Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of AIB

• 16-09-2012 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭

Anyone else sick of AIB? They won't offer me any type of credit card even though I'm in full time employment, have been for over a year, have always had good credit and always money in my current account. I need a credit card for online shopping etc. They don't even have the visa debit yet which would do, ulster ban had it 2 years ago! Just ridiculous at this stage, and I don't want to have to go get one o those pre paid credit card things they are just hastle when I have a bank account with aib and they should be providing this service for me and all their customers

Best alternative bank? That actually issues visa debits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Leave your house now, find the nearest AIB branch, then here's the good bit.

Torch the place.

That'll make you feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Use a pre paid one if you're that desperate. **** paying stupid amounts of fees and interest with a credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Switch to a bank that offer visa debit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

srumball wrote: »
    Anyone else sick of AIB? They won't offer me any type of credit card even though I'm in full time employment, have been for over a year, have always had good credit and always money in my current account. I need a credit card for online shopping etc. They don't even have the visa debit yet which would do, ulster ban had it 2 years ago! Just ridiculous at this stage, and I don't want to have to go get one o those pre paid credit card things they are just hastle when I have a bank account with aib and they should be providing this service for me and all their customers

Ulster Bank, if you can get over their recent issues. It hasn't affected me, and everything else about them is absolutely perfect. No charges, Visa debit as you say, and as a student I got a free €650 overdraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

PTSB offer Visa Debit. But All Banks are completw w*nkers to be honest.

I bank with AIB.Had an overdraft on my account for 5 years. Never dipped in it once. Was there as a security net.

Wages in work obviously cut with the downturn in 2008. Overdraft up for renewal and it was rejected.

This was just after paying back a €30,000 car loan in full after 2 years to AIB. They don't give a fiddlers f#ck about anyone buddy.

You're better off owing them €50m, they respect you more.

They shouldn't be providing the service for you. They can provide any services they like.

It's not AIB's issue that you (a) "need" a credit card and (b) refuse to get it any other way than through your bank. As you've illustrated here, you're free to leave them if you don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Then why are still with them? Im a student, I dont even put more than 50 euro a week into my account with TSB and I have a visa debit card. I closed my AIB account over a year ago and let them know why.

You cant complain if you can easily change banks and get what you want, so whisht! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Anyone else sick of AIB?

Its a bank what do you expect. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭retroactive

Ulster Bank, if you can get over their recent issues. It hasn't affected me, and everything else about them is absolutely perfect. No charges, Visa debit as you say, and as a student I got a free €650 overdraft.

+1 on Ulsterbank. Started banking with them 6 years ago and never had a problem. I have a €3,000 interest free overdraft and a visa debit card. I don't think the account has ever been in the plus more than a week but I never hear a peek out of them.

They've committed to opening on Saturdays and not closing down any branches.

Yes, the systems glitch was bad but even then they did everything they could to mitigate the damage - extended hours, opening saturday and sunday, allowing branch withdrawals etc.

Their ufirstgold account is also pretty nifty.

AIB seems to be concentrating on marketing alot. They're everywhere I look and I doubt they want bad press, I'm guessing this stems from being state owned. With this in mind, I would have thought that they would be more flexible in granting credit cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Ghandee wrote: »

Torch the place.

This should shed some light on the subject...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Then why are still with them? Im a student, I dont even put more than 50 euro a week into my account with TSB and I have a visa debit card. I closed my AIB account over a year ago and let them know why.

You cant complain if you can easily change banks and get what you want, so whisht! :cool:

how dis you go about it? im strongly thinking of doing the same. what did they say when you told them why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Pretty sure AIB are issuing Visa debit cards this year or in 2013.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I remember in 2008 I applied for a credit card. Approved by MBNA and PTSB. Then, they called me back a few days later giving some bad excuse why they couldn't go ahead with it.

Turns out only people with any money to lend is Tesco. Got a credit card from them fairly easy. Only downside is you can't view the statement online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

If it's just for online get a 3v card or something similar.

Less hassle in the long-run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

A lot of other p*****-off AIB customers: Rip-off Ireland Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

PTSB, is who I'm with and I've got one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Thanks. I was actualy considering changing from ulster bank to AIB but will not be doing so after hearing these bad reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

AIB seems to be concentrating on marketing alot. They're everywhere I look and I doubt they want bad press, I'm guessing this stems from being state owned. With this in mind, I would have thought that they would be more flexible in granting credit cards.

OK FOLKS, LETS GET SOMETHING VERY CLEAR. AIB ARE NOT STATE OWNED.

NOT. STATE. OWNED.

DESPITE GOVT SHARE OWNERSHIP AIB STILL OPERATE AS A PRIVATE COMPANY.

UNDERSTAND THAT, AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND MUCH.
    They shouldn't be providing the service for you. They can provide any services they like.

It's not AIB's issue that you (a) "need" a credit card and (b) refuse to get it any other way than through your bank. As you've illustrated here, you're free to leave them if you don't like it.

Em, ye see, banks have a duty to provide a public service, it's one of the conditions of their licence.

Sadly, those conditions are not being enforced, not even at this stage.

Yes, the op could find another bank, but ye see, that's an unfair inconvenience - that service he wishes should be made available - assuming the op is telling the truth about his credit worthiness.

Someday, hopefully soon, the Irish will wake up to the reality of banking and its methodology and its true nature.

but don't hold your breath...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'm with AIB, find them grand, no issues at all. Gold Visa card. Nice. Shiny. Getting scarce. Mmmmm.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Another +1 for Ulster Bank. Ten years with them and no complaints (recent problems didn't affect me).

Can't believe how badly AIB treat customers and yet they stay with them. Like the Fianna Fail of banking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

ArtSmart wrote: »

NOT. STATE. OWNED.

Em, ye see, banks have a duty to provide a public service, it's one of the conditions of their licence.

Sadly, those conditions are not being enforced, not even at this stage.

Yes, the op could find another bank, but ye see, that's an unfair inconvenience - that service he wishes should be made available - assuming the op is telling the truth about his credit worthiness.

Someday, hopefully soon, the Irish will wake up to the reality of banking and its methodology and its true nature.

but don't hold your breath...

You work for them - don't ya :D

C'mon Ulster Bank!!!

ArtSmart wrote: »

NOT. STATE. OWNED.

No wanting to go down the winding road of company law, ownership and structure, I agree -Government share ownership then. Correct or incorrect, public perception would play a determinative role in decisions in AIB as both a private limited company and a company in which the government now has a stake in. Interestingly, goverment ownership or not, doesn't take away from my original point.

Your reply to 'true-or-false' relies heavily on the idea of "public service" - a nebulous concept at best. Since you're so fond of split hairs, I'll pose a question - Which is public service, providing what a customer wants or what a customer needs? If your so fond of banking regulation, I would suggest you get to know the regs - credit policy, credit control, provisions, ccma, cpc and a whole raft of legislation on the issue.

But again, this muddys the waters of the OP, he isn't happy with the treatment and service at AIB and now wishes to switch provider. So state owned or not against regulation or not, it's a simple free market question - Which is the best alternative.

Understand that.

No wanting to go down the winding road of company law, ownership and structure, I agree -Government share ownership then. Correct or incorrect, public perception would play a determinative role in decisions in AIB as both a private limited company and a company in which the government now has a stake in. Interestingly, goverment ownership or not, doesn't take away from my original point.

Your reply to 'true-or-false' relies heavily on the idea of "public service" - a nebulous concept at best. Since you're so fond of split hairs, I'll pose a question - Which is public service, providing what a customer wants or what a customer needs? If your so fond of banking regulation, I would suggest you get to know the regs - credit policy, credit control, provisions, ccma, cpc and a whole raft of legislation on the issue.

But again, this muddys the waters of the OP, he isn't happy with the treatment and service at AIB and now wishes to switch provider. So state owned or not against regulation or not, it's a simple free market question - Which is the best alternative.

Understand that.

hmm, a little late for a debate, but not quite sure what ur point is. you seem to conclude that it's a matter of choice/ free mkt - but my central point is that banks offer an ESSENTIAL service to the public. They are a privately owned business, but their function is of vital public concern (recent events illustrate just how much so)

so, in short, it is a hugely dodgy state of affairs - ie a banks interest (to make profit) can be and often is, in direct conflict to the common/ public good. (their low level of lending to SME etc)

so em, understand that.

Edit: Ah, I understand your tone now, it was your post I quoted. I quoted it for the statement about AIB being govt owned - that's a myyth that needs to be stamped out. otherwise your post was fine, far as i remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Surely a customer, who pays fees, should be provided services? Eligibility is another matter, but no obligation to provide services at all?

That said, the banks are being extra cautious now partially because of being the very opposite up to four/five years ago.

Well i've a few mins, so why not?

Em, interestingly, it does. :) a business is normally concerned about public perception, incl banks, but at the moment the normal doesnt apply. the bank is determined to survive - but on it's own terms. at the mo, it cares nothing about public perception, not a fig. and wont, unless public concern forces political action.

Your reply to 'true-or-false' relies heavily on the idea of "public service" - a nebulous concept at best.

em...

Since you're so fond of split hairs, (em...) I'll pose a question - Which is public service, providing what a customer wants or what a customer needs?
    ans. what a customer needs.

If your so fond of banking regulation, I would suggest you get to know the regs - credit policy, credit control, provisions, ccma, cpc and a whole raft of legislation on the issue.

sad thing is that other than the financial up front forthrightness required, banks have no legal duty of care (in terms other than tort) to customers. there is a voluntary code, which of course, is nonsense. The only recourse at the moment, is well fudged. Consumer Reg says its the Ombudsman, they say its CA (unless it's a financial transaction) This needs to change.

Nope. Free mkt rules are not at play here, because it is as i said a contradictory situation (ie banks being private but providing essential public service)
    Understand that.

I'm not derailing this thread, so I wont post after this.

An example
    Provisions and credit policy are regulation that compels a bank to catch customers failing into arrears. Should a bank not prevent this then a good chunk, taken in increments, is pulled from the balance sheet and put into "provisions". This is why many banks are posting losses while still making profits. I use this example to show that helping a customer and helping the bank does not have to be mutually exclusive.

Short term and long term
    AIB should provide the desired service to their customers, if they don't, customers may switch account providers. This is the free market idea I was alluding to. Providing a good service not only helps the bank post long term profits but also helps the customer.

SME?
    I wasn't aware that retail banks were determinative of rates in the SME but I guess if one looks at the 'tracker' situation things become clearer. A number of banks are making huge losses on their tracker rates on mortgages (60% of Ulster's mortgage book, I think) since the interbank market rate and the EU rate diverged. Regulations state that a bank can no longer 'force' a customer to leave the tracker rate. But what if regulation didn't exist and banks did force their customers from the cosy tracker rate? Customer wouldn't be able to afford their mortgages and the bank would repossess homes in massive negative equity and take 'a few' six figure losses. It's in the banks interest to help customers.

In conclusion
    Any business is about creating a win win - a win for the business and for the customer, this permeates through all aspects of banking from current accounts to mortgages. The post you pulled me up stated that AIB should be providing a good service to their customers as a they are currently on a marketing binge and have the added political incentive of a government stake holder which may affect perception - not only of the bank but also of their political masters. In light of everything said, I am surprised at AIB's unwillingness to offer debit cards and their eagerness to charge banking fees - I have not had this experience with Ulsterbank and therefore I urge anyone thinking of switching to look to Ulsterbank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Try moneybookers. They have a great card.

AIB are a bunch of bellends.

I'm not derailing this thread, so I wont post after this.

An example
    Provisions and credit policy are regulation that compels a bank to catch customers failing into arrears. Should a bank not prevent this then a good chunk, taken in increments, is pulled from the balance sheet and put into "provisions". This is why many banks are posting losses while still making profits. I use this example to show that helping a customer and helping the bank does not have to be mutually exclusive.

Short term and long term
    AIB should provide the desired service to their customers, if they don't, customers may switch account providers. This is the free market idea I was alluding to. Providing a good service not only helps the bank post long term profits but also helps the customer.

SME?
    I wasn't aware that retail banks were determinative of rates in the SME but I guess if one looks at the 'tracker' situation things become clearer. A number of banks are making huge losses on their tracker rates on mortgages (60% of Ulster's mortgage book, I think) since the interbank market rate and the EU rate diverged. Regulations state that a bank can no longer 'force' a customer to leave the tracker rate. But what if regulation didn't exist and banks did force their customers from the cosy tracker rate? Customer wouldn't be able to afford their mortgages and the bank would repossess homes in massive negative equity and take 'a few' six figure losses. It's in the banks interest to help customers.

In conclusion
    Any business is about creating a win win - a win for the business and for the customer, this permeates through all aspects of banking from current accounts to mortgages. The post you pulled me up stated that AIB should be providing a good service to their customers as a they are currently on a marketing binge and have the added political incentive of a government stake holder which may affect perception - not only of the bank but also of their political masters. In light of everything said, I am surprised at AIB's unwillingness to offer debit cards and their eagerness to charge banking fees - I have not had this experience with Ulsterbank and therefore I urge anyone thinking of switching to look to Ulsterbank.

i changed the rates thing - i meant rates (amt) of loans given, currently the lowest in Europe after Greece.

as for the rest, your not posting any more so, we'll leave it - for now. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Why don't you get a 3v card? You only put on it what you want, when you want and they give the cards out with no problems at all. www.3v.ie is their web address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

how dis you go about it? im strongly thinking of doing the same. what did they say when you told them why

Are you serious? Walk into your branch with photo ID and a recent bill and ask to close your account.

I can vouch for Ulster Bank too even with the recent system glitch (didn't really affect me) you get a Visa Debit card which can be used online and you don't have to worry about fees or interest.

I always found their staff to be very friendly in the branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 robitusson

They won't offer me any type of credit card
    You should be glad of that. Really. They've really mishandled my credit card dealings. They sent me one, which I didn't ask for, while I was out of the country. It got stolen and used. I had to call repeatedly (long distance charges of course) to get it sorted out. Eventually they cleared the debt. Fair enough. But now they just re-debted me the fraudulent charge again! They had sent me a letter that I had to return apparently - even though I had told them repeatedly that I was out of the country, so clearly wouldn't be able to check my mail. More long-distance calls - more expense. So I tried to just close it. Now they want 30 euro for that! They said this is a "government charge", not them charging it.

All in all they've cost me well over 60 euro I'd say, in trying to clear this up. Still in debt, can't close it without paying more. And I didn't even ask for a card to be sent in the first place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

KKkitty wrote: »
    Why don't you get a 3v card? You only put on it what you want, when you want and they give the cards out with no problems at all. www.3v.ie is their web address.

3V cards are an absolute rip off. OP just open new bank account in another bank if your really annoyed by it. And remember that a bank is a service and have no obligations to give you a credit card. Days of banks giving out credit cards to most people are nearly gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Bank of Ireland has visa debit. It even has the quick pay thing which I have only used once in M&S in London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

areyawell wrote: »
    3V cards are an absolute rip off. OP just open new bank account in another bank if your really annoyed by it. And remember that a bank is a service and have no obligations to give you a credit card. Days of banks giving out credit cards to most people are nearly gone.

Listening about some of those prepaid credit cards on the radio the other day (Pat kenny , IIRC) some of them have massive withdrawal fees if you use an ATM and some charge outrageous fees if you don't use your card for a couple of months but have credit on it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Boombastic wrote: »
    Listening about some of those prepaid credit cards on the radio the other day (Pat kenny , IIRC) some of them have massive withdrawal fees if you use an ATM and some charge outrageous fees if you don't use your card for a couple of months but have credit on it

For companies like Neteller its 4 euro for a withdrawl from an ATM, think moneybookers is 3euro. 02 card is one euro. Most of the cards charge a processing fee as well as loads of other charges. There not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Slurryface

Boo Hoo, my heart bleeds for you, the big bad bank wont give you Other Peoples Money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Slurryface wrote: »
    Boo Hoo, my heart bleeds for you, the big bad bank wont give you Other Peoples Money.

One of the main purposes of a bank is to give you other peoples money.

kneemos wrote: »
    One of the main purposes of a bank is to give you other peoples money.
    Wrong!
    One of the main purposes of a bank is to LEND you other peoples money, if they believe you have a capacity to repay both the capital and interest.
    Obviously you come from the Seanie Fitz school of banking!

Wrong!
    One of the main purposes of a bank is to LEND you other peoples money, if they believe you have a capacity to repay both the capital and interest.
    Obviously you come from the Seanie Fitz school of banking!

Obviously if you can't repay they're not going to lend.

kneemos wrote: »
    Obviously if you can't repay they're not going to lend.
    Really?
    hardly the experience of Sean Dunne, Bernard McNamara, The Quinn mafia etc, but like I said you do appear to come from the Seanie Fitz school of banking!

Really?
    hardly the experience of Sean Dunne, Bernard McNamara, The Quinn mafia etc, but like I said you do appear to come from the Seanie Fitz school of banking!

Your right,I'm one of Seanie's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I'm loving AIB right now and have switched all my accounts (including investment & business) to them.

BOI on the other hand can suck my balls. 10 years of being a customer means diddily to them and they've lost my business. I closed my accounts in a polite fashion, but let them know why I was moving across the road...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

Just change to another bank. I did that about 4 years ago (BOI to Ulsterbank) and it was very easy. Take a look at what they're all offering and pick the one that suits. TBH i've found it more hassle changing mobile phone providers than changing banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

BoI issued me a visa-debit card. This covers pretty much anything you want to buy online. Switch to BoI. Though I'm sure they're probably riding me in some way shape or form with hidden costs.

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's actually pretty embarassing that in 2012 some Irish banks still don't offer Visa or Mastercard cards to their customers as standard.

These money cards are a load of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

Pottler wrote: »
    I'm with AIB, find them grand, no issues at all. Gold Visa card. Nice. Shiny. Getting scarce. Mmmmm.:D

I have a Bank of Ireland Platinum Card with 18k limit

*Thinly veiled I earn more than you post*
    *Thinly veiled I'm probably much more in the red than you post :-)*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

soundbyte wrote: »
    I have a Bank of Ireland Platinum Card with 18k limit

*Thinly veiled I earn more than you post*
    *Thinly veiled I'm probably much more in the red than you post :-)*
    They do Platinum???:D The sneaky feckers, they been holdin out on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

Pottler wrote: »
    They do Platinum???:D The sneaky feckers, they been holdin out on me.

I'm willing to swap with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

AIB are now releasing Visa Debit cards, I went into the girls at the desk and asked them what the story was, they said that they would be out in 2013, so then i asked them what if i broke my card, they then told if i did that id get a debit card sent out

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

astonaidan wrote: »
    AIB are now releasing Visa Debit cards, I went into the girls at the desk and asked them what the story was, they said that they would be out in 2013, so then i asked them what if i broke my card, they then told if i did that id get a debit card sent out
    A laser card is a debit card too. It's just a crap one.