Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running shoes

• 16-09-2012 2:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭

Hi lads,
    I have been running about 5K daily and the knees are starting to act up. Does anyone know of any good deals on running shoes at the moment, and which ones are good, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

jwof2006 wrote: »
    Hi lads,
    I have been running about 5K daily and the knees are starting to act up. Does anyone know of any good deals on running shoes at the moment, and which ones are good, cheers.

i bought some nike lunarglide +4 og....best 110 euro i ever spent..no pains whatsoever...extremely comfortable too:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Have a look on sports direct.com usually good deals on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Amphibian King in Bray, hands down the best place to get the "right" fitted trainers.

Ben

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

BenThere wrote: »
    Amphibian King in Bray, hands down the best place to get the "right" fitted trainers.

Ben

Yeah what Ben said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭tweenie

Base2race, Ballymount industrial estate. They are really good and don't try to sell you the dearest runners. Bought some for my kids after gait analysis etc and the cost €45. Would pay more in a normal sport shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭tattykitty

Amphibian King provides an excellent service - I'd recommend them too.

Regarding specific running shoes, the husband is currently training for a marathon and has the Nike Free Run shoes (not sure what "version") - he's loving them. Really flexible and comfy, and no blisters, pain or discomfort at all. He had Vibram five fingers until running a half-marathon on concrete and developing terrifying blood blisters over most of his foot...I'd perhaps stay away from those. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭irishbuzz

CycleSuperStore have some great offers on Zoot running shoes this week: http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/search_b.asp?s_and=1&s_keyw=zoot+shoes

Base2race and amphibianking are the same shop/company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

tweenie wrote: »
    Base2race and amphibianking are the same shop/company

Incorrect as Amphibian King are part of Base2race in Ballymount.Amphibian King has three stores - Ballymount,Bray & Oranmore.

Ampibian King(running) Velo Motion(bikes) DK orthotics(sports therapy& orthotics) and base2race(Nnutrition,swimschool and coaching) are all under the one roof.

Whatever the case the store in Ballymount is great. My kids had gait analysis there. The guy doing it wasn't happy with one of my kids overpronation and got the orthotics guy to have a look at them. Got lots of really good advise without costing a fortune. The companies work really well together. Excellent set-up and very good advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

tweenie wrote: »
    Base2race, Ballymount industrial estate. They are really good and don't try to sell you the dearest runners. Bought some for my kids after gait analysis etc and the cost €45. Would pay more in a normal sport shop

Seconded! I was in there yesterday, Jamie was looking after us, lovely guy. Told Paul I'd give the store a huge thumbs up here too :D

I got Saucony Guide 5's and himself got a pair of Brooks. Spent money than I normally would on trainers but the way I see it is its no more than two or three months gym fees. Took them out this morning and felt very very comfortable :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

We're all big fans of Base2Race too, have kitted out me, Raycun and our 9 year old, the 6 year old can't wait till she can join the A.C and get "proper runners" too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Cooldog

Hi I've been in Saucony Hurricanes for the past 5 years but unfortunately since the Hurricane 14 came out the have reduced the heel drop from 12mm to 8mm and as I have had calf and achilles issues in the past I am reluctant to try these new ones.
    I have tried everywhere to get the older ones but with no luck, but I suppose I am going to have to try a different runner now and I am just wondering if anyone else has the same problem ans what they changed to and if they had any issues.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

My physio recommends vibrams

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTs8klDbp5vofoPST9cHkafMl-jS1kUAHATb4Ao3RYQBcJ7Unl5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭re.mark.able

Do yourself a massive favour and get minimalist shoes - it'll take 2 or 3 months to get back to running 5k in the different form you have to adopt but switching completely got rid of my calf swelling, stiff hips and flat feet, and I can run the same distance a hell of a lot faster now too.
    Get brands like vivobarefoot, vibram, new balance.
    You can try some at Snow+Rock in Dundrum shopping centre, or order them off amazon or somewhere similar.
    You can use a pair of cheap skate shoes or (what I use) Onitsuka Tiger 'Mexico 66' - next to no sole and heel incline.

If you keep "jogging", your knees won't get better - that's my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭chocolatechips

Actually, I was looking at a pair of vibrams the other day and was wondering what a few of ye thought of minimalist shoes? Have any of ye changed to them and noticed less pain, more comfort etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭re.mark.able

Actually, I was looking at a pair of vibrams the other day and was wondering what a few of ye thought of minimalist shoes? Have any of ye changed to them and noticed less pain, more comfort etc?

like i said above - i don't get pain in my shins any more, or in my arches. less stitches and generally less aches after running. it also helped with acid reflux too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Love my merrells/new balance. Wouldn't go back to a normal runner ever. Takes a while to build up to distances in them, but full on worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭will56

New Balance minimus, so light and fit like a glove. :)
    It does take some time to build up mileage in them, but definitely well worth it.

Try replacing your everyday/weekend footwear with them if you can to help adjust to less cushioning and a smaller heel to toe drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Nolimits12

I love asics. Go into the shop in Kildare Village. They will analyse your foot and gait and recommend the best shoe. I used to get knee pain from shoes which didnt give me enough support during road running. I got a really good pair for about 65 euro there and they have the highest standard of support you can get.
    The same shoes for men are about 10-15 euro dearer I noticed. But its still pretty cheap for a good pair of shoes!