Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lights for training at night

• 19-09-2012 9:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭

With the winter setting in and college returning I'm going to be doing alot of training in the dark so i need a new front light

Looking for something:
    -to illuminate dark country roads
    - ~€150(or less :P)
    -Rechargeable, I'd rather not deal with AA's etc(i don't think they have the voltage for this anyway)
    -one unit, I don;t want to have to run wires from a separate battery pack, but I'll learn to deal with it if it's cheaper/better

ps. i did do a search for this and found a topic but most of the links where old/broken

• Registered Users Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭Plastik

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

http://www.ayup-lights.com/products/78/

A little over budget I know, but ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Unbelievable power for such a little set and totally bombproof. Couldn't reccomend them enough. Great battery life too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭ck101

Magicshine off eBay. The Garda could use them as search lights.
    The back one would burn the eyes out of yer head.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Hope Vision 1, seriously bright light at 240 lumens on max setting. Cost - €95

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/hope-vision-1-led-front-light/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

A Fenix TK11 along with a handlebar mount, battery and charger. Comes in at GBP122 delivered.

I have this setup which did me nicely on the dark roads of wicklow last weekend...

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭reallyunique

For an all-in-one package, no wires, rechargeable and usefully bright I really loved my old Exposure Joystick. Comes with a helmet mount or bar mount and weighs very little. It's great for main roads on flash to get you seen but lights up the road properly on unlit roads. Definitely good enough to see the road surface at the sort of speeds I do.
    The only issue I found was on lit roads with large shadows cast by hedges or trees. My eyes would be acclimatised to the street light and the beam wouldn't illuminate enough detail in the shadows to give me confidence to steam in at full speed. Could be just me of course.
    A good, bright light and just maybe within budget on eBay.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Dubba wrote: »

I use this and it's great with the right high capacity batteries. I saw them somewhere for 65 euro last week...maybe parker international?? Sorry I know that's not much help. Handy because you can carry spare batteries with you if you're going out for more than 2.5-3 hrs.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭west cork lad

Try www.lightslightslights.co.uk or I got my lights from www.dx.com (deals extream) . I got 1800 lumen ones for €70. Need them for off road. But they have smaller ones as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭kingoffifa

Try www.lightslightslights.co.uk or I got my lights from www.dx.com (deals extream) . I got 1800 lumen ones for €70. Need them for off road. But they have smaller ones as well.

Hi West Cork lad!

How is the Deal Extreme light? have you had it long? any problems with customs?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Pretty comprehensive thread here with most lights debated and reviewed

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2055705708?page=36#post_80846847

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Dubba wrote: »

240 lumen is not enough for proper training on proper dark roads. Decent backup light but not as a primary.

For an all-in-one package, no wires, rechargeable and usefully bright I really loved my old Exposure Joystick. Comes with a helmet mount or bar mount and weighs very little. It's great for main roads on flash to get you seen but lights up the road properly on unlit roads. Definitely good enough to see the road surface at the sort of speeds I do.
    The only issue I found was on lit roads with large shadows cast by hedges or trees. My eyes would be acclimatised to the street light and the beam wouldn't illuminate enough detail in the shadows to give me confidence to steam in at full speed. Could be just me of course.
    A good, bright light and just maybe within budget on eBay.

Plus their after sales services is fantastic. My 4 year old Joystick died. Sent it back repaired for free - as a repair they replaced the LED setup and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭C3PO

I would also recommend Exposure lights but the Joystick is not bright enough for unlit roads at night! I use a "Race" on the road bike and it's brilliant and as Tunney says their aftersales is great. Their lights look and feel really solid and beautifully built - mine is going into its 4th year (on and offroad) and looks like new. The Chinese lights are much cheaper but have very mixed reviews in terms of reliability and aftersales is very poor!
    There was somebody selling a 2nd hand Exposure Toro on here the other day but his ad seems to have disappeared!

• Registered Users Posts: 31,025 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

tunney wrote: »
    240 lumen is not enough for proper training on proper dark roads. Decent backup light but not as a primary.

I'm sure you know that lumens is a measure of light output rather than illumination; illumination depends on the beam shape.

http://www.torchythebatteryboy.com/p/bike-light-database.html

The Exposure Joystick m5, rated at 300 lumens, achieves 3850 lux @ 1m.

The Hope Vision 1 rated at 240 lumens achieves 6150 lux @ 1m.

I've done a fair amount of dark riding at 35-40kph with a dynamo light (Lumotec IQ Cyo Senso Plus, 60 lux @ 10m so 6000 lux @ 10m) and it was absolutely fine.

I've also used a battery-powered Ixon IQ Speed (50 lux @ 10m IIRC) and it was a borderline.

So I think 50-60 lux @ 10m (5000-6000 lux @ 1m) is what I'd personally consider acceptable for "lighting the way" at reasonable speed.

Also (and obviously) even lux isn't a definitive guide since you want the illumination in the right place.

Lumen wrote: »
    I'm sure you know that lumens is a measure of light output rather than illumination; illumination depends on the beam shape.

The Exposure Joystick, rated at 300 lumens, mk5 achieves 3850 lux @ 1m.

I've done a fair amount of dark riding at 35-40kph with a dynamo light (Lumotec IQ Cyo Senso Plus, 60 lux @ 10m so 6000 lux @ 10m) and it was absolutely fine.

I've also used a battery-powered Ixon IQ Speed (50 lux @ 10m IIRC) and it was a borderline.

So I think 50-60 lux @ 10m (5000-6000 lux @ 1m) is what I'd personally consider acceptable for "lighting the way" at reasonable speed.

Also (and obviously) even lux isn't a definitive guide since you want the illumination in the right place.

Yip. Know that. Also know that the joystick is not a suitable primary light either. Its a nice spot and a handy backup light. It also doubles up nicely as a running head torch.

Its a fine light for commuting around Dublin and as a county road back up but thats it. Ultra dark country roads need more.

Saw this http://www.exposurelights.com/product/000086/reflex-mk1-(new)/#.UFrV_I1lQXg

A light which changes the output based on acceleration to conserve battery life - nice.

Saw this http://www.exposurelights.com/product/000086/reflex-mk1-(new)/#.UFrV_I1lQXg

A light which changes the output based on acceleration to conserve battery life - nice.

I don't know why you'd choose a light with a round beam for road cycling when there are loads with properly shaped ones.

I didn't and wouldn't. I just wasn't aware of the light and I think its a very sensible use of accelometers to prolong battery life.

I disagree, I've been using the Hope V1 for a couple of years now and it'll more than adequately light up a 6m wide pitch black country road for around 500m. I even had cars up to 1km away flash me because they think I'm a motorbike with heads on so I don't use it on full power and have it pointed slightly downwards. Also the beam is wide and strong enough that on pitch black roads car coming from behind see's the spread of the light and gives me plenty of room when passing. The beams are spots but are more than wide enough for what's needed.

Super Freaks excellent review here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055708710&highlight=hope+vision

• Registered Users Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭C3PO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

The Exposure Joystick m5, rated at 300 lumens, achieves 3850 lux @ 1m.

Lumen can i ask what dynamo are you using hub/sidewall/ make.

That's weird mine is much brighter and has a better spread than the the pic in that review. It does require good battery's tho. Looks like function 1 of the 5 power settings possibly. Have a look a pic no. 7 in Super Freaks review, that is more like mine, even brighter in real life I find.

Lumen can i ask what dynamo are you using hub/sidewall/ make.

Shimano LX T665 6v 3w Dynamo Front Disc Hub.

It's currently built into an Open Pro rim and I'm planning to stick it on a fast road bike (running caliper brakes) for this winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Shimano LX T665 6v 3w Dynamo Front Disc Hub.

It's currently built into an Open Pro rim and I'm planning to stick it on a fast road bike (running caliper brakes) for this winter.
    thanks for that i will be getting a front wheel build when i have the dosh,
    son 28 or shimano dyno hub
    i'm waiting on lights from amazon i ordered 3 weeks ago :mad: seems the seller is out of stock shimano single shot so i'm being sent a different one but equally as good :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Ryath

The Hope V1 and Fenix TK11 were good buys a few years ago for the price but modern bike lights are much better using much better LEDs

The OP wanted a single unit that doesn't use AA batteries. So that counts out the Philips and Hope V1, ayups and magicshines.

The Philips is a very good light by all accounts excellent beam pattern which I seriously considered but the thoughts of messing around with 4AA's and and allen key in the dark to change batteries. Probably one of the best though for road use if you know you'll never be out for more than 2 hours.

I've used this for the last year a Lezyne Super Drive

http://www.bike24.com/1.php?content=8;navigation=1;product=25299;page=1;menu=1000,5,66;mid=196;pgc=;orderby=3

Which has now been updated to this

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lezyne-super-drive-xl-front-light/

I have found it excellent 450 lumens max mostly use it at the mid 300 lumen setting. Very wide even beam with a slight cut off at the top. Lasts 2.5 hrs on med then runs for another 1/2 on low. Uses a single 18650 cell so its easy change even in darkness just screw of the bottom. Very well made solid piece of aluminium so very sturdy and very water resistant.

The updated one seems even better. Output has been increased by 50 lumens at high and medium and 25 on low and it now has an led to indicate the level of charge. Lezyne have a few other cheaper lights that really look like they would make excellent commuting lights.

For a rear light I used a Smart 1 watt which is highly recommended around here batteries leaked in it though and it is now stuck in flashing mode which is actually too bright and distracting for night time use. So I need a replacement. Because the batteries last so long in them I always used disposable so you're never sure when it will actually die. Always run a back up cateye but think I'm going to pick up this.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lezyne-micro-drive-led-rear-light/#BVRRWidgetID

Great thing about the rechargeable is you can always keep it topped up so you know how much run time you have when you head out.

I may pick up another smart as well though and use it as backup as I like that it has clip to put on the saddle bag and I also use it running clipped on an arm band. Actually have this head torch for running which I carry as well on the bike as backup.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Silva-Trail-Runner-Running-Torch/dp/B00388PISK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1348135078&sr=8-1

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭lazycyclist

Anyone using the Exposure Flash and Flare as commuting lights? If so, would you recommend them?

I've used all concoctions of cheap lights and think now is the time to get something better, but easily removed when the bike is locked and preferably rechargeable.

Anyone using the Exposure Flash and Flare as commuting lights? If so, would you recommend them?

I've used all concoctions of cheap lights and think now is the time to get something better, but easily removed when the bike is locked and preferably rechargeable.

I use the Flare and a joystick for commuting in Dublin. Also use the flare as one of my three rear lights for country night riding.

its an excellent light - I use the rechargable batteries with it. Love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Anyone know anything about this Electron Terra 1, looks good for the price of €60 with a claimed 10hrs run time but would 120 lumens be good enough for country roads?

Probably not, or at least there are better lights for the money. The beam pattern looks very round, which is not a very efficient use of the available light output.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Ryath

To be honest no that light is actually fairly sh*t. 120 lumens for €60 :eek:

For €55 and with 300 lumens
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lezyne-macro-drive-led-front-light/

Edit: Wrong price had wiggle set to Jersey to look at boardmans :D
    €62 on ribble
    http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sp/road-track-bike/lezyne-lezyne-lights-and-lighting-systems-lezyne-macro-drive-front-light/lezyligh220