Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

driven duck shooting.

• 25-09-2012 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

some of you may remember the thread i had up about the driven duck shooting i did with one or two members off here. anyway, the lad rang me earlier in the month to tell me he has the same shoot on this year. . . it's based in wicklow and was a very enjoyable day. lovely bit of lunch and we could take any amount of the ducks home with us.

so i'm just letting lads know.

john 0872371404

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

dicky82 wrote: »
    some of you may remember the thread i had up about the driven duck shooting i did with one or two members off here. anyway, the lad rang me earlier in the month to tell me he has the same shoot on this year. . . it's based in wicklow and was a very enjoyable day. lovely bit of lunch and we could take any amount of the ducks home with us.

so i'm just letting lads know.

john 0872371404
    How much is the day,what date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

How much is the day,what date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

lots of dates available. you just need to check with john himself. i did have the prices written down but i can't find the sheet at the minute. i think from memory it was seven guns at about E150 a head, i could have that wrong though. have to say it was great craic.

Any1 want to tag along with mise.i really want to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

I'll go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

moby30 wrote: »
    I'll go :D

+1 how many drives was there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 StanF

I'm in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Mezamo

Me too.. how many drives??

Mezamo wrote: »
    Me too.. how many drives??
    Thats 6.so di we need 2 more people?

ok lads. as per request.

if you want to go for real. it's eight guns.
    100 bird day.
    if you shoot all the birds in the first drive your day is over. so i won't shoot for the first drive. :D
    you can take all the birds home with you but after taking home eight and having to prepare another eight for a pal i'd say it's not such a good idea to take home that many. :o
    so everyone nominate a day. see what suits.
    my nomination is 11/11/12 if that doesn't suit everyone tough **** that's when we're going:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

so for €150app you can only shoot 12 duck each,lads any of ye want to give me that money ill provide with duck:p

ok lads. as per request.

100 bird day.
    if you shoot all the birds in the first drive your day is over. so i won't shoot for the first drive. :D
    you can take all the birds home with you but after taking home eight and having to prepare another eight for a pal i'd say it's not such a good idea to take home that many. :o
    my nomination is 11/11/12 if that doesn't suit everyone tough **** that's when we're going:D:D
    Sounds good il get on to you near the date

so for €150app you can only shoot 12 duck each,lads any of ye want to give me that money ill provide with duck:p

the day i went we shot 120 but were only charged the set price. given the price of feed at the minute that coupled with the cost of gas/heat lamps i'd say you'd struggle to provide 100 ducks for 12 euro a bird.

also the 150 euro includes a nice lunch. it would suit someone who hasn't experienced shooting ducks before. . .

lads forgot to mention that you bring your own gun and cartridges and MUST have a VALID gun licence.

Are semis alowed?that could rule me out !

I have a semi too... Not welcome on a driven pheasant shoot last year :(

Definately interested if they are though... Where abouts in Wicklow is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭marlin vs

I was on that shoot 2 years ago with a semi,you just take the shot you are presented with and don't act the idiot unloading the magazine,well worth the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 StanF

ok lads. as per request.

100 bird day.

November 11 is good for me !!! Looking forward

Was just asked by Dicky82 to put this up as hes in work and cannot access the internet. He has booked a driven Duck shoot for this Saturday and as two lads pulled out he has two places available, The cost will be 120 euros which includes lunch and all birds shot can be taken away if wanted. Its in Aughrim in Co Wicklow and It starts at 11:30 and will run for a few hours. If interested PM Dicky or myself.
    Going along myself as Ive never done it before and from what I hear its well run and guaranteed to be a great day.

Looking forward to this :D:D:D been so for a good while now....

SORTED
    Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

How was today lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Hope ye left 150 for me,gang of us heading up to John the end of the month,shot their 2 years ago with a few guys off here,great craic and John is a pure gent,thoroughly reccomend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Good luck today lads , going mad i have to work (story of my life these days)

Good days shooting today. A big thanks to Dicky82 for organising it. Annoying that some did not turn up and also not even have the decency to call and let us know they weren't coming..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

You had a good day shooting there:) To be let down at the last moment is bad did you have to pay extra money to cover those who did not turn up (spunk) thats not a nice thing to do not even a phone call to say you were not going:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Yea we all had to pay extra which in fairness everyone was ok with lucky enough. It was bad not to turn up without so much as a phone call. As I said earlier blacklist for him from now on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

looks like a decent bag how many drives were done what sort of cartridge to bird ratio any more days left

Good days shooting today. A big thanks to Dicky82 for organising it. Annoying that some did not turn up and also not even have the decency to call and let us know they weren't coming..
    How many didn't turn up? I was mad it was full up. Hope you had a good day!

steyrman2 wrote: »
    looks like a decent bag how many drives were done what sort of cartridge to bird ratio any more days left

120 shot altogether 4 drives. Bird/shot ratio we didn't count the empties :) I think dicky82 has the guys number if you're interested in a day.

Owel.. That's a pity lad.. There were a Couple of others not able to go beacause of those no shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭howya mike

Couldn't go myself because it was full up. Typical that someone doesn't show up and everyone else has to pay for it. Well **** em anyway. These are the lads that preach to everyone else. Even if there was an emergency you can text and let somebody know. Glad yous had a good day anyway lads. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

would love to give this a go if any of the lads have a contact for the lad that organises it could i get it. msyself a a few mates would love to give this ago over the christmas
    sotg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 springer90

120 shot altogether 4 drives. Bird/shot ratio we didn't count the empties :) I think dicky82 has the guys number if you're interested in a day.

Owel.. That's a pity lad.. There were a Couple of others not able to go beacause of those no shows.

That looks like good shootin men . . Just how much did it work out for each??? , , worked on two driven shoots in the past and anytin round 150quid is serious value. . . For that many birds . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

will this be happening again sounds like a great day out for the money

it's E1,200 for 100 birds, that includes a smashing lunch too. given the cost of barley E12 a bird is seriously good value. the contact number is 0872371404 john is his name. a sound lad to deal with.

as regards the lad who didn't show, they really ****ed us around as we had turned away three other guys due to the first come first served basis. a text as late as last night would meant the other guys could have gone not to mention saving the lads who did show a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

do you need to organise your own party or can he fit you in with a group

erm you'll have to ring and ask him that one but i'd say you'll probably be able to bunk in with lads here. pm me for the names of lads not to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Pencil me in if your doing one after Xmas Dicky. Ill send ya a deposit through PayPal if ya want

ssl wrote: »
    Pencil me in if your doing one after Xmas Dicky. Ill send ya a deposit through PayPal if ya want

I think this is the way to go.. Sorts the serious from the time wasters!

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

ssl wrote: »
    if your looking for somebody to fill a spot could you count me in could give a deposit any time thanks ,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

what size cartridge did ye use lads?are the duck put up off the pond or are they caged up before hand and released over the guns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Knucklebreaker

Looks the job lads!

Do ya bring your own dogs?

what size cartridge did ye use lads?are the duck put up off the pond or are they caged up before hand and released over the guns?

I used 34g Maximum 6's and found they did the job!

They had dogs there but I'm sure it wouldn't be a problem if you brought your own. Ask John before you go up!