Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boston Marathon 15/04/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Race Site
    Garmin Link

Got confirmation of my entry over the weekend :cool:
    Anybody else in?

All advice especially re logistics would be appreciated.

Congratulations:D
    I'm thrilled for you!!! If I ever make it back in for a club session you can go for a recovery run with me while I do a tempo run;) and I'll be only too happy to give you my Boston marathon tips.

Dory dory also got confirmation so you're in good company on here:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

I'm in also. Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

I did it 3 years ago, tough race but what an atmosphere. The whole city is taken over by it and the crowds are phenomenal. If you need any advice, just ask but the one and most important piece of advice is get practising those hills! I didn't do enough of this and my calves and I still aren't friends. Book accommodation now if you need it, the city fills up very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Yep, I'm in. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 barrmurphy

I'm in as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Great - looks like there's enough of us to make the thread worthwhile anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Amazing experience. If I could change one thing about my 2012 training it would be to do the long runs on a treadmill in a sauna... but hopefully you won't face the same challenge as this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

Peckham wrote: »
    Amazing experience. If I could change one thing about my 2012 training it would be to do the long runs on a treadmill in a sauna... but hopefully you won't face the same challenge as this year!

Yeah, the heat this year meant it was (hopefully) a unique challenge!

My main learning was that I invested too much in the outcome - I trained like a demon from December on but when I think about it I was

1. Participating in arguably the greatest marathon in the world - and all the emotions that entails
    2. Travelling a very long distance with a lot of logistics
    3. Dealing with jet lag
    4. Running a course with serious hills in the second half

and I was still aiming to break 3hrs for the first time.

It was too much - I should have run to enjoy the event and see what I could get out of it. The brutal, brutal heat meant that nobody got near their target times. There were 6 or 7 of us from the boards - all aiming for sub-3 (one looking for 2:40) and not one of us broke the 180. I was fierce pissed off not to get a shot at a proper race because of the heat and it took a long time to get over it. It was only a few weeks later that the event and the achievement began to sink in (I was sick as a dog with bronchitis for weeks after the effects of the heat).

In the end I had come well up the field and was top 2% out of 3000+ in my AG. This combined with the craic of the event and the whole buzz in Boston meant there was an awful lot to enjoy but it took me a long time to appreciate that.

So, my two cents: Don't run this race for a PB - rather, run it for the sheer enjoyment of marathoning and being part of the big one. If a PB comes along then great but there's so much more to Boston. The crowds alone make it a once-in-a-lifetime event.

You will never forget running in Boston marathon - not everyone gets to even enter this great event so enjoy it!!

Cheers for that. It seems like it was a very tough day for you all - surely it can't be as warm again.

For me I'm hoping 2013 will bring me a crack at sub 3:00.

Was thinking that Boston would be a great place to do it but on the other hand I was thinking I should go and make sure I enjoy the experience, maybe treat it as a special training run. This year I ran Rotterdam as a training run en-route to my Boston Qualifier in Cork - might take a similar approach again.

Glad to hear you endorse that sort of sentiment.

A lot to happen between now and then I suppose but the plans have to start sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DukeOfDromada

I'm in too! Just ran a 3:06 last weekend which got me in just in time. Will naturally be aiming for sub 3 but the hills may scupper that.

Currently live in Philadelphia so flights aren't an issue. Would love some feedback on accommodation though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Savage marathon. Couldn't agree more about atmosphere etc. will definitely do it again. Have it pencilled in to coincide with a certain birthday in a few years :)

Course not as tough as people make out. If you train for it hills really aren't that bad, well for me anyway. Sessions on the s bends and khyber in the Phoenix park would have you more than ready.

For what it's worth I ran a PB and negative split on it, as have many friends of mine so don't build the course up to something it's not. It has almost mythical status just because of its history. If you don't tear off like a headless chicken in the first 6 miles (mostly downhill) you are giving yourself a good chance to run well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Yeah, the heat this year meant it was (hopefully) a unique challenge!

My main learning was that I invested too much in the outcome - I trained like a demon from December on but when I think about it I was

1. Participating in arguably the greatest marathon in the world - and all the emotions that entails
    2. Travelling a very long distance with a lot of logistics
    3. Dealing with jet lag
    4. Running a course with serious hills in the second half

and I was still aiming to break 3hrs for the first time.

It was too much - I should have run to enjoy the event and see what I could get out of it. The brutal, brutal heat meant that nobody got near their target times. There were 6 or 7 of us from the boards - all aiming for sub-3 (one looking for 2:40) and not one of us broke the 180. I was fierce pissed off not to get a shot at a proper race because of the heat and it took a long time to get over it. It was only a few weeks later that the event and the achievement began to sink in (I was sick as a dog with bronchitis for weeks after the effects of the heat).

In the end I had come well up the field and was top 2% out of 3000+ in my AG. This combined with the craic of the event and the whole buzz in Boston meant there was an awful lot to enjoy but it took me a long time to appreciate that.

So, my two cents: Don't run this race for a PB - rather, run it for the sheer enjoyment of marathoning and being part of the big one. If a PB comes along then great but there's so much more to Boston. The crowds alone make it a once-in-a-lifetime event.

You will never forget running in Boston marathon - not everyone gets to even enter this great event so enjoy it!!

Cant agree more with Pete on this. I did Boston as my 'victory lap'. Getting in was the hard bit, spending a few days in Boston, being relaxed enough to really enjoy it was an absolute pleasure. There are so many variables with a long-distance destination race including climate, jet-lag etc that maybe just for once, step the pace back a bit, enjoy it, get chatting to people and take it all in! Thats what i did and i have no regrets. I ran a marathon pb 4 weeks later too!

Oh ya, and make sure you buy the jacket!

Ok to those from there from the past - recommendations for reasonable hotels in Boston? (if any?) Travelling probably Sat to the Wed.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

I stayed in hostelling international, boston, on hemenway street (though it looks as if that location has moved?). Close to finish line, close to fenway. yeah, i was a little reluctant about a hostel, but 30 quid a bed for a 4 bed dorm, breakfast included, cooking facilities, very central, cant argue with that. Everyone in the hostel was doing the marathon, so that wasnt an issue in terms of noise etc. Myself and another lad also doing the thon stayed there and we shared with a spanish and a californian lad (each of whom finished about an hour ahead of us!). We did move to the radisson for a couple of nights after the thon. This is now called the revere hotel and is very central.

Subway system is pretty good though if downtown is too pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Abhainn wrote: »
    Ok to those from there from the past - recommendations for reasonable hotels in Boston? (if any?) Travelling probably Sat to the Wed.

Cheers
    Have a look at seekrooms.com. You'll be looking at €1,100 - €1,400 for those four nights. Not cheap unfortunately. I stayed with a friend in the suburbs before and after the race and stayed up-town for the two nights of the race (and used hotel points, which made it very reasonable).

Runner's World has a thread on travel/hotels/logistics, which is worth a gander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

I rented an apartment while I was there. Try homeaway.com - place I rented was called Arthouse, and I'd highly recommend it. Lovely neighbourhood only 15 mins on the Orange Line to downtown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Here's the "official" accommodation agency for the Boston Marathon. They advertise cheaper rates to local hotels for runners. We booked our reservations through them near the finish line.

http://www.marathontours.com/index.cfm/page/Boston-Marathon/pid/10393

Aer Lingus Sale on now.
    Was region of €675 pp, now at €500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 dapower

I booked through united.com for €534 about 2 weeks ago - they are Aer Lingus flights, but were over €100 more expensive on aerlingus.com for the SAME flights. now AL is €509, weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Maybe a little early for the table but definitely time to kick the Boston thread off again now the training cycle has started...

Name/Category/Current PB/Boston Target
    digger/M45/3:20/Sub 3:10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Marathons have not been good to me,only ran 3.
    first one a disaster,second one went great and pulled up injured at 22m last year...so the law of averages point to a successful one stateside.
    The plan is to enjoy it and not risk a meltdown,should get enough training done for a PB but anything more would be a big risk.....throw in weather like last year and i'm walking it !

Name|Category|Current PB|Boston Target
    digger|M45|3:20|Sub 3:10
    Sosa|M35|2:59:29|Sub 2:59:29

I'm not in the same shape I was this time last year, but hopefully the body will get itself right for another go at sub 2:40

Abhainn|M40|2:36:21|2:39

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 dapower

I'm not in the same shape I was this time last year, but hopefully the body will get itself right for another go at sub 2:40

Name Category Current PB Boston Target
    digger M45 3:20 Sub 3:10
    Sosa M35 2:59:29 Sub 2:59:29
    Abhainn M40 2:36:21 2:39
    depower M34 2:50:09 2:47

dapower|M30|2:50:09|2:47

@ dapower, fixed that for you

@ ray, thanks for tidying up the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

digger2d2 wrote: »

@ dapower, fixed that for you

@ ray, thanks for tidying up the table

Wow. Even with a great target like sub 3:10 you'll still be miles behind the rest of the guys Digger!:eek:

belcarra wrote: »
    Wow. Even with a great target like sub 3:10 you'll still be miles behind the rest of the guys Digger!:eek:

Thanks for pointing that out John :) I need a couple of others with a PB in the 3's to update the table... One of them is sitting next to me but she's keeping her target powder dry ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Thanks for pointing that out John :) I need a couple of others with a PB in the 3's to update the table... One of them is sitting next to me but she's keeping her target powder dry ;)

She's hardly going for 3+ is she?
    Which is first, meno's run in London or claralara's in Boston? :D

Got my PB last Oct so aiming to better it! Training has been erratic due to impatience, increasing the miles too much and getting injured. I’ve learned my lesson (I hope:rolleyes:).

DukeOfDromada|M36|3:06:36|Sub 3

Got my PB last Oct so aiming to better it! Training has been erratic due to impatience, increasing the miles too much and getting injured. I’ve learned my lesson (I hope:rolleyes:).

DukeOfDromada|M36|3:06:36|Sub 3
    Good man Stephen, but change that to 2:59:59 like a good fella...we don't want Digger slacking off with a fellow '3'-er!

belcarra wrote: »
    Good man Stephen, but change that to 2:59:59 like a good fella...we don't want Digger slacking off with a fellow '3'-er!

Done!

DukeOfDromada|M36|3:06:36|Sub 2:59:59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 purceninho

First boards post. Yikes. Decided to stop lurking for the build up to my first Boston.

Could someone add me to the table, please and thanks ?
    Category: M35
    Current PB: 2:56:54
    Target: 2:55:59

Done

Purceninho|M35|2:56:54|2:55:59

Peer pressure :cool:

PaulieYifter|M40|3:06:28|2:59:59

Peer pressure :cool:

PaulieYifter|M40|3:06:28|2:59:59

A nice sub 3 bus there for you guys to work off...you'll have to try and source matching singlets!

gatorade endurance formula is the drink of choice in Boston this year,anyone know where it can be purchased?

Sosa wrote: »
    gatorade endurance formula is the drink of choice in Boston this year,anyone know where it can be purchased?

I had looked on wiggle and they had something similar and that turns out to be it just branded a little differently for europe i'd say.
    8.74 a tub...not bad,worth a try out,on the baa site they say lemon/lime flavour but the choices were lemon or orange...i went with the lemon

I had looked on wiggle and they had something similar and that turns out to be it just branded a little differently for europe i'd say.
    8.74 a tub...not bad,worth a try out,on the baa site they say lemon/lime flavour but the choices were lemon or orange...i went with the lemon
    Yep, same stuff as last year and same tub on Wiggle.

Quick question to anyone that knows the answer, i think i know it myself anyway.

I got in through a charity waiver,does that mean that i am in wave 3?
    I would think i am, i had no marathon in 2012 done to get a Q time.
    if so,would that be a bit of a nightmare trying to get off to a good start, i would probably end up weaving through the first few miles using up energy and adding distance.....

I have been drinkning the gatorade stuff i bought,didnt like it at first but have come round to it, its a bit sharp but a good quencher and seems to top up the energy levels, did a good 18 today and felt great all the way (had 2 bottles stashed along the route)...onwards to Patriots Day !

FAQ OF THE DAY:

Q: If I improve my Boston Marathon qualifying time, how do I submit it to the B.A.A.?

A: If you improve your qualifying time from the time you used to register, please send the name and date of the marathon at which you improved your time, along with your updated time to registration@baa.org.

Once verified, it'll be applied to your entry. Registrations cannot be updated after February 1, 2013. Please allow sufficient time to update your entry.
    I'd send your most recent marathon time to them anyway (you lose nothing, but stand to gain). You're outside of the window, but sure what harm?!

Ah i wont bother, i'll go with what they give me,which will probably be wave 3.
    There was no question of previous times or aspired times on the application and its a work thing im doing with our american colleagues so dont want to be the only one in a different wave...tks anyway kc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Ah i wont bother, i'll go with what they give me,which will probably be wave 3.
    There was no question of previous times or aspired times on the application and its a work thing im doing with our american colleagues so dont want to be the only one in a different wave...tks anyway kc
    I sense you have an excuse already. Why train for a marathon and get to Thr start line and stand no chance of getting through crowds. It's a bit like a lad smoking 20 a day and carrying 20 ibs been near The front. Mail them the feic. Give it socks

No excuses VR, im going via work with 16 others,i dont plan on running with them,i dont think any of them are time orientated, i didnt want to ask either so ill do my own thing on the day and will have a go at sub3 if i can,the first 5m are real fast and mostly downhill so i cannot bomb off with the hils on the latter end waiting to pick me off so ill be patient and see what happens,i want to run a Q time for london 2014 anyway...thats the main aim...im not going over here to run my best time...im going for the day out.

Just about to head out for our first 20 miler on the Boston plan, how is everyone elses training coming along?

50 days to go digger...i have 3 18's done but have the dreaded plantar fasciitis in my foot at the minute so only one run this week....hoping it clears during the week and i'll get back on track.

Yeh, get that sorted, only had it once and the physio must have gone to confession after hearing the expletives that came out of my mouth!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 purceninho

Training going to plan, 10 weeks of my version of the 55 mile P&D plan done, 7 to go until the big day. Third 20+ done this morning. Starting to see the benefits in the last couple of weeks: Better pace for the same effort.

Starting practising the Gatorade recommended on this thread, tastes like salty lemsip, not bad actually and does the job.

purceninho wrote: »
    Training going to plan, 10 weeks of my version of the 55 mile P&D plan done, 7 to go until the big day. Third 20+ done this morning. Starting to see the benefits in the last couple of weeks: Better pace for the same effort.

Starting practising the Gatorade recommended on this thread, tastes like salty lemsip, not bad actually and does the job.

3 x 20's done at this stage, fair play! What pace are you doing them at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Been reading up on the entry to Boston Marathon there recently. Thinking of setting this as a lifetime goal. Am I correct in saying that the cutoff this year was about 3:09 for U-35's? Is there anywhere that a complete list of cutoff times are available?

What are the best marathons for this? Would a "fast marathon" like Berlin really improve your chances that much? Are we talking 2/3 minutes?

And finally, was looking at the list of marathons - am I correct in saying that getting you BQ at Berlin or Dublin allows you 2 chances of entering a marathon (is the Boston 6 months later and18 months later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Been reading up on the entry to Boston Marathon there recently. Thinking of setting this as a lifetime goal. Am I correct in saying that the cutoff this year was about 3:09 for U-35's? Is there anywhere that a complete list of cutoff times are available?

What are the best marathons for this? Would a "fast marathon" like Berlin really improve your chances that much? Are we talking 2/3 minutes?

And finally, was looking at the list of marathons - am I correct in saying that getting you BQ at Berlin or Dublin allows you 2 chances of entering a marathon (is the Boston 6 months later and18 months later

As off next year the Qulaifying time for U35 males is down to sub 3:05.

http://www.baa.org/races/boston-marathon/participant-information/qualifying/qualifying-standards.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

menoscemo wrote: »
    As off next year the Qulaifying time for U35 males is down to sub 3:05.

http://www.baa.org/races/boston-marathon/participant-information/qualifying/qualifying-standards.aspx

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I read here that there was a "lowest time qualifies" appraoch in 2012 - whereby you had to beat the qualifying time by 1:14 to qualify. Was this scrapped for 2013? Is it just beat 3:05 now?
    "On September 26th of 2011, the Boston Athletic Association released what the cut off times were for the race in 2012. This is word for word what the BAA said about qualifying for the upcoming race.
    "Those who had a verified qualifying performance of one minute, 14 seconds or faster than the eligible standard for their age group have been accepted into the race."