Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai Seizing Cars and Driving Them Onto a Twin Level Transporter ON THE SPOT!

• 09-09-2012 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭

As far as I could make out , round about 5pm this (Sunday) evening , the guards were accompanied on their tax/NCT/insurance disc check point by a twin level (non articulated)car transporter and driving offending cars right up onto the top level ON THE SPOT!At least three had been 'caught' .This was on Chapelizod Hill near Fas ,Ballyfermot.Never saw this before (although Ive seen the odd mega checkpoint with literally dozens ,or certainly 20 officers and multiple Garda veh-ick-els heading citybound towards Heuston station.Id say that would come as some shock just as ya were about to deliver your most convincing ole "it's in the post Garda" !!!I wonder do they order ya a taxi home or offer ya a lift.I guess a pregnant lady would get away with a warning while a poor young fella would be told to drive it up the ramp himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

good for them, long overdue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Damn! That's cold!!!

Must've been expecting plenty of untaxed/unlicensed vehicles to line up that bad boy...

Anyone unlucky enough to be caught - Serves them right!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

2011abc wrote: »
    As far as I could make out , round about 5pm this (Sunday) evening , the guards were accompanied on their tax/NCT/insurance disc check point by a twin level (non articulated)car transporter and driving offending cars right up onto the top level ON THE SPOT!At least three had been 'caught' .This was on Chapelizod Hill near Fas ,Ballyfermot.Never saw this before (although Ive seen the odd mega checkpoint with literally dozens ,or certainly 20 officers and multiple Garda veh-ick-els heading citybound towards Heuston station.Id say that would come as some shock just as ya were about to deliver your most convincing ole "it's in the post Garda" !!!I wonder do they order ya a taxi home or offer ya a lift.I guess a pregnant lady would get away with a warning while a poor young fella would be told to drive it up the ramp himself!

Dip your wick they you gotta pay for the oil ! Now I wonder which one of the two drivers you are !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The customs do it so it wouldn't surprise me if the gards are at it too. Its kinda counter productive because locations are posted all over facebook when people see a low loader at a checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

shawnee wrote: »
    Dip your wick they you gotta pay for the oil ! Now I wonder which one of the two drivers you are !

I was driving in the opposite direction in my taxed and insured car which does not require an NCT -and I can assure you my wick was dry at the time !

corktina wrote: »
    good for them, long overdue

You seem to be under the illusion that more people paying car tax mean better roads...
    On the point of insurance I'm with you, and NCT to an extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

You seem to be under the illusion that more people paying car tax mean better roads...

you must be a mind reader to extract that out of the phrase "good for them, long overdue"..

i assume it is closer to meaning everyone should pay their share so tax dodger getting caught is long overdue..

if a person that cannot afford to pay tax/insurance or have NCT, chances are they shouldn't be on the road.. particularly with no insurance..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Whats the connection between motor tax and roads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I've seen this happen in the carpark at work, but that was Revenue rather than the Gardai. Never seen it happen at the side of the road.

Good on them and I hope to see/hear more of it.

They're both a pile of shite in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

None , but isn't that her/his point ?

jhegarty wrote: »
    None , but isn't that her/his point ?

I'm going to go out on a limb and say he was using the "road tax never gets spent on roads" angle.

Now, pretty much zero. Some still call it road tax but it hasn't helped improve roads for us for a long time.

I'm going to go out on a limb and say he was using the "road tax never gets spent on roads" angle.

Err, yes... that is the point. It makes no difference whether or not another road user pays their tax because it doesn't affect me.
    Some people think that if we all pay road tax we would have better roads, this simply isnt true.

Err, yes... that is the point.

Which is why the point is wrong. It's called motor tax and is not ringfenced for roads. Hence , it's not "road tax". So there can be no confusion. But people seem determind to confuse the issue. It goes in to general council coffers and pays for anything and everything they pay for. So it's as much a "road tax" as any other tax a local authority collects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Err, yes... that is the point. It makes no difference whether or not another road user pays their tax because it doesn't affect me.
    Some people think that if we all pay road tax we would have better roads, this simply isnt true.
    Well there would be slightly more money in the government pot, so more money available to be split between all the different services. Even though currently it would probably really mean that less money has to be borrowed.

Which is why the point is wrong. It's called motor tax and is not ringfenced for roads. Hence , it's not "road tax". So there can be no confusion. But people seem determind to confuse the issue. It goes in to general council coffers and pays for anything and everything they pay for. So it's as much a "road tax" as any other tax a local authority collects.

That's what I'm saying. Therefore I don't care whether or not anyone pays it more than I care whether they pay the Household Charge.

So your just picking a tax, deciding what you want it spent on an becaus eits not all for that people should pick and choose to pay it or not?

I want all income tax to be spent on social welfare and I should be given €1500 a week in dole so please.

Now if it was called road tax and the government said it was all for roads and then just spent it on somethign else you might have something of a case.

So your just picking a tax, deciding what you want it spent on an becaus eits not all for that people should pick and choose to pay it or not?

I want all income tax to be spent on social welfare and I should be given €1500 a week in dole so please.

Some of the tax paid as "motor tax" does go to what I would deem good causes but some of it is wasted in my opinion. Whether or not a neighbour pays his is no business of mine and I disagree with the attitude of "Haha just right that your car was lifted" Personally I pay mine.

Do you disagree with people being done for other types of tax evasion or people being glad they are.

Taxes fund public services and go a small way to making society more fair and closing the gap between the rich and the poor. They are not 100% perfect and how they are used isn't 100% how I would like it. If someone dodges taxes that they are able to pay it is pure greed and is shameful. If a neighbour is 2 weeks late on nearly a grand tax on a 10 year old banger that is a different matter.

At this stage we're getting into government policy so I will leave it at: I won't gloat at others expense in a case like getting a car seized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

cant afford pay penalties, cheaper is pay all relevant duties, than sh1tting every time, when see Garda on road .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

This is nothing new, I came into a checkpoint a few years back, had no tax(I am a bad man, I know), as did not a fair few others. Transporter arrived and Guards started loading cars up. Mine was last in the queue and would not fit on. I got a bollocking and was told to "get it taxed", then let on my way. I got it taxed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Nice one, fully on the side of Police on this one. Having said that. I spent two years without an NCT despite desperately trying to get it done.

One of the problems with this country is the nod and wink attitude. It helps far too many people get away with stuff. If we were a bit more British about it (ie anal, boring). This might be a better country.

Right now I'm all legal and smug. Love it on the moral high ground.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

bluecode wrote: »
    Nice one, fully on the side of Police on this one. Having said that. I spent two years without an NCT despite desperately trying to get it done.

One of the problems with this country is the nod and wink attitude. It helps far too many people get away with stuff. If we were a bit more British about it (ie anal, boring). This might be a better country.

Right now I'm all legal and smug. Love it on the moral high ground.:D

How on earth could you not get an NCT for 2 years :eek: The delays were never longer than a few months and you could have went to any of the NCT centres nationwide. If you were really trying you could have got a booking easily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Can the guards lift a car for having an out of date nct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Can the guards lift a car for having an out of date nct?
    No.

Summons to court only on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I'm actually from Ballyfermot myself and the guards have had check points all over the place in the last two weeks. I have went throught i'd say maybe 3 checkpoints this week already..

was a huge checkpoint on the long mile road thursday night and friday night

Then there was one just before you hit palmerstown village on saturday night

and now this one today..

Very strange, never seen as many checkpoints in my life..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

VAT on tyres? ;)

With regard to seizing untaxed cars, the thought occurs that it's not a consistently applied penalty. If you're untaxed and encounter a checkpoint with a Twin Level Transporter then it's Bye Bye, or at least See You Later, to your motor. What happens at an ordinary checkpoint with just two Gardai and a patrol car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Iwannahurl wrote: »

VAT on tyres? ;)

With regard to seizing untaxed cars, the thought occurs that it's not a consistently applied penalty. If you're untaxed and encounter a checkpoint with a Twin Level Transporter then it's Bye Bye, or at least See You Later, to your motor. What happens at an ordinary checkpoint with just two Gardai and a patrol car?

If yr tax is out over three months, no tax , no insurance they'll call a tow truck..and since the truck is owned by a private firm who get paid by job they usually arrive pretty quick.... You don't even have to go through a checkpoint anymore.. If you pass a Garda car which has number plate recognition camera they know straight away if yr way out of tax...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I havent seen any of these checkpoints and I only live 2 minutes away from the FAS building in Ballyfermot. Maybe Ive been lucky! Saying that, I wonder how they would react to stopping me in one of the minis. It has no NCT, but is over 30 years old (but is on this side of 1/1/80). Ive brought it to the NCT a few times and they keep failing me on different things. Last time was that my wipers were too small! They were actually 11" as oppose to the normal 10" standard on them. Previous time to that was that my mirrors were 'too round'? Again, standard mirrors. Previous time to that was that my bonnet didnt lock from the inside. Again, standard!!

Anyway, what were we talking about again?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I've only ever seen this on Sunday's aswell and main reason is Sunday in ballyfermot in JFK ind, estate is cruise night
    All the lads in their modified( sort of ) cars from Dublin meet there and drive sh1t out of their motors and majority have no tax but are too stupid to realise the place is full of cops and get their cars taken from them
    Reason I know is I use to be one of em and realised ain't worth losin me licence for a few 10 second races
    Atb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Low and behold, the country is in ****e and we haven't a pot to piss in. Crime is spiralling out of control and the Gardai insist they are at breaking point, but surprise surprise, they are out in record numbers to collect pocket money for the government. The same goverment that has slashed their pay and taxed their pensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Crime is spiralling out of control
    Is it?
    and the Gardai insist they are at breaking point, but surprise surprise, they are out in record numbers to collect pocket money for the government.
    They're collecting our money. For us. Because that (among other things) is what we pay them for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Markcheese wrote: »
    If yr tax is out over three months, no tax , no insurance they'll call a tow truck..and since the truck is owned by a private firm who get paid by job they usually arrive pretty quick.... You don't even have to go through a checkpoint anymore.. If you pass a Garda car which has number plate recognition camera they know straight away if yr way out of tax...

I hadn't thought of the ANPR angle. Now there's a good use of smart technology...

Low and behold, the country is in ****e and we haven't a pot to piss in. Crime is spiralling out of control and the Gardai insist they are at breaking point, but surprise surprise, they are out in record numbers to collect pocket money for the government. The same goverment that has slashed their pay and taxed their pensions.

There's hyperbole coming from more than one quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭deceit

I'm just curious if I came up to one of these check points in my car that is out of nct for a year (was off the road mostly as couldnt afford to run it while in college), I failed the test last week and have since made the few little repairs it failed on and its booked in for a retest on the 18th?
    Just wanting to know whether I should drive another car until its retested.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭deceit

awec wrote: »
    Garda can use discretion with NCT AFAIK.

You are running a risk.

What did it fail on?

It failed on tyres, they where low about 2.3mm thread on the tyres that failed but they had passed a pre nct test the day before.
    It also failed on a worn bush (failed on a visual inspection of this as the car was comfortably within tolerances from the readouts).
    I wasnt bothered though as I had goodyear tyres ordered and the bush was just an excuse to add my front eibach arb I had in the attic since I bought car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Came across the exact same type of operation in Limerick about 6 / 8 weeks ago, guards & transporters on site

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I was heading in to a Dublin park with the dog when a young fella started doing BMW doughnuts in the pretty full car park! Lots of people around, kids, dogs etc... I saw about four people with phones to their ears as he strutted over to admire his tyre marks! I finished my walk and headed back to the car park to see it being towed by the Gardai. From what I overheard it sounded like he didn't have tax or insurance... Moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

I think everyone is aware of the consequences of not paying motor tax and taking a caluclated chance on it. The way things are with mortgage repayments, rising costs of fuel, redundancies and wage paycuts - paying motor tax (along with things like TV licences) is a luxury a lot of genuine tight up families cant afford.

I dont think posters on here gloating about people having cars towed is necessarily in good taste, sure there are a lot of people taking advantage of the situation and not paying but there are a lot of genuine cases out there too. Maybe have a think about what affect this is having on hard up families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

cpoh1 wrote: »
    I think everyone is aware of the consequences of not paying motor tax and taking a caluclated chance on it. The way things are with mortgage repayments, rising costs of fuel, redundancies and wage paycuts - paying motor tax (along with things like TV licences) is a luxury a lot of genuine tight up families cant afford.

I dont think posters on here gloating about people having cars towed is necessarily in good taste, sure there are a lot of people taking advantage of the situation and not paying but there are a lot of genuine cases out there too. Maybe have a think about what affect this is having on hard up families.

Its the same for everyone. You decide your priorities, pay for what you can afford, and do without what you can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Except it's the car is the luxury, not the tax. It's part of the expense of owning a car, like petrol and servicing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

You could apply the same reasoning to many other forms of theft, but where does one draw the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

While I'm sure there must be people who fail to pay their motor tax because they have mortgage/back to school costs/insert moan here to pay and have genuinely no money left but need a car to get to work I've never met one of these ppl. Virtually anyone I've ever known who doesn't pay their motor tax does so because they'd rather spend the money on something else that they don't really need. At worst they might have to not go on the piss for a month to save money for their motor tax but they're not bothered doing that. At a time when the state needs money desperately, crime rates have fallen markedly in the last few years and this form of tax evasion seems more rampant than ever it seems to be a very appropriate use of Garda resources to seize the cars of those who choose not to chip in when their country needs the money most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Markcheese wrote: »

Ever since the law was changed on 18th July 2006 they can seize the car once your tax is out by more than 2 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

While I'm sure there must be people who fail to pay their motor tax because they have mortgage/back to school costs/insert moan here to pay and have genuinely no money left but need a car to get to work I've never met one of these ppl. Virtually anyone I've ever known who doesn't pay their motor tax does so because they'd rather spend the money on something else that they don't really need. At worst they might have to not go on the piss for a month to save money for their motor tax but they're not bothered doing that. At a time when the state needs money desperately, crime rates have fallen markedly in the last few years and this form of tax evasion seems more rampant than ever it seems to be a very appropriate use of Garda resources to seize the cars of those who choose not to chip in when their country needs the money most.

Consider during this time some people just can barely make it to the end of the month and the car is a must to many of them.

Not justifying anything although I have said this many times, there is no reason why motor tax should be so expensive... same as VRT, etc... IMO is just a way for the goverment to get easy money... motor tax in Ireland it can be as much as 10 times more expensive than other countries in Europe, why is that? why I am paying 3 times more than I would be paying if I was living in UK?

I am paying it anyway but I feel I am just being bullied by the goverment... I simply have no choice

Bohrio wrote: »
    why I am paying 3 times more than I would be paying if I was living in UK?

Why are you paying less than if you were living in Holland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

What next a special social welfare tax disc?