Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

some 80's nostalgia

• 27-09-2012 5:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭

anyone remember these 80's things

little salt packets in the ready salted crisps
    conte colouring pastel pencils (I think you dipped them in water for a richer colour)
    magic markers (where the white one always dried up first)
    red/blue pens with eraser on top
    multi colour click pens
    tahiti cube shower gel
    biarrizz blue triangle chocolates (barry manilow blue triangle ad)
    The Weetabix skinheads ad in the 80's http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EV3E2SJ4B7U&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I remember the tahiti shower gel and the triangular chocolate.
    It's a bit of a haze with the rest of the list though !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

yes the weetabix skinheads, dunk and co ha ha... I had the weetabix glow in the dark poster !
    is clinic shampoo still about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Tiswaz.
    Glenroe.
    Inter Cert.
    Queen in Slane '86.
    Emigrating.
    Smoking allowed everywhere.
    Yellow Pack.
    BMX Bikes.
    No seatbelts.
    Mittens.

Also. Freedom from the rules that came from being a 'rich' country.

needing the leaving cert to get a job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭miss choc

4 colour pens still around it seems http://www.bicworld.com/en/products/details/18/4-color

Magic markers
    http://www.orientaltrading.com/color-changing-magic-markers-a2-56_53.fltr

more things

le clic camera - I had a lovely pink one
    fergie bows
    swatch watches
    coloured denim
    paisley shirts
    perms
    troll dolls
    cassette walkman
    spirograph, operation, guess who, simon, doodle board, perfection blockbusters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Anyone remember these from the 80's :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

BMX Bikes.

The there was the movie BMX Bandits which cashed in on the craze big time.

dark blue garda cars.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I remember the Weetabix skinheads.They also did an ad that was a pastiche of the A-Team.And they used to advertise these yellow ghetto blasters that you could send off tokens from the packet for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Orange double decker buses with windows so dirty you couldn't see out through them.

Gardai and Defence Force members with moustaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Standing areas for away supporters at football matches and proper beer as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Orange and white P&T (precursor to Telecom Eireann and Eircom.) vans, in the early 80s. God I'm old :o

Cars with one different coloured door (like the one in the Inbetweeners) and / or coat hanger for aerial!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Orange and white P&T (precursor to Telecom Eireann and Eircom.) vans, in the early 80s. God I'm old :o

Cars with one different coloured door (like the one in the Inbetweeners) and / or coat hanger for aerial!
    Ya. Remember them. Renault 4 in orange with white doors

I even remember their predecessers. Dark green Ford Anglias. And the bigger VW Vans. How old am I?

gammygils wrote: »
    Ya. Remember them. Renault 4 in orange with white doors

I even remember their predecessers. Dark green Ford Anglias. And the bigger VW Vans. How old am I?
    The Guards had the Renault 4 as well up to the late 80's.Can't imagine them catching up with speeding culprits,I imagine they must have been for transporting prisioners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
    Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
    Brown paper packages tied up with string
    and, er, the recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

darkdubh wrote: »
    The Guards had the Renault 4 as well up to the late 80's.Can't imagine them catching up with speeding culprits,I imagine they must have been for transporting prisioners.
    Very small prisoners I assume 'cos I remember four of us going from Dublin to Cork once in a Renault 4, cramped would be an understatement, nice fun car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

"ska" was all the rage in the 80s :)

Frisbees, disco headbands with bobbing balls on top :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

IrishHomer wrote: »

Ah yes 'Ska'.
    In the 80's I saw 'The Specials' in the Olympic Ballroom, supported by 'Dr. Feelgood', now beat that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Petrol vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

vektarman wrote: »
    Very small prisoners I assume 'cos I remember four of us going from Dublin to Cork once in a Renault 4, cramped would be an understatement, nice fun car though.

Try a family of 7 going on a holiday to Achill Island from waterford in a blazing hot summer (we had hot summers back then) in a Renault 4, my father must have been insane. That car was like a feckin bouncy castle they way it would bounce over humps and potholes and there were certainly no seat-belts in the back of the car thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Chopper bikes
    Dinky cars
    Can of Shandy.... my first 'drink'....
    Wagons Wheels....
    and...

Radio Luxemburg -only late at nite cos reception was crap! Mostly sitting in teh fathers car..freezing !!!

driving from dublin to athlone and stopping in kinnegad to break the journey.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Sikpupi

aaahhh... Harry's in Kinnegad!!

Unfortunately... I remember Kinnegad as the mother of all Traffic Jams!! TG they bye-passed it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Masala wrote: »

Chopper bikes
    Dinky cars
    Can of Shandy.... my first 'drink'....
    Wagons Wheels....
    and...

Radio Luxemburg -only late at nite cos reception was crap! Mostly sitting in teh fathers car..freezing !!!
    Radio Luxemburg. The Great 208. Rod Jones,Benny Brown etc.
    Used to put it on when Pascal Mooney was on Radio 2!
    Reception was ****e. But music was good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

fatbhoy wrote: »
    Petrol vans.

Extinct now.

AFAIK, business's can claim back the VAT on Diesel but not on Petrol.

Remember when you sold your car, you kept the Stereo & put it your new car?

Lots of cars then didn't have stereos in them, even when they were new.:eek:

IrishHomer wrote: »

Walking the streets with a 2 in 1 on your shoulder (not to be mistaken with the hip hop breakdancer craic...this was jeans, bob marley jumpers and adidas rom territory ha!....depending on which suburb of DNS it was ska or reggae........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭miss choc

Remember LW Atlantic 252 radio used to love that in College

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Preferred Sunshine 101 & Gerry Ryan's late night chat show...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Glass litre bottles of coke and Tk lemonade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

500ml Supercans of Coke
    Amusement arcades with great games like Double Dragon, Robocop and JailBreak
    Toploader VHS machines that cost a fortune and weighed a ton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

Toploader VHS machines that cost a fortune and weighed a ton

Betamax toploaders! :D
    This one actually!

sanyovtc9300pn.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Puff ball skirts
    Bottle tops on shoes(usually Grolsch)
    Slow sets
    Hair-sprayed fringes(girls)that were backcombed to within an inch of your life and the sprayed with a half a can of hairspray the HAD cfc's still in it.
    Blue eyeshadow and mascara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

shockwave wrote: »
    Glass litre bottles of coke and Tk lemonade.
    Used to love taking the empty ones back to the shop and getting some money for them.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Used to love taking the empty ones back to the shop and getting some money for them.

No Deposit No Return ha! that was stamped into the glass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

miss choc wrote: »
    Remember LW Atlantic 252 radio used to love that in College
    Yep! They were based in Trim and I remember staying there with my granny in the early 90's, going up to their offices and knocking on the door hastling them till we got stickers and hats and stuff!

LW 252..was talking to dusty rhodes a while back about the regulars on that station...

KLF /tammy wynnette justified and ancient..
    prince.. diamonds and pearls
    george and elton.. don't let the sun go down (steady on there)

he said they had them on catridge and stuck them on if they were running into dead air while changing tape or cd..

brilliant!

how about Hawker vans...
    we had one in our street..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Had a vivid memory of drinking orange from a brown glass bottle with a straw,tasted amazing.
    Today,I remembered the name.

"A dwink is not a dwink without a Dwans".

Anybody remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

msthe80s wrote: »
    Had a vivid memory of drinking orange from a brown glass bottle with a straw,tasted amazing.
    Today,I remembered the name.

"A dwink is not a dwink without a Dwans".

Anybody remember?

Yep, they had a depot in Cherry Orchard, me Da used to work next door, so we always had gallons of free Dwans in our house back then.

21/25