Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards busy

• 12-09-2012 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭

Stopped twice in under a week, don’t know the last time I was stopped/seen a check point.

The first one was on the way up towards Texaco/ESB/Dolly Heffernan’s
    The second one was tonight, had a big one set up on the N3 just after the Mulhuddart slip road. The best bit was people seeing it and taking the slip road and then bang there’s another one waiting for them.

The first one i seen a recovery truck coming and taking a car away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

They were on the Ongar Road earlier. Had a car pulled over and a gang of lads standing at the side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Great to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

Garda Traffic Corp were pulling people driving in the bus lane on the Snugborough Road at 5pm today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

It's about time in fairness. The amount of scumbags "cruising in their cars" around the place is unreal. The more they catch, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

saw them checking for speed on the N3 at blanch yesterday morning. Crazy spot to be at it, cars were braking, even when people are going within the limit they still brake hard for some reason. This meant that there was nearly a pile up further back.

Dept of finance musta been on the phone to the garda chief looking to get some cash in....

It's about time in fairness. The amount of scumbags "cruising in their cars" around the place is unreal. The more they catch, the better.

And what exactly is illegal about driving around in their cars??

Genius comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

M three wrote: »
    saw them checking for speed on the N3 at blanch yesterday morning. Crazy spot to be at it, cars were braking, even when people are going within the limit they still brake hard for some reason. This meant that there was nearly a pile up further back.

Dept of finance musta been on the phone to the garda chief looking to get some cash in....

If people in this country could maintain a safe distance there wouldn't be 'nearly a pile up further back'.

And what exactly is illegal about driving around in their cars??

Genius comment.

Nothing. As long as your not speeding, shouting at people out the window or beeping the horn constantly. Obviously I've no issue with people driving normally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭jeffk

I am between drumming up money and great to see .

By in large people with nothing to hide will be happy to see them . Makes people less likely to chance not paying insurance etc

Rascasse wrote: »
    If people in this country could maintain a safe distance there wouldn't be 'nearly a pile up further back'.

Not so, in reality if a car brakes on a busy dual carriageway, the severity of braking increases with each car you go back.
    So by the time you go twenty cars back people are braking very hard and pile ups can easily happen.

Anyway we're talking about a dual carriageway with a 100mph speed limit with thousands of cars passing in a very short space of time.
    I'm on that stretch of road several times a week, at different times of the day, for the last 4 years, and have NEVER seen an accident let alone a fatality.

So wtf are the guards doing there when they keep telling us they only do speed checks on roads where fatalities happen?

They're just collecting money to meet their targets, any guard will admit this

Nothing. As long as your not speeding, shouting at people out the window or beeping the horn constantly. Obviously I've no issue with people driving normally.

Would you not be better off reporting this if as you say people are driving around shouting at people out the window or beeping the horn constantly?

Because the guards on a revenue generating exercise on a random road will not solve your problem I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭chucknorris

I live in the area, as in the Snugboro road locality 32 years and the above is the biggest load of rubbish I've ever read. :D

Maybe the drivers were bi-polar, or had Tourette's syndrome! :D

The guards are collecting from non tax paying drivers, nothing more and nothing less. It's a revenue exercise.

PS: i CRUISE AROUND IN MY CAR ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

Not so, in reality if a car brakes on a busy dual carriageway, the severity of braking increases with each car you go back.
    So by the time you go twenty cars back people are braking very hard and pile ups can easily happen.

Anyway we're talking about a dual carriageway with a 100mph speed limit with thousands of cars passing in a very short space of time.
    I'm on that stretch of road several times a week, at different times of the day, for the last 4 years, and have NEVER seen an accident let alone a fatality.

So wtf are the guards doing there when they keep telling us they only do speed checks on roads where fatalities happen?

They're just collecting money to meet their targets, any guard will admit this

No excuse for speeding so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭furmi

Same thing at Swords this morning. These people slowing down for no reason are more dangerous than the speeding cars. I think its gone to the stage that when drivers see a Speed van/ Garda car now they instantly brake and slow down even when they are within the limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You get waves of this every now and again, last time I saw one was around Ballycoolin. I don't accept the it's a revenue generation exercise nonsense.

There's a riduculous amount of people driving around in uninsured and unroadworthy cars (not having motor tax will not directly affect me if an untaxed car crashes into me, but occasionly untaxed and uninsured go had in hand) that simply shouldn't be allowed to remain on the roads. And then you have the morons who simply don't know how to drive. If such people start to think that they won't risk going out in the car all the better for everyone else out on the roads that are there legally.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You get waves of this every now and again, last time I saw one was around Ballycoolin. I don't accept the it's a revenue generation exercise nonsense.

There's a riduculous amount of people driving around in uninsured and unroadworthy cars (not having motor tax will not directly affect me if an untaxed car crashes into me, but occasionly untaxed and uninsured go had in hand) that simply shouldn't be allowed to remain on the roads. And then you have the morons who simply don't know how to drive. If such people start to think that they won't risk going out in the car all the better for everyone else out on the roads that are there legally.

No you're wrong. The guards are simply shooting fish in a barrel for MONEY!

Everything else can be tracked by a computer connected camera in most Garda cars in real-time by scanning the reg. if there is no insurance, it can detect that while driving.

It's about TAX collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭jeffk

So they shouldn't check for people who don't pay tax and let them continue driving tax free while others pay it?

I live in the area, as in the Snugboro road locality 32 years and the above is the biggest load of rubbish I've ever read. :D

Maybe the drivers were bi-polar, or had Tourette's syndrome! :D

The guards are collecting from non tax paying drivers, nothing more and nothing less. It's a revenue exercise.

PS: i CRUISE AROUND IN MY CAR ;)

Let me guess, Impreza?

jeffk wrote: »
    So they shouldn't check for people who don't pay tax and let them continue driving tax free while others pay it?

LET THE REVENUE DEAL WITH THAT ;)

Let me guess, Impreza?

M3

Dub XV wrote: »
    No excuse for speeding so:D

You've missed the point.

What I'm saying is that in certain cases (guards checking for speed on a safe stretch of busy dual carriageway is more likely to cause an accident due to people braking when they see the guards.

Stupid on the guards part but they're only there to collect money so goes to show they're line about safety is rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭StrawDub

They were on the porterstown road yesterday, had a good few cars ready for towing by the looks of things

Several guards have admitted to me that they have targets to reach for fines.
    So it is a revenue generating exercise I'm afraid

No you're wrong. The guards are simply shooting fish in a barrel for MONEY!

Everything else can be tracked by a computer connected camera in most Garda cars in real-time by scanning the reg. if there is no insurance, it can detect that while driving.

It's about TAX collection.

A check point is much more effective than a camera in a car, this thread is proof of that. Plus the cameras don't have facial recognition software to tell the gardai the person driving is unlicenced or banned etc.

Anyway, I thought you'd be delighted to see more of these, how else are we going to afford our new hospital you're advocatiing on the other thread.

This.

I don't see what's wrong with them drumming up money. They are targeting people who are breaking the law. This seems fair to me. The country is in a recession and if we need extra money, I don't see what's so terrible about getting it from the people who are breaking the law. If you are law abiding then you have nothing to worry about. simples.

A check point is much more effective than a camera in a car, this thread is proof of that. Plus the cameras don't have facial recognition software to tell the gardai the person driving is unlicenced or banned etc.

Very misleading. Dont delude yourself into thinking any money raised by fining motorists will go straight towards building a new hospital. More chance it goes towards buying some german bankers daughter a new toy.

Have you forgotten about all the tens of billions our former and current government borrowed just to give to unsecured bondholders?

Wake up ffs

Very misleading. Dont delude yourself into thinking any money raised by fining motorists will go straight towards building a new hospital. More chance it goes towards buying some german bankers daughter a new toy.

Have you forgotten about all the tens of billions our former and current government borrowed just to give to unsecured bondholders?

Wake up ffs

THIS

PS: Yes some parents will drive their kids to school and will be a week or two out on their car tax as well as people who don't intend to pay car tax at all, but anyway, according to the above contributors, they deserve everything they get. Nice little country. :D

THIS

PS: Yes some parents will drive their kids to school and will be a week or two out on their car tax as well as people who don't intend to pay car tax at all, but anyway, according to the above contributors, they deserve everything they get. Nice little country. :D

Too right. And why should it be any different?

Because the difference between inability to pay and a total lack of willingness to pay are two factors that warrant a different level of sanction.

If you can't afford to drive then just don't. It would be hard to differentiate between the liars and the people who genuinely don't have enough money.

Very misleading. Dont delude yourself into waffe waffle
    Wake up ffs

Lighten up, it was a cheeky comment based on Chucks comments in the other thread, it's hardly a serious thesis on the state of our economy at the moment.

PS: Yes some parents will drive their kids to school and will be a week or two out on their car tax as well as people who don't intend to pay car tax at all, but anyway, according to the above contributors, they deserve everything they get. Nice little country.

You see, this is the type of things you say when you've been hanging around policitians too long, won't somebody think of the childers !

Nobody gets fined or has their cars removed for only being a week or two out of date with their motor tax.

Lighten up, it was a cheeky comment based on Chucks comments in the other thread, it's hardly a serious thesis on the state of our economy at the moment.

You see, this is the type of things you say when you've been hanging around policitians too long, won't somebody think of the childers !

Nobody gets fined or has their cars removed for only being a week or two out of date with their motor tax.

The law is the law, is the law.

Gardi don't have common sense, they have a total lack of it.

The problem is, when the Guards need to make their targets, it doesn't matter who you are. This is the crux of the bitterness that most likely lead to the start of this thread.

The Gardi in my humble opinion should concentrate on more SERIOUS breaches of the law and let the revenue for example deal with car tax.

Why don't the Gardi knock on the doors looking for the license fee? Ponder that :) It's too hard to SHOOT FISH IN A BARREL, that's why!

I think you'll find the 'bitterness' in this thread didn't start until your posts, everyone were pro-checkpoint up until then.

And you're mis-using your similes here. There was no shooting a fish in a barrel, it was a check point, not a speed trap on the M50. You keep harping on about road tax and revenue. Check points like this catch unlicensed and uninsured drivers, as well as the untaxed. Are you saying sure it's grand, don't worry about high profile check points that would make people think twice about driving uninsured and unlicensed ? You'd be the first to complain if you got hit by an insured driver while out cruising and crying about not enough being done about it.

If you can't afford to drive then just don't.

Great that you can be so high and mighty about it but you obviously dont get that there are people who cant afford to pay car tax but who have to drive somewhere, perhaps a hospital.

What do you suggest they do? Wait for a magic non existent bus to whisk them away?

What annoys people even more is that it wouldnt be so bad if lawbreaking was clamped down on fairly but it isnt, far from it.

No we'll set up a checkpoint on a dual carriageway and do someone who probably cant afford to pay car tax and meet our targets. Great system eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Great that you can be so high and mighty about it but you obviously dont get that there are people who cant afford to pay car tax but who have to drive somewhere, perhaps a hospital.

What do you suggest they do? Wait for a magic non existent bus to whisk them away?

What annoys people even more is that it wouldnt be so bad if lawbreaking was clamped down on fairly but it isnt, far from it.

No we'll set up a checkpoint on a dual carriageway and do someone who probably cant afford to pay car tax and meet our targets. Great system eh?

Nice one.

Let's have NO checkpoints on motorways, so drivers can use them 24/7
    with no tax, insurance etc. etc.

That'll sort it.

They could get an ambulance maybe? Also, if you can afford insurance, you can afford tax. I can't afford to drive and that's why I don't. Why should it be acceptable for people to drive if it's out of their means?

mattser wrote: »
    Nice one.

Let's have NO checkpoints on motorways, so drivers can use them 24/7
    with no tax, insurance etc. etc.

That'll sort it.

No need to be flippant.
    Why not equip some garda cars with the kind of tech english cops have.
    They park on an overpass, every reg is scanned, and you get a fine in the post.

Isnt that a better system than having 2/3 guards creating a safety hazard by pulling people over on a dual carriageway?

Plus that way maybe guards have more time to catch drug dealers perhaps? Wouldnt you agree?

They could get an ambulance maybe? Also, if you can afford insurance, you can afford tax.

What? You're getting into "let them have cake" territory there.

What if they cant wait for an ambulance? Or there isnt one available?
    You know, real world stuff like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

No need to be flippant.

Isnt that a better system than having 2/3 guards creating a safety hazard by pulling people over on a dual carriageway?

Plus that way maybe guards have more time to catch drug dealers perhaps? Wouldn't you agree?

Your point about the flyover is well made. However, it creates evidential problems in court as regards I.D. of drivers. The face to face on the road negatives that.

As regards the drug dealer bit, if you really want to piss off a police person, that is all you have to say to them. Most likely because in these isles, they can be working both these parts of the job on back to back days.

The Traffic Corps are not the only ones doing checkpoints.

What? You're getting into "let them have cake" territory there.

What if they cant wait for an ambulance? Or there isnt one available?
    You know, real world stuff like that.

Well then they can drive all they want. But if they run into a check point they shouldn't expect any special treatment because of whatever sob story they might have!

mattser wrote: »
    Your point about the flyover is well made. However, it creates evidential problems in court as regards I.D. of drivers. The face to face on the road negatives that.

As regards the drug dealer bit, if you really want to piss off a police person, that is all you have to say to them. Most likely because in these isles, they can be working both these parts of the job on back to back days.

The Traffic Corps are not the only ones doing checkpoints.

How do you think the new speed vans work? People dont need to get pulled over, onto the narrow hard shoulder of a busy dual carriageway for example.

It pisses them off because they know it too. Do you think the want to be in an office shuffling paper generated by traffic stops or actually out doing some useful police work? If they do then we have a bigger problem with the guards altogether.

Traffic cops do the majority of checkpoints and are the only ones with a set out target to reach regards fines.

Well then they can drive all they want. But if they run into a check point they shouldn't expect any special treatment because of whatever sob story they might have!

You've no heart!

But seriously the majority wouldnt have an issue with the law being applied when it comes to things like not being able to afford car tax etc, if the law was applied equally in this country across all sections.
    But its not.
    And I've already outlined a simpler, safer, and less time consuming way for the guards to "catch" people guilty of road traffic offenses.
    But that would be a good idea wouldnt it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Funny how on half the threads here posters moan about how the gardai are never around, but when they are around checking for untaxed, uninsured drivers people get annoyed about it. There has a been a huge jump in checkpoints lately -I've come across 3 myself in the past week or two, and I rarely drive! But I am glad to see it, as it drives me nuts to see the number of people not paying their share. It's ridiculous to think of it as a money generating exercise, it's enforcing the law on cheats and tax dodgers, the feckers who'll wipe out your car and leave you injured, and then screwed because they're uninsured.

I'd love to see a lot more of this thanks

You've no heart!

But seriously the majority wouldnt have an issue with the law being applied when it comes to things like not being able to afford car tax etc, if the law was applied equally in this country across all sections.
    But its not.
    And I've already outlined a simpler, safer, and less time consuming way for the guards to "catch" people guilty of road traffic offenses.
    But that would be a good idea wouldnt it!

Of course I've no heart, look at me username :P

And yes, I agree there could be safer ways of checking people alright. I just think there's no excuse for having no tax. Especially since there are literally thousands of people who have to scrape together money in order to get tax so they can be law abiding people.

No need to be flippant.
    Why not equip some garda cars with the kind of tech english cops

They do. But how can that tell if the person driving is licensed, insured, drunk or banned from driving? All it can tell them is if that particular car is taxed or insured.

Garda get a lot of intelligence doing this too as they'll see who is in what area and what cars they drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

No need to be flippant.

Plus that way maybe guards have more time to catch drug dealers perhaps? Wouldnt you agree?

The traffic corps do have reg scanning technology. However, although this technology can check if the car is taxed, insured etc, it cannot detect whether the driver is insured, or even has a licence, or if the car is stolen! That's why checkpoints are necessary.
    If the Gardaí did what you suggested, anyone could drive around uninsured and even unlicensed in a friend's or family member's car. Just so long as someone is insured on it, they would go undetected by Gardaí.

They do. But how can that tell if the person driving is licensed, insured, drunk or banned from driving? All it can tell them is if that particular car is taxed or insured.

Garda get a lot of intelligence doing this too as they'll see who is in what area and what cars they drive.

This is the guards we're talking about, not the CIA :D

The last time I was stopped at a random checkpoint all the guard wanted to know was where I got the car and how much i'd sell it for.

Intelligence gathering my arse! Guards get most of that from taxi drivers or the local no good idiot who's looking to get off with some offense

Rothmans wrote: »
    The traffic corps do have reg scanning technology. However, although this technology can check if the car is taxed, insured etc, it cannot detect whether the driver is insured, or even has a licence, or if the car is stolen! That's why checkpoints are necessary.
    If the Gardaí did what you suggested, anyone could drive around uninsured and even unlicensed in a friend's or family member's car. Just so long as someone is insured on it, they would go undetected by Gardaí.

Seeing at almost checkpoints all the guards do is check to see that the tax and insurance disk on the windscreen are up to date your concept isnt really relevant.
    In most instances anybody else could be driving the car, they wouldnt know. they're just out to dish out a few handy fines, and keep the till ticking over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

If they had targets to meet, they could easily meet it in one swoop by walking around my estate for half an hour or so. Loads of cars with tax 3, 4, 6 months out of date.