Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vandals superglue doors on 25 houses in Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

I vote hilarity so I do.

poll please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭rockclover1

On a serious note,an argument for CCTV and harsher punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

On a serious note,an argument for CCTV and harsher punishment.

Aye, they need something to make it stick.*

*Sorry.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Aye, they need something to make it stick.*

*Sorry.

hmmm...i think your pun has opened the door now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I started reading a book the other day called "The History of Glue".

I couldn't put it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Steven81

They should check for fingerprints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

a sticky situation...

ugh somebody ban me please :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

On the one hand I'm laughing because its funny.

On the other hand I'm not the one who has to shell out a small fortune to a lock smith, if I were I'd probably want to throttle whoever did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

davet82 wrote: »
    a sticky situation...

ugh somebody ban me please :o

That'd be a Pritty lame way to get banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I couldn't put it down.
    Although for some reason it's really not much of a page turner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Slurryface

I couldn't put it down.
    Just got stuck into it did you?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Back in school we used to superglue the zippers on peoples schoolbags shut. It was hilarious. Even the teachers laughed eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭Thud

Hopefully the Guards are able to solvent this crime

When I am saying poll please I am nyot meaning the voting poll.

I am syo lonely.

Thud wrote: »

actually ban this guy :rolleyes:

so terrible its funny :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

ScumLord wrote: »
    Back in school we used to superglue the zippers on peoples schoolbags shut. It was hilarious. Even the teachers laughed eventually.

Yeah real funny, those poor pupils now have to point at the menu in Mc Donalds when ordering.
    Illiteracy is no laughing matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

I shall be using this as an elaborate excuse to get out of some obligation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Apparently nail varnish can dissolve the glue.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Yeah real funny, those poor pupils now have to point at the menu in Mc Donalds when ordering.
    Illiteracy is no laughing matter.
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

It is kinda funny if it happened once but if they keep it up its bullying .
    These jokes are only funny once .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

You are looking at replacing the lock and new keys, probably 4 going by our family requirements at least €100 euros not including call out etc if you have to get a locksmith out in the event of being a old person not able to do the work.

This is equivalent to kicking someone in a wheelchair and should be dealt with accordingly.

What happens if someone comes back at night without mobile phone or neighbours present and its freezing cold outside????

At least most people I know who give lifts to old people wait outside and "see them in" safely, but if they don't?

What will these creatures do next? Cut brake lines or partially cut tyres??

A lot of the newer EURO style locks have to be opened from the inside with a key. What happens in the event of a fire???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

It seems to have brought the community together though, sort of a bonding exercise.

they community have stuck together after the incident...

actually shoot me somebody :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Maybe Gardaí should interview the local locksmith, would be a prime suspect :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I hope they catch whoever did it, or these poor homeowners will never be adhese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Thud wrote: »

Once the local guards heard glue was involved they got the Drug Squad in to investigate it.

"Shur Mick Their hiding their drugs in door locks now "

doolox wrote: »
    You are looking at replacing the lock and new keys, probably 4 going by our family requirements at least €100 euros not including call out etc if you have to get a locksmith out in the event of being a old person not able to do the work.

This is equivalent to kicking someone in a wheelchair and should be dealt with accordingly.

What happens if someone comes back at night without mobile phone or neighbours present and its freezing cold outside????

At least most people I know who give lifts to old people wait outside and "see them in" safely, but if they don't?

A lot of the newer EURO style locks have to be opened from the inside with a key. What happens in the event of a fire???
    No it is not! Nobody was kicked.

Truley it as epoxy thing to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

I can see it now "The great Donegal lockout of 2012"
    Where Big Jim when ya need him?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

I used to work in a shop. When I was getting trained in, the boss who had just enough campness about him to make you wonder, was telling me about how the kids sometimes superglued the padlocks on the shop shutters at night.

His solution, delivered with the creepiest grin imaginable, was to rub Vaseline on the locks at closing time.....
    "It helps for easy entry in the morning"

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭WhimSock

Sounds like no one has a glue who did it.

WhimSock wrote: »
    Sounds like no one has a glue who did it.
    They will once the Gardai get stuck in:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

A lot of the newer EURO style locks have to be opened from the inside with a key.
    Yeah, it's still funny though. Schadenfreude and all that.

The picture of your man outside his superglued gaff is what got me.
    What happens in the event of a fire???
    I'd make sure to run straight to the nearest newsagent and get a lotto ticket if I got out alive. The chances of picking six numbers out of 42(?) pales in comparison to that of getting glued inside your house if it goes ablaze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Not funny at all. I'm sure none of you would be laughing if it was uhu couldn't open your door in the morning.

maximoose wrote: »
    I hope they catch whoever did it, or these poor homeowners will never be adhese.

the charges will never stick!

cloptrop wrote: »
    It is kinda funny if it happened once but if they keep it up its bullying .
    These jokes are only funny once .

maybe the gaurds should question the local locksmith?
    i mean who else could possibly benefit from this?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Whilst this was a reprehensible act, I have to applaud the collective punning prowess of AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Headline sounds funnier than the actual event.
    I had an image of glue all around sides of door frame keeping it in place even though unlocked. that'd take some work and you'd give the feckers points for effort.
    Glueing people's locks is just the work of a bunch of little scummers who definitely do not deserve support of this kind.

Also, really shouoldn't be that difficult to catch them at it.
    Some sort of inventive public punishment should be dished out so they don't think they're so hilarious in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

:( Reminds me of my first teenage disco and how I seen the love of my life across the dance floor but lost her forever. I even wrote a poem about it.

We gazed at each other for ages
    But all I could do was stare
    Cause the superglue leaked in my pocket
    And stuck my arse to the chair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

ohh glue hoo!

*sniff sniff*

If this thread gets locked, at least can we end it on a high?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Or you could try flooding the lock with nail varnish remover (acetone)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

It said in the paper that the super glue renders the door locks useless.

EM, spray a bit of WD40 in the locks and it dissolves the super glue :rolleyes:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Would_WD-40_remove_glue_from_metal_surface

Or as suggested here..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

You really should phone up Joe Duffy, they're crying out for lads like yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Make this thread a stickie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

€2k+ damage is not funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

OP I find it ironic you were nearly crying with outrage the other day when posters like myself questioned the absurdity of a TV licence.

What's the story with you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Sort of hilarious at first glance.
    At second thought, rather dangerous. If there had been a fire, people could have been killed.
    Also, bloody expensive... doors don't come cheap, and by the sounds of it some cars were damaged, too.

I can't make up my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭parrai

Whilst it may appear funny from the outset, it could have ended up badly.

These kids/teenagers that done this, (I say kids/teenagers, as it is unlikely that adults would do this type of prank) obviously have nothing to do.

They probably had not thought about the possibilty of fire, cost of repair etc.

Funnily enough, they are probably known in the area.

Had they done this to one house, they probably would have gotten away with it, but 25 houses, I doubt they will.

Out of the 25 houses, there will be retribution, if the police don't get them first.

Won't be so funny then.