Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McDonalds and how popular it is

• 03-10-2012 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭trixyben

I personally dont like McDonalds and it would the last place i would think of going for something to eat, most of the food is bland and tasteless, the portion sizes are ridiculous if you were starving you could eat 2 or 3 main meals, the stuff is very unhealthy and just mass produced crap imo...

My local McDonalds is always packed out the door and the drive through queue is always packed every single day, from families to kids parties people go back time and time again, even though it has been shown how unhealthy the food is people return again and again, only thing I can think of is it the price that attracts people with the euro savers menus etc or the marketing that keeps people coming back?

So what is your opinion on McDonalds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Scutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

It tastes great but it's not very filling so I rarely eat it. Sames goes for Supermacs and Burger King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Occasionally I'll have a Big Mac and a bottle of juice, no fries.
    It's lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Nah, Burger King is where it's at! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I don't really like McDonalds or any fast food place at all.

But try telling me that after a night out of heavy drinking when I'm in the corner buried in a Supermacs snack box :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I don't get why some people seem to have so much hate for McDonalds. It's no worse than other fast food places. At least they're upfront and put the nutritional information on their trays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

1ZRed wrote: »
    I don't really like McDonalds or any fast food place at all.

But try telling me that after a night out of heavy drinking when I'm in the corner buried in a Supermacs snack box :o

Good one...you walk into McDonalds with your Supermacs snack box and sit there and secretly eat it in the corner....that'll show em....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I would describe it as more of a snack then as full meal to keep you ticking over for the day..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Bleaching agent used in foamed plastics like yoga mats and shoe soles found in McDonald's McRib sandwich. :eek:

http://www.naturalnews.com/037352_McRib_sandwich_yoga_mats_chemicals.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

corktina wrote: »
    Good one...you walk into McDonalds with your Supermacs snack box and sit there and secretly eat it in the corner....that'll show em....
    In fairness, that would require a lot of thought and self awareness to pull off if you've had too many :P

If I was pushed to rank them I'd say KFC was best followed by Burger King, Supermacs and then McDonalds.
    But when you're drunk, you're drunk and don't really give a fuck as long as it's edible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't get why some people seem to have so much hate for McDonalds. It's no worse than other fast food places. At least they're upfront and put the nutritional information on their trays.

They are quite transparent in how they operate. At least they have been for the last number of years. They even post up vids explaining how they photograph their food for adverts etc so that people can see what goes into it.

I like McDonalds as a business and it's not bad either for the odd 'meal' imo. I'd sooner eat their stuff every so often than the MSG laden, questionably cooked crap you get in most local chinese/indian takeaways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It's predictable and people like it. Somehow McD's seems to attract a disproportionate amount of negative attention. If you don't like McD's just don't go.

Many people have started their working lives in McD's and gone on to have very successful careers. I hate it when people use working in McD's as some sort of slur.

*wipes tears from face and continues mopping up discarded gherkins*

I'd eat there the odd time (Cheese burger happy meal with the happiness removed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I haven't had a mcdonalds in a long time, but if I was near one more often I probably would. Tasty enough stuff depending on what you get. Double cheeseburger with big mac dressing, with a chicken sandwich between the two beef pattys. Mmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Stuff is nice and its really really fast. But its not that filling for dirt food compared to stuff from the local chipper. I'd pop in the odd time just because its so convenient though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Much prefer supermacs, but that just identifies me as a culchie[].oddly enough I was in a macdonalds for the first time in years last week,and while I'd no longing for the food I wolfed it down. I'd expand further, but that possibly should be taken to the conspiracy forum :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Personally I'm not a fan of their product but you can't argue with their popularity. They're a global brand who have infiltrated nearly every world market.

Amazing to think that it started with two brothers opening a restaurant in a small city in California.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

you wouldn't want to eat a Big Mac more than once a day, well twice at a push and only then if you had a Apple Pie to follow. mmmm mmm mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

I dont like traditional McDonalds fare e,g big macs..but the breakfast does the job once in a blue moon and some of the special burgers they do from time to time are tasty..but it would be my last choice in the choice of typical US burger joints..
    1 kfc
    2 eddie rocket
    3 bk
    4 mcdonalds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

Amazing to think that it started with two brothers opening a restaurant in a small city in California.

Not really, pretty much everything that got big, started small.

The hatred McDonalds get is most likely a manifestation of an anti-American sentiment. McDonalds are perceived as a US brand similar to how Guinness is perceived as an Irish brand.

The relentless marketing could also be construed as an irritant.

So to the arguably subversive way that they target their unhealthy meal offerings at children by including toys with the meals etc. This creates a 'pester your mommy' scenario, which isnt any help to a parent trying to instill healthy eating habits in to their children.

In its favour, there is a consistency about its food so that you know what you're getting when you order it no matter where you are*. You can also expect a certain standard of hygiene and traceability.

*I know there are some regional variations on the menu across the world

Bottom line, the food may be cheap, but we're all going to be paying out a long for the increases in heart disease and diabetes cases due to or exacerbated by the fast food culture which McDonalds is the mother of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I would say I have a McD's about four times a year. Pass by a shop and think to myself that I haven't had one in ages so it would be nice for a change. More times than not I leave disappointed and then leave it for another three months before trying again.

Proper Italian chipper FTW. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Head to Supermacs

They sell chips, not these skinny little yokes that McDonalds charge full price for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Had a Big Mac meal yesterday, first time in a McDonalds in maybe 3 months.

The current ad with the farmer got to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 selenawolf

I love the breakfast especially the hashbrown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

McDonalds do lovely warm pancakes with maple syrup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

I love it.. I wouldn't go that often, maybe once every few weeks. I can't stand Burger King though, their chips are nasty. xD Supermacs is pretty good also, but if I hadta choose it'd be McDonalds everytime. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Only ever get food there when I'm drunk in town,usually stumble into the one on Grafton Street at 2am on a Saturday night.

Friend of mine works in the drive through of one restaurant and says that a massively overweight family uses the drive thru 3 times every single day.She reckons the kid is 2 or so but weighs about 7 stone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

I once had four large Big Mac meals in the space of three hours. Got a massive craving now so might head to the drive-thru....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Bob_the_dog

If u are anywhere in the world and stuck for a quick bite on the run, McD is very handy and you can more or less rely on not getting food poisoning

I can't remember when I was last in an Irish one thou, can't beat the local chipper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I do enjoy a nice mcflurry and apple pie. And the wraps aren't bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,319 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

They're grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Big fan of McDonald's, I like their food it's tasty and cheap and it fills mep. Burger king is manky, their food is just rotten and their burgers are full of grizzle. Super macs is quite nice and they do the nicest desserts. McDonalds would win everytime for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

corktina wrote: »

I did that after a night out, got a bacon double cheeseburger in BK on O' Connell St, my friend wanted a Big Mac so I just went into McDonalds & ate my BK burger in there. No fuss, no muss.

McDonalds is fukn gross. Bleh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭WanabeOlympian

Ever since I found out about how 'fast' food is made, that is, how the meat is produced in chicken nuggets etc... I haven't been able to go near the stuff. Found out about it about a year and half ago...

http://www.vegsource.com/news/2010/10/this-is-what-chicken-mcnuggets-looks-like----seriously.html

By the way, they use these same machines in Ireland. A friend's dad told me he used to sell them. All the fast food places use the same stuff, not just mc donald's. And now the choice is yours!! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FrogMarch

Ever since I found out about how 'fast' food is made, that is, how the meat is produced in chicken nuggets etc... I haven't been able to go near the stuff. Found out about it about a year and half ago...

http://www.vegsource.com/news/2010/10/this-is-what-chicken-mcnuggets-looks-like----seriously.html

By the way, they use these same machines in Ireland. A friend's dad told me he used to sell them. All the fast food places use the same stuff, not just mc donald's. And now the choice is yours!! ;-)

The mechanically separated chicken thing is a myth in fairness.

I would eat a McD's maybe twice a year. Little or no harm in that. I know people who eat the stuff once or more a week. Red flags there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭niallu

Well i started working in McD's at the age of 16 and continued working there throughout school & Uni....even for a couple of months full time after while saving to go travelling.

I must say, it was one of the best places to work, I was very well looked after in the franchise, like extra holidays coming up to exams etc etc, and would always look after you. (some of the company stores may have been different) but from experience, that McDonalds had a lower staff turnover than my previous employer (global bank)....which says something.

As for the food....yeah it's mass produced but your not paying for michelin star restaurant.

They have alot of higher standards for cleanliness & hygiene than other places (by a long shot than similar competitors).

And one of the best things about it, is the amount of money it pumps into ireland using our beef, milk, lettuce, tomatoes etc etc, anything that can be sourced in Ireland is.

For that reason, i wouldn't have a bad word said about it.....after 9 pints on a Friday night though....i'd prob head for a burger king... as i'm too used to McD's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭N64

This is false. McDonalds in Ireland never used it and the McD's branches in the US have stopped serving it for a few years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Well if the vegans say it's disgusting and unethical then it must be true.

To me it's proficient use of a raw material. How is processing it in any way more unethical than disposing of perfectly nutritious meat and only using choice cuts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

It's cheap and fast, it's excellent for a family to give to kids as a treat because of those reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Isn't all of the beef and chicken in McDonalds in Ireland produced in Ireland? Their burgers are very good, I've always found.

Just wondering then why they sell the machines in Ireland and the food safety authority have guidelines...?

http://www.fsai.ie/legislation/food_legislation/minced_meat/hygiene.html

People will still eat it though, in US anyway. Personally I wouldn't eat the stuff, nor would I trust it. It's a lot cheaper to cook up something yourself at home that's actually good for you and tasty.

Jamie Oliver fail!:-)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=S9B7im8aQjo#!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Ah jaysus you've not had a McFlurry - love them.

I do like their chicken wraps and McChicken Sandwich but that's all I get. A trip every month or two won't harm anyone, but if people are going everyday they need to look at themselves, its not McDonald's fault these idiots can't or won't cook for themselves.

Well if the vegans say it's disgusting and unethical then it must be true.

To me it's proficient use of a raw material. How is processing it in any way more unethical than disposing of perfectly nutritious meat and only using choice cuts?

Ah the vegan site i linked was just where I found the info. It's been on loads of sites not aren't vegan or whatever. Nor am I a vegan or veggie. That's besides the point.

Well, one way of cutting down on obesity would be to produce a 30 second add showing the Irish people how they make the fast food and the 'perfectly nutritious meat' they don't waste. I agree, if you want to eat that, sure, go ahead. But the fact most people think it's 'good cuts' is misleading, no?

I've had mc donalds a good few times in the past but i coudn't go near the stuff now. Because I know how it's made now. I think everyone has the right to choice and more should be informed in a government advisory campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Local one is full of 'leisure daywear Mums & Dads' with scarily young *and* obese children, if you're under twelve and your chin is now built into your neck, well done, you've quite probably burdened your kids for life.

I know it is crap food, I know I might as well be packing putty into my arteries.. but.. Double cheeseburger (hands over €2) (to eat here, thank you), so hard to resist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

KFC - Fackin lovely - cert hangover cure too!!

McDs wouldnt fill a hole in your tooth!And apparently the chips dissolve in vinegar... thats why they dont sell it!*

So Ive heard..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

opposite of a treat for me. Only if I'm properly stuck for food. Even the very drunken version of me will go hungry instead of the stuff. About two times a year I have a supermacs, and I enjoy it, but I think once every few months is more than enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

If you are going to eat food from a restaurant - you really won't find better standard quality/cleanliness standards than you do at McDonalds. I don't know why people want to believe this stuff about it being plastic or dirty or whatever.

I've worked in a handful of restaurants, including McDonalds, and seriously, it was the cleanest and had the strictest guidelines for throwing out unacceptable food. I'd take it over some bed and breakfast (or even my Mum's own cooking) in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

trixyben wrote: »
    I personally dont like McDonalds and it would the last place i would think of going for something to eat, most of the food is bland and tasteless, the portion sizes are ridiculous if you were starving you could eat 2 or 3 main meals, the stuff is very unhealthy and just mass produced crap imo...

My local McDonalds is always packed out the door and the drive through queue is always packed every single day, from families to kids parties people go back time and time again, even though it has been shown how unhealthy the food is people return again and again, only thing I can think of is it the price that attracts people with the euro savers menus etc or the marketing that keeps people coming back?

So what is your opinion on McDonalds?
    "Popularity is the hallmark of mediocrity" - Niles Crane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FrogMarch

Sinfonia wrote: »
    "Popularity is the hallmark of mediocrity" - Niles Crane

You are superior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Supermacs or an Italian chipper are the only job.

Can't stand Burger king, McDonalds would do at a push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Jacksquat

Some people don't like that they are everywhere but I like that about them. Especially if you have been away from home for a long time in a non western country. The Golden Arches are never too far away with a comforting glow and will always offer something easy for your stomach.