacBook and have the cash there is little point in getting a more expensive one that the 13 inch for everyday usage.

It's easy to use the 13 inch is big enough for most people and the new spec is pretty good.

The alternative when you look at the detail is cheaper but it also looks and feels cheaper, except for the Lenovo which is the best of the rest

If you buy and don't like it the resale value is very good.

Don't mind the naysayers

Have you seen the Samsung 9 series?

Also good point about the resell value. Can be easily sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

What will you actually be using it for?

No thats exactly what macs are good for. Professionals.

And they certainly dont use 13" MBPs.

Please understand . Macs is the plural word . There are.comments here stating that people buy them for the looks only .

There are not just for one sector . Don't be so narrow minded . You have obviously never had to suffer from a visual or hearing disability and discovered his using a computer was diff or at least expensive when u pay extra for add ons. I have a family member who sees the laptop as her avenue to the whole world as although she cannot get outside that much she has the finger on the pulse . The computer has given her so much independence .

Each to their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

See, this is what I've seen lots of times. People go out and buy a budget laptop as their first one, most likely with a Celeron and barely enough ram. They'll have a horrible experience. Their friends will say, "you should have got a Mac, they're so much better". So they splash out 1300+ leafs on a Macbook and are completely blown away by the whole experience. Truth is if they spent much less on a decent Windows laptop they'd get a great experience too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭ressem

The OP will very probably prefer the mac and OS-X, the 20 odd people I know with them are happier with them (for work or home purposes).
    Though before clicking 'Buy' make sure to check the 'refurbished' section of the apple store. She could save a few hundred quid by getting last year's model which makes little difference performancewise.

I've only seen a couple of macs have an operating system problem. In contrast with windows, at this stage I can nearly recite the windows registry by heart due to having to dig cruft out of that benighted mess for 16 years.

The 13" retina isn't out yet so doesn't apply to OP, but only things to be wary of are...
    1. the batteries on newest 'Retina' model must be swapped by Apple experts. They're glued in. Do not trust it to the average 'good with computers' person.
    2. Memory on same is soldered in and not upgradable.
    http://www.macnewsworld.com/story/75378.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭digitaldr

I'm a sucker for a hi-res screen so would go for the 13 inch MacBook air over the MacBook pro if I had the money! Don't forget that you can go the duty free route too eg PC World on Dublin Airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

So the film industry and the media power houses waste their money when they buy macs . ??

The "film industry and media power houses" are now getting the very same hardware as anyone else. Since Adobe f*cked Apple sideways and poor old Stevie (God rest his soul, isn't today his anniversary?) had to go hat in hand to Intel, Apple is using the same hardware as any other OEM making Windows machines.
    they last a lot longer .

Wrong, in 2 or 3 years they're just as outdated as a Windows computer with the same specs.
    They are not as prone to the securities risks that windows seem to have .

That's why the lads and gals at Black Hat conventions regularly tearing Apple a new one.

LOL
    I would go into a shop where both windows laptops are and MacBooks are and compare the main apps are on both. Get the sales guy to give u a demo . U will make a more informed decision then.

You have no idea how much rubbish comes preinstalled on OEM machines these days. They put Apple to shame re preinstalled "Apps". :D

Anyhoo, you will be locked forever into Apple's ecosystem while the PC is still an open platform.

Any Dell Precision or ThinkPad T or X1 beats Apple quality (and service) hands down, at a price of course.

Please understand . Macs is the plural word . There are.comments here stating that people buy them for the looks only .

There are not just for one sector . Don't be so narrow minded . You have obviously never had to suffer from a visual or hearing disability and discovered his using a computer was diff or at least expensive when u pay extra for add ons. I have a family member who sees the laptop as her avenue to the whole world as although she cannot get outside that much she has the finger on the pulse . The computer has given her so much independence .

Each to their own

I dont understand your point.

is English your first language? Is this being run through a translator?

Can anyone else explain what this person means?

Obviously someone has a special needs laptop but i dont understand the rest.

Torqay wrote: »
    So the film industry and the media power houses waste their money when they buy macs . ??

The "film industry and media power houses" are now getting the very same hardware as anyone else. Since Adobe f*cked Apple sideways and poor old Stevie (God rest his soul, isn't today his anniversary?) had to go hat in hand to Intel, Apple is using the same hardware as any other OEM making Windows machines.
    they last a lot longer .

Wrong, in 2 or 3 years they're just as outdated as a Windows computer with the same specs.
    They are not as prone to the securities risks that windows seem to have .

That's why the lads and gals at Black Hat conventions regularly tearing Apple a new one.

LOL

You have no idea how much rubbish comes preinstalled on OEM machines these days. They put Apple to shame re preinstalled "Apps". :D

Anyhoo, you will be locked forever into Apple's ecosystem while the PC is still an open platform.

Any Dell Precision or ThinkPad T or X1 beats Apple quality (and service) hands down, at a price of course.

I'd say u will be only dying to get a new "mac". . Are u in sales torkay?

No, I'm not in sales.

And I wouldn't touch a "Mac" with a 12 ft barge pole if it is free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Macs are eye candy, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    See, this is what I've seen lots of times. People go out and buy a budget laptop as their first one, most likely with a Celeron and barely enough ram. They'll have a horrible experience. Their friends will say, "you should have got a Mac, they're so much better". So they splash out 1300+ leafs on a Macbook and are completely blown away by the whole experience. Truth is if they spent much less on a decent Windows laptop they'd get a great experience too.
    ^^^^^^^^ This.. Need a new lappie shortly and will be getting a good spec Windows machine. Have had absolutely zero problrms with my current machine which is a good spec windows one bought in 2007 (Obviously outdated now). MBP's are good, no doubt whatsoever, but above all else they are a triumph of marketing IMO. I have friends who have shelled out big money for them and are delighted with their purchase, but they are overpriced. People like the OP will continue to pay premium prices for slightly above average hardware and Apple will contine to make billions in profits, fair play to them. Personally i'd prefer a much higher spec laptop for 70% of the price but each to their own, the MBP's certainly look the part though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭SunDog

I've found my macbook great for work andas a personal computer, saying that if not for work I would use a different computer. All of the programs can be brought into the like of a dell with partitions. One thing I don't like is the enter into applies world then none other companies programs or hardware will be allowed. For security Mac dose have the edge in my view.

used to hate seeing this in windows, http://mrdoob.com/lab/javascript/effects/ie6/

borrowed from a boards member

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

SunDog wrote: »
    used to hate seeing this in windows, http://mrdoob.com/lab/javascript/effects/ie6/

That's what you get for using windows 98. Jaysis it's been years and years since I've seen that. Go back that many generations in Mac OS and see how you fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

That didn't take long. Ohh, be careful dear, your prejudices are showing!! :)
    ... I heard they were good and had a long life span.
    Whoever told you that was right. It's about the whole user experience - a Mac just does stuff, no tech needed and it just works and works.

There was a thread started by a guy who ran his MacBook unchanged and without any interruption to the heavy-duty work he was doing for 6+ years. No intrusions from the OS suggesting his computing world would end if he didn't install the latest dooh-dah / tech to be released. It only broke when he installed a bad piece of software. A couple of us got him running happily again fairly quickly.

As someone has already pointed out, as the platform of choice for creative work, the Mac empowers its users to achieve the objectives quickly, easily and reliably.

A couple of "Mac-facts" for you:
    • The first spread-sheet application, SuperCalc, was created on an Apple machine.
    • The first company to make laser-printers affordable to the home-user was Apple in cooperation with HP and Xerox Corp.
    Apple started out as innovators and they are still innovating their way to being on of the largest companies in the world, now worth more than Micro$oft, IBM and a couple of others combined.

I'd suggest you make the transition, you won't regret it and the Mac you buy will ease the transition for you with the built-in migration assistant(s).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Underspecced eye candy for overpaid finger-painters and credulous fashion victims.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Torqay wrote: »
    ... Anyhoo, you will be locked forever into Apple's ecosystem while the PC is still an open platform... .
    Windoze open? Get away outta that, are you smoking wacky baccy?

It's strange that I've been able to install generic UNIX stuff (without an emulator) and run it on a Mac (Intel or PowerPC) for years now that's open. With emulators I can run a whole bunch of other stuff, like Windoze XP Pro currently installed on my MacMini. That's not through choice, I'm helping someone out with a piece of software written for Windoze. The developer has high-tailed it and it's critical to my friend's business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

OP - you seem to have your mind made up. Have one question for you....do you have an iPhone? If so, you'll prob love the mac.....just like below :D
    mathepac wrote: »

This is what will happen to you if you turn :D
    SunDog wrote: »

borrowed from a boards member

I actually used to love getting this in Win98 - could draw some really trippy things with it........just perfect while talking a customer through a Windows reinstall lol
    MarkY91 wrote: »
    Macs are eye candy, nothing more.
    ^^^^^^^ wins it - either you want a computer that is cheap and easy to get into.............or you get a mac and then tell everyone about it ;)

I see the Apple fanboyz are up in arms. As for Apple being the great innovator, hear it right from your guru's mouth:

Windoze open? Get away outta that, are you smoking wacky baccy?

You, sir, apparently can't even read your quotes...

7mGmF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Colonel Panic

If you're going to get a Mac laptop and want a 13" screen, I would consider looking at a Macbook Air over a 13" Macbook Pro. The main reason would be the smaller form factor and higher resolution screen.

If you *do* get a Macbook Air get the most RAM and disk space as you can afford, they're not upgradable. If you do that, you'll get 3 or 4 years out of the machine.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I'd be right in saying 90% of people who knows anything about technology would never get a Mac for everyday surfing etc.. They're great for professionals and sure they look good.

If you want one, get one. You seem to be more interested in flaunting the Apple logo on it rather than getting the best machine for you or being in anyway concerned about being blindly ripped off.
    But honestly you can get a nice ultrabook plus a cheap netbook for the price, at the end of the day, it's your money and it's your choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Islander13

I just want to know what do you think of the spec. It's the 13 inch Macbook pro.
    After my whole life (since the age of nine!) using Windows I am making the jump to a Mac.

I jumped 2 years ago and have nothing but positive things to report. Yes more expensive but in my opinion the OS makes it worthwhile. You won't regret the move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Buying a mac for casual surfing is like buying a Ferrari to sit in your driveway.

I'm into music production and I still can't justify splashing out the price of a decent mac.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭Jumpaddict

Jesus whats with all the crossfire!

I use both platforms, windows and mac. I have a MacBook Pro15" and a Lenovo 15". The Mac is sleek, quiet and simple to use for beginners. The Lenovo is exactly the same! Difference is preference, if you have the cash and it will make you smile then buy the Mac, otherwise save a few quid and buy the Lenovo!

mickeyk wrote: »
    above average hardware

Your joking right?

Since when is 1400 for a 13" laptop with 4GB ram and an i5 with integrated graphics above average Hardware?

Exactly what part is above average? The Apple symbol?

Unless your leaving price aside and comparing a 2.5k laptop to a 500 euro laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Your joking right?

Since when is 1400 for a 13" laptop with 4GB ram and an i5 with integrated graphics above average Hardware?

Unless your leaving price aside and comparing a 2.5k laptop to a 500 euro laptop.

You realise 4GB ram is **** all nowadays, 13" is tiny, integrated graphics are relatively useless and an i5 (different versions of i5s of course) are pretty standard

Although, just looking at previous posts, I think you mean that the hardware isn't above average at all, which I agree with

above average hardware

Your joking right?

Was referring to build quality and reliability rather than components

Serious question. Not getting on your case but what are you actually basing that on?

How many 1500 euro laptops have you owned or are you like everyone else comparing a 1500 mac to a 500 euro laptop?

Have you maybe worked somewhere that you would be able to give an educated answer on Reliability?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

Apple started out as innovators and they are still innovating their way to being on of the largest companies in the world, now worth more than Micro$oft, IBM and a couple of others combined.

Apple started out with an acid taking thief who stole from his own business partner / best friend. Ofcourse Microsoft didn't start out much better :)

Serious question. Not getting on your case but what are you actually basing that on?

How many 1500 euro laptops have you owned or are you like everyone else comparing a 1500 mac to a 500 euro laptop?

Have you maybe worked somewhere that you would be able to give an educated answer on Reliability?
    I have a laptop that cost well over a grand in 2007 and will shortly be buying one for about 1100 that would spank a mbp into next week in terms of spec. I have used both btw, but have never owned a Mbp myself, I do have an iPad though. I think they are up there in terms of build quality, but are still massively overpriced. Not a mac fanatic at all so don't know why you jumped on my post. As I stated earlier there are far better specced machines available for less money, it's down to flaunting the apple logo after that for most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I don't know, Macs are lovely pieces of hardware, and up until pretty recently you weren't really able to get machines that would compare to the unibody. Now, most manufacturers have gone that route, and have gone the non replaceable battery route, with aluminium cases and other design cues that apple made popular.

They're expensive, and not really for me, but at the same time I find it hard to slam them as much as people do on here. If you like them, and you have the cash and it's what you really want...why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Whoever told you that was right. It's about the whole user experience - a Mac just does stuff, no tech needed and it just works and works.

Are you still trotting out this propoganda?

As I recall
    mitosis wrote: »
    Welcome to buzzwords.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056746622

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056749116

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056745271

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056743408

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056743046

It would be just as accurate to say "It works, just"

You were very helpful to the OP with all your answers, there was just no need for the Apple mantra at the end, because, let's face it, Macs are no less prone to not working than any other PC.

Best of luck, OP, whatever you decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

I don't know, Macs are lovely pieces of hardware, and up until pretty recently you weren't really able to get machines that would compare to the unibody. Now, most manufacturers have gone that route, and have gone the non replaceable battery route, with aluminium cases and other design cues that apple made popular.

They're expensive, and not really for me, but at the same time I find it hard to slam them as much as people do on here. If you like them, and you have the cash and it's what you really want...why not?

I agree. I think the problem is the devotees/disciples with their blinkered "just works" crap and their "windoze" etc winds people up. Imagine going into the Apple forum and saying "Muc", or "Apple, it bites". You'd be reported, you'd be carded.

I have a laptop that cost well over a grand in 2007 and will shortly be buying one for about 1100 that would spank a mbp into next week in terms of spec. I have used both btw, but have never owned a Mbp myself, I do have an iPad though. I think they are up there in terms of build quality, but are still massively overpriced. Not a mac fanatic at all so don't know why you jumped on my post. As I stated earlier there are far better specced machines available for less money, it's down to flaunting the apple logo after that for most people.

Wasnt getting on your case. Apologies if i sounded like that. Hard to not sound like that in this situation.

Im just curious to know how people all come to the conclusion that Macs have better reliability when in fact they are the same or less parts than Laptops. Only thing different is the OS and case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I have two MBP 13" machines, 2009 and 2011 builds, they do exactly what i want and have survived life in my travel bag, thats a lot more than i can say about the Acer, Compaq, Dell that i had before them.

If the OP wants one, and can afford it, then go for it.

smurfjed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

smurfjed wrote: »
    I have two MBP 13" machines, 2009 and 2011 builds, they do exactly what i want and have survived life in my travel bag, thats a lot more than i can say about the Acer, Compaq, Dell that i had before them.

If the OP wants one, and can afford it, then go for it.

smurfjed
    And you probably got the 3 of them for less than the MBP.

It's been done to death. Compare a Mac with a PC of similar price, not a run of the mill, off the shelf in Tesco PC.

cambo2008 wrote: »
    And you probably got the 3 of them for less than the MBP.

It's been done to death. Compare a Mac with a PC of similar price, not a run of the mill, off the shelf in Tesco PC.

Next they will be claiming where all just jealous. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I started off with Windows for Workgroups 3.1, Windows 95, 98, NT4, ME, 2000 and XP (which still runs on desktop on 1 netbook), I gave up when Vista arrived as it was getting too costly. So for me the change to Mac had as much to do with software as aesthetics.

I just noticed that the upgrade to Windows 8 will cost me $40, this is a big difference to the $150-300 that each upgrade used to cost.

smurfjed