Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tv Licence Inspectors going house to house

• 01-10-2012 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭

SKMBT_C22012100117420.jpg

Got this flyer in the post today ... Is it for real ?

Surely they don't have to go around checking the actual piece of paper

Received leaflet in the letterbox ? 36 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 36 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

No Thank you and close the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

If you have equipment capable of receiving TV signals, then you need a licence. In general, inspectors will know if there is a licence held for a particular address, but sometimes it is not easy to match records with what exists on the ground - for example, in rural areas where houses do not have numbers. So if an inspector calls, it is useful to be able to produce your licence.
    No Thank you and close the door.
    Why make life difficult for people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

They only go to houses with no license... these days that's very few houses. Years ago they went to nearly everyone except pensioners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

They only go to houses with no license... these days that's very few houses. Years ago they went to nearly everyone except pensioners.

in the real world im afraid the opposite is true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭outnumbered82

Had one call to my door last week. Didn't answer door. They seem to target apartments more theses days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

releasethehounds.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Why make life difficult for people?
    and knocking at a strangers house and extorting a sizable sum of money isn't making life difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Gotta ask, with the introduction of Saorview and the fact that you'll need an antenna and such to view channels in this country (as opposed to every TV currently being able to pick up channels), can't you just point at your roof and say "no equipment, can't pick up channels"?

Edit: That's quite possibly the stupidest thing I've ever posted, due to my sleep deprivation, but still interested to see what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Less than a year after we moved into our council house the tv licence inspector called. They know exactly where houses are occupied and no amount of not answering your door will deter them from getting you to pay your licence fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You could have an antenna in the attic, or indeed in the spare room upstairs. A signal can be captured at lower than "roof height"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

mike65 wrote: »
    You could have an antenna in the attic, or indeed in the spare room upstairs. A signal can be captured at lower than "roof height"!

True that. Bah! €160 quid for television signals I won't even be able to pick up in a few weeks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

just pay the bloody licence fee................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

delta36 wrote: »
    Gotta ask, with the introduction of Saorview and the fact that you'll need an antenna and such to view channels in this country (as opposed to every TV currently being able to pick up channels), can't you just point at your roof and say "no equipment, can't pick up channels"?

Edit: That's quite possibly the stupidest thing I've ever posted, due to my sleep deprivation, but still interested to see what people think.

The licence is for a device capable of receiving a TV signal. Since I, and a lot of other people, have used a coat hanger before to receive TV signals then everyone needs a licence. Only way out is to buy a monitor and only watch downloads/streaming, but that's going to change soon
    delta36 wrote: »
    True that. Bah! €160 quid for television signals I won't even be able to pick up in a few weeks :(

Why are you leaving the country? The licence isn't for the signal it's for having a receiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I have a television which is only used for the Xbox and the ps3, it is not connected to any aerial/antenna/sky/UPC etc. and never has been, do I have to pay for a TV license for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I have a television which is only used for the Xbox and the ps3, it is not connected to any aerial/antenna/sky/UPC etc. and never has been, do I have to pay for a TV license for it?

Yes. Doesn't have to be connected, it just has to have the capabilty of being used to watch TV.

irish-stew wrote: »
    Yes. Doesn't have to be connected, it just has to have the capabilty of being used to watch TV.

I'm sorry but that is the height of retardation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Technically yes.

I have a friend living in an ancient cottage with barley 3 plugs for electricity and no TV but a laptop. She got the visit from the inspector, he said something like 'I have to presume you receive TV on one of your devices'. She told him she'd fight it in court. No fine was issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I dont make the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭Quandary

I live in a 2nd floor apartment and havent paid the TV licence for the last 5 years. We have gotten plenty reminders but have ignored them all, and so far, no consequences.

If anyone knocks on the door we don't answer. There have been numerous knocks at the door, and im positive the inspector has been knocking on multiple occasions but we just dont answer the door.

So far we've managed to escape for the last 5 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Firegaurd

pmcmahon wrote: »
    and knocking at a strangers house and extorting a sizable sum of money isn't making life difficult.

Not one to defend the licence inspectors but its clearly not extortion

This is a valid exemption in the UK but not here. Once the device is capable of receiving television broadcasts it's liable to be licensed.

With regard to analogue only sets requiring a licence after ASO, I'd say they will as UPC are yet to announce switchoff of their analogue service. Maybe when analogue cable goes off they might not require a licence, but we'll probably have the new broadcasting tax in place by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

AFAIK they changed the act in 2009 so that television means pretty much any device. Computer, smart phone whatever.

I dont make the rules.

I know, wasn't aimed at you at all, thanks for the info,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Had TV licence inspector on our road 2 months ago. I was out in the garden talking to neighbour. He passed all the houses with licences so i do believe they know. He also posted a notice in the letter box where he did not get an answer but could see the aerial on the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

They know before they knock if you have a licence or not, they government increase taxs,cut welfare and health.

The TV license is optional to a point, I'll continue not paying it until I'm caught.

I bought my telly I pay sky every month to watch TV,its 2012 not the 1960s when people thought tvs were something from space that needed a license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Firegaurd

dave1982 wrote: »
    I bought my telly I pay sky every month to watch TV,its 2012 not the 1960s when people thought tvs were something from space that needed a license.

What ???? My dog isn't from space :eek:

Firegaurd wrote: »
    What ???? My dog isn't from space :eek:

Is your TV going to go out and attack something :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

They know before they knock if you have a licence or not, they government increase taxs,cut welfare and health.

The TV license is optional to a point, I'll continue not paying it until I'm caught.

As soon as you sign up to sky they have to pass your details on to the TV licensing people, same with UPC. And no, data protection can't stop them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

The TV license is optional to a point

I'd love to hear the logic behind this gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Well some one has to keep the cartel/Family going at ZTE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

This has scam written all over it, I bet there will be a few threads on here in the next month of phony TV Licence Inspectors going door to door offering to accept a once off payment instead of issuing a summons/fine.

dahamsta wrote: »
    I'd love to hear the logic behind this gem.

I've never paid mine.I had the option to buy one if I wanted.

What are you getting at exactly :confused:

You let out the rest of the sentence where I said until I get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Nanazolie

BostonB wrote: »
    AFAIK they changed the act in 2009 so that television means pretty much any device. Computer, smart phone whatever.

That's strange, because we don't have TV but a few laptops and PCs and the TV inspector calls in every year and he checks that we indeed have no TV and then I'm left in peace for another year. I also receive a letter yearly, just before the inspector's visit, to remind me that I don't have a licence and I need one if I have a TV, even if I don't have a TV connection and just use it to watch videos. I usually answer by email that we have no TV, haven't had one for the last 6 years. They usually send the inspector a few days letter. I'm fine with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I never had a TV License while in Ireland.

The enforcement was so poor then really your doing it to be a 'good citizen'.

Never had an inspector call to the door either, the system for registration seems to be based on either some guy noting down your address or someone registering for payment at your address in the first place. No connection to the land registry database (silly)

Never watched TV Either.

Moved to the Netherlands and they don't have a TV License here either. The national channels are available via a subscription card so its optional if you want to watch them or not.

With the Advent of Saorview it would have made sense to have a recurring subscription via a smart card so that people who wanted it could pay for it.

Or you could just pay for it via your UPC / Sky subscription.

I suspect though that RTEs revenue stream would drop into the toilet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It takes 7,800 of you to pay your TV license to pay the wages of Pat Kenny and Ryan Tubridy.

and they wonder why people don't want to pay it

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

and they wonder why people don't want to pay it

People don't pay because they can get away with it.

With people struggling to pay their ESB/Gas/Water Charge/ Universal Social Charge the bills of least resistance get paid last.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

The rate of non compliance with TV licence has remained consistent at 12% for at least 10 years which implies the current economics have very little to do with it.

Apparently the conviction rates are shockingly low aswell.

Wiki article
    In 2002, the rate of licence-fee evasion was estimated at 12%. In the Dublin region in that year, approximately 21% of detected evaders were summonsed for prosecution (6,000 cases); approximately one third of these cases resulted in fines, averaging €174.Only 4% of fined evaders followed up three months later had purchased a licence.
    In 2010, the Secretary General of the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources told the Oireachtas Public Accounts Committee that the evasion rate was estimated at 12%, and the renewed contract with An Post would include provision for a 1 percentage point annual decrease in this

The rate of non compliance with TV licence has remained consistent at 12% for at least 10 years which implies the current economics have very little to do with it.

Apparently the conviction rates are shockingly low aswell.

Wiki article
    In 2002, the rate of licence-fee evasion was estimated at 12%. In the Dublin region in that year, approximately 21% of detected evaders were summonsed for prosecution (6,000 cases); approximately one third of these cases resulted in fines, averaging €174.Only 4% of fined evaders followed up three months later had purchased a licence.
    In 2010, the Secretary General of the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources told the Oireachtas Public Accounts Committee that the evasion rate was estimated at 12%, and the renewed contract with An Post would include provision for a 1 percentage point annual decrease in this

I would seriously doubt the accuracy of their figures since they don't even have a list of all properties in the first place. If they did, then there would be no issue with issuing a bill for Property Tax (for example), rather than self registration having to take place.

As I said .. people don't pay it since they can get away with it.

Worst case scenario if you're caught you just get a TV License.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

We had a deal in our apt, who ever answered the door paid the piper. We avoided a licence for 10 years.

We had fellows in tucks buzzing our door with bunches of flowers ! All straight lads at our gaff so they are quite inventive.

A fellow from the uk moved in and bought a tv and a few days later a tv licence threat arrived in his name! The irish Dublin elec / white goods supply shop sold his name to the guberment. Unreal. No other explanation for that one.

If you live in an apt it's easy to evade.

Pay up people, pat Kenny needs excessive pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

uberalles wrote: »

A fellow from the uk moved in and bought a tv and a few days later a tv licence threat arrived in his name! The irish Dublin elec / white goods supply shop sold his name to the guberment. Unreal. No other explanation for that one.

If you buy a tv or video or any other item requiring a tv licence the shop is obliged by law to forward your address and name to the licensing department. Sky chorus UPC ect all have the same obligation.

The funniest one ever was a repro man called to take back the tv / video back as the rent hadn't been paid on it for months in the 80s. Knocks at doors and window get louder and louder and everyone stays quiet.

The fellow get impatient and opens the letter box and shouts in, I know you are in there !

One of the lads shouts back. "I'm sorry, I don't believe it's you mother". We fell around the place laughing.

They can't kick your door in. Apartments are wonderful.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    If you buy a tv or video or any other item requiring a tv licence the shop is obliged by law to forward your address and name to the licensing department. Sky chorus UPC ect all have the same obligation.

Good reason to buy your TV up norn iron so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Nanazolie

People don't pay because they can get away with it.

With people struggling to pay their ESB/Gas/Water Charge/ Universal Social Charge the bills of least resistance get paid last.

People didn't pay it during the golden years. It's not just the struggling with bills, it's actually because there is no enforcement. Very little people get caught, all it takes is keep the door closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

"Me no speak no English Yo no Garda You con artist" (fake Polish accent) *Door slams shut.

Why would you give the shop your name and address when buying a TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Why would you give the shop your name and address when buying a TV?

Under the pretense that it's needed for a warranty

But it isn't. All you need is proof of purchase?

And I would find it hard to believe that the shop would be allowed to do this when you consider An Post are not allowed even use the name and address on the letters they deliver to your house for TV licence purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Technically yes.

I have a friend living in an ancient cottage with barley 3 plugs for electricity and no TV but a laptop. She got the visit from the inspector, he said something like 'I have to presume you receive TV on one of your devices'. She told him she'd fight it in court. No fine was issued.

Why didnt she just tell him she didnt have a television if she didnt have a television???!?!

Im a bit on the fence when it comes to the TV license. On the one hand I feckin hate having to pay 160 quid in one go(yes I know about the post office stamps), I hate the ida of inspectors going around and checking up on you like some sort of former soviet state. I hate how much money it costs to have people go around checking if you have a TV and no license. A euro or two onto my income tax would be a far more efficient way of collecting said tax.

On the other hand, and I dont know why the question comes up so much, they make it easy. If you have a tv you must have a license. Simple as. Accept it.

Best read in a D4 accent: "If I dont buy a digital receiver, then technically I cant receive the digital signal. Do I still need a license?"

If you have a TV you must have a license.

"I dont watch RTE. Do I still need a license"

"I only use it for the xbox. Do I still need a license"

"I dont watch tv. Nothing but sh1te anyway. I keep hte tv because it belonged to my father and has sentimental value. Do I still need a tv license"

In fact if you ask a ny question starting with "Yes, but, if I have...", then the answer is probably "Yes if you have a TV you must have a license."

If someone on the internet tells you, that if you keep your curtains closed and never answer the door to strangers, and you live at home with your elderly mother that you dont need a license, then they are wrong.

I hate that we have tv licenses like I hate how we have dog licenses. It costs more money paying for the dog license inspector than is collected by the inspector. Add half a percent VAT onto dog biscuits and you will get the same amount of money and it will be collected more efficiently.

Likewise, RTE provide a public service. Pay for it using public expenditure e.g. money gained from income tax and VAT or disband it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 VINCWM

You have to pay a TV license for every television set that you own.