Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proper way to brake

• 28-09-2012 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭

I've been learning to drive since march now, and I think I'm pretty grand at this stage. But the major issue I have is that I think I tend to coast when I'm breaking. I do break first for a while, but I still think I might be putting the clutch in a little early. The alternative though is to wait until the engine starts to chug a little and I'm not sure if then this is too late? Any advice would really help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Could be that you're in the wrong gear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,406 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Are you changing gears as you slow done? (Dont have to come down through them all, but if you are trying to stop in 4th for example you are going to have to coast...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭sqooka

Nah, the highest gear I stop in is third, and sure enough there's never that chugging issue if I do come down through the gears and back into first before I stop. I never stall when I do stop in third, I've been using the chugging as an indication that it's not too early now to put in the clutch, but I'm worried that I'll get a fault for letting the engine chug. But otherwise I keep thinking it's too early......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I don't think you should be changing down to first. I know I'd only go into first if I was nearly stopped, certainly wouldn't use first for slowing down with.

Have you had an instructors opinion?

You start in first, never downshift into first unless you are trying to drive up the side of a mountain.
    What speed are you going at when this happens?

Well I'd be coming to a stop. What I mean is that say I'm driving in third and I see a red light ahead, I can either come down through all the gears as I'm slowing to stop in first so that I only have to put in the clutch at the very last second and I can't be considered coasting, or I can start to slow up an break in third and wait for the engine to start grumbling to put the clutch in (I'd nearly be stopped at this stage anyway) as I'm breaking. I could be over-thinking this, to hear ppl talk about their tests it sounds like you can be failed for anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Maybe if you think of braking as a series of actions, where you slow by several gradual applications of the brake, rather than a single action, it would work better? Watch the brake lights of cars ahead and note what their drivers are doing.

Thanks everybody for your help, and that's really good advice qualitymark, I think I'll try that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Brake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Unregistered39

Maybe if you think of braking as a series of actions, where you slow by several gradual applications of the brake, rather than a single action, it would work better? Watch the brake lights of cars ahead and note what their drivers are doing.

If I'm understanding you correctly, don't do this! If your brake lights are going on and off from you moving your foot on and off the brakes it's very confusing for drivers behind (if I'm misunderstanding you - apologies!)

OP, when I was learning the instructor made me drive in third gear (which you can certainly stop in) and wouldn't let me put my foot on the clutch until the very last second - long after I would have instinctively put my foot down. Basically he was demonstrating just how slow you can go in third without cutting out. Try it somewhere quiet maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

1) Apply brakes lightly.
    2) Just before you downshift apply the brakes a little stronger then downshift to 3rd/2nd gear (with your foot remaining on the brake).
    3) Then put the foot down on the clutch about 1 and a half car lengths before the stopline (as well as sufficient application to the brakes in order to stop).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

My instructor says you should always be in second if you're braking. If you stop in 3rd they'll mark you for it.

I'm always in 2nd coming up to a junction and preparing to brake; more control in 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

My instructor says you should always be in second if you're braking. If you stop in 3rd they'll mark you for it.

Generally you brake in second, but braking in third is also perfectly acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Actually I was told the complete opposite. 4th is too high but they tend to like to see you being able to stop the car in third.

Obviously it depends on the situation too. Always gearing down into second could get you marks for progress etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

Really?! Ah jaysiz,. Ive my test on Thursday mornin and I swear to god everyone keeps giving me different information.

I know there's the ROTR, but I couldn't find anywhere in it that answers questions like this definitively..
    Is there anything on the rsa website that tells you all this because id love to know, and every instructors opinion is different.

sqooka wrote: »
    Well I'd be coming to a stop. What I mean is that say I'm driving in third and I see a red light ahead, I can either come down through all the gears as I'm slowing to stop in first so that I only have to put in the clutch at the very last second and I can't be considered coasting, or I can start to slow up an break in third and wait for the engine to start grumbling to put the clutch in (I'd nearly be stopped at this stage anyway) as I'm breaking. I could be over-thinking this, to hear ppl talk about their tests it sounds like you can be failed for anything!

Dont stop in first. First is for starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Gears to go, brakes to slow etc. I mostly only gear down when cornering but I would use the brakes to come to a stop. Unless there was a steep incline that required engine braking too if I felt the car was travelling to quickly. I listen to what the car is doing and act accordingly.

Plenty of good driving tips here: http://www.2pass.co.uk/video.htm#.UGhTG66z7To
    even though I have my license 4 years now, I visit it from time to time.

You know how much of driving becomes unconscious after a while... was driving today (sick in bed for last few days, and mostly use the bike now anyway...) and paid attention to what I actually do.

I don't know if this would be regarded as good driving from a test point of view - feel free to criticise. But what I do is take my foot off the accelerator about 30 metres from where I'm going to halt, then around 20 metres from the halt I gently apply the brake, and slow gradually; just before I stop I apply the clutch and brake fully. Then I engage the handbrake if it's appropriate. I'm not absolutely sure of these distances; basically when I know I'm going to brake, I decelerate, then brake gently, then more firmly.

At all times during this, I'd be particularly alert, because it's at junctions that people are most apt to do startling things like deciding to run across or fall off their bicycles or open their car doors suddenly.

(By the way, I also learned, in mph times, that the correct distance behind the car in front was one car length for every 10mph of speed - this is the length it takes to come to a halt. So if you're going 40 miles per hour, you should be four (and-a-bit) car lengths (length of your own car) behind the car in front.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭J_R

When the clutch is depressed the gearbox is disconnected from the wheels and the actual position of the gear lever can have no bearing whatsoever on the handling of the car. To say you stop in 3rd gear, 2nd gear, whatever, is a misnomer. It is physically impossible to stop in gear whilst the engine is running. (On a modern car it is even possible to slip into reverse whilst the car is still moving forward).

On a modern car with ABS it is of paramount importance that the engine does not stall, therefore to wait until the car is about to "chug" before depressing the clutch is wrong and dangerous. Especially if you are braking incorrectly.

The slower the car is moving the more effective the brakes, therefore if you want to slow down smoothly and progressively you brake regressively. That is, quite firm at first then less pressure as the car slows. And aim to stop at a point a foot or so back from the line you wish to stop at, then when you reach that point - get off the brake and the car will roll to a gentle stop.

(If you hit the brakes hard at a slow speed the car is liable to stop abruptly).

So, To brake. Check your mirrors, brake, when you find your brakes are working and you have "killed" most of the speed, depress the clutch. It is of no concern whatsoever what gear you happen to be driving in when the clutch is depressed. 1st, 2nd, 3rd 4th 5th or 6th. It is academic, irrelevant immaterial of no consequence whatsoever.

J_R wrote: »
    It is of no concern whatsoever what gear you happen to be driving in when the clutch is depressed. 1st, 2nd, 3rd 4th 5th or 6th. It is academic, irrelevant immaterial of no consequence whatsoever.

Unless you need to abandon your braking and perform an emergency maneuver...

Also trying to brake in 1st gear is unlikely to be a smooth experience.

GreeBo wrote: »
    /QUOTE] se

I have posted on here several times that it is unnecessary to change down when coming to a complete stop.

Each and every time someone replies that you must be in the correct gear for your speed in case of an emergency. Never bothered to reply - till now.

But it is impossible and impractical - to be in the correct gear for all possible emergencies . And the posters do not seem to realise how quickly a person can change gears.

Just one example. (I was actually on a training lesson for driving instruction) I was approaching a T junction turning left. I had no following traffic. Nice open junction. Lights were green, oncoming traffic moving smoothly through the junction at something between twenty - thirty mph. No traffic waiting to turn right and no right indicators flashing in the line of opposing traffic. Amongst the traffic was a driving school arctic - complete with trailer.

I took the corner nice and smooth in the appropriate gear (2nd), straightened up and gave a glance in the interior mirror, expecting to see the line of traffic driving through the junction on the opposite side of the old road. Instead the mirror was filled with the radiator of the school arctic. I accelerated but radiator kept getting bigger, (was driving a basic VW Polo), selected 1st, buried the accelerator and finally escaped. Am sure it looked very funny from the pavement. Wee screaming Polo with an Arctic bumper on its back window. I was in the correct gear for the corner, but not for a demon arctic.

Also suppose you are stopping, the gear lever is in say 5th gear and you have the clutch depressed, you are more than half way through a gear change. Less time to change. In my example above my foot was not near the clutch pedal.

Finally suppose an emergency does arise and I am in the appropriate gear, or get into the appropriate gear, where exactly am I going ? I was being forced to stop by either actual traffice or road signs or markings.

Also trying to brake in 1st gear is unlikely to be a smooth experience.

Nope, brake gently, if necessary depress the clutch first.

And finally to finish You CAN NOT be marked for stopping in 3/4/5/6 or any gear for that matter. If an instructor says his pupils get marked for it he is incompetent. His pupils may be getting marked for stopping, or the way they stop, it is definitely not because the gear lever happens to be positioned in 3rd, 4th whatever. It is for some other reason and I say he is incompetent because he does not know that reason. Either that or he has to deal with a luddite of an examiner who has refused to do any re-training in the past twenty years. If that is the case he need only contact Ballina.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Basically you should be shifting down the gears and always stop in second gear and the car will not chug in second gear and will chug completely in higher gears. There are reasons for dropping down to second gear like not having to stop at roundabouts if need, turning left and right without stopping etc. I don't understand how people say its okay to break and slow down in other gears! its not and you will be done for coasting. If you need to come to a complete stop break and clutch in second then switch it back into the first. The advice on here is quite shocking! And the post above me if you try and stop in 4th or 5th gear the car will chug chug chug way too early for the clutch to be pressed. If you apply the clutch too early you will be done for coasting!!! i.e unnecessary use of the clutch. It is okay to stop in higher gear in a emergency obviously :P

Also to the poster above there was an artic behind you? you were in second gear? and you switched to first gear? Please dont tell me you switched from second gear to first gear to get more speed when you were allready cruising in second :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭TheChizler

areyawell wrote: »
    Basically you should be shifting down the gears and always stop in second gear and the car will not chug in second gear and will chug completely in higher gears. There are reasons for dropping down to second gear like not having to stop at roundabouts if need, turning left and right without stopping etc. I don't understand how people say its okay to break and slow down in other gears! its not and you will be done for coasting. If you need to come to a complete stop break and clutch in second then switch it back into the first. The advice on here is quite shocking! And the post above me if you try and stop in 4th or 5th gear the car will chug chug chug way too early for the clutch to be pressed. If you apply the clutch too early you will be done for coasting!!! i.e unnecessary use of the clutch.
    It is ok and can be done! I did it on my test (5th to stop) with no consequence, did an advanced driving course recently and had a discussion with the tester (who trains testers) and he said it was fine in itself. The reason instructors advise against it is for consistency when teaching. It's easier to teach someone to apply a strict set of rules to something which they follow at all times, than teaching intuition for different circumstances.

Granted it is a bit more difficult to pull off smoothly, but as long as you apply continuous brake and don't dawdle in the procedure it's fine. Judge the stopping distance and deceleration well, you shouldn't have to pull off the brake to make up extra ground if you misjudge etc. However for the purposes of practice it's better to follow a routine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Do any of ye drive diesels? Foot off the juice, as you slow change down from 6 to 4, then 4 to 2, apply brake, neutral, handbrake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭TheChizler

mathepac wrote: »
    Do any of ye drive diesels? Foot off the juice, as you slow change down from 6 to 4, then 4 to 2, apply brake, neutral, handbrake.
    Ooh, Mr. Six Speed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

TheChizler wrote: »
    Ooh, Mr. Six Speed!
    Feck off ya little divil ya!! Eight speed - reverse and neutral are speeds at my age!

When you learn how to drive the type of cars I've mostly driven, OP, you'll have two basic skills:

1) holding a car steady on a steep uphill using only clutch and accelerator

2) starting the car on a downhill or with burly friends and passers-by pushing, in second gear, when they all shout together and let go and you take off, the car bucking and rearing before settling into a steady chug, with you and the crowd disappearing in your rear mirror muttering in chorus "Thanks be to Jesus".

oh, and

3) waving in happy friendliness to all the AA men around your native city, all of whom you know well because they've shown you how to hotwire the car when the ignition goes, how to stuff blankets and newspapers over the engine (and tie a strip of one on the steering wheel so you won't forget) in winter, etc.

/QUOTE] se

I have posted on here several times that it is unnecessary to change down when coming to a complete stop.

Each and every time someone replies that you must be in the correct gear for your speed in case of an emergency. Never bothered to reply - till now.

But it is impossible and impractical - to be in the correct gear for all possible emergencies . And the posters do not seem to realise how quickly a person can change gears.

Just one example. (I was actually on a training lesson for driving instruction) I was approaching a T junction turning left. I had no following traffic. Nice open junction. Lights were green, oncoming traffic moving smoothly through the junction at something between twenty - thirty mph. No traffic waiting to turn right and no right indicators flashing in the line of opposing traffic. Amongst the traffic was a driving school arctic - complete with trailer.

I took the corner nice and smooth in the appropriate gear (2nd), straightened up and gave a glance in the interior mirror, expecting to see the line of traffic driving through the junction on the opposite side of the old road. Instead the mirror was filled with the radiator of the school arctic. I accelerated but radiator kept getting bigger, (was driving a basic VW Polo), selected 1st, buried the accelerator and finally escaped. Am sure it looked very funny from the pavement. Wee screaming Polo with an Arctic bumper on its back window. I was in the correct gear for the corner, but not for a demon arctic.

Also suppose you are stopping, the gear lever is in say 5th gear and you have the clutch depressed, you are more than half way through a gear change. Less time to change. In my example above my foot was not near the clutch pedal.

Finally suppose an emergency does arise and I am in the appropriate gear, or get into the appropriate gear, where exactly am I going ? I was being forced to stop by either actual traffice or road signs or markings.

Nope, brake gently, if necessary depress the clutch first.

And finally to finish You CAN NOT be marked for stopping in 3/4/5/6 or any gear for that matter. If an instructor says his pupils get marked for it he is incompetent. His pupils may be getting marked for stopping, or the way they stop, it is definitely not because the gear lever happens to be positioned in 3rd, 4th whatever. It is for some other reason and I say he is incompetent because he does not know that reason. Either that or he has to deal with a luddite of an examiner who has refused to do any re-training in the past twenty years. If that is the case he need only contact Ballina.

TL;DR.
    Bottom line (for me at least)
    Stop in 2nd.
    Start in 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,350 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Progressive braking is probably the best way to brake before coming to a full stop/slowing down by changing down gears along with braking gradually and then clutch in to come to a complete stop.

You can skip gears from 4th to 2nd or 3rd to 1st no problem, generally start at 1st, move off, when coming to a stop be in 2nd gear then back into 1st to be ready to go. Be sure not to jump from 5th gear to 1st gear it could damage the gearstick. 5th to 3rd is ok.

Gradually brake, down shift gears, braking further until you get to 2nd gear, braking and in 2nd gear before you clutch in, try not to clutch in too soon either. Once you clutch in fully you stop/roll to a stop.

Staying on clutch for too long is coasting be away of that.

It takes practise to get the braking right!

Regarding hill starts it how you hold the biting point between the clutch and accelerator. Holding onto biting point without coasting is very important so as not to stall or roll back. Its all in clutch control. Having enough acceleration before moving off on a hill is important otherwise you'd stall.

Emergency braking well, its the being able to brake and clutch in as soon as possible. Takes practise without stalling. Quick gradual braking and not too much pressure on brake but clutch in as soon as possible.
    sqooka wrote: »
    I've been learning to drive since march now, and I think I'm pretty grand at this stage. But the major issue I have is that I think I tend to coast when I'm breaking. I do break first for a while, but I still think I might be putting the clutch in a little early. The alternative though is to wait until the engine starts to chug a little and I'm not sure if then this is too late? Any advice would really help!

If you notice you are coasting that is half the battle, recognising you are doing it. Best to try to wean yourself gradually. Once you notice you are doing it, stop straight away! Brake gradually and then clutch in!

Are you coasting when changing the gears? As soon as you have changed gear, lift foot off clutch you'd could jerk or stall car otherwise! If you clutching in too soon take your foot off once you realise you are doing it and be sure you are braking gradually! You brake gradually first then clutch in!! B-C! (Brake-Clutch) treat it as ABC!! Accelerator etc. You shouldn't be marked down for changing down gears/skipping them or stopping in what ever gear you are in as long its appropriate and suits the driving situation you are in! Its important to be smooth with your gear changes! Costing will make it nosy and being in too low a gear as well make it nosy. Using the clutch or biting point too soon/early can cause it to stall/jerk or be bumpy. Be sure to have your handbrake off!

If the engine is about to chug it either going to stall or you are in too high a gear more likely you are in too high a gear before stopping without having been braking gradually!? Its not too late to clutch in. Braking gradually and go down your gears and then Clutch in yes once you think you chugging do so quickly in case you stall. You can stop in any gear but its best to skip gears or gradually brake and then go down as many gears as possible but you can stop in any gear if you wish!

Just means you have to gradually brake and clutch in as soon as but be careful if there is a possibility of stalling if there is down shift your gears and be gradually braking before clutching in! Clutching in is the last thing you do before coming to a complete stop.

Yielding is all in the biting point as well! Holding on to the bite without coasting!!

It takes practise OP, try not to worry too much about it! Applying the appropriate gears and appropriate time to brake and clutch in is important. Its a lot to do with biting point and the clutch and timing!

Best of luck with it!

Also to the poster above there was an artic behind you? you were in second gear? and you switched to first gear? Please dont tell me you switched from second gear to first gear to get more speed when you were allready cruising in second :rolleyes:

Lucky You.

Obviously you drive only high powered high performance cars with massive torque which can, in any gear, effortlessly accelerate from anything on the road.

Describing the acceleration of a Polo in 2nd gear words like staid, placid spring to mind.

I did write
    I accelerated but radiator kept getting bigger
    (should have said Grill).

What exactly was I supposed to do ?. Accept my Karma, allow the truck to hit. . Or try and kick some life into the car by dropping to 1st.

TL;DR.
    Bottom line (for me at least)
    Stop in 2nd.
    Start in 1st.

Not if taking off downhill. Much better to move off in 2nd or 3rd.

Could someone please provide a link to a authoritative site which says you should stop in 2nd.

I think some people completely misunderstand the expression "Grandfather Rights"

It does not mean that if Grandpapa did it then it is right.

When you learn how to drive the type of cars I've mostly driven, OP, you'll have two basic skills:

1) holding a car steady on a steep uphill using only clutch and accelerator

2) starting the car on a downhill or with burly friends and passers-by pushing, in second gear, when they all shout together and let go and you take off, the car bucking and rearing before settling into a steady chug, with you and the crowd disappearing in your rear mirror muttering in chorus "Thanks be to Jesus".

oh, and

3) waving in happy friendliness to all the AA men around your native city, all of whom you know well because they've shown you how to hotwire the car when the ignition goes, how to stuff blankets and newspapers over the engine (and tie a strip of one on the steering wheel so you won't forget) in winter, etc.

The starting handle was before your time then ? Although granted it was much easier if you could get a few willing pushers.

Lucky You.

Obviously you drive only high powered high performance cars with massive torque which can, in any gear, effortlessly accelerate from anything on the road.

Describing the acceleration of a Polo in 2nd gear words like staid, placid spring to mind.

I did write (should have said Grill).

What exactly was I supposed to do ?. Accept my Karma, allow the truck to hit. . Or try and kick some life into the car by dropping to 1st.

Ah I drived a punto, . If you switch back to first from second while driving comfortably around 3500 revs will shoot the car it up to like 6000 revs, stutter and engine will be roaring and will get no added speed. First gear is just for taking off and no added speed from second gear if allready moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

I would have thought speeding up, changing to third, speeding up, changing to fourth, etc. Changing from second to first slows the car dramatically at first, I wouldn't risk that chance with an arctic on my tail

Of course the correct thing to do was to speed up. Which I did. Only problem, insufficient power in 2nd.

Changing down into a lower gear will only slow down the car if you come off the gas, change gear, let the clutch up completely, then give it gas.

I did say the car was screaming.

How fast were you going in second? switching to first would cause the car to shrug and jump with no added acceleration. Second gears on smaller cars are generally very quick to accelerate

Normal driving, if your car gives a "shrug and jump " every time you change into 1st, give a wee taste of acceleration as you release the clutch.

First gear is for taking off only and has very little acceleration.Why would I change to first when moving in second? Please stop trolling. Please dont say first gear has more acceleration than second gear because it doesn't!

I give you an excellent piece of advise on changing smoothly into 1st and above is the thanks.

As regards 1st versus 2nd, you obviously have never done any burn ups from traffic lights.

If you change too soon into 2nd you lose.

Ahh so your advice for slowing down is to first accelerate? :confused:
    And for that reason, I'm out.

I give you an excellent piece of advise on changing smoothly into 1st and above is the thanks.

As regards 1st versus 2nd, you obviously have never done any burn ups from traffic lights.

If you change too soon into 2nd you lose.

What are you blabbing on about now? You think its better to change from second gear to first gear going around a roundabout to gain speed in an emergency:rolleyes:

Also its better for learner drivers to drop down to second as when the driving test instructor brings you to housing estates to turn left and right through estates you have to do it in second gear if you don't need to stop.

Burn ups from traffic lights? What are you talking about. You should be in second gear stopping at traffic lights. If the traffic then moves suddenly clutch and put it into first gear, might get away with moving in second if your allready moving steadily. Seriously learn how to drive and stop giving people wrong advice.

Also do you be in fifth gear coming up to traffic lights and then accelerate and switch to first? ah here leave it out
    Its the same as turning left at a junction, in fourth or fifth gear and your foot has to be on the clutch or the car will conk out. This is called Coasting.

As regards proof? Where is proof for a driving test that you must look right going around a roundabout, that you must look out the back window when doing the reverse, that you should use the handbrake when stopped. There is a section on the driving test sheet that deals with clutch and gears. Its not there for the fun of it.

The bottom line for me anyway is stop in second gear. Start in first gear.

Ahh so your advice for slowing down is to first accelerate? :confused:
    And for that reason, I'm out.

Before you go, are you being deliberately obtuse or what ????

You now say that if I was to give the car gas it will speed up :eek::eek:

And as areyawell thanked, must also believe so.?

What exactly have you being arguing about. ?

When I posted re. a smooth gear change to 1st, the reason why it is sometimes advisable to give a little gas is to more closely match (as in Match = equal) the speed of the engine to the speed of the wheels. Therefore no change in speed either way when the clutch engages.

I am definitely out of here after one more post

The bottom line for me anyway is stop in second gear. Start in first gear.

No problem. At least there is no danger of you killing anybody

However before you attempt to overtake, please take a proper driving lesson with an instructor who will explain the gears.

Before you go, are you being deliberately obtuse or what ????

You now say that if I was to give the car gas it will speed up :eek::eek:

And as areyawell thanked, must also believe so.?

What exactly have you being arguing about. ?

When I posted re. a smooth gear change to 1st, the reason why it is sometimes advisable to give a little gas is to more closely match (as in Match = equal) the speed of the engine to the speed of the wheels. Therefore no change in speed either way when the clutch engages.

I am definitely out of here after one more post

Ah if you give the car gas gas it will speed up in the proper gear so what are you blabbing on about now?

Not talking about acceleration, talking about the proper gear to start and stop in. you have this idea of it been okay coast for ages to stop
    No problem. At least there is no danger of you killing anybody

However before you attempt to overtake, please take a proper driving lesson with an instructor who will explain the gears.

Should I overtake in first gear so to get more acceleration?:)

I am a retired driving instructor, therefore can not (?) be accused of shilling. (Am in Chiang Mai at the moment) I had a pass rate in the high nineties - counting only the pupils who took a reasonable number of lessons. Including all pupils even the ones who only took one or two lessons my overall pass rate hoovered around the high eighties/ low nineties.

In sixteen years instructing I have had well over 3,000 pupils pass the test.

Each and every single one of those pupils I taught to stop in whatever gear they happen to be in, that it was unnecessary to change down. Even if in 6th gear. None were marked.

As the video:-

I am a retired driving instructor, therefore can not (?) be accused of shilling. (Am in Chiang Mai at the moment) I had a pass rate in the high nineties - counting only the pupils who took a reasonable number of lessons. Including all pupils even the ones who only took one or two lessons my overall pass rate hoovered around the high eighties/ low nineties.

In sixteen years instructing I have had well over 3,000 pupils pass the test.

Each and every single one of those pupils I taught to stop in whatever gear they happen to be in, that it was unnecessary to change down. Even if in 6th gear. None were marked.

As the video:-

So your in sixth at a round about with no traffic coming, ah hear leave it out! Should you not be in second or third? Ah here