Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electronic cigarettes... amazing.

• 15-09-2012 9:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭

I smoked my last real cigarette this morning and walked into town to buy an "e-cigarette" for 35 yoyos. The hit off these things feel pretty much like a real fag, and it produces smoke/vapour too so I guess my brain still thinks I'm smoking.

If you're like me and have failed every time you've attempted to quit, get one of these yokes. They're amazing.

Any other e-cigarrette users here?

Any smokers who would like to quit and are interested in these gadgets?

I'm gonna walk around Tesco tomorrow and smoke the **** out of it.

By the way I could fail and go back to smoking, who knows, but right now I feel it's one of the best purchases I've made in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Thank God Allah you've stopped smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

the shock of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I've heard they are great... if you don't mind the impotence side-effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Jeez, they sound feckin' amazing! I'm going to get one too and smoke it all day long.

I've never actually smoked before but I'm sure I'll pick it up in no time. Thanks for the great tip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Freemasonry

I think you're an idiot for smoking in the first place, but that's just me and I'm all for depopulating the world of idiots and letting the smarter breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

My cousin has been using this as a way to help her stop smoking and it's working wonders for her.

I think it's a great invention for people who want to kick the habit.

Although the government should pay for these for them as an incentive for people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I think you're an idiot for smoking in the first place, but that's just me and I'm all for depopulating the world of idiots and letting the smarter breed.

so im guessing your on a bridge about to jump off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Great stuff over on the vaping forum OP. This method works and is a lot of fun for the gadget junkies of the world. You made a great choice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

girl2 wrote: »

Although the government should pay for these for them as an incentive for people.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If you are in the UK, Just make sure you don't light up one of these on a bus. :eek:

so im guessing your on a bridge about to jump off.

Yes, how did yo- noooooo.

• Site Banned Posts: 45 Alan_Curry

I gave up the really hard way, had to have a pancreatic attack and spend 6 weeks in hospital to motivate my giving of them up, but I heard these things are pretty good. If I still smoked, I'd definitely get one, in fact, I wish they came out in 2004/2005, could have saved me a lot of money and health problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Why?

Because in the long run, the short term costs to get people off the smokes will by far outweigh the costs associated with medically treating people for cigarette-induced illnesses.

Hey remember when you were four and you shít in your pants. Yeah, you shouldn't have done that. You're an idiot for doing that. Helpful eh?

Kurz wrote: »
    Hey remember when you were four and you shít in your pants. Yeah, you shouldn't have done that. You're an idiot for doing that. Helpful eh?

Your point is invalid and you make no sense, please try again bro.

I'm giving you sound advice on what you shouldn't have done, just like you gave the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I smoke the electric smoke called smoke green.ie
    Have been off the smokes for 6 weeks now definatly recommend them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

I'm giving you sound advice on what you shouldn't have done, just like you gave the OP.
    Agreed

It's posts like his that have just turned me off forums, always someone willing to patronise or contradict, kills discussion or craic

I have these e-fags, kept me off for two months. Back smoking but only a couple a day, will go back on the vapor when i buy more liquid

I smoke the electric smoke called smoke green.ie
    Have been off the smokes for 6 weeks now definatly recommend them

"Smoke green" nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Honk if you love smoking!

and/or vaping

Agreed

It's posts like his that have just turned me off forums, always someone willing to patronise or contradict, kills discussion or craic

I know right!

• Site Banned Posts: 45 Alan_Curry

If you want to wipe out the stupid of this planet, you should build gas chambers and exterminate anyone with an I.Q. under 100. Unfortunately - according to Wikipedia - Ireland has an average I.Q. of 93 so you'd be wiping out a lot of our own kind too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

They are just another quit smoking con. You are still putting nicotine into your system hence you are still addicted, and you will still want to smoke. To only way to quit is to go complete cold turkey, which is a nightmare as i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

i have been using a vaporizer for 16 months now , and have not had 1 cigarette since

i have introduced 8 mates to the same one i use and 7 have stopped smoking. not only cigarette's but also the vaporizer.
    that is not a bad result - they really do work - try them

as for people saying this has its own thread - no harm having it here , not everyone knows of the vaporizers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yep. Have one. It feels stronger than a benson.

WumBuster wrote: »
    They are just another quit smoking con. You are still putting nicotine into your system hence you are still addicted, and you will still want to smoke. To only way to quit is to go complete cold turkey, which is a nightmare as i know

I can only speak for myself and the reasons I quit smoking. It was affecting my health and costing me a lot of money. I switched to e-cigarettes nearly two years ago and it wasn't difficult. I saved maybe ten grand in that time and any smoking-related health issues have gone away.

I agree with the general thrust of your point that it's better to give up cold turkey in the long term, but e-cigarettes are certainly not a con.

Edit: You actually don't still want to smoke. You notice the smell and all that stuff and don't want any part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I packed them in before these things were invented but I would definitely have tried them.

Good luck to anyone who's trying to kick the habit serious addiction.

but nicotine is not harmful at all - granted you may be addicted but it wont kill you , surely its a better solution than smoking , not everyone can stop , me being one
    but as i said in my first post - its been 16 months since i have smoked
    im happy im addicted to this rather than cigarettes

might even stop me developing lung cancer - all good as far as i can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Well it's better than smoking real cigarettes. So nicotine vs nicotine and 4000+ other chemicals is a bit of a no brainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

If it's like smoking a real cigarette without the chemicals and tar, then it's worth it. Nicotine on its own is a stimulant drug like caffeine.

I'm a smoker and I f*cking love smoking. If there's a safer way of doing it, I'm all for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

I can only speak for myself and the reasons I quit smoking. It was affecting my health and costing me a lot of money. I switched to e-cigarettes nearly two years ago and it wasn't difficult. I saved maybe ten grand in that time and any smoking-related health issues have gone away.

I agree with the general thrust of your point that it's better to give up cold turkey in the long term, but e-cigarettes are certainly not a con.

Edit: You actually don't still want to smoke. You notice the smell and all that stuff and don't want any part of it.

Ok fair enough from the health perspective but you are still spending a lot of money on e cigarettes, a substitute. They help you quit smoking but keep you addicted to nicotine, which is a bit of a scam really when you think about it

OneArt wrote: »
    If it's like smoking a real cigarette without the chemicals and tar, then it's worth it. Nicotine on its own is a stimulant drug like caffeine.

I'm a smoker and I f*cking love smoking. If there's a safer way of doing it, I'm all for it.

dont know if mods will allow a link to a product that if you enjoy smoking , this is your man - lots of different products on the market , a lot are rubbish , this one is great - i promise you if you are still using it after 2 days you will stop smoking

pm me and ill send you the link

** i have no association with ANY retailer in any shape or form - im not spamming - just trying to spread the good word **

Ok fair enough from the health perspective but you are still spending a lot of money on e cigarettes, a substitute. They help you quit smoking but keep you addicted to nicotine, which is a bit of a scam really when you think about it

9 euro for a bottle of juice last me 2 weeks - hardly a lot of money seeing smokes are what now ? 9 euro ?

its not just the nicotine , its the habit of smoking , inhaling and the hit , these devices mimic it very well , your not getting the 4000 chemicals that cause cancer - its win win , being addicted to nicotine is the least of your worries as a smoker

There is a big debate in pharmacy circles whether pharmacies should be allowed sell them. However, I think the IPS said they should not be sold in pharmacies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

So a person is an idiot if they smoke ? well then that makes all north/south american indians idiots does it ? Some of the smartest and enlightened people on this planet :p

The electronic cigs work well but you are still inhaling nicotine, fair enough in the case that you are not inhaling smoke but it's not really giving cigs up as you are still putting nicotine into your lungs.

Meh, still cant light one up on a plane.:(

There is a big debate in pharmacy circles whether pharmacies should be allowed sell them. However, I think the IPS said they should not be sold in pharmacies.

the ones they sell in the chemists are rubbish - trust me on this one
    go to the smoking thread and do some reading

they are the fiat of e cigs - useless :D

Jake1 wrote: »
    Meh, still cant light one up on a plane.:(

i do - and never has anyone, either passenger or air crew said one word to me about it

i might just be lucky - but dont ryanair sell e smokes on the plane ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I hate the "but you're still addicted!" argument. It smacks of that typical Irish attitude looking to take people down a peg for no good reason.

The reasons I didn't like smoking, in order, were:

1) I spent too much money on it and,
    2) I didn't want cancer.

Now I'm saving about €200 a month (trust me, you notice the difference. First time in my life I'm regular getting to the end of the month with money still in my account) and I'm not putting tar or other cancer-inducing chemicals into my body. Problem solved.

The addiction wasn't the issue. The money and cancer was. I'm addicted to breathing too. And sleeping. Simply being 'addicted' to something isn't always a problem worth lecturing others about. It's whether that's harmful to you or not that it becomes an issue.

I spend €20 on it every three weeks. It's really not expensive. Though if you look in the vaping forum you'll see lads who spend a fortune on the latest james bond vaping gear because it's a hobby of sorts.

I agree that cold turkey is the most desirable way but it is very difficult and fair fúcks to anyone who does it. Vaping isn't expensive at all, the real vested interests are people like nicorette who's products don't work and cost as much as smoking if not more.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    i do - and never has anyone, either passenger or air crew said one word to me about it

i might just be lucky - but dont ryanair sell e smokes on the plane ?

the sell condoms in boots but they dont let ye ride there ;):D

I know on US flights its definately not allowed, and I also once asked on a Ryan air flight could I, and was told no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I don't smoke but I'll support these things if they make smokers less/not smelly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Thank God Allah you've stopped smoking.
    Careful now, or a lot of stones might get thrown at a lot of windows. Do not mention the Scottish deity:D E-cigs. Hmm. About four years ago a bird offered me an investment in some new fangled electric cigarettes. I reckoned they'd never catch on! Good one, Pottler.:(

Jake1 wrote: »
    the sell condoms in boots but they dont let ye ride there ;):D

I know on US flights its definately not allowed, and I also once asked on a Ryan air flight could I, and was told no.

your right , on Finnish trains your also not allowed , but many do allow it , i just use it and wait and see , they dont have a leg to stand on really as there is no signage or leaflets saying that you cant , so you are breaking no rule or law

some states in the US are trying to ban them , with huge pressure from the tobacco lobby - they might go here also - one estimate put the loss to the UK gov at 21 billion in lost taxes - they will ban it on financial grounds

bastards will let people smoke to make cash - simple as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

girl2 wrote: »
    Because in the long run, the short term costs to get people off the smokes will by far outweigh the costs associated with medically treating people for cigarette-induced illnesses.

And in the longer run the government will have less revenue from cigs and more expenditure on housing, pensions and healthcare for bigger population that lives longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I'm off the cigarettes 7 weeks today thanks to electronic cigarettes. In that 7 weeks, I've spent about 60 euro on vaping products (and have enough to last me maybe another 3 weeks) - so that's €6 or €7 a week, rather than the €40 I was spending.

I'm much healthier. My sense of smell is much stronger. I feel SO much better without them.

The first 2 weeks were still hard but now I rarely give actual cigarettes a 2nd thought. I've stopped smoking before and always missed them sorely. This just changed everything for me.

They definitely work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

And in the longer run the government will have less revenue from cigs and more expenditure on housing, pensions and healthcare for bigger population that lives longer.
    So the retirement age will increase. Healthy people are better for the economy than people with long-term illnesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

I smoke Benson.
    Can anyone recommend an e-cig which will match the same strength?

I tried a disposable Impulse e-cig but it wasnt worth a ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I keep hearing this 'smokers are good for the economy' shite.

First, reducing people to economic units is dehumanising.

Second, the economics of this argument are not sound. Smokers get expensive treatments for cancer and respiratory illness, they miss days in work also.

Third, what about the smoker's quality of life? What about the people around him?

Smoking is bad - there is no upside worth mentioning.