Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car jacker shoots himself in head live on tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭shizz

Link

Don't worry they don't show it in the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I'm surprised it doesn't happen more often. Some of those news crews have their own helicopters so they won't miss anything.

It's risky to show chases like that when you know the person has a gun. They should have delayed the footage by a few seconds.

Edit: I see from that article they had a 5 second delay but didn't cut it in time.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I'm surprised it doesn't happen more often. Some of those news crews have their own helicopters so they won't miss anything.

It's risky to show chases like that when you know the person has a gun. They should have delayed the footage by a few seconds.

Apparently it was delayed by 5 seconds but they failed to cut it off.

they usually have some sort of delay be it five or fifteen seconds I think. Wonder what went wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Jake1 wrote: »
    they usually have some sort of delay be it five or fifteen seconds I think. Wonder what went wrong.
    shizz wrote: »
    Apparently it was delayed by 5 seconds but they failed to cut it off.

Edit: I see from that article they had a 5 second delay but didn't cut it in time.

Are we not supposed to see him shooting himself in the head or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was expecting more of a Budd Dwyer scenario

eth0 wrote: »
    Are we not supposed to see him shooting himself in the head or something?

I think they'd just rather not show you it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

US politician Bud Dwyer called a press conference after he had been implicated in a scandal. Once he'd finished his address he pulled out a glock pistol and shot it into the roof of his mouth. All this was captured on live tv, the footage is still widely available online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

shizz wrote: »
    I think they'd just rather not show you it...

Greedy feckers, keeping all the gore for themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Jake1 wrote: »

To be fair, it looks like human error. Smith said the feed to the studio was 5 seconds ahead of the broadcast feed. But after the shooting they immediately cut back to the studio and then smith seemed to start shouting "get it off" long after it was over but as if he was just seeing it. Only watched it once but seemed like someone accidentally cross wires and send the delayed feed to the studio and the live feed out on the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

[MOD SNIP]

There's the video. It's not graphic at all really. Guy shoots himself in the head.. does exactly what it says on the tin. The thread title is probably more graphic tbh

The newscaster at the end seemed pretty bothered by it though.

The other lads name is Doug

MOD: It's a guy shooting himself in the head. Of course it's graphic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

He was doing his Fonejacker impression and tried to press "call". He had the line all ready and everything -"Gooooodafternoon Saaah". That's what happens when you mix up your Nokia and your Glock. Easy mistake in fairness, in the heat of the moment.

US politician Bud Dwyer called a press conference after he had been implicated in a scandal. Once he'd finished his address he pulled out a glock pistol and shot it into the roof of his mouth. All this was captured on live tv, the footage is still widely available online.

It's extraordinarily graphic so if you decide to watch it, be prepared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

did he an hero?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

+1 It came completely out of the blue and the cameraman kept the camera right on the dying Dwyer even with the blood coming out of his mouth !

Fair play to the anchorman for the apology he issued straight away, at least it wasn't too graphic with the distance, still sad to see though !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Very true. Thought I was, actually wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

All this was captured on live tv, the footage is still widely available online.

So yeah, that's pretty fvcked up right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The other lads name is Doug

Is that because of the shovel in his head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

You copied and pasted the word extraordinarily

Zamboni wrote: »
    So yeah, that's pretty fvcked up right there.

It's something that happened and there's no point in trying to cover or remove it.

I concur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Wasnt too bad. He could have faked it and you wouldnt have known. Anybody ever see that one where the guy blows his brains out on the infared camera at night time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

He looks like Jesse from Breaking Bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

That's nothing, I once seen a baby being born, most disgusting thing I've ever seen. Miracle of birth me bollix.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Hollywood doesn't show blood like that. :eek:

You copied and pasted the word extraordinarily

I'm not sure what you mean ...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Buck Fizz

I just watched this!!!! Holy fcuk is all I can say...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

+1 It came completely out of the blue and the cameraman kept the camera right on the dying Dwyer even with the blood coming out of his mouth !

Don't do a search for this! It's not something that is suitable viewing for everyone. It is graphic and shocking and the shooting does happen unexpectedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I was looking on liveleaks for more on it but can't find anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Still isn't as shocking as a nipple in the superbowl.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Don't do a search for this! It's not something that is suitable viewing for everyone. It is graphic and shocking and the shooting does happen unexpectedly.

I'm not being funny but at what point of the short 2.43 video footage are you not expecting it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Zamboni wrote: »
    I'm not being funny but at what point of the short 2.43 video footage are you not expecting it?

Not being funny & I know this is AH! but still being viewed by youngsters who probably shouldn't. That was a little warning for people that may not have seen anything as graphic before or anything as serious IRL to be prepared. I knew it was going to happen but still jumped as it even shocked me when it did happen, but thanks though.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Not being funny & I know this is AH! but still being viewed by youngsters who probably shouldn't. That was a little warning for people that may not have seen anything as graphic before or anything as serious IRL to be prepared. I knew it was going to happen but still jumped as it even shocked me when it did happen, but thanks though.

It's actually quite poignant when you read the back story.
    But yes it is definitley better suited to an 18+ audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Its on Youtube, it's not gorey or anything, just disturbing.

edit: Im talking about the carjacker one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Buck Fizz wrote: »
    I just watched this!!!! Holy fcuk is all I can say...........

All the more tragic considering the accusations against him were proven false only recently. A sad end that will come as a harsh surprise to anyone, including myself, who knows of death purely from movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I remember the first time I watched that Budd Dwyer video I couldn't get it out of my head for ages. Awful video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Dean09 wrote: »
    I remember the first time I watched that Budd Dwyer video I couldn't get it out of my head for ages. Awful video.

It would actually haunt you. He seemed so calm and articulate just prior to pulling the trigger. Awful to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

did he an hero?

Sometimes, most likely never more than often.

Its on Youtube, it's not gorey or anything, just disturbing.

Have you actually watched it? If you don't think it's gory, then I wouldn't want to see what you classify as it. What made it most shocking is it was far more so than anything you would have seen on TV or in movies.

It's recorded from a helicoptor, the camera isnt in his face or anything. There's no blood or anything, just a man falling to the ground. Thats not graphic or gorey, unless there's multiple angles of it going around.

Oh, I was referring to the other video of the politician shooting himself in the head.

Oh right, yeah I won't be watching that one from what i've heard.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

There are two different shooting incidents being talked about now.

One from a news helicopter where you see next to nothing except someone falling on the ground.

The other of a politician in the '80's shooting himself in a news conference, the camera is a lot closer and you are left in no doubt about what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

FUCKING HELL.

Why did i have to watch the Bud Dwyer movie. Why? Why? Why? Im such an idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

What did Shepard Smith mean when he was shouting get of it get of it?

Oh right, yeah I won't be watching that one from what i've heard.

Don't. My curiousity got the better of me when it was mentioned in the excellent Photos that Shook the World thread over in Cool Vids & Pics a few weeks back and it still haunts me sometimes.
    woodoo wrote: »

It was probably directed straight at the camera men and production crew to cut the feed when he copped on to what was happening - notice how it cut to an advert break just after he said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Cut the feed. Did you really not get that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

He meant get off the live feed...i.e. dont broadcast the shooting, but he was too late.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Saw the Budd Dwyer video a while back. What i found funny was that, because of movie violence, watching the real seemed surreal. That of course confirmed to me that reality is not somewhere any of us really live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Hogzy wrote: »
    FUCKING HELL.

Why did i have to watch the Bud Dwyer movie. Why? Why? Why? Im such an idiot

Curiosity. It's like you have to see how far you can go before you can shock yourself. And that ****ing video shocked me.