Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Clubhouse Bar - Off Topic Discussion

• 14-09-2012 4:31pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭

In line with some users requesting an "Off Topic" discussion thread, this works in a lot of other forums so I'm willing to give it a try here.

All users must remember that the rules of boards and the GAA forum still apply, no abuse, no bad language, etc. etc.

Pull up a stool and have a pint of whatever tickles your fancy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Jeez, that was fast Clareman !

I must say as a mod you rock ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Us mods are here to serve :)

Clareman wrote: »
    Us mods are here to serve :)

.......a concept completely alien to the AFR forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Just had a savage fish stew/soup for the dinner, I was tiping away at it all afternoon, stuck in a pile of fish for 10 mins at the end, kids mopped it up, couldn't get enough, it'll be absolutely savage tomorrow, what're ye having?

Looking forward to starting the new Ian McEwan book after moone boy tonight.
    Anyone doing anything at the weekend? How'd the hols go Face(or whatever you go by now?

One thread isn't enough:( but thanks for thinking of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Seeing as it's a Bar.........Throw us on a pint of stout.

............And the greatest goal ever scored in HQ was Seamus Darbys.

mmmm fish stew/soup......my favourite :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

Just had a savage fish stew/soup for the dinner, I was tiping away at it all afternoon, stuck in a pile of fish for 10 mins at the end, kids mopped it up, couldn't get enough, it'll be absolutely savage tomorrow, what're ye having?

Anyone doing anything at the weekend? How'd the hols go Face(or whatever you go by now?

Its a start. Behave ourselves here and they might let us have our own playroom :D

So anyone got the Kate Middleton pics :D

(Only messin Clareman)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Peat Moss

Has anyone here read the new Ian McEwan book yet?

I see it got mixed reviews, but I don't know what to make of that.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

In line with some users requesting an "Off Topic" discussion thread, this works in a lot of other forums so I'm willing to give it a try here.

All users must remember that the rules of boards and the GAA forum still apply, no abuse, no bad language, etc. etc.

Pull up a stool and have a pint of whatever tickles your fancy

Dont/Didnt we have one of these already? With the most fantastic memories ever inside? :pac:

deise_girl wrote: »
    Dont/Didnt we have one of these already? With the most fantastic memories ever inside? :pac:

We're working our way up to five DG, thats all we ever needed. Wimmin, Drink, Politics, Hurling and a superthread about the best feed you ever had or how to cook a steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Harvey Dent

Hols were class-couldn't recommend Portugal highly enough. Nice people, great food, surfing and weather. Lisbon is class-the Barro Alto is some spot. Super Bock beer!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Bars open yeahhhhh.....
    Dbl whiskey and by whiskey I mean Paddy i want to feel it going down

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Just back from the local, 4 lovely pints watching the rugby. I'll have a Jameson, best whiskey.

Any whatever way you want to cook you steak, just make sure to leave it rest afterwards, nothing worse than having a lovely steak go straight from the pan/grill to the plate

Mmmm, Steak and Beer

threeball wrote: »
    Mmmm, Steak and Beer

Tesco have a great promotion of beers of the world at the moment, 5 beers for €10, nice to have a different beer when having a nice steak. I also picked up a lovely t-bone steak for tomorrow before heading off the match. T-bone, new potatoes in butter, mash from records, get a ricer by the way for mash, best invention ever, garlic butter and veg accompanied by an O'Hara's will set the scene nicely I think, great getting a lift :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

deise_girl wrote: »

Yep, but when i tried resurrecting it a few months back it died flat on its arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 greendolphin

Just back from a nice steak at the local Mexican. Not bad, medium rare the way I like it. Two pints to wash it down. Anyone see Hunger Games? Just about to put it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

After decades of trial and error my favorite and failproof way to cook a steak. Season with salt and pepper and leave at room temp covered for an hour. Sear in a hot skillet for 2 minutes per side, transfer to a roasting pan and bake in a 375F oven for 5 (rare) to 10 (medium rare) minutes. The alternative is to turn the heat down after searing and cook for a total of 10 - 14 minutes, turning once. The oven seems to produce more reproducible results, maybe because it is hard to get the temp down fast in the skillet. Nothing as good as a nice juicy steak but forget about the beer lads, a nice big 1/2 pint glass of full bodied red is the only way to go.

Savages still talking about cooking a steak, one of the things which a monkey could be trained to do perfectly in half an hour, season as you like(salt pepper chili flakes for me) rub with oil, put on the hottest pan you can make until it is the right colour(about 1 and a half to two minutes each side), at this stage your house is full of smoke but what the hell (repeat for lamb chops but a little longer(and a little more smoke.
    Where you buy your steak is important though, i vary between Garretts and O'Connors on William st(Limerick).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

FFS - cooking a steak is easy. Get your pan scorching hot until smoke comes off of it. (Don't use olive oil.) Put your steak in. Season. Leave the thing alone. Flip it over. Season. Leave it alone. Take it out. Rest. Serve. Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Chicken liver

Tesco have a great promotion of beers of the world at the moment, 5 beers for €10, nice to have a different beer when having a nice steak. I also picked up a lovely t-bone steak for tomorrow before heading off the match. T-bone, new potatoes in butter, mash from records, get a ricer by the way for mash, best invention ever, garlic butter and veg accompanied by an O'Hara's will set the scene nicely I think, great getting a lift :)

Moderator.

Us afr heads don't care what goes on in your head. Don't be ingratiating yourself on us please. You have no business interacting with anyone on this forum unless you're banning or warning someone. I suggest that remove yourself from these threads and go and sit down in your little moderators room for yourself. There's a good lad now trot along there.

This message is for all moderators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Could have no drink last night and can have no drink tonight if we win the All Ireland as I have to fly back to London tomorrow morning as I'm playing in the intermediate hurling semi-final. Coming back tomorrow night from Heathrow and will let my hair down then. Talk of steak is making me hungry and I'm licking my lips at one of the recipes above, but cant touch that either. Had a lovely breakfast of 2 Weetabix and half a glass of orange juice.

nagirrac wrote: »
    forget about the beer lads, a nice big 1/2 pint glass of full bodied red is the only way to go.

If it's a nice fillet I'll have a nice glass of red to go with it, other cuts will have beer.

Keane's butchers in Ennis has great steaks, Montgomery Meats used to be around as well, they were brilliant.

kstand wrote: »
    Could have no drink last night and can have no drink tonight if we win the All Ireland as I have to fly back to London tomorrow morning as I'm playing in the intermediate hurling semi-final. Coming back tomorrow night from Heathrow and will let my hair down then. Talk of steak is making me hungry and I'm licking my lips at one of the recipes above, but cant touch that either. Had a lovely breakfast of 2 Weetabix and half a glass of orange juice.

2 Weetabix, we thought you were a tough guy ES...........you aint nothing if you don't have three Weetabix in the morning.
    Looking forward to the hurling tonight, I'm very hopeful provided we don't go in for this over defensive line-up mallarky, we have good forwards and sound backs ans should show faith in them.

Best of luck in yer semi-final btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

tatoo wrote: »
    2 Weetabix, we thought you were a tough guy ES...........you aint nothing if you don't have three Weetabix in the morning.
    Looking forward to the hurling tonight, I'm very hopeful provided we don't go in for this over defensive line-up mallarky, we have good forwards and sound backs ans should show faith in them.

We're in the senior semi-final as well - bit too old for that now, the oldest lad is 29 or something. Be some year for us if we got to both finals.
    Havent bought a ticket for tonight yet, will get the below. Might go the old stand side if we cant get anything decent for the Ryan Stand. Sections 205, 206 and 207 if what you wnat in the old stand if you're getting them below. Wont mis the beer at all but will get on it tomorrow night in Ennis win, lose or draw.

tatoo wrote: »

Very true, 3 at a minimum. Real men would have four. Horses of men. The type of men that would sh1te walkin.

Though you'd probably have to after 4 weetabix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭carryharry

Very true, 3 at a minimum. Real men would have four. Horses of men. The type of men that would sh1te walkin.

Though you'd probably have to after 4 weetabix

Real men would normally go for 3 weetabix and a nice scattering of corn flakes on top as well.

That's a breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭carryharry

Just back from a nice steak at the local Mexican. Not bad, medium rare the way I like it. Two pints to wash it down. Anyone see Hunger Games? Just about to put it on.

Haven't seen Hunger Games yet Dolph, but saw Moneyball the other night.

Good flick and worth a look if you haven't seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I dunno! It all seems just a bit forced thus far, not at all like the old place. I went around there today and the weeds are starting to make inroads.

Actually it was the weeds that killed it, wasn't it. It's like the hard of hearing person laughing along with his pals at the stand-up comedian, even though he doesn't really know wtf they're so amused.

Clareman is doing his best, but ye're like poor hoors 'thrun' into the workhouse. Homeless, in the big city as it were.

It's a pity Cerebus isn't here to cheer us up with a witty one liner, as he used to ...Back in the Day!:rolleyes:

Hitchens wrote: »
    I dunno! It all seems just a bit forced thus far, not at all like the old place. I went around there today and the weeds are starting to make inroads.

Actually it was the weeds that killed it, wasn't it. It's like the hard of hearing person laughing along with his pals at the stand-up comedian, even though he doesn't really know wtf they're so amused.

Clareman is doing his best, but ye're like poor hoors 'thrun' into the workhouse. Homeless, in the big city as it were.

It's a pity Cerebus isn't here to cheer us up with a witty one liner, as he used to ...Back in the Day!:rolleyes:

yerra, you weren't fit to lace his boots boy despite your attempts to compete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Steak cant beat it

yerra, you weren't fit to lace his boots boy despite your attempts to compete

How many times were you kicked off the site ...but couldn't take a hint?

It Is my opinion a good steak doesn't need a steak sauce. Nothing except a loaded baked potato IMO. Yes a nice glass of red goes very well with it, a cab for me.

Never got to watch it Harry. The damn disk was corrupted.

I think we're a bit like the Kurds hitch. Our neighbours in the north aren't too fond of us and those is the south want us exterminated. When really all we are is a bunch of lads enjoying the craic who want our own homeland.

It Is my opinion a good steak doesn't need a steak sauce. Nothing except a loaded baked potato IMO. Yes a nice glass of red goes very well with it, a cab for me.

Thats what you get for downloading off those dodgy websites GD.
    Couldn't enjoy your steak after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

Moderator.

Us afr heads don't care what goes on in your head. Don't be ingratiating yourself on us please. You have no business interacting with anyone on this forum unless you're banning or warning someone. I suggest that remove yourself from these threads and go and sit down in your little moderators room for yourself. There's a good lad now trot along there.

This message is for all moderators.

<mod note> Enjoy the ban!

I think we're a bit like the Kurds hitch. Our neighbours in the north aren't too fond of us and those is the south want us exterminated. When really all we are is a bunch of lads enjoying the craic who want our own homeland.

Summed up perfectly TB - wait a min .. TB? I must get this cough checked out - anyway, where was I? oh yeah, nomads we are now, wumdering in the wilderness.

Is there a Moses to lead us to a forum of milk & honey (or bile & vitriol) out there?

:(

Thats what you get for downloading off those dodgy websites GD.
    Couldn't enjoy your steak after that.

Don't tell my misses!

How many times were you kicked off the site ...but couldn't take a hint?

Strange comment Hitch, I'm wondering how you know so much about me. I was banned a few times as batter burger but always let back in after a polite exchange with Mr Cahill. Strange comment indeed:confused:

Apologies BB, I mixed you up with someone else. I can't get used to the new usernames.

I wake up in the middle of the night sometimes, screaming & sweating. It's like the DT's, so it is.

Again, abject apologies ...and I will light a candle for you & yours!

:confused::eek:

Apologies BB, I mixed you up with someone else. I can't get used to the new usernames.

I wake up in the middle of the night sometimes, screaming & sweating. It's like the DT's, so it is.

Again, abject apologies ...and I will light a candle for you & yours!

:confused::eek:

no probs Hitch, i've had a strange day on the web, thanks for the reply.

I tried to sign up for the soccer forum today and managed to get myself banned for a month. I don't know whether I'm happy or sad about it, but very confused.

Is that you Labane?

yea, sorta happy to not have to post on soccer, it can be a bit stressful at times :D

Looks like we have been sent to the bar which is fine by me. Maybe we should just stay here altogether it might be the safest spot :D. TFK is a right lunatic asylum and this seems very tightly managed to say the least, so happy days ahead. Anyway time for a drink.

Is that you Labane?
    yea, sorta happy to not have to post on soccer, it can be a bit stressful at times :D

I thought it might of been you talking about that steak.
    Ya the footie can be frustrating alright. Another godawful result for the pool today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Murray marmalade

Looks like we have been sent to the bar which is fine by me. Maybe we should just stay here altogether it might be the safest spot :D. TFK is a right lunatic asylum and this seems very tightly managed to say the least, so happy days ahead. Anyway time for a drink.
    Where can they send us from here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Murray marmalade

I thought it might of been you talking about that steak.
    Ya the footie can be frustrating alright. Another godawful result for the pool today.
    I dont think we are allowed to talk about soccer Dolph

Where can they send us from here ?

out the door I'd say, better be careful or we will end up like the lost tribe of Israel :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Defence on topin Michagan