Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is Pyongyang {Not the city}

• 14-09-2012 01:53PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭

So, any theories? Its strange when a regular user & contributor to the forum suddenly disappears without trace.

My theory is, he played a genre that wasn't a shmup, & literally just died because there was no shmup action in it.

Whats yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,536 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

In all seriousness though, I hope something bad hasn't happened. It's weird to see someone just vanish like that. I mean he was even posting regularly when he was over in Japan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Well he's uploaded 4 videos to youtube over the last week. One of them just 2 days ago so he's still knocking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Yeah. He tweeted me on the twitter only 2 days ago.

It's very easy to get jaded with boards.ie

I was gone for a year till you guys in this forum pulled me back.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I heard he found out what happens when too opposite forces collide. He took a copy of Legend of Dragoon (the most boring game ever made) and accidentally dropped it on radiant silvergun (the most exciting game ever made) and the resulting release of energy vapourised everything in a 200m radius. All that was left in the center of the crater was a Donkey Kong Country cartridge (the most mediocre game ever made).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

spotted on Jamma+ the last day or two..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,025 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Last I heard he was fine, moved on to pastures greener as Keith mentions.

A&R has become a strange place of late. There has always been good, friendly (and damn funny) banter between folks but some of the posts recently are a bit off. Ciderman's pointless "What is it?" thread which has turned into a multi-page Pyongyang bashing fest. Someone getting excited about an incoming GET is hardly worthy of that.

Wouldn't say that thread makes nice reading for him if he's seen it, no surprise he's gone awol. Yep I know, if I have a problem with something I can always report it, but rather than do that I thought it healthy to get a (minority) point of view out there.

Just my 2c.

Master of the Universe

One thing I love about this forum is the slaggings - if there's one thing Pyong was good at, was dishing them out. (I mean ffs, he even had names made up for all of us)

I'll agree that it does leave a bit of a bad taste when the person isn't here to retort, then but then some of us thought he'd see the posts and appear again with a witty come back.

Anyway, it's nice to know he hasn't succumbed to Kim Jong Il's death squad or had a stroke due to too many flashing lights in the latest Dodonpachi game. Cheers dudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Andrew76 wrote: »

A&R has become a strange place of late. There has always been good, friendly (and damn funny) banter between folks but some of the posts recently are a bit off. Ciderman's pointless "What is it?" thread which has turned into a multi-page Pyongyang bashing fest. Someone getting excited about an incoming GET is hardly worthy of that.

Wouldn't say that thread makes nice reading for him if he's seen it, no surprise he's gone awol. Yep I know, if I have a problem with something I can always report it, but rather than do that I thought it healthy to get a (minority) point of view out there.

Just my 2c.

Jaysus its only a bit of craic like, Pyongy is well able to dish it out & he's well able to take it too like the gent he is

Master of the Universe

Have you ever had an annoying old friend you're trying to distance yourself from, but he still keeps turning up at events and embarassing you in front of your cool new friends?

Where did you say Pyong was posting again? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Yeah, hopefully he hasn't left the forum because of a bit of slagging that he's well capable of dishing out and I thought also taking.
    I will say this, I didn't like Cidermans thread either to be honest. But that was mainly because I was getting dumped in with the "GET" squad.

DinoRex wrote: »
    Yeah. He tweeted me on the twitter only 2 days ago.

It's very easy to get jaded with boards.ie

I was gone for a year till you guys in this forum pulled me back.

Well then in all seriousness, I hope he wasn't offended by any of the banther that goes on here & just decided to split. That'd be a shame, he's a fantastic contributor, has huge knowledge of the hobby, & a very nice bloke to boot.

If anyone here crossed the line regards being offensive, I'd be the first to report it. I always feel there's a 'familiarity' here amongst us, we know how to slag each other, how to wind each other up, and all share a love for a collective hobby. If he was offended somehow, it genuinely went over my head

Anyway, if your talking to him, let him at least know that if he's not coming back over something like this then he will be missed like the sound chap he was & we thank him for his contributions :cool:

Cidermans thread I felt in no way was directed at any individual. It was a humorous jibe at those who post about buying something but not telling us what it is.

Do people actually think that bothers us in reality? Do people think we actually get worked up because such a body won't tell us what they bought?

Jesus lads, Andrew's right...if thats the way that thread is perceived...then this place has changed. Personally I seen it as a bit of humour, and a nice little distraction, while still being on topic, where we could have a bit of craic. Maybe I'm wrong, but if people feel that Pyongy was being victimised because of buying things but not telling us what he bought, then people clearly need to step back, chill out, & remember we're all friends here.

I'd bet my right nut Ciderman will agree, but sure we'll wait & see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

He couldnt handle the fact that Boulder Dash is better then Darius

And so renounced his religion and is practicing to be a buddist:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

I cant imagine getting offended by anything said on a forum, personally i just think thats crazy, im sure the guy is just busy in work or something!

Sparks43 wrote: »
    He couldnt handle the fact that Boulder Dash is better then Darius

And so renounced his religion and is practicing to be a buddist:D

As for reasons why he might have left.....:p

keithgeo wrote: »
    I cant imagine getting offended by anything said on a forum, personally i just think thats crazy, im sure the guy is just busy in work or something!

Hopefully so yeah, it just doesn't add up because he was the master of giving us nicknames!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

EnterNow wrote: »
    As for reasons why he might have left.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Casey120

Pyong is in the middle of moving I think so may be a bit busy .

His house was probably a bit to small
    to hold that Darius Bust Arcade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Well then in all seriousness, I hope he wasn't offended by any of the banther that goes on here & just decided to split. That'd be a shame, he's a fantastic contributor, has huge knowledge of the hobby, & a very nice bloke to boot.

If anyone here crossed the line regards being offensive, I'd be the first to report it. I always feel there's a 'familiarity' here amongst us, we know how to slag each other, how to wind each other up, and all share a love for a collective hobby. If he was offended somehow, it genuinely went over my head

Anyway, if your talking to him, let him at least know that if he's not coming back over something like this then he will be missed like the sound chap he was & we thank him for his contributions :cool:

Oh it wasn't in relation to anything boards related. Just letting you know that he's still alive anyway.

But I know only too well how easy it is to get a bit jaded of boards.ie

Is he moving? Ah well, in that case I'm sure he'll be back. He's gonna need to dismantle is Candy again which was a nightmare for him when he first got it. I think his missus gave him a hand :p

Jaysus its only a bit of craic like, Pyongy is well able to dish it out & he's well able to take it too like the gent he is

The slaggings (or banter as I call) it around here is great, very funny indeed. I just got a different vibe about that thread to the rest of the folks here I guess. I was also thinking how it would read to newcomers or lurkers, I'd hope it wouldn't put anyone off posting on A&R. Anyway, he went awol before it surfaced.

What concerns me more though is your wonky keyboard! My inner OCD demon gets all ruffled with your funky curly brackets. :pac:

The slaggings (or banter as I call) it around here is great, very funny indeed. I just got a different vibe about that thread to the rest of the folks here I guess. I was also thinking how it would read to newcomers or lurkers, I'd hope it wouldn't put anyone off posting on A&R. Anyway, he went awol before it surfaced.

Fair point, I just took it for granted that everyone was on the same page & the 'slaggings' were accepted as jibes/banter. Damn the lurkers sure, the day we have to appease people who don't post is the day I stop posting. Regards newcomers, fair point yeah..maybe it would read differently to someone who wasn't familiar with out 'rapport' etc...but where does one draw the line?
    What concerns me more though is your wonky keyboard! My inner OCD demon gets all ruffled with your funky curly brackets. :pac:

It's either {} or []...you decide. I've no 9 key on my keyboard back home :o:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I wasn't discriminating against Pyongyang. I despise and look down on everyone here equally.

Master of the Universe

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I wasn't discriminating against Pyongyang. I despise and look down on everyone here equally.

You can only look down on people when you start paying taxes like the rest of us :P

o1s1n wrote: »
    You can only look down on people when you start paying taxes like the rest of us :P

That's a low blow. I'm not posting here ever again.

I await the "Where is Retr0gamer {Not the magazine} thread eagerly

o1s1n - do you take Paypal? :D

:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,777 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Just my 2c.

Sorry there Andrew, but have to chime in on this.

People, including those that posted about there massive GETS!, seemed to find it fun.
    It was never meant to target certain people for ridicule, everyone gets the same good natured ribbing here was far as I can see.

So what is it was a thread for those people and their GETS.
    It may have begun with a slagging but I thought it was a little out of place to have people posting about incoming secret awesomeness on a thread dedicated to those who are posting about stuff they have either just bought or have had delivered/picked up.

There was no sort of personalisation of serious, nasty abuse intended or, for that matter, actually happened there.

And, as much as any thread here is "pointless" in the greater scheme of things, it was set up for the reasons detailed above.

I opened the thread.
    If Pyongyang feels it's unfair I'll take it down, no problem.

That said, it's not a sticky, if left alone it'll be gone off of the radar within days anyway.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,777 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Sorry, I've had a very, very long day and am relying on Dredd to chill me out later on.

I will close the "So, what is it?" thread if it is proving to be contentious or unpleasant, rather that than alienate any one.

I may also say "wibble, wibble, I am a fish" for no apparent nor related reason.... please bear with me til this episode passes.....