Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the rear seat folded down a penalty point offence?

• 02-10-2012 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭

The OH was pulled over this morning on the M50 by the Gardai...they went over everything on the car...tax, insurance, license, asked to view his phone, sniffed some headache tablets he had in the glovebox, asked why he had the rear seats folded down, asked would they find anything if they opened up his subwoofer, kept him nearly an hour at the side of the road and wouldn't allow him to use his phone to ring his Manager to say he would be running late.
    Anyway in the end he was informed that he would be receiving 2 penalty points and an €80 fine as the subwoofer was not secured correctly! :eek:
    Now I have had a good look on rsa.ie and I can't find any penalty points offence for the claimed "offence".
    So was the Garda bluffing or is there an offence for having an unrestrained object in the rear of a car or the rear seats folded?
    Could it be considered, "Driving without reasonable consideration"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Subwoofer?

I'd say he failed the attitude test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Thats bull, what kind of powertrip were they on atall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I think they were just sick as he had all his documentation (Full License, Insurance Cert and VLC) on him so couldn't piss him off by making him have to produce them at the station.
    I am really thinking of dropping over to the Garda Station and asking to speak to his superior to lodge a formal complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

I think there's more to this story ;)

Thats bull, what kind of powertrip were they on atall
    Hang on, we're not even hearing about one side of the story here, we're hearing a third parties version of a story

I wouldn't say they kept him on the roadside for 'an hour' unless there was something off

pippip wrote: »
    If there is I haven't been told :)

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don't even keep my VLC in the car, i can't see it as being a good thing to do really.

Also Garda Ombudsman is what you want if making a formal complaint

Tallon wrote: »
    Hang on, we're not even hearing about one side of the story here, we're hearing a third parties version of a story

I wouldn't say they kept him on the roadside for 'an hour' unless there was something off
    Yes I am sure an hour may have been an exaggeration but he was late for work and generally arrives 20mins early...either way it was a considerable amount of time.

fletch wrote: »
    pippip wrote: »
    If there is I haven't been told :)
    Well have you spoken to the gardai in question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

What car is it? Has he ever acted the dick in it in the past? There could be an information marker on the car...

awec wrote: »
    Why was he pulled over? What would make him stand out on the road above all other cars?
    The 3 rear windows are tinted...the Guard did comment that the front two weren't.

I don't even keep my VLC in the car, i can't see it as being a good thing to do really.
    I know...if the car is stolen, the thief has everything they need to sell on the car...tried telling him that but he continues to carry it in the car.

No
    Pedro K wrote: »
    What car is it? Has he ever acted the dick in it in the past? There could be an information marker on the car...
    Well I owned the car for 5 years before him and was pulled over once or twice but for nothing serious...a disabled middle-aged man owned the car before me....
    It's really here nor there...my original question was whether there is a particular penalty point offence for an unrestrained object or rear seats folded or could one be interpreted as such?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

No
    Pedro K wrote: »
    Well I owned the car for 5 years before him and was pulled over once or twice but for nothing serious...a disabled middle-aged man owned the car before me....
    It's really here nor there...my original question was whether there is a particular penalty point offence for an unrestrained object or rear seats folded?
    Not that I know of... Who hasn't ever thrown something on the back seat and not restrained it? I know I have.

Edit: although I don't know every single offence in the book, so I could very well be wrong.

Tinted windows and a subwoofer, I'm guessing it's a boy racer mobile.

Always going to attract attention from the guards that way.
    A diesel Skoda...I don't think so! :)
    Okay it is a Skoda Fabia vRS but its not exactly a Civic Type R

Well Ive tinted windows and a sub woofer and Im no boy racer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

anchorman-well-that-escalated-quickly.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

This sounds odd.
    Does the car have a whiff of the skanger off it?

mickdw wrote: »
    This sounds odd.
    Does the car have a whiff of the skanger off it?

Is that a points offense now too, well i never :p

No, but it should be. Never the less, it would lead to being pulled over more than the average car which is what I was referring too.

What has the looks of the car got to do with whether or not an unrestrained object/folded rear seat is a penalty points offence? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

A diesel Skoda...I don't think so! :)
    Okay it is a Skoda Fabia vRS but its not exactly a Civic Type R

What was he doing for them to pull him over on the M50 to begin with?

Just looking dodgy? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ok so we have a fabia VRs with tinted windows, a subwoofer and the back seats folded down. He had all documentation up to date. Sounds a little skangery but not civic territory.

Id await and see what the charge is on the letter when it comes.

Does he by any chance wear a baseball cap or his hood up while driving, if so I can see why hed be pulled over.

Was he playin dubstep, thats 6 points add 2 if he was using an out of date iPhone too

ok so we have a fabia VRs with tinted windows, a subwoofer and the back seats folded down.
    Neither of which could be seen from the Garda car. They only spotted this when they were talking to him
    Id await and see what the charge is on the letter when it comes.

Does he by any chance wear a baseball cap or his hood up while driving, if so I can see why hed be pulled over.
    He was on his way to work in a shirt and tie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If they searched the car the they were possibly working on information they had?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Offense or not, an unsecured sub woofer is not something I would like hitting into me in the middle of a crash.

msg11 wrote: »
    Offense or not, an unsecured sub woofer is not something I would like hitting into me in the middle of a crash.

I wouldn't like my bottle of water hitting me either but ya know it's handy to have loose

Still not listed as a points offense, unless we start making the rules up as we go along :pac:

msg11 wrote: »
    I totally agree (we had been moving furniture and just forgot to re-secure it) but I don't see which penalty point offence it corresponds to...kinda looking forward to getting the letter in the post to see how they twist it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Going by what you said only: there will be no penalty points, the guard just didn't want to back down. Secondly your other half should make a complaint.

What has the looks of the car got to do with whether or not an unrestrained object/folded rear seat is a penalty points offence? :confused:

Nothing, we are more questioning why he was stopped at all.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If they searched the car the they were possibly working on information they had?
    Not sure if you are asking me but suffice to say that I've never been in trouble with the law, neither has he, I was pulled over twice while I owned the car (once for speeding and another at a checkpoint for the tinted windows) so I can only assume the first owner hadn't been in trouble with the law either

Like if i got pulled over i could get put off the road in one clean sweep.

Smell like farmer = 2 points

Look abit like an axe murderer = 2 points

€29 euro phone = 2 points

Silly ginger beard = 2 points

Dubstep = 2 points

Loose change and bottle of drink and possible box of fags = 2 points

Chav car with a fierce boo = 2 points.

Jaysus im too scared to drive to work tomorrow now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Not sure if you are asking me but suffice to say that I've never been in trouble with the law, neither has he, I was pulled over twice while I owned the car (once for speeding and another at a checkpoint for the tinted windows) so I can only assume the first owner hadn't been in trouble with the law either

Oh! I'm not suggesting your mate did anything wrong just saying that they may be on the lookout for a chap in a similar car.

I had the guards hassle me for a few days, ringing me asking me questions etc because I was unknowingly parked outside the house of a guy on witness protection the day before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

anyone driving a skangermobile should invest in a dashcam with a mic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I'd be inclined to agree with Colm. It sounds like the Gardai were acting on information received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭HAMMERCURRENT

Going by what you said only: there will be no penalty points, the guard just didn't want to back down. Secondly your other half should make a complaint.

the boys in blue are trained never to admit to making a mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

the boys in blue are trained never to admit to making a mistake.
    You'd think if they did still harbour some suspicions, it'd be better to use some reverse psychology and send the person on their way with a "very good sir, all in order, thanks for your time" rather an air of "we're watching you and we'll get you for something,anything"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I wouldn't like my bottle of water hitting me either but ya know it's handy to have loose

Still not listed as a points offense, unless we start making the rules up as we go along :pac:

The weight of a sub woofer is about 15/20 kilos, let me be hit by a bottle of water in a crash any day over a sub woofer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

being a skanger should be an automatic 6 points on your licence!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

An insufficiently secured load* (in that case the subwoofer with the backseat down) could get you a fine and points in Germany ...dunno about Ireland.

*That law is more geared towards trucks/vans, but has been used against car drivers as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭HAMMERCURRENT

langdang wrote: »
    You'd think if they did still harbour some suspicions, it'd be better to use some reverse psychology and send the person on their way with a "very good sir, all in order, thanks for your time" rather an air of "we're watching you and we'll get you for something,anything"

As long as Rosco P Coltrane is coordinating traffic corp training, it will continue as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

peasant wrote: »
    An insufficiently secured load* (in that case the subwoofer with the backseat down) could get you a fine and points in Germany ...dunno about Ireland.

*That law is more geared towards trucks/vans, but has been used against car drivers as well.

Just looking at the RSA penalty points. Offences 2 and 3 would cover the unsecured subwoofer, they are 3 point offences but it's hardly as if the Gardaí should know that.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Just looking at the RSA penalty points. Offences 2 and 3 would cover the unsecured subwoofer, they are 3 point offences but it's hardly as if the Gardaí should know that.
    I did wonder about whether they could be used against him but seeing as those offences are mandatory court appearances and he was told he was getting 2 points and an €80 fine, I don't think they will use either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭davkav

So let me get this straight if I have tinted windows and like a bit of bass in my music it makes me a skanger.

I know 3 Gardai that have there windows tinted on there cars. Some people like to have privacy in there cars.

So if you have nothing to add to the OP's thread why post at all in the thread and waste his time. He is looking for help / information not stupid negative comments which have nothing to do with the topic.

Anyway.... I would be straight on to the Garda Ombudsman. They will either tell you it was flagged for some reason or other or that the incident should not have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Do you not get a ticket on the spot for the fine/points if pulled over?? I'm almost sure I got a ticket when I was stopped for speeding but that's a good while ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

Also Garda Ombudsman is what you want if making a formal complaint

+1. Keeping this in your car is madness. If the car is stolen you're fubarred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

sean1141 wrote: »
    Do you not get a ticket on the spot for the fine/points if pulled over?? I'm almost sure I got a ticket when I was stopped for speeding but that's a good while ago..

Not consistently if at all any more.
    Del2005 wrote: »

They also require a court appearance, and there's a good chance it'd be thrown out if the 'dangerous defect' in question was the contents of the boot.