Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there Appetite for demonstration?

• 03-10-2012 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭

Usually the Irish roll over and take what they are given, this is changing slowly but most people are too (well not sure this is the right word) polite to complain.

I certainly have the appetite to complain if there was another march organised, I thought the United Left were going to start one pre budget however haven't seen details.

I know it will achieve nothing apart from a couple of minutes on Euronews maybe. However they are going to squeeze me more this year where there isn't much left to squeeze to be honest, where is the joy in working hard and enjoying the rewards? There are very little rewards at the end of the month. Maybe I don't work hard if I make time to post on boards :)

Junior bond holders who bought out other bond holders for fractions of their worth get paid full on AIB bonds, and the bank announce .5% on variable rates the next day. Childrens allowance is being mentioned now around the news channels to get people used to it being cut in December, next week something else will be leaked or mentioned by the Trioka to justify it being cut by the Government in the Budget.

The Government will be be happy with Public Sector people get hammered by private sector on forums or news snippets and Middle income families will give out about people receiving social protection allowances and everyone else will give out about the fat cats, meanwhile Fuel prices drive prices up everywhere, people will be stuck in housing not suitable for their needs, families will go hungry, hospitals will close, Gardai stations will close, bus routes will close, old people will be cold and not get hot meals, seriously ill children will die.

The odd person who can generate public interest will get what they want be it some revolutionary new drug or reprieve on a service been lost because of some TD with power makes it happen at the 11th hour, these will generate lots of news space while the voiceless people which there are many will suffer.

I vented but don't feel any better, maybe a nice cold March through our streets would, I'll wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Usually the Irish roll over and take what they are given, this is changing slowly but most people are too (well not sure this is the right word) polite to complain.

I certainly have the appetite to complain if there was another march organised, I thought the United Left were going to start one pre budget however haven't seen details.

I know it will achieve nothing apart from a couple of minutes on Euronews maybe. However they are going to squeeze me more this year where there isn't much left to squeeze to be honest, where is the joy in working hard and enjoying the rewards? There are very little rewards at the end of the month. Maybe I don't work hard if I make time to post on boards :)

Junior bond holders who bought out other bond holders for fractions of their worth get paid full on AIB bonds, and the bank announce .5% on variable rates the next day. Childrens allowance is being mentioned now around the news channels to get people used to it being cut in December, next week something else will be leaked or mentioned by the Trioka to justify it being cut by the Government in the Budget.

The Government will be be happy with Public Sector people get hammered by private sector on forums or news snippets and Middle income families will give out about people receiving social protection allowances and everyone else will give out about the fat cats, meanwhile Fuel prices drive prices up everywhere, people will be stuck in housing not suitable for their needs, families will go hungry, hospitals will close, Gardai stations will close, bus routes will close, old people will be cold and not get hot meals, seriously ill children will die.

The odd person who can generate public interest will get what they want be it some revolutionary new drug or reprieve on a service been lost because of some TD with power makes it happen at the 11th hour, these will generate lots of news space while the voiceless people which there are many will suffer.

I vented but don't feel any better, maybe a nice cold March through our streets would, I'll wait and see.
    I honestly think that people are still too worried about what will happen if mass demonstrations ensue to actually go out and demonstrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

A lot of people are living well and not really suffering much.

Not yet anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Also a fair few have left these shores, having taken the traditional route of emigration and as a side effect dampened down somewhat social pressure for change.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

What would marching achieve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

oscarBravo wrote: »
    What would marching achieve?

Possible change in government policy I think the OP was suggesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Kurz wrote: »

Like it or not, there is probably little or no alternative to the policies curently being implemented. If the IMF/EU had their full say the policies would be even worse, IMO.

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Like it or not, there is probably little or no alternative to the policies curently being implemented. If the IMF/EU had their full say the policies would be even worse, IMO.

I think there are plenty of alternatives, (OAPs forced an alternative when they marched) but you're right in that the government are not interested in hearing about/implementing any of them ... unless they're forced to.

Thing is - Irish people don't really give a **** as long as it doesn't affect them personally. I'm guilty of this myself. 2009 was hell for me, 2010 was tough, but 2011 and 2012 have been quite good and probably better than any of the Celtic Tiger years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

I'm all for changing the definition of the political center in Irish politics, but right now the only people who protest are the hard left who are by definition impervious to subtle arguments or looking at politics with a view to what can actually be achieved rather than what you'd like if the real world were like your dreams. The greens went into government as idealistic environmentalists with a social conscience. They didn't lose that, but they faced up to the reality of the Irish economic situation which was and is profoundly dire. People need to realise the seriousness of our predicament. Frankly I don't think we're doing too badly, things could be much worse. Government is still providing public services and paying the payroll. People are still buying things. Children still go to school. If you're sick, you still get seen at the hospital. Is it optimal? No. But under present circumstances things could be much worse. I fear too few Irish people have enough perspective.

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    I think there are plenty of alternatives, (OAPs forced an alternative when they marched)...
    Yes: they forced the savings that would have been made by asking pensioners who could afford to do so to pay for their own medical care to be found elsewhere. Good result for wealthy pensioners; bad result for the country.

It's all very well for a single interest group to march and demand that they be exempted from austerity measures, but if you're looking for a complete shift in government policy, how will marching achieve that?

The problem with a public demonstration is that it's basically a "down with this sort of thing" gesture. It doesn't offer an alternative; it's democracy by heckling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Who said demonstration is just about changing policy with regard to the budget?

I'd be interested in a large scale protest campaign to end the endless double standards and inequality between ordinary people and the elite. No I don't mean in terms of wealth, I mean in terms of preferential treatment.

The fact, for example, that Bertie Ahern is still claiming expenses from the exchequer despite no longer working for us is an absolute disgrace.
    The fact that nobody is being held to account over abuses in the financial sector is a disgrace.
    The fact that those in charge are governed by totally different rules to the rest of us (remember Enda giving his advisors a salary boost in direct violation of the government's own caps?) is an absolute disgrace.

All of these things can be solved very easily. Not all grievances are to do with the actual state of the economy, some are to do with injustice, and I mean injustice in the sense of violating the "all men are created equal" principle.

In this country (and others), if you are part of a certain social circle you have more influence on how the country is run, and you get more perks, than others who are not. That needs to change, and I would support raising hell on earth to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

The CPA means the unions are bought off so no big demonstrations from them for the time being at least. Other groups have been marching but ignored by the media. The weekly Ballyhea march have had camera crews from all around Europe, TD's and economists attend yet RTE haven't bothered covering any of them.

The 1 billion unsecured AIB bond payment on Monday didn't make the six one news or any of the RTE or Newstalk news bulletins I heard anyway. Calories in Chinese food and a horse fair got segments though.
    There were protests at a few branches around the country two branches in Dublin were shut down. None of this made the news only the Journal did a bit about it. The Irish Times has a story late that night on their website but nothing in the print edition.

Maybe the reason there isn't more protesting is because people aren't being informed about whats going on and our media are failing us once again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Demonstration about what exactly? Croke Park agreement?

Forgetting about the bank bailouts we have a ridiculously high deficit because the previous and current governments chose to protect a minority of the population to the detriment of the rest of society.

I'd be happy to demonstrate against the Croke Park Agreement.

juan.kerr wrote: »

Forgetting about the bank bailouts we have a ridiculously high deficit because the previous and current governments chose to protect a minority of the population to the detriment of the rest of society.

What exactly would you aim to achieve by demonstrating about the CPA and how would you go about making your feelings known?
    (It's very easy to be a keyboard warrior)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Junior bond holders who bought out other bond holders for fractions of their worth get paid full on AIB bonds, and the bank announce .5% on variable rates the next day.

They are getting cocky now with their treatment of the public. They didn't even try to hide the link between the two. They are just not concerned at all with the public or of any protests happening.

1 billion paid to AIB bondholders and the next day they ramp up the interest rates. Such contempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

But not the legacy debt of the bank bailout.. tut tut tut. This is why we have historically been walked over. Irish people have a tendency to turn on each other and get insanely jealous if their neighbour is doing better than them. Forget about massive injustice.. I don't like Nora the nurse not suffering like me. How sad some people are in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

kippy wrote: »
    What exactly would you aim to achieve by demonstrating about the CPA and how would you go about making your feelings known?
    (It's very easy to be a keyboard warrior)

Whose being a keyboard warrior? All I said was I'd demonstrate, meaning I'd hold a placard and say 'Down with that' or similar. I didn't say I'd tear up the paving stones and chuck them at the Dail.

Ideally I'd like to see it scrapped and a round of real benchmarking introduced.

You've been watching too many arab spring riots on TV I'm afraid.

Whose being a keyboard warrior? All I said was I'd demonstrate, meaning I'd hold a placard and say 'Down with that' or similar. I didn't say I'd tear up the paving stones and chuck them at the Dail.

Ideally I'd like to see it scrapped and a round of real benchmarking introduced.

You've been watching too many arab spring riots on TV I'm afraid.

So what's stopping you?
    My comments or questions had nothing to do with arab spring riots either btw.

...and there would (presumably) be counter-demonstrations from public servants anxious to preserve the agreement.

Therein lies the difficulty. It was easy for the pensioners to protest; all they wanted was for someone else - some vague, unnamed others - to continue to pay for a benefit they enjoyed. But if you protest to demand cuts to public service pay or social welfare, you'll be faced with an equally vigorous protest from those people you seek to target. Absent a unified front, a protest won't achieve anything.

The pensioners' protest was successful largely because the government feared the loss of votes if they didn't back down. Therein lies the key: not the protest per se, but the message it carries - we'll vote for someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

20Cent wrote: »
    The CPA means the unions are bought off so no big demonstrations from them for the time being at least. Other groups have been marching but ignored by the media. The weekly Ballyhea march have had camera crews from all around Europe, TD's and economists attend yet RTE haven't bothered covering any of them.

The 1 billion unsecured AIB bond payment on Monday didn't make the six one news or any of the RTE or Newstalk news bulletins I heard anyway. Calories in Chinese food and a horse fair got segments though.
    There were protests at a few branches around the country two branches in Dublin were shut down. None of this made the news only the Journal did a bit about it. The Irish Times has a story late that night on their website but nothing in the print edition.

Maybe the reason there isn't more protesting is because people aren't being informed about whats going on and our media are failing us once again?

That right there is in fact a very serious problem - the stranglehold over the media that pro-government elements have means that we just don't hear/see what they don't want us to hear/see

Tonight on RTE News we have lightweight coverage of Reilly's "explanations" in the Dail, that awful story about the missing little girl in Wales, more property price/buying waffle, more banking screw ups, skimmed over the latest unemployment stats, brief mention of another 90 job cuts, and a rather inappropriate piece about millionaires buying expensive horses yet to come??

Yes: they forced the savings that would have been made by asking pensioners who could afford to do so to pay for their own medical care to be found elsewhere. Good result for wealthy pensioners; bad result for the country.

Yep, I agree with you - no doubt.
    This kind of thing is wrong imo.

But in reference to your original question "What would marching achieve?"
    Well, look what it achieved - The OAPs still forced the alternative.
    There was an alternative - they made sure of it!

So 'what does marching achieve'?
    It makes your particular or your groups particular point of view heard and forces the government to react.
    It's all very well for a single interest group to march and demand that they be exempted from austerity measures, but if you're looking for a complete shift in government policy, how will marching achieve that?

That was my [not very well made] point.
    The Irish government tend to focus on single groups.

Homeowners will pay property tax, but I won't [yet].
    You have a new financial burden, I don't.
    Yet we both expect to avail of the same services...

Shouldn't we all pay a local authority charge?
    No - not in Ireland. Let's just focus on you and your group.
    As long as I'm not hit in the pocket - I don't give a toss.

One big difference between Ireland and other countries in Europe - is that we Irish have little concept of 'society'.
    The problem with a public demonstration is that it's basically a "down with this sort of thing" gesture. It doesn't offer an alternative; it's democracy by heckling.

I disagree here.
    First, Ireland has the lowest score in Western Europe for local democracy & Ireland doesn't have a recall system of any type.
    So short of going the "Armalite + ballet box route" - How else would you propose the electorate makes their voice heard?

And secondly, lots of constructive alternatives have been proposed to the government, time and time again. It doesn't matter. They're not interested in any of them.
    Nobody expects them to listen to the Narnia economics policies of the ULA - the problem is - they don't fecking listen to anybody!

So short of going the "Armalite + ballet box route" - How else would you propose the electorate makes their voice heard?
    Through the ballot box alone. Don't wait for an election - find out when your local TDs' clinics are held, go down there and tell them that your vote in the next election will be predicated solely and only on political reform, because it's the only thing that will actually make a difference. If the TD is a government TD, tell them that they were elected on the strength of a promise to introduce political reform, and that they're heading fast for the bottom of your ballot paper in the next election if they don't get their act together.

Contact your local town and/or county councillors and tell them the same thing; that you'll use your vote in the next local elections as a protest against the lack of progress in political reform. Tell your MEPs the same thing. Make them understand - politely, firmly, and face to face - that it's the single most important issue that matters.

And most importantly, get lots of other people to do the same thing. If enough people do it, the message will get across. If not enough people do it, it won't, and we'll continue to have the system of government we deserve.

It may not be as cathartic as a street protest, or garner the same headlines, but do we want catharsis and headlines, or do we want change?

Through the ballot box alone. Don't wait for an election - find out when your local TDs' clinics are held, go down there and tell them that your vote in the next election will be predicated solely and only on political reform, because it's the only thing that will actually make a difference. If the TD is a government TD, tell them that they were elected on the strength of a promise to introduce political reform, and that they're heading fast for the bottom of your ballot paper in the next election if they don't get their act together.

Contact your local town and/or county councillors and tell them the same thing; that you'll use your vote in the next local elections as a protest against the lack of progress in political reform. Tell your MEPs the same thing. Make them understand - politely, firmly, and face to face - that it's the single most important issue that matters.

And most importantly, get lots of other people to do the same thing. If enough people do it, the message will get across. If not enough people do it, it won't, and we'll continue to have the system of government we deserve.

It may not be as cathartic as a street protest, or garner the same headlines, but do we want catharsis and headlines, or do we want change?
    Totally in agreement with this post. Well said.

No offence, but this is dreamland stuff.

Countless people have done this.
    It hasn't had any impact.
    It doesn't change anything. It never did. Not in Ireland.

I'm not going to explain to you what the whip is - because you already know.

Decision in Ireland are taken are cabinet level.
    If you want to force change, you make a headline. That's the way it has always been in Ireland.

No offence, but this is dreamland stuff.
    Go stand in the street and shout yourself hoarse, so. Let me know when you've made a difference.

A trite reply, and not precisely the alternative course of action being discussed - was it?

Did a single OAP stand in the street and shout himself hoarse?

Let me go back in time and Daniel O Connell of your discovery (right back at you :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Toshchiy Imperatritsy Vselennoy

Kurz wrote: »

Look at what it has done to Spain Italy and Greece...out of all the PIGS we are doing the best.

Our economy would get worse.

Political activity and litigation is the way forward.

You need to bring it to councillors TD's and MEP's AND at a cabinet level.

A trite reply, and not precisely the alternative course of action being discussed - was it?

Did a single OAP stand in the street and shout himself hoarse?

Let me go back in time and Daniel O Connell of your discovery (right back at you :rolleyes:)

Why are people using the OAP's as a sign of what protesting can achieve?

Let's be fair here, those putting that position across have absolutely no understanding of the problems facing our country.

Also, don't any of you think that it wasn't just the OAP's marches and protests that forced the cuts on someone else?

If there's one thing to be said for OAP's it's that they usually have the time and wherewithall to approach their locally elected representatives and tell them exactly, on a one to one basis what will happen if their demands are not met.

The issue that effected the OAP's was miniscule.

A trite reply...
    As was yours to me, to be fair.

Yes, I understand the whip system, and I understand all too well the lack of separation of powers that renders the legislative branch all but useless. So you need to persuade the cabinet that it's in their interest to implement the change you desire.

Which do you think it's easier for a government minister to ignore - a bunch of people waving placards on Kildare Street, or fifty frightened backbenchers who have been inundated with visits from constituents demanding political reform?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

"I'll march/protest - if someone else organises it."

As was yours to me, to be fair.

I apologize if offence was taken, that wasn't my intention.

Yes, I understand the whip system, and I understand all too well the lack of separation of powers that renders the legislative branch all but useless. So you need to persuade the cabinet that it's in their interest to implement the change you desire.

Precisely.

Now... how do you propose people do that?

There is no local democracy.
    There is no recall system.

What do you propose, aside from speaking to your TD?

The above question is the important part - but let me address your proposal.
    How many people have spoken to their TD about the Croke Park Agreement? About the household charge? Shall I tell you?

I can't! Because I don't know. Neither do you. Probably not even the TD themselves knows. And you can be damn sure they will keep it quiet.

When you speak to your TD, nobody will ever know about it.
    How many people spoke to their TD before Fianna Fail were booted out of office? I don't know. Neither do you.

It's all anonymous. You have to wait for the next General Election, just to have a voice.

You can of course come on here and post your letter, you'll get a few thanks, then you'll get a bunch of people asking you - who do you think you are? what are you trying to achieve? (If I had a cent for every time I've seen this over the last few years on boards...)

You can start a blog.

Or you could organize a large rally - like the OAPs (or park your cherry picker outside Dail Eireann! )
    Which do you think it's easier for a government minister to ignore - a bunch of people waving placards on Kildare Street, or fifty frightened backbenchers who have been inundated with visits from constituents demanding political reform?

Easy.
    The fifty backbenchers.

At our last government, the backbenchers were up in arms, yet they were directed by the Whip. Fianna Fail were smashed.

The OAPs kicked up a storm and the government listened to them.

Case in point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

TBH and I may be wrong, but the OAP's have a relatively big voting bloc( and farmers ) which is why FF pandered to them repeatedly and why they often get their way. Other groups of people might not be so lucky protesting, but the Gardai would welcome the overtime.

I apologize if offence was taken, that wasn't my intention.
    No offence taken, but I guess the conversation will be more constructive if we both avoid triteness. :)
    What do you propose, aside from speaking to your TD?

The above question is the important part - but let me address your proposal.
    How many people have spoken to their TD about the Croke Park Agreement? About the household charge? Shall I tell you?

I can't! Because I don't know. Neither do you. Probably not even the TD themselves knows. And you can be damn sure they will keep it quiet.
    But there's no requirement that you keep it quiet.

I'm not talking about individuals meekly sitting in front of TDs and making polite suggestions. I'm talking about an organised movement - with the same level of organisation that's required to put together a street protest - but with a greater commitment required from the participants.

If I go to my local TD and say that I won't vote for him unless he gets serious about government reform, he'll ignore me. If there's an organised campaign of putting government TDs on notice that they'll lose their seats unless there's reform, complete with publicity for the fact that it's happening, then he can't ignore all of us.
    You have to wait for the next General Election, just to have a voice.
    That's the nature of a representative democracy. Let's prove we can do representative democracy well, and then we can see if we're capable of making a more direct democracy work.
    Or you could organize a large rally - like the OAPs (or park your cherry picker outside Dail Eireann! )
    Which will make headlines on the day it happens.
    Easy.
    The fifty backbenchers.
    The same backbenchers the government depends on to stay in power?

The whip is an effective weapon against a single rebel, or a small handful. It doesn't work against a groundswell.
    At our last government, the backbenchers were up in arms, yet they were directed by the Whip. Fianna Fail were smashed.
    That raises a couple of interesting points: first, it's important to realise that sometimes a government acts as it does because it simply doesn't have a choice. It would be lovely to think the government could unilaterally tell Brussels and everyone else who lends us money to get bent, but still continue to borrow enough at reasonable rates to maintain our current levels of taxation and spending, but it tends not to work like that.

The other point is that the system worked. The government broke the country, and the electorate rewarded them with a drubbing.
    Again, two points: one, it was easy for the government to listen to them - they didn't have to actively and visibly harm someone else in order to concede the point. And two: you don't know how many pensioners visited TDs' clinics, and to what extent it was that pressure that was the more keenly felt.

TBH and I may be wrong, but the OAP's have a relatively big voting bloc( and farmers ) which is why FF pandered to them repeatedly and why they often get their way. Other groups of people might not be so lucky protesting, but the Gardai would welcome the overtime.

But in this democracy, they are the minority.
    They only have power, as long as you prevent the other sections of the democracy from having a voice.

If 200k people marched on Kildare street in favour of the reform, the day after 20k pensioners marched on Kildare street against the reform - what would the government do?

They'd have to govern.

The OAPs are a minority. They just made themselves heard while I was naively writing to Michael Martin and Simon Covney etc., thinking I was making a difference.

But in this democracy, they are the minority.
    They only have power, as long as you prevent the other sections of the democracy from having a voice.

If 200k people marched on Kildare street in favour of the reform, the day after 20k pensioners marched on Kildare street against the reform - what would the government do?

They'd have to govern.

The OAPs are a minority. They just made themselves heard while I was naively writing to Michael Martin and Simon Covney etc., thinking I was making a difference.
    What has the average turnout been in the past ten years elections? They may be an overall minority but they are a large section of voters.

No offence taken, but I guess the conversation will be more constructive if we both avoid triteness.
    Agreed.
    :) But there's no requirement that you keep it quiet.

Yea, but it's like the Chingis Khan parable.

Bend one arrow and you can break it in half.
    Bend 10 arrows simultaneously and you can break your leg.

I'm not talking about individuals meekly sitting in front of TDs and making polite suggestions. I'm talking about an organised movement - with the same level of organisation that's required to put together a street protest - but with a greater commitment required from the participants.

That's only a step below a political party, which I cannot see happening.

It's nice in theory and I wish it would, but most people have neither the time nor the interest for that. Not in Ireland and not in Germany.

Just the other day, I had a thread about the lack of new political parties.
    Not even Shane Ross can get it together and he has the money, time, resources and networks.

And it's ultimately victim to the same problems as befall all organisations.
    You start with an idea, then you have a policy, then you have dogma, then you have a gospel.........then you become 'The Tea Party' & the whole charade falls apart.

French style is what works:
    Ugly, dirty, effective, flashmobs protesting against a specific issue, then disbanding. (or trawlers blockading Cork harbour or whatever)

It achieves the same outcome, with much less effort and there is nothing to 'be against', as with the Tea Party. Anger is directed as much at the government for the inconvenience, as at the flashmob for protesting.
    If I go to my local TD and say that I won't vote for him unless he gets serious about government reform, he'll ignore me. If there's an organised campaign of putting government TDs on notice that they'll lose their seats unless there's reform, complete with publicity for the fact that it's happening, then he can't ignore all of us.

They can and they do unfortunately.
    I don't mean to sound apathetic, but they do, and they did - at the last government.
    Irish politics is tribal. It's better to fall on your sword...this is the reality.

How many TDs didn't even rerun at the last election?
    How many of the TDs flunked out and left Michael Martin out to dry, in the heave against Cowen?
    Even the Green party failed us.

I'm not against your idea btw, I'm in favour of it.

I wish it could happen and would support it, if it did.

That's the nature of a representative democracy. Let's prove we can do representative democracy well, and then we can see if we're capable of making a more direct democracy work.

Disagree here.
    That's not the nature- that's the flaw in our democracy.

Imagine you have a flaw in your database architechture, which causes innumerable flaws on your front end.

Do you firefight the flaws on the front end?
    Or do you tackle the parent defect?

The firefighting will never lead to the outcome you desire - stability.
    You have to fix the parent defect, in order to ever achieve stability.
    Which will make headlines on the day it happens.
    *sorry - missed this, so edited to reply*

This is the point. That's why it works.
    200k people might have written to their TD about a particular issue.
    Nobody is ever going to know about it.
    It allows the government control.
    They can spin to their hearts content.

Yet this one guy who parked his cherry picker in protest - everyone heard about it.
    That one guy had effect on public opinion than my innumerable letters to TDs over the last 4 years!
    The same backbenchers the government depends on to stay in power?

Yes, the same backbenchers who get booted out when they ignore the Whip.
    The whip is an effective weapon against a single rebel, or a small handful. It doesn't work against a groundswell.

It did, I already covered the heave against Cowen in this post
    and it continues to work effectively in the present government.

(getting a bit long, so I will respond to the rest in a subsequent post)

That raises a couple of interesting points: first, it's important to realise that sometimes a government acts as it does because it simply doesn't have a choice. It would be lovely to think the government could unilaterally tell Brussels and everyone else who lends us money to get bent, but still continue to borrow enough at reasonable rates to maintain our current levels of taxation and spending, but it tends not to work like that.

Well aware of that (and I would be in favour of the opposite in this specific case. The only option better than smaller government, is European government - as opposed to Irish government in it's traditional manifestation.)

In response to this point tho, not all issues require unilateral action and the door is not closed on all issues, as it is with our borrowing.

A quick google search "Broken promises of Fine Gael" will suffice here instead of a big spiel, but take Optional Irish for example.
    Fine Gael had were given a mandate by the electorate to act on this issue.

For the most part, Irish people are reasonable.
    A lot of people accept that the government do not have an alternative with regard to some issues.
    The problem is where they do have alternatives, have a mandate, but still don't act.
    The other point is that the system worked. The government broke the country, and the electorate rewarded them with a drubbing. Again, two points: one, it was easy for the government to listen to them - they didn't have to actively and visibly harm someone else in order to concede the point. And two: you don't know how many pensioners visited TDs' clinics, and to what extent it was that pressure that was the more keenly felt.

That depends on your definition of 'worked'.

When they were breaking the country - nobody could act.
    When they had already broken the country - nobody could act. We had to wait for the Green Party to pull out of government.

What the opposition parties did or did not do - is irrelevant.

The point is that there was and still is no democratic mechanism for the electorate to make their voice heard, other than a mass protest.

Mass protests only happen because there is no alternative.

How about if 20k pensioners had gathered 20k signatures to force a referendum, or to recall their TD, instead of a mass protest?

In that case, the majority could democratically decide, instead of the government bending to the whim of a vocal minority.

What has the average turnout been in the past ten years elections? They may be an overall minority but they are a large section of voters.

You're correct.
    The government didn't act on the grounds of good governance or social disorder, they acted on their prospects of re-election.

They marched.
    They made themselves heard.
    The government bowed to them...to a minority, at the expense of the majority.

The majority couldn't act. (unless they chose to march themselves! NOT ME GRANDA! Any chance of a secret ballot?:pac: )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 box_car_maker

The pensioner example is unique , people support pensioners unconditionally regardless of personal wealth , a lot of the people who marched with the elderly over the medical card were a lot poorer than the seniors they rushed to defend , the same level of soft headedness won't greet any other group who kick up a fuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

The pensioner example is unique , people support pensioners unconditionally regardless of personal wealth , a lot of the people who marched with the elderly over the medical card were a lot poorer than the seniors they rushed to defend , the same level of soft headedness won't greet any other group who kick up a fuss

Hasn't every group that kicked up got what it wanted?
    The Unions,
    THe retired people,
    The disabled people,
    All kicked up a fuss and got what they wanted.

Its the quiet ones that get screwed.

The unions get what they want because labour are in government , the general public don't support Croke park for the most part

The disabled are genuinely vulnerable and their numbers are small so the cost savings from cutting them are small

pensioners have universal support among the electorate , other interest groups do not

The unions get what they want because labour are in government , the general public don't support Croke park for the most part

The disabled are genuinely vulnerable and their numbers are small so the cost savings from cutting them are small

pensioners have universal support among the electorate , other interest groups do not
    If the general public don't support Croke Park for the most part why did they elect two parties that said all along they would honor the agreement?

That's pretty easy to answer; because there was no party that said they wouldn't support the CPA.

The electorate didn't get that choice; but Fine Gael were the party that proposed the most stringent measures, and had a near majority.
    04-10-201210-45-28_zps2ac2166b.png?t=1349343941

At it stands, not even Fine Gael backbenchers themselves support the CPA:
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/end-croke-park-deal-fg-rebels-tell-enda-2996213.html
    End Croke Park deal, FG rebels tell Enda
    Seven TDs speak out on behalf of widespread backbencher discontent

And disapprove of the lack of action:

Sh1t....even Keven Myers agrees and he earns a living from holding a controversial view:
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/kevin-myers/kevin-myers-the-hospital-that-has-up-to-20pc-of-its-staff-absent-every-single-day-3241215.html
    'Governance of this state has moved from Dail Eireann to RTE, where the real Taoiseach David Begg announced that certain public service allowances could go - this, just a few days after the poor hapless minister Brendan Howlin had concluded that only one of these 1,100 perks could be scrapped.

The Begg initiative is shrewd tactics, because a review of the allowances (he says) would take years. Simplest, then, to absorb the allowances into pay: thus obduracy masquerades as reason. Brilliant - and confirmation that whereas all governments live beyond their means, governments controlled by public-service unions live beyond their grandchildren's. We are riding for a terrible fall, and only the anti-gravitational delusions created by this bizarre cult of tomorrowism could have blinded government ministers and their trade union bosses to this certainty.'

Kevin Myers

But before this goes all PvP, that's not the topic of the thread.

The topic is that the electorate do not have any mechanism to disapprove, aside from mass protest.

It would be like hiring a builder to build you a conservatory.
    He decides to build a granny flat instead.
    You are powerless to make him stop.
    You have to wait until he is finished the job, to tell him that is not what ye agreed on, not what the contract said.
    In fact, the only course of action you can take, is to picket his office - the one you're paying to do the job for you!! :pac::pac:

Do you know Watchdog (the BBC Programme)?
    Could you imagine if they quietly wrote letters to rogue traders, instead of publicly pressuring them?
    They wouldn't be very successful.
    Part of the reason they are successful, is because the publicly pressure/publicly tackle the issues.

Roisin Shortall - publicly pressured Reilly.
    etc.
    etc.

Writing letters to your TD is an exercise in futility.
    That's what they want you to do; it means they can 'control' the situation and spin to their hearts content.

None of the groups which have resisted change deluded themselves in this manner - they publicly protested and kicked up a storm - The Unions, The OAPs, etc. while the meek groups writing letters to their TDs are getting it in the neck, whatever the issue.

That's pretty easy to answer; because there was no party that said they wouldn't support the CPA.

The electorate didn't get that choice; but Fine Gael were the party that proposed the most stringent measures, and had a near majority.
    04-10-201210-45-28_zps2ac2166b.png?t=1349343941

At it stands, not even Fine Gael backbenchers themselves support the CPA:

And disapprove of the lack of action:

Sh1t....even Keven Myers agrees and he earns a living from holding a controversial view:

But before this goes all PvP, that's not the topic of the thread.

The topic is that the electorate do not have any mechanism to disapprove, aside from mass protest.

It would be like hiring a builder to build you a conservatory.
    He decides to build a granny flat instead.
    You are powerless to make him stop.
    You have to wait until he is finished the job, to tell him that is not what ye agreed on, not what the contract said.
    In fact, the only course of action you can take, is to picket his office - the one you're paying to do the job for you!! :pac::pac:

Do you know Watchdog (the BBC Programme)?
    Could you imagine if they quietly wrote letters to rogue traders, instead of publicly pressuring them?
    They wouldn't be very successful.
    Part of the reason they are successful, is because the publicly pressure/publicly tackle the issues.

Roisin Shortall - publicly pressured Reilly.
    etc.
    etc.

Writing letters to your TD is an exercise in futility.
    That's what they want you to do; it means they can 'control' the situation and spin to their hearts content.

None of the groups which have resisted change deluded themselves in this manner - they publicly protested and kicked up a storm - The Unions, The OAPs, etc. while the meek groups writing letters to their TDs are getting it in the neck, whatever the issue.

Step back a second (I believe your post has pretty much outlines why protesting achieves nothing)

So the public had no choice as all parties and individuals running support it. Fair enough, I'll let you off with that.

But now you say the FG backbenchers are "not happy" with how things are now regarding the CPA.
    Where do you think they got the kick in the backside from to start to voice their opinions on the matter (opinions that have obviously changed for some reason since the election)?

Was it from all those mass protests against the CPA or was it from their constituents getting in their ears?

FG didn't have the most "stringent" measures in realtion to the CPA, the were supporting it and still do.

But now you say the FG backbenchers are "not happy" with how things are now regarding the CPA.
    Where do you think they got the kick in the backside from to start to voice their opinions on the matter (opinions that have obviously changed for some reason since the election)?

Was it from all those mass protests against the CPA or was it from their constituents getting in their ears?

From literally any Irish medium on a daily basis:
    BreakingNews.ie
    Joe Duffy
    Irish Independent
    Public pressure.

Can you tell me how many of their constituents are writing to them?
    FG didn't have the most "stringent" measures in realtion to the CPA, the were supporting it and still do.

If FG did not propose the most stringent measures - then you need to specify which party did propose more stringent measures.

Which party proposed more stringent measures, while supporting the CPA?
    Labour?
    The ULA?
    Sinn Fein?
    Fianna Fail?

Nonsense.
    FG proposed the most stringent measures and you know this.

all parties support croke park

what choice had the electorate :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Most of family work in the PS, they voted Labour to keep the CP agreement. At the time all PS workers voted for Labour that was just shy of 400,000 votes. Many of their spouses are self employeed hence no SW in case of no wrok. But now most PS workers I have spoken to think the CPA is so flawed and see taxes being introduced to increase intake of taxes in order to protect their wages and pensions. Too many in management and p*ss takers. They now know, thanks to media how well paid they are compared to rest of EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

femur61 wrote: »
    Most of family work in the PS, they voted Labour to keep the CP agreement. At the time all PS workers voted for Labour that was just shy of 400,000 votes. Many of their spouses are self employeed hence no SW in case of no wrok. But now most PS workers I have spoken to think the CPA is so flawed and see taxes being introduced to increase intake of taxes in order to protect their wages and pensions. Too many in management and p*ss takers. They now know, thanks to media how well paid they are compared to rest of EU.

Apart from family members that work in the Public Service, I speak regularly to many of my former colleagues and friends in the service. I get a rather different picture than you.

Resentment is building up at the constant media attacks, morale is at an all-time low and heading downwards, there is disbelief at the ignorance of commentators who have no realisation of the cuts already taken by many in the public sector. Most are struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Godge wrote: »
    Apart from family members that work in the Public Service, I speak regularly to many of my former colleagues and friends in the service. I get a rather different picture than you.

Resentment is building up at the constant media attacks, morale is at an all-time low and heading downwards, there is disbelief at the ignorance of commentators who have no realisation of the cuts already taken by many in the public sector. Most are struggling.

I understand their resentment at the media but people are resentful that a lotof these new taxes might not be as high or there at all but if weren't for theprotection of the CPA. We are running a huge unsustainable fiscal deficit.People are resentful at the bearded ones getting such huge salaries as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

femur61 wrote: »
    I understand their resentment at the media but people are resentful that a lotof these new taxes might not be as high or there at all but if weren't for theprotection of the CPA. We are running a huge unsustainable fiscal deficit.People are resentful at the bearded ones getting such huge salaries as well.

you forget that the public servants are also paying those taxes as well as taking reductions in pay, increases in pension levy, reduction in sick leave, reduction in annual leave, major work changes etc.

you also forget, as I have shown on here already that many companies in Ireland are now giving pay increases (including the likes of Tesco and M&S) but public servants are facing a pay freeze for probably the next five to six years.

so they are more than bearing their fair share but there are many (pensioners?) who have yet to pay anything.