Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car owner generalizations

• 09-09-2012 11:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Was sitting in traffic and looking at the cars around me.

I saw 3 bmw 3 series's all with young blokes aged around 25 - 35....all looked like office workers.
    Two Skoda Octavias, both taxis been driven by middle aged men.
    I realized many cars are always driven by certain drivers.

Has anyone noticed any car owner generalizations. If you saw X car but couldnt see who was driving it what generalization would you make about the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Im an early twenties hooligan wearing a hoodie and a baseball cap sideways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Nissan Micra's old dolls doing 40 km/h with the clutch in.
    Toledo's young lads cruising. Same with non-standard golfs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

I used to drive a diesel almera. Whenever I told someone they'd ask if I was a farmer.

Now drive a volvo, not typical for a mid-20's lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Halfords-modded 90s Japanese car with "bleedin' massive" speakers off eBay, horrible looking seat covers and a beer can exhaust that makes a lot of noise yet reduces performance. Decals that have nothing to do with the car's actual equipment are a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

kaku777 wrote: »
    I saw 3 bmw 3 series's all with young blokes aged around 25 - 35....all looked like office workers.

Ah hell....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

Nissan Micra/Toyota Starlet etc 1996-200 reg =

African woman with L Plates and a dent in every single panel of the bodywork and probably 12 kids in the back seat with no belts :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

17 year olds driving **** box civic type r wannabes.
    The crew that used to drive mk golfs and boras now driving diesel rs4s.....

Chrysler 300c, strip club owner :cool:
    Stereotype ruined this morning as a very respectable pensioner type dude parked up in one next to me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

pah wrote: »

African woman with L Plates and a dent in every single panel of the bodywork and probably 12 kids in the back seat with no belts :rolleyes:

Racist pig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

The Chrysler 300 seems to be driven by a few taxi drivers, usually seedy looking ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Generalizations:

Toyota Auris/Avensis - upper middle aged semi-retired men. My father has one. :)

VW Golf - usually young lads out to impress their peers with the number of red letters on the boot and large RS4 replica alloy wheels.

Audi A3 - usually driven by 20/30 something upwardly mobile single women.

Audi A4 - driven by c0cks who used to drive BMWs as said by Clarkson.

Skoda Octavia - driven by taxi drivers and/or tight gits. :D

Toyota Glaza/Altezza - driven by scobes or chavs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

This thread won't go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

This thread won't go well.

Not for you anyway. You'll either be a hairdresser or a skober. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

BMW - usually 28 - 45 year old guys in shirts
    Audi - Women 35 - 50 usually blonde
    Skoda - Taxi drivers
    VW golf/polo - the new boy racers(usually their first car on parents insurance)
    Honda/Toyota/Mitsubishi - young guys girls in the smaller yaris/jazz/colts usually on an L licenses to men women over 50 in the bigger engined variants
    All SUV's - soccer moms or people that like to take risks because they feel extra safe in their little tanks and have no problem overtaking 3 cars at a time on small country roads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Run down Ford Mondeos,

Unmarked Garda cars.

dar83 wrote: »
    Not for you anyway. You'll either be a hairdresser or a skober. :D

Could have been worse: Vag or alpha driver! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

Here's the breakdown in our house:

M 46 3 series BMW (06)
    F 45 VW up (12)
    F 25 Fiesta (05)
    F 23 Micra (99)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Could have been worse: Vag or alpha driver! :D

What's an alpha? :confused:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Keepon

Decrepit Alfa with '03 reg:

Sexually repressed teacher of French in a badly run secondary school. (Hmmm, maybe I should say German in case the missus reads this...)

bladespin wrote: »
    What's an alpha? :confused:

You know, those things that can't do a single trip without making owner broke!, but they still feel like an "alpha" males :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

You know, those things that can't do a single trip without making owner broke!, but they still feel like an "alpha" males :D

And all scoobies have big wings on the back:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

BMW - usually 28 - 45 year old guys in shirts
    Audi - Women 35 - 50 usually blonde

Maybe in 1985 ?

More of a skanger's car these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 RichieD1982

bazz26 wrote: »
    Generalizations:

Toyota Auris/Avensis - upper middle aged semi-retired men. My father has one. :)

VW Golf - usually young lads out to impress their peers with the number of red letters on the boot and large RS4 replica alloy wheels.

Audi A3 - usually driven by 20/30 something upwardly mobile single women.

Audi A4 - driven by c0cks who used to drive BMWs as said by Clarkson.

Skoda Octavia - driven by taxi drivers and/or tight gits. :D

Toyota Glaza/Altezza - driven by scobes or chavs.

With those above comments, what would you say about someone driving a Hyundai ix35? Interested, as I'm thinking of buying one, I work in sales, will be visiting customers alot, interested to see how you would categorise that one?

Could be a fairly honest middle of the road skin, or maybe trying to be seen as so.

Doing fairly well for himself in this present climate, but therefore maybe charging a bit too much profit margin for his stuff so, and/or could be in debt up to his nuts and still living in denial, and therefore a bit risky.

All that from a car choice, not bad eh ? :)

pred racer wrote: »
    And all scoobies have big wings on the back:D

my scoobie is modified. its lighter! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

realies wrote: »
    Run down Ford Mondeos,

Unmarked Garda cars.

Ever notice the 35 to 45 old guys driving mondeos with fluorescent jackets on
    the back window, secretly pretending there Garda's or DS. well thats how I see them anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

volvo estate 06 onwards, middle classed middle aged women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 RichieD1982

Jellicoe wrote: »
    Could be a fairly honest middle of the road skin, or maybe trying to be seen as so.

Doing fairly well for himself in this present climate, but therefore maybe charging a bit too much profit margin for his stuff so, and/or could be in debt up to his nuts and still living in denial, and therefore a bit risky.

All that from a car choice, not bad eh ? :)

ha ha, hilarious!! Not a bad appraisal though. I was driving a commercial astra, that has died a death. Borrowed my brothers car, which is an audi a6 estate, it's amazing how customers comment straight away when you go out to them, that it's a very fancy car. I'm trying to get something that is comfortable for long drives, and that will fit in as middle ground, the ix35 is the one I feel fits that so far.

.... Ix35 is safe enough for sales, mondeo ish pricewise, no one will bat an eyelid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Peugeot 406: must be a farmer....
    Citroen Xantia: must be a farmer....

dgt wrote: »
    Peugeot 406: must be a farmer....
    Citroen Xantia: must be a farmer....

Ditto Toyota corolla and especially Carina e

ha ha, hilarious!! Not a bad appraisal though. I was driving a commercial astra, that has died a death. Borrowed my brothers car, which is an audi a6 estate, it's amazing how customers comment straight away when you go out to them, that it's a very fancy car. I'm trying to get something that is comfortable for long drives, and that will fit in as middle ground, the ix35 is the one I feel fits that so far.

just giving you the farmer's eye view
    one of the drawbacks of living in rural Ireland is that you vehicle choice will at times be quietly analysed whether you like it or not. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

dar83 wrote: »
    Ditto Toyota corolla and especially Carina e

Avensis 2.0 TD with no glow plugs, covered in muck. That too...
    Jellicoe wrote: »
    just giving you the farmer's eye view
    one of the drawbacks of living in rural Ireland is that you vehicle choice will be analysed whether you like it or not. ;)

I wonder what the neighbours think of us then.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Don't slag off what you can't spell, most Alfa owner's know your type though, never drove one but consider yourself an expert, Skoda/Audi owner perchance???:rolleyes:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

bladespin wrote: »
    Don't slag off what you can't spell, most Alfa owner's know your type though, never drove one but consider yourself an expert, Skoda/Audi owner perchance???:rolleyes:

yup, i did the feck up with spelling and i still managed to get away with it now. As for alphas, the poster i replied to knows that i am taking a piss.
    and you are good at generalisation yourself chap, and yup, i drive an audi diesel quattro and emmm mk4 golf cabrio. best cars ever!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Honda Accord 2.2 iCDTI- driven by thirty-something blokes with a discerning taste in motors!

Runs and takes cover!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

pah wrote: »

I never understood why Africans drove old micras! Always with a Galway or Dublin reg even when you see them up North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Honda Accord 2.2 iCDTI- driven by thirty-something blokes with a discerning taste in motors!

Runs and takes cover!
    could possibly be the next motor, in petrol though:eek: 2.4 i will dread the first fill up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭Jofspring

When seeing a mini cooper first thought is its going to be a good looking young blonde behind the wheel. Any lads i know look straight for the driver seat. Usually disappointed though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Jofspring wrote: »
    When seeing a mini cooper first thought is its going to be a good looking young blonde behind the wheel. Any lads i know look straight for the driver seat. Usually disappointed though.

Everything changed when The Italian job (2003) was released.

Defo more males driving Mini Coopers those days .

Jarren wrote: »
    Everything changed when The Italian job (2003) was released.

Defo more males driving Mini Coopers those days .

hairdressers and the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

jerks in mercs

funny how many you see doing stupid stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

98-01 gold/silver coloured imported people carriers that are completed bashed and dented and has a spare smaller sized fitted wheel from being replaced after a puncture, terrible drivers... will leave it at that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, here goes:

A lot of people seem to think that all beemer and audi drivers are obnoxious, tailgate, beep, flash and generally behave like cocks. I would suggest that this is not entirely true.
    It only applies to the lowest entry-level vehicles in the larger sized saloon class.
    My theory is that although they have finally managed to claw themselves onto the executive saloon ladder, they are still only bottom rung and feel inadequate.
    Therefore all that bravado, bullying and dicking about.
    The (very rare) occasions where I see any of the above with a proper engine, i.e. more than 4 cylinders and more than 2.5 liters, preferably more than 3 liters actually (but that's 99% n/a here unlike Germany) or anything above, they are driven impeccably, because the owner A: doesn't have anything to prove and B: certainly doesn't feel inadequate.
    I wish I could have a comparison between the dreaded X5 and the much more stylish and imaginative X6, but I have so far seen only one X6 in this country and it had a British reg. And was driven impeccably, unlike mom and child crammed X5's on the school run.
    But also part of it could be the fact that flooring it and driving like an arse will cost a small fortune in a 535i.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Alfas- for people with taste and style where superb reliability isn't the deciding factor.

Also 10 year old black golfs with 1.4 sh1tbox engines in them with 7 rugby lads in the back also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭September1

Alfa and Fiat seem to be only two brands that won twice Gay Car of the Year.

I fail to see whats gay about Alfa's tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Jimbob 83 wrote: »

Driving a Subaru I assume?

166man wrote: »
    Alfas- for people with taste and style where superb reliability isn't the deciding factor.

You really do yourself no favours sometimes. :)

Driving a Subaru I assume?

Nop