Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare vs Kilkenny AI Under 21 Final, Thurles Sat Sept 15th 7.00pm

• 13-09-2012 8:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭

Dont see a thread on this game yet so will kick this one off.
    Both going into the game with a clean bill of health it seems.
    Serious competition for starting places on the Clare side, arguably the best U21 squad to come out of the county.
    Kilkenny are fully rested as well, with Brian Cody not calling on the services of Richie doyle or captain Cillian Bucklet in last Sunday's senior decider.
    Either way this promises to be a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 corkrback

kilkenny will walk this. clare are totally overrated and the bottom line is that they blew two games they should have won at minor in 10 and 11
    if cork got to the munster final instead of tipp they would have lost that too.

they dont have the bottle to close out an all ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

What happened our minors the last 3 years is certainly cause for concern. Games and AIs we should have won but couldnt see the games out.
    However to say this Clare U21 team is overrated is way off the mark.
    Heard from a very relaible source that the GY U21 team didnt train collectively at all - all the focus was on the senior side. The KK win against Galway wasnt as big as a shock to some of them as might have first appeared.
    We're in for some game of hurling and to say KK will walk it is somewhat of a lazy analysis.
    These are the best 2 teams at this grade and are here on merit.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Certainly we have left an All Ireland minor title or two behind us over the past few years, and in that context it is probably fair to say there are some question marks over the team going into the final. Particularly as they under performed in this years Munster Final too when going in as huge favorites.

However they did show great character to come back and win the game in the last few minutes despite playing very poorly, which will surely stand to them. And in all honesty it is probably not a bad thing that it has deflated the frankly ridiculous levels of expectation that these young lads have been burdened with since before the season had even begun.

I am sure they will be determined to put the record straight and finally land that elusive All Ireland medal and I expect performance from them on Sunday, they will need to be at there very best if they are to overcome this Kilkenny side.

Should be a cracker, gutted that I will be missing it but I'll be stuck in an airplane come throw in time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭carryharry

corkrback wrote: »
    kilkenny will walk this. clare are totally overrated and the bottom line is that they blew two games they should have won at minor in 10 and 11

The fact that Cork did not make the Munster final negates your point im afraid.

Clare have a very good chance imo, their pace and movement will cause KK serious problems.

marco_polo wrote: »
    Certainly we have left an All Ireland minor title or two behind us over the past few years, and in that context it is probably fair to say there are some question marks over the team going into the final. Particularly as they under performed in this years Munster Final too when going in as huge favorites.

However they did show great character to come back and win the game in the last few minutes despite playing very poorly, which will surely stand to them. And in all honesty it is probably not a bad thing that it has deflated the frankly ridiculous levels of expectation that these young lads have been burdened with since before the season had even begun.

I am sure they will be determined to put the record straight and finally land that elusive All Ireland medal and I expect performance from them on Sunday, they will need to be at there very best if they are to overcome this Kilkenny side.

Should be a cracker, gutted that I will be missing it but I'll be stuck in an airplane come throw in time :(

I hope you're going somewhere nice cos if my Mrs had me on a plane when something like this was going on, she'd be threatened with the P45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

So far off the mark its not even funny, Clare are by no means over rated, quite the opposite IMO, as for you refernce to Cork lol, if my aunt had balls etc etc

I think funnily enough Thurles will suit Clare alot more than Cusack Park did for the Munster Final they a team that are full of pace and movement.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

kstand wrote: »
    I hope you're going somewhere nice cos if my Mrs had me on a plane when something like this was going on, she'd be threatened with the P45.

The Basque country so it should be lovely. Unfortunately it is mostly my own fault as I had ample opportunity to validate the travel dates before they were finalized, I just completely overlooked the possibility of the final being on this weekend when we booked a few months ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

With all due respect ......tosh !

Clare had every chance in '10, but a hand injury picked up by the team's leading scorer and the sideline's reluctance to substitute him were a major factor in the result.
    2011 the better team won, Clare could've hung on, and had a free been given for what many would interpret as charging, would have.

marco_polo wrote: »
    The Basque country so it should be lovely. Unfortunately it is mostly my own fault as I had ample opportunity to validate the travel dates before they were finalized, I just completely overlooked the possibility of the final being on this weekend when we booked a few months ago :D

I've been in Bilbao and around there once, nice part of Spain, found the local people very friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭davidhick77

hope the clare full forward line improves from the semi final, conor mcgrath was non existent, he's supposed to be our best forward. we need everyone to have a steady game and hope that mcgrath and kelly are a level or 2 above that. Hopefully that will be enough to give us a 2-5 point win....An Clar Abu:)

A lot of Clare people see McGrath more effective from corner forward and we have a ready made full forward in Niall Arthur who has been very effective himself when he has come in. That could work a trick and cause havoc in the KK full back line. Very balanced Clare team though, strength, speed and above all tonnes of hurling ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭sasol

A lot of Clare people see McGrath more effective from corner forward and we have a ready made full forward in Niall Arthur who has been very effective himself when he has come in. That could work a trick and cause havoc in the KK full back line. Very balanced Clare team though, strength, speed and above all tonnes of hurling ability.

Team named. Same as that , that started semi final

Clare U-21 team:Taaffe,
    Flanagan,McInerney,K Ryan,
    Morey,C.Ryan,O'Connor,
    galvin,Golden,
    Cunningham,Collins,Kelly,
    McInerney ,McGrath,O'Connell

Would have liked to see a big natural ball winner like Duggan starting. I think we are too small and light from 10 to 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Some info for anybody attending the match:

Both stands and town terrace will be open from 4pm. The game is all ticket (unreserved seating) with prices as follows – Stand: €20 adults, €15 student/oap (€5 refund at designated stile - New stand stile 53 and Old stand stile 1); Terrace: €15 adults, €10 student/oap (€5 refund at designated stile 37); juvenile: free to stand and terrace - New stand stile 47, Old stand stile 3, Terrace stile 36. Supporters are advised to come in time to purchase tickets if they have not done so in advance – tickets will need to be purchased before going to the entry stiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 micklee180

They did 2 years ago , it will be tough but I think Clare will win this one !

The KK team is unchanged from the semi-final win against Galway:

1. Dylan Walsh (Thomastown)
    2. Jason Corcoran (John Lockes)
    3. Willie Phelan (Dunnamaggin)
    4. Brian Kennedy (St. Lachtain’s)
    5. Luke Harney (Kilmacow)
    6. Richie Doyle (Barrow Rangers)
    7. Joe Lyng Rower (Inistioge)
    8. Geoff Brennan St. (Patricks)
    9. Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
    10. Kevin Kelly (Capt., St. Patricks)
    11. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
    12. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
    13. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
    14. John Power (Carrickshock)
    15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)

SUBS:
    16. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks); 17. Owen McGrath (John Lockes); 18. Cathal Kenny (Barrow Rangers); 19. Ian Duggan (Mullinavat); 20. Martin Gaffney (Dicksboro); 21. Paul Buggy (Tullaroan); 22. James Cassin (Rower Inistioge); 23. Michael Brennan (St. Patricks); 24. James Gannon (St. Patricks); 25. Pat O’Carroll (Lisdowney); 26. Conor Martin (Emeralds).

EXTENDED PANEL MEMBERS:
    27. Sean Phelan (Lisdowney); 28. Stephen Staunton (St. Patricks); 29. Conor Tobin (Fenians); 30. Johnny Hayes (Kilmacow); 31. David Glynn (Dicksboro); 32. Paddy Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels); 33. Danny Kenny (Dicksboro); 34. Canice Maher (St. Martins); 35. Sean Kehoe (Young Irelands); 36. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge).

TEAM MANAGEMENT:
    Richie Mulrooney, Adrian Finan & Brían Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 corkrback

tatoo wrote: »
    With all due respect ......tosh !

Clare had every chance in '10, but a hand injury picked up by the team's leading scorer and the sideline's reluctance to substitute him were a major factor in the result.
    2011 the better team won, Clare could've hung on, and had a free been given for what many would interpret as charging, would have.

blah blah blah.

look clare had two goes at it and couldnt seal the deal. only for tipp being dire in the munster 21 final they would have lost that as well.

clare players rarely have the nerve when it comes to the crunch

blah blah blah.

look clare had two goes at it and couldnt seal the deal. only for tipp being dire in the munster 21 final they would have lost that as well.

clare players rarely have the nerve when it comes to the crunch

To be fair crb, Clare hit nearly 20 wides in the first half of the Munster final and should have being out of sight.

Who were you on AFR?

carryharry wrote: »
    To be fair crb, Clare hit nearly 20 wides in the first half of the Munster final and should have being out of sight.

Who were you on AFR?

I reckon teednab-el has set up another account!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

The KK team is unchanged from the semi-final win against Galway:

1. Dylan Walsh (Thomastown)
    2. Jason Corcoran (John Lockes)
    3. Willie Phelan (Dunnamaggin)
    4. Brian Kennedy (St. Lachtain’s)
    5. Luke Harney (Kilmacow)
    6. Richie Doyle (Barrow Rangers)
    7. Joe Lyng Rower (Inistioge)
    8. Geoff Brennan St. (Patricks)
    9. Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
    10. Kevin Kelly (Capt., St. Patricks)
    11. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
    12. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
    13. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
    14. John Power (Carrickshock)
    15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)

SUBS:
    16. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks); 17. Owen McGrath (John Lockes); 18. Cathal Kenny (Barrow Rangers); 19. Ian Duggan (Mullinavat); 20. Martin Gaffney (Dicksboro); 21. Paul Buggy (Tullaroan); 22. James Cassin (Rower Inistioge); 23. Michael Brennan (St. Patricks); 24. James Gannon (St. Patricks); 25. Pat O’Carroll (Lisdowney); 26. Conor Martin (Emeralds).

EXTENDED PANEL MEMBERS:
    27. Sean Phelan (Lisdowney); 28. Stephen Staunton (St. Patricks); 29. Conor Tobin (Fenians); 30. Johnny Hayes (Kilmacow); 31. David Glynn (Dicksboro); 32. Paddy Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels); 33. Danny Kenny (Dicksboro); 34. Canice Maher (St. Martins); 35. Sean Kehoe (Young Irelands); 36. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge).

TEAM MANAGEMENT:
    Richie Mulrooney, Adrian Finan & Brían Ryan.

I'd rate that team as middling only.

Kelly & Walsh are a bit lightweight in the HF line. Buckley is excellent but better out around midfield as a grafter than in the forwards as a scorer.

The FF line is good, particularly W Walsh, Power is a very good hurler when he shakes himself.
    Midfield a little bit feeble for my liking too. Backs fairly solid, Phelan, Kennedy & Doyle very good (although Phelans star is maybe slipping a little).

I think I'd be throwing a few bob on Clare for this one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Walter Walsh looked good v Galway, was he subbed in that game ?

Clare team the same as the last day which was expected. Plenty of ammo on the bench though. Davy O'Halloran, Niall Arthur, Peter Duggan and Stephen O'Halloran to name just 4. Talks that Tony Kelly will start midfield with Colm Galvin where I feel he can be mroe effective, with Shane Golden who has had a very solid campaign going wing forward.
    But sides know each other fairly well from the minor of 2 years ago and subsequent challenge matches. Will make for a tight game.
    In my lifetime, Clare have contested 3 Minor AI Finals, 3 Senior AI Finals, 3 Junior/intermediate AI Finals and this is the second AI U21 Final. So this is a big day for us and a big pointer for the future which a lot of us feel is very bright. In spite of what the Cork poster says above, we have one of the best pools of talent in Munster coming through thanks to years of dedicated work and this is the result of that. Dont tell me down in Cork that ye wouldnt like to have the pool of talent we have now under the age of 23. Ye have some fine hurlers but from what I can see, not even near the same strength in depth and you are deluding yourself if you think ye have.

Clare team the same as the last day which was expected. Plenty of ammo on the bench though. Davy O'Halloran, Niall Arthur, Peter Duggan and Stephen O'Halloran to name just 4. Talks that Tony Kelly will start midfield with Colm Galvin where I feel he can be mroe effective, with Shane Golden who has had a very solid campaign going wing forward.
    But sides know each other fairly well from the minor of 2 years ago and subsequent challenge matches. Will make for a tight game.
    In my lifetime, Clare have contested 3 Minor AI Finals, 3 Senior AI Finals, 3 Junior/intermediate AI Finals and this is the second AI U21 Final. So this is a big day for us and a big pointer for the future which a lot of us feel is very bright. In spite of what the Cork poster says above, we have one of the best pools of talent in Munster coming through thanks to years of dedicated work and this is the result of that. Dont tell me down in Cork that ye wouldnt like to have the pool of talent we have now under the age of 23. Ye have some fine hurlers but from what I can see, not even near the same strength in depth and you are deluding yourself if you think ye have.

Hopefully the afternoon and evening brighten up for this, fair share of rain fell around Thurles last night.

No doubt Philly Butler will have Tom Semples field in top order for the matches later.

Be down early for those tickets kstand & best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Hopefully the afternoon and evening brighten up for this, fair share of rain fell around Thurles last night.

No doubt Philly Butler will have Tom Semples field in top order for the matches later.

Be down early for those tickets kstand & best of luck.[/Quote]

Heading to Old Stand myself tonight but haven't ticket yet? Where will I be able to buy? Is it right behind old stand that booth will be located?

phkk wrote: »

Heading to Old Stand myself tonight but haven't ticket yet? Where will I be able to buy? Is it right behind old stand that booth will be located?[/QUOTE]

Behind the town end terrace lad, the outside field if you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

carryharry wrote: »
    phkk wrote: »

Heading to Old Stand myself tonight but haven't ticket yet? Where will I be able to buy? Is it right behind old stand that booth will be located?

Behind the town end terrace lad, the outside field if you know it.[/Quote]
    Sound thanks

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Change of plans for me, I'll now be watching the match on TV this will be the first All Ireland Clare have been in that I've missed I think.

It'll be a very close game, I think Clare will have enough to get past the Cats, the Clare minor team know that they left an All Ireland behind them and hopefully will be smarter to deal with anything KK throw at them, hopefully 2 points to Clare.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,010 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Really looking forward to putting the feet up and watching this match tonight. A chinese, bottle of wine and a good game of hurling -happy days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Great B Under 21 Final today. Great win for Roscommon 3.17 to 3.16.

Some great scores from play, well taken goals. Obviously players got a bit more time on the ball than they would have at a higher level but good to watch. Some great skill on show. Well done.

Man of March Niall Kilroy also on Under 21 All Ireland Football runners up as was Naos Connaughton who got last goal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Wow, what a first 7 and a half minutes, Clare up 1-5 to 2 points, KK came out the blocks and scored a good point after 10 seconds, Clare seem to be on top now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

Long may it continue.who were favourites before the match started?

I think Clare were slight favourites, 4/5 against 5/4 or something like that I think

That's how you take a penalty, all square with 3 minutes to go before half time, Clare should be well ahead by KK aren't as successful as they are for no reason.

How could it be a yellow card to a KK player and a throw in then? That had to have been a Clare free surely, ref is losing control of the game a small bit now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

There was no way that penalty should have been awarded. No foul and the KK player was charging.

megadodge wrote: »
    There was no way that penalty should have been awarded. No foul and the KK player was charging.

The full back's both arms were around Power. He was hanging out of Power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Great game so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 shanboghted

well lads who has done the kilkenny scoring cant get the game abroad here?

Hopefully KK can continue the way they finished the 1st half off.

Cracking game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

The full back's both arms were around Power. He was hanging out of Power.

No he wasn't.

That looked like a clear cut penalty to me there, arms around the forward as well as holding onto his wrist

well lads who has done the kilkenny scoring cant get the game abroad here?

KK 2-7 to Claire 1-7 at half time.
    Goals from Power and Alyward. 3 points from Kelly, 2 from Walter Walsh. Can't remember the rest.

Almost the point on the year for Clare there, looked like the KK goalie took the Clare forward out of it to me for the follow up.

1-9 to 2-7 now btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 shanboghted

nice one keep the updates coming

How was that not a penalty for Clare? Goalie fouled the forward

1-11 to 2-7 after 37.5 minutes now

1-12 to 2-8 after 43 now, same as teh first half really, Clare look like they are on top but KK are very dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Luckily for the ref Clare got a goal there..

This ref is a disgrace, clear Clare penalty after a Clare forward picked teh ball straight off the ground (both ignored)

Clare goal and a point, get in there, CMON the banner

2-13 to 2-8 now after 44.40

they deserve that after the obvious fouling on the last attack