Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Half Marathon

• 15-09-2012 7:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Anybody out there know why Gary was DSQ after he won ( well first arcoss line) today ??
    He's one machine !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

IronmanJNR wrote: »
    Anybody out there know why Gary was DSQ after he won ( well first arcoss line) today ??
    He's one machine !!

Was doing stride outs and gun went off and he couldnt get back to the start line to cross it so didnt officially start behind the start line. Felt bad for him but more as a result of the fact he was not told earlier in the race that he had been DQ'ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

He's one machine !!

A couple of stewards told me he was caught mid warm up when the race started and so didn't start behind the line. Sounded like he was only out by a couple of metres.

I couldn't see it myself from way back with the 1:45 folk .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

He's one machine !!
    I heard on fb that he was late getting to the start-line and when he jumped in he didnt cross the first timing mat. A shame really..
    Edit: ^^^ what they said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 IronmanJNR

Cheers dudes .. What a pity .. Super athlete , and super nice guy to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭carlton36

I don't understand how this can happen. The announcer was talking about the entrants before the race and mentioned Gary's name as a potential winner and the one to beat, I think the announcer even said he that he was looking at Gary warming up. Feel sorry for the guy.

Don't the organisers/starter check that all the elites are lined up before they decide to blow the whistle to start the race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

carlton36 wrote: »
    Don't the organisers/starter check that all the elites are lined up before they decide to blow the whistle to start the race?

I feel sorry for the guy, but its his responsibility to join the race on time, the organisers can't be expected to chase after people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Some superb photos from Actionphotography.ie highlight Gary's plight:
    Before the start (you can see a runner pointing out GOH)
    Trying to get back to the start
    facing the masses
    Must be awful facing into those crowds. I really feel for him, particularly as it was a tough tactical race, but sadly, you can't expect a race to wait for a runner. Hopefully he can use the frustration to power through some great results over the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 metamagical

carlton36 wrote: »

Don't the elites check that they're lined up at the start before the organisers blow the whistle?

This happened to Rosemary Ryan in the race series a few years ago as well, and in her case as well as Gary's, there's little excuse: both of them have been at this for long enough to know where they need to be with 5 minutes to the off. From what I know of him, he'll be kicking himself rather than blaming the organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

It is a shame for him, but it really shouldn't have happened. As KC said, you can see David Carrie trying to alert the organisers of the situation, but at the end of the day, each runner has a responsibility to get themselves to the race start on time. As Tunguska said, it actually leaves a bad taste for all of the high-placed finishers, obviously as well as Gary and the whole thing in general.

I think Gary made a judgement error, and could've righted it by trying to get around on the grass in order to get across the start line. It might've made his first mile a bit of a mess, but he could still have gotton back into contention.

I'm sure he'll bounce back from this. The form he's been in of late has been fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

It is a shame for him, but it really shouldn't have happened. As KC said, you can see David Carrie trying to alert the organisers of the situation, but at the end of the day, each runner has a responsibility to get themselves to the race start on time. As Tunguska said, it actually leaves a bad taste for all of the high-placed finishers, obviously as well as Gary and the whole thing in general.

I think Gary made a judgement error, and could've righted it by trying to get around on the grass in order to get across the start line. It might've made his first mile a bit of a mess, but he could still have gotton back into contention.

I'm sure he'll bounce back from this. The form he's been in of late has been fantastic.

In fairness the blame is at the runner and stewards.

Runner should of known better but on a safety issue the stewards are totally at fault. You don't allow a race off before ensuring the way is clear. Hopefully both will learn from this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Burgman

Some superb photos from Actionphotography.ie highlight Gary's plight:
    Before the start (you can see a runner pointing out GOH)
    Trying to get back to the start
    facing the masses
    Must be awful facing into those crowds. I really feel for him, particularly as it was a tough tactical race, but sadly, you can't expect a race to wait for a runner. Hopefully he can use the frustration to power through some great results over the coming months.

Yes, great photos, thanks. Slightly off-topic, but does anyone know where the woman in the front row on the right hand side of the photo finished? Also, where was Tunguska at the start - must have had to battle through a good few hopefuls in getting in to 3rd place. (And well done to him.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭The_Boy_Wonder

What was also a bit surprising is that the guy on the tannoy was saying that they surely weren't ready to start and it might be a while before they'd start, and then all of a shot they were off. It took him by surprise as well.
    I'm not at this craic of races very long and I don't know any of the parties concerned but a bit of common sense from both the runner seeing the wheelchair guy had started, it was time to get in position as everyone else was, and also for the starter to take a look down the opening stretch to make sure it was safe to start and he'd have spotted the runner.
    Upshot is it was an expensive mistake for the runner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

RayCun wrote: »
    I feel sorry for the guy, but its his responsibility to join the race on time, the organisers can't be expected to chase after people.

Couldn't have said it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Gary should have been on the start line like everyone else.
    Starter was made aware that gary wasn't on the start line by David Carrie as you can see from the photo.
    Could have caused a serious accident had Gary decided to run to the mat and he had no option.

The thing that is annoying Gary is the fact that they failed to pull him out of the race.After 5minutes it was made clear by officals he would be DQ.
    Most stewards would have heard this on their walkie talkies and failed to tell him.

Gary was racing for marathon mission which makes it evenmore dissapointing !!!

The thing that is annoying Gary is the fact that they failed to pull him out of the race!!
    Who could've caught him? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Gary should have been on the start line like everyone else.
    Starter was made aware that gary wasn't on the start line by David Carrie as you can see from the photo.
    Could have caused a serious accident had Gary decided to run to the mat and he had no option.

The thing that is annoying Gary is the fact that they failed to pull him out of the race.After 5minutes it was made clear by officals he would be DQ.
    Most stewards would have heard this on their walkie talkies and failed to tell him.

True, the officials should have pulled him out. Having said that I knew he was going to get DQd as soon as I seen what happened. Surely he must have know he was going to get DQd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

TRR wrote: »
    True, the officials should have pulled him out. Having said that I knew he was going to get DQd as soon as I seen what happened. Surely he must have know he was going to get DQd.

I completely agree that it was Gary's responsibility to be on the start line in time but like everyone here I feel very sorry for him. We passed him on Chesterfield Avenue on the way home and he was naturally distraught. I also understand that the organisers had to abide by the rules and DQ him.
    What I don't understand is why he was allowed to cross the Finish Line and announced as the winner. I was a volunteer in the finishing pen so I walked down to watch the first 40 come in (congrats Tunguska, TRR and ecoli) and he was cheered in and the announcer even said something to the effect that his and Joe Mc's number assignments were prophetic (1 and 2), turns out number 1 was not so lucky after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

I agree everyone else made it to the line on time so there is no excuse. I wouldn't expect the organisers to hold the race for him but is there not a safety issue of one man running against the entire first wave? This was clearly highlighted to the starting guy on the line.

Did he manage to get out of the way, back across the start line and then overtake everyone to win? Fair play if so...

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Did he manage to get out of the way, back across the start line and then overtake everyone to win? Fair play if so...
    This entire thread is about the fact that he was disqualified for not crossing the start line.

I read the entire thread and still thought it was a valid question, don't ask me how as it makes no sense now. Sorry!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Now waves have been metioned, if he'd waited for the second wave and run the fastest gun time based on gun time from the second wave would he have been declared the winner?

No - gun time is used for the official results. Although based on my stupidity above I would wait for a second opinion!

No - gun time is used for the official results.

Yeah but wave 2ers get their own guntime, I think, hence the query about wave 2 guntime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Yeah but wave 2ers get their own guntime, I think, hence the query about wave 2 guntime...

I think you know the answer to that question already RQ. No he wouldn't have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭28064212

No they don't. Chip time for the wave two runners is three minutes faster than gun time

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

TRR wrote: »
    I think you know the answer to that question already RQ. No he wouldn't have won.

really, why?

28064212 wrote: »
    No they don't. Chip time for the wave two runners is three minutes faster than gun time

Fair enough. A couple years ago I'm sure they had a gun time specific to each wave, like each wave was a separate race. Sticks in my memory 'cos it was so odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Fair enough. A couple years ago I'm sure they had a gun time specific to each wave, like each wave was a separate race. Sticks in my memory 'cos it was so odd.

I did it last year and started in wave 2. There was a longish time between wave 1 and wave 2 starting and yet the difference between my gun time and chip time was only 1 minute, so they did have a separate gun time for wave two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Feel sorry for the guy. Hes one of the most down to earth and helpful lads you could meet and a great athlete. Hopefully he wins the National title at the Dublin Marathon this year as hes in super form and peak fitness atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

I don't know Gary and by all accounts he is a good guy but I have seen other races where there is a bit of gamesmanship and a lead runner will go for a late warm-up and keep the others waiting.... just saying...

dna_leri wrote: »
    I don't know Gary and by all accounts he is a good guy but I have seen other races where there is a bit of gamesmanship and a lead runner will go for a late warm-up and keep the others waiting.... just saying...

No you don't know him and this aint a 100m sprint where we see gamesmanship !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Why on the timing website does it say my Gun Time and gun position, but chip time is blank and chip position is 0? I looked and it seems to have done that for about 10-20 other people. A chip fault or what does it mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Why on the timing website does it say my Gun Time and gun position, but chip time is blank and chip position is 0? I looked and it seems to have done that for about 10-20 other people. A chip fault or what does it mean?
    Well, it possibly means your chip was only registered at the finish, not when you started, so it would only be able to calculate your gun time. However, email the guys at info@tdl.co.uk and/or raceseries@dublinmarathon.ie, and they should be able to help

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

dna_leri wrote: »

Didnt Gary miss the check in for the 10k on the track at nationals?
    Although the officials had the sense to let him through to the start line.

What blind bit of difference does this make whether he was on this "squad" or not. It does not matter who you are the rules apply the same for everyone.

On another note how did Gary get the nod to represent the "mission" when he does not have the half or marathon time. Maybe he broke 50 minutes down in Waterford for a ten miler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Burgman wrote: »
    Yes, great photos, thanks. Slightly off-topic, but does anyone know where the woman in the front row on the right hand side of the photo finished? Also, where was Tunguska at the start - must have had to battle through a good few hopefuls in getting in to 3rd place. (And well done to him.)

I was about 3 rows back which is grand for a half marathon, planty of time to slot into your place after the usual frantic start. Different story for a 5k though, I'd make sure to be on the first row for shorter races.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=23100

49.49 pb for 10miles = standard for marathon mission(sub 50)

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=23100

49.49 pb for 10miles = standard for marathon mission(sub 50)

He needs to step it up big time from the national half to justify been in this "elite" squad. I have my suspicions about that course down in Waterford. Good on him though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Just when you think you have problems... from the DM facebook page;)
    Gary O'H wrote:
    Gutted................
    Beyond gutted...ran my first ever Half Marathon yesterday only to cross the finish line to discover that they had no medium t-shirts left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Money Maker

He might be a nice guy but he is also a muppet. I was there and it was very clear that he was aware the race was about to start. Instead he then started warming up to try and put off the other runners.
    He should have been on the line, like EVERYONE else.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

He might be a nice guy but he is also a muppet. I was there and it was very clear that he was aware the race was about to start. Instead he then started warming up to try and put off the other runners.

Strange you feel the need to open an account to make your point a month later:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

Personal insults should be banned. The facts are he miscalcualted the time taken to get to the start line. He came running from about 1/2 mile up the road. Did not warm up in front of everybody and he most certainly did not try and put anyone off. Joe Mc A. was the only runner in the field capable of beating Gary and although GOH is modest, he would have known that. To suggest he was trying to put off runners is just pure wrong and a very flippant and non factual statement to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

That is incorrect. I checked the whole warm up area, and he wasn't there. He appeared on the roadway with about 10 seconds to go to the start. He wasn't putting anyone off as everyone was on the start line on time and the race started on time.

Sorry, I should not have stated a fact like he should have been on the start line like everyone else, as that disproves the point everyone else is trying to make. Is running a day job for these guiys or do they have other jobs anyway, maybe he was tired?

Can no longer hold my silence