Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, has anyone started using their heating yet?

• 17-09-2012 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

The great pocket bleeder of our times, fossil fuel powered domestic heating. After months of respite its almost time to start forking out again.

Not till I can see my kids breath condense in their bedrooms will I turn on that ba$tard monster of an oil drinking burner though.

Have any of you pasty weaklings succumbed to the lure of home heating yet this autumn?

hell yeah. Mines on as we speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Have you seen the price of oil?

I will be waiting until the icicles are forming on my nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

telecaster wrote: »
    The great pocket bleeder of our times, fossil fuel powered domestic heating. After months of respite its almost time to start forking out again.

Not till I can see my kids breath condense in their bedrooms will I turn on that ba$tard monster of an oil drinking burner though.

Have any of you pasty weaklings succumbed to the lure of home heating yet this autumn?

There seem to be an awful lot of trees missing around my area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Heating?
    I should introduce you to something called a jumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Have you seen the price of oil?

I will be waiting until the icicles are forming on my nose.
    When it happens, throw up a photo in the know your nerds thread will you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I could do without heating but i live with 2 girls who always seem to be cold:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Was on a hangover day today......put in on for an hour this morning.......switched to trusty blanket after that.

Heating?
    I should introduce you to something called a jumper.

I raise you three jumpers, two pairs of polystyrene underpants, and two hollowed out cat carcasses for footwear..

I try not to whenever possible. My house got noticably larger recently when I insulated the whole thing on the outside. Good few cms in every direction. So keeping it cool in the summer rather than warm in the winter seems to be the issue now. So hopefully I can get through this winter without turning the heating on at all even once. I cook and bake so much that I rather hope the heat will warm the whole house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I raise you three jumpers, two pairs of polystyrene underpants, and two hollowed out cat carcasses for footwear..

I hope you let your dog sleep on your feet also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

The mammy lit the fire last night. Nothing like an auld open fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

ladee-da, excuse me with your fancy pants home heating...

no, i've the exercise bikes out to work up a sweat and then wrap up in blankets to insulate the heat

I hope you let your dog sleep on your feet also.

I drew the short straw and the missus got the dog.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

I'm cold blooded so usually would have had the heating on by now. I guess have been more cautious about using it with the price of it! See people buying hh oil in large containers now for e20.
    Swapping to winter duvet tonight though.
    Fleece throws on the sofa can look nice and keep ye warm.
    Glad we still have the open fire, you can't beat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

No, not yet.
    We're lucky though because our house is new so it's insulated really well. If you turn the heating on you would have to turn it off after half an hour. It's well worth insulating a house properly.
    The only down side to it is the heat on a warm day. It's like an oven if there isn't a breeze blowing through.
    I reckon we should get away with spending about five or six hundred on heating oil this year. Not bad compared to some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Once or twice in the last two weeks. Specially round bath time for kids.

Have a stove so I'll be out with the chainsaw soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

those portable radiators and heaters can save you a fortune..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Nope. One of the advantages of an apartment.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Confab wrote: »
    Nope. One of the advantages of an apartment.

Top floor Apartment :)

All the suckers below me give me their heat. Probably won't be knocking it on again until end November / start of December when it really gets cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

nope, not yet. Am dreading those bills €400 plus last year so staying off as long as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

Put on a sweater.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

No not yet and I don't think I will be for a while unless temperatures plummet wildly in the next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Heat you, not the room! A throw/blanket when you're slumped on the sofa is the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

Bought a Wood Pellet stove three years ago and find its the best investment I ever made.
    Before that I was killing myself in the bog and robbed buying briquettes. Now all the local bogs are closed.
    10 kilos of wood pellets (@ 2.75 euro) heats the water / house for 10 hours, and no feckin ashes afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm a top floor apartment, so the only time I feel really cold is going to bed. Stuck in the hot water bottle twice last week. Waaay cheaper than the rip off merchants that are gas companies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

cassid wrote: »
    nope, not yet. Am dreading those bills €400 plus last year so staying off as long as possible.

€400 per two months? Are you heating a mansion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's not November yet!!! Tbh it's not even cold out anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Nope, living in a well insulated timber framed house, actully still sleeping with the window open the odd night.

Last few years was living in 40/50 year old house, which wasn't fully double glazed, upstairs like an oven on a hot day, and an ice box some nights in the winter, cracks around some of the single glazed frames, and little evidence of insulation in the attac, and still didn't use the central heating until around november. Not a miser, it just has to be quite cold before I notice it.

Cant see the heating being used much in this new house, also my new house mates claim to have not used the heating at all this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

heating? its september ffs, if you're chilly throw on a hoody, or drink something hot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

kfallon wrote: »
    It's not November yet!!! Tbh it's not even cold out anyway!

We live at 285meters above sea level in a very exposed location.
    Believe me it has been cold in the last few weeks, wet and windy. Some mornings have been below 5c when I've been out early.

bbam wrote: »
    We live at 285meters above sea level in a very exposed location.
    Believe me it has been cold in the last few weeks, wet and windy. Some mornings have been below 5c when I've been out early.

I'm talking about where I am! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm talking about where I am! :D

YEAH! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭spatchco

got the wrap around insulation last year,,should have got it years ago,havent used the oil in 1- year so the ragheads are not getting any money from me,,LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I don't find it cold yet at all. And I'm always cold :D Winter duvet and snowboot slippers will come out first before the heating goes on.

YEAH! :mad:

You need to change your name to veryveryangryman by the looks of it trout!

:p

Put on a sweater.

La de da sweaters. Jumpers is where it's at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I live with 2 girls who always seem to be cold:D

That sounds like a plausible plot for a porno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Gee Bag wrote: »
    That sounds like a plausible plot for a porno.
    A plausible plot??
    Since when has a porno needed one of those!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

A very serious dose of man flu has necessitated the stove to be lit for the last two days solid. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

thinking of lighting the fire, weve a load of nappies to burn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Do people not use it all year round??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Lit the stove few times on the last 2 weeks ...no oil here only solid fuel...will be buying coal on the next few weeks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Unfortunately I share a flat with a girl. It was about 21c here in London yesterday and she had the heat on. The heat will probably be on now until May, she goes to sleep leaving it on and I have to get up and turn it off. She does about 5 washes a week. Anytime I've lived with women they are freezing cold, and they do far too many washes. Women are bad for the environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Heating is included in my rent so its been on all summer.

Fine iv had to keep the windown opens, drink loads of water, walk around naked and occasionally wipe down the sweat stains from the leather couch but il be damned if i'm going to waste free heating!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Going to have to stick it on tonight I think. I'd just throw on a tshirt in bed and be grand, but the kids get cold.

grumble... bloody kids... mumble...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

How do you people heat your water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Have been using the immersion during the summer to heat water for dishes and have a electric shower for washing
    Going to hold out using the gas central heating for as long as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

It's not even remotely cold here (Waterford City).

With the recent rise in Gas prices, I won't be using the heating until my extremities go numb.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Be starting up the fire by the end of Sept. me thinks....it was rather cold last night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

electric shower, boil a kettle for dishes.
    No heating here until we've passed the extra clothes, extra duvet barrier. Bloody price of oil.