Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volkswagen- Why the Hate?

• 07-09-2012 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭

I've been browsing around this forum and I've noticed a lot of negative comments about vw's, implying that you just pay for the badge..

May I ask what the consensus is? My first car was a polo, a right of passage, me and my sis both learned in it! Lol.

I recently bought an Up! on the new finance deal they have, which was really competitive, the car was the cheapest in its class and I Got free tax, and if I decide not to pay the lump sum and trade up, which I probably will I'll be with them again for another few years..

In fairness, the vw garage was the only place I went as I had a preconception of them being reliable cars, as we have always had them in our family, but am I missing out? What else would you guys recommend instead? I'm not a car snob at all, I just wouldn't know enough about other makes or models to make an informed decision so I stuck to what I knew.

In the future what other makes would you class as reliable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Skodas :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Personally, I don't think they look nice, apart for the Passat CC. They are over priced both to buy and for parts. The idea that they are ubber reliable is, I find, very funny.

I sell car parts, the most parts we sell for are for VAG, these are also usually the most expensive. I know there are a lot of VAG cars on the road and parts off a Golf will usually fit the Audi A3/A4, Skoda Octavia etc, but we run of reg numbers to get full vehicle details and most of these are fairly new, ie within the last 5 - 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

Personally, I don't think they look nice, apart for the Passat CC. They are over priced both to buy and for parts. The idea that they are ubber reliable is, I find, very funny.

I sell car parts, the most parts we sell for are for VAG, these are also usually the most expensive. I know there are a lot of VAG cars on the road and parts off a Golf will usually fit the Audi A3/A4, Skoda Octavia etc, but we run of reg numbers to get full vehicle details and most of these are fairly new, ie within the last 5 - 6 years.

But do you think it's because there are so many vw s on the road or just that they're unreliable? What do you think are the most reliable cars?

Also, I couldn't care less if they were the automobile version of Susan Boyle in terms of looks.. I just need them to get me places! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I don't think people have an issue with VW as such.

The problem is people falling for the hype and marketing and thinking that they are over engineered or super reliable because they are a VW , or German.

There was a time that German cars where like that...but that time is long gone. These days they are no more reliable then any other make and in fact, depending on the model, less reliable then many.

Even Skoda are benefiting. They are just VW's with different bodies, but they still live off VW's reputation as people buy them so they can have a VW, but cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭amg-slurp

So VW parts are expensive? Give me examples. Toyota/Nissan have some of the most expensive parts out there.

Each manufacturer has some parts that are expensive, where they wouldnt be in another manufacturer. Swings n roundabouts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I've been browsing around this forum and I've noticed a lot of negative comments about vw's, implying that you just pay for the badge..

May I ask what the consensus is? My first car was a polo, a right of passage, me and my sis both learned in it! Lol.

I recently bought an Up! on the new finance deal they have, which was really competitive, the car was the cheapest in its class and I Got free tax, and if I decide not to pay the lump sum and trade up, which I probably will I'll be with them again for another few years..

In fairness, the vw garage was the only place I went as I had a preconception of them being reliable cars, as we have always had them in our family, but am I missing out? What else would you guys recommend instead? I'm not a car snob at all, I just wouldn't know enough about other makes or models to make an informed decision so I stuck to what I knew.

Heh, I'm am the car snob, but probably in other way than most people as I'd prefer FIAT over VW.

Anyway - VW were and are good cars, and loadz of people can appreciate them (or even more than loadz).
    And if there is a huge group of people who like something, there will always appear another group of people who don't like it, and state it's crap, even if in reality it's good.
    That's a normal human behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Theres nothing wrong with vw's I just think there way overpriced, overrated and really you just pay for the badge. Take the passat it's about 30k euro roughly for middle of the road spec. Skoda Octavia 22k euro top spec better car IMO. At least you don't sit in your drive fiddling with the electronic handbrake because it won't release and that comes from a passat owner. Have nothing against passat or any Volkswagen cars at all but just sick to the back teeth of people slagging skoda and thinking Volkswagen are better there not. And I know 100 people will come on and disagree with but I don't car in my opinion volkswagens are completely overrated in Ireland people buy a vw and keep buying them not because there some amazing brand just because Irish people settle and don't like change. They buy volkswagens just in case someone would slag them for owning a skoda there loss not mine.

CiniO wrote: »

Heh, I'm am the car snob, but probably in other way than most people as I'd prefer FIAT over VW.

Anyway - VW were and are good cars, and loadz of people can appreciate them (or even more than loadz).
    And if there is a huge group of people who like something, there will always appear another group of people who don't like it, and state it's crap, even if in reality it's good.
    That's a normal human behaviour.

Yeah, and it's normal human behaviour to stick to what you know but I dont want to be one of those people unless I'm right.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Bpmull wrote: »
    Theres nothing wrong with vw's I just think there way overpriced, overrated and really you just pay for the badge. Take the passat it's about 30k euro roughly for middle of the road spec. Skoda Octavia 22k euro top spec better car IMO. At least you don't sit in your drive fiddling with the electronic handbrake because it won't release and that comes from a passat owner. Have nothing against passat or any Volkswagen cars at all but just sick to the back teeth of people slagging skoda and thinking Volkswagen are better there not. And I know 100 people will come on and disagree with but I don't car in my opinion volkswagens are completely overrated in Ireland people buy a vw and keep buying them not because there some amazing brand just because Irish people settle and don't like change. They buy volkswagens just in case someone would slag them for owning a skoda there loss not mine.

Firstly the Octavia is in the same bracket as the Golf/Jetta. Superb is on the same platform as the Passat.

Secondly.... you know what, I'm staying out of this as I can see where it's headed for already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

Octavia and Passat are two different segments of cars.
    Octavia competes with Golf or Jetta while Passat competes with Superb.

Just saw now that another poster was in before me.

A garda slagged my up when I Got it.. grrr.. but I couldn't care less it runs on sweet FA.

I don't want to buy something for the sake of it.. I do a lot of research on anything before I own it and I'm new to car ownership so I don't feel comfortable not knowing as much as I can about it, ya know? I don't care about badges, I just got a good deal from them, but in the future I'd like to have the time to do way more research into all brands and know which ones to look out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Volkswagen is the number one car brand in Ireland for the month of August and also number 1 car brand year to date. Someone likes them so!

Firstly the Octavia is in the same bracket as the Golf/Jetta. Superb is on the same platform as the Passat.

Secondly.... you know what, I'm staying out of this as I can see where it's headed for already.

Uh oh.. What have I started? Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Killinator

No hate here,
    My owned car list consists of:
    '99 Polo,
    '00 Polo(wanted the face-lift model originally):D
    '05 GTI.

That said base level VW's are probably the one of the most soul-less places you could ever be unfortunate to end up, you'd have more luxury being trapped floating alone in space and feel alot happier about it too!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

People either love or hate VW's it's as simple as that.

Personally I think they're okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Uh oh.. What have I started? Lol.

Check back in 10 pages time :D

Skoda Octavia is definitely golf size alright I'm 6 foot 2 and fit in the back comfortably. Golf fitting the back not a fear of it probably have to remove the front seat. And as for the boot there absolutely no comparison. And the Octavia is still cheaper than a golf. By all means pay extra for your badge but don't expect everyone to worship your vw's as some of us don't care we buy a car by which is the best not by the badge. And park a new model Octavia beside a golf and take a picture because golfs are not the same size size of Jetta is a bit closer but Octavia is still slightly bigger.

Killinator wrote: »
    No hate here,
    My owned car list consists of:
    '99 Polo,
    '00 Polo(wanted the face-lift model originally):D
    '05 GTI.

That said base level VW's are probably the one of the most soul-less places you could ever be unfortunate to end up, you'd have more luxury being trapped floating alone in space and feel alot happier about it too!:D

My first was a 99 polo... I only had It for six months, but my mum had had it for ten years, though it wasnt driven much for a couple of years before i got it. she was rusted and wouldn't pass her next NCT... :( A very emotional day when I handed in the keys to frank Hogans... it was like giving away a part if my childhood ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

And I am the other Fiat fanboy on this forum :D

I had the pleasure of working an a few Polos (all but 1 owned by the same person :)) and they are lovely to work on. So well put together, very easy to access screws and bolts. Honest, simple cheap car :)

Also worked on a few Passats and Golfs too... Different kettle of fish altogether. More upmarket feel to them.

This is the thing to me anyway, VW is a car for the people. Start making them upmarkety and that defeats the purpose, now doesent it?

Also, if they're that great why don't the Gardai use them as squad cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

I drive a Golf mk5 and I love it, it's a diesel, it does 55mpg (5L/100km) with a mix of motorway driving and city driving. It's very reliable and I found that parts are so easy to get for it, the car is sturdy and good quality but it still won't hold up to backing into a bin so that's how I know about parts. The one thing I will say however is that the wiper blades are ridiculous!! the back blade which is like a foot long is €20 - 30 in Halfords... The car does feel solid though and can take a lot of abuse.

dgt wrote: »

And I am the other Fiat fanboy on this forum :D

I had the pleasure of working an a few Polos (all but 1 owned by the same person :)) and they are lovely to work on. So well put together, very easy to access screws and bolts. Honest, simple cheap car :)

Also worked on a few Passats and Golfs too... Different kettle of fish altogether. More upmarket feel to them.

This is the thing to me anyway, VW is a car for the people. Start making them upmarkety and that defeats the purpose, now doesent it?

Also, if they're that great why don't the Gardai use them as squad cars?

Funny I was looking at a fiat 500.. they're pretty cars.. but more expensive and the finance deal wasnt as good..

What are they like do you know? Is their reputation for being unreliable, well... unreliable?

Skoda Octavia is definitely golf size alright I'm 6 foot 2 and fit in the back comfortably. Golf fitting the back not a fear of it probably have to remove the front seat. And as for the boot there absolutely no comparison. And the Octavia is still cheaper than a golf. By all means pay extra for your badge but don't expect everyone to worship your vw's as some of us don't care we buy a car by which is the best not by the badge. And park a new model Octavia beside a golf and take a picture because golfs are not the same size size of Jetta is a bit closer but Octavia is still slightly bigger.

Despite your somewhat questionable criteria in evaluating the size of a car the Octavia is as mentioned based on the Golf, not the Passat. Who do you think you are btw? Hightower ?

Funny I was looking at a fiat 500.. they're pretty cars.. but more expensive and the finance deal wasnt as good..

What are they like do you know? Is their reputation for being unreliable, well... unreliable?

I bet you never considered the likes of the Kia Picanto? Same price as the UP!, much longer warranty, higher spec etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

yer man! wrote: »
    I drive a Golf mk5 and I love it, it's a diesel, it does 55mpg (5L/100km) with a mix of motorway driving and city driving. It's very reliable and I found that parts are so easy to get for it, the car is sturdy and good quality but it still won't hold up to backing into a bin so that's how I know about parts. The one thing I will say however is that the wiper blades are ridiculous!! the back blade which is like a foot long is €20 - 30 in Halfords... The car does feel solid though and can take a lot of abuse.

Go to your local Skoda garage. Rear wiper blade for the Octavia is €7.50 ish inc. VAT.

It was a serious bugbear of mine though (price of the wiper blade/ wiper blades in general). Could only get the rear blade in a dealers, and they were looking for €49 + VAT for it. Granted, that was Celtic Tiger times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

The sense of entitlement even some of the poverty spec examples owners seem to radiate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

yer man! wrote: »

That's your problem right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Finance deal, low tax, VW Up!, FWD, 3 cylinder... as a car enthusiast all these things you list off are just poison, the real question is why would that surprise you, as you clearly dont care for cars at all.
    The fact you actually put in the exclamation mark is actually annoying me too, though I do take some small petty amusement in the fact that despite trying to regurgitate VW Marketing you did it wrong (its spelled "Volkswagen up!", lower case).

But hey you wanted to know this right? :p
    Inadvertent immediate self contradiction alert! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Ok, you say that people either love them or hate them. 2 camps.
    Uh...I'm confused. :pac:

RoverJames wrote: »
    Despite your somewhat questionable criteria in evaluating the size of a car the Octavia is as mentioned based on the Golf, not the Passat.

Look it up Octavias are based on Jetta chassis not golfs. Just completely ignore the boot as that suits your argument. My questionable critera Is relistic and in real Life you sit in cars you don't read dimensions off a page. I wouldn't expect an Octavia to be the same size of these huge passats you go on about as somehow there is 8k euro of extra metal on a passat or is 90 percent of that money just extra for the badge. If the golfs are so good according to you why do taxi drivers buy Octavias over golf o ye because there bigger and taxi drivers just want a good car not a badge or maybe all taxi drivers are wrong in there choice.

I bet you never considered the likes of the Kia Picanto?

Again, I don't know enough about t
    Kias.... That's why I'm on here... But I do know they come with a 7 year warranty, right? I only know vw because they're all I've owned and all my family has ever known.

The main reason why I didn't look elsewhere is because a: I am only paying €250 in interest over my entire finance period and b: in 3 years I will be looking for something a lot different so the option to trade up with a guaranteed trade in value after 3yyears appeals to me.

But in 3 years my driving needs may have totally changed, and from reading on here I want to know if vw are as reliable as I think.

Matt Simis wrote: »

Finance deal, low tax, VW Up!, FWD, 3 cylinder... as a car enthusiast all these things you list off are just poison, the real question is why would that surprise you, as you clearly dont care for cars at all.
    The fact you actually put in the exclamation mark is actually annoying me too, though I do take some small petty amusement in the fact that despite trying to regurgitate VW Marketing you did it wrong (its spelled "Volkswagen up!", lower case).

But hey you wanted to know this right? :p
    Inadvertent immediate self contradiction alert! :D

So apart from my spelling, what advice or info are you giving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Look it up Octavias are based on Jetta chassis not golfs. Just completely ignore the boot as the suits your argument. My questionable critera Is relistic and in real Liffey you sit in cars you don't read dimensions off a page. I wouldn't expect an Octavia to be the same size of these huge passats you go on about as somehow there is 8k euro of extra metal on a passat or is 90 percent of that money just extra for the badge. If the golfs are so good according to you why do taxi drivers buy Octavias over golf o ye because there bigger and taxi drivers just want a good car not a badge or maybe all taxi drivers are wrong in there choice.

Funniest post I have seen all day, my favourite part being the ''o ye...''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Mid 90s to mid 00s is what we mainly dealt with and they were absolute crackers. From the extreme cold weather to motorway munching the ones we had never missed a beat. They weren't completely faultless, no car is. But a great all rounder at a fraction of the price of most competitors. Cars with soul and character :)

Although some VW drivers are so up their own arse they think their cars are invincible :rolleyes:

S
    Look it up Octavias are based on Jetta chassis not golfs. Just completely ignore the boot as the suits your argument. My questionable critera Is relistic and in real Liffey you sit in cars you don't read dimensions off a page. I wouldn't expect an Octavia to be the same size of these huge passats you go on about as somehow there is 8k euro of extra metal on a passat or is 90 percent of that money just extra for the badge. If the golfs are so good according to you why do taxi drivers buy Octavias over golf o ye because there bigger and taxi drivers just want a good car not a badge or maybe all taxi drivers are wrong in there choice.

Look it up? Lol
    So in real life you can't fit in the back of a golf? IIRC you started the stupid Octavia passat comparison. The ole taxi drivers chestnut, class. I never said golfs were so good either, hightower.

Kias.... That's why I'm on here... But I do know they come with a 7 year warranty, right? I only know vw because they're all I've owned and all my family has ever known.

The main reason why I didn't look elsewhere is because a: I am only paying €250 in interest over my entire finance period and b: in 3 years I will be looking for something a lot different so the option to trade up with a guaranteed trade in value after 3yyears appeals to me.

But in 3 years my driving needs may have totally changed, and from reading on here I want to know if vw are as reliable as I think.

So you did exactly what the VW marketing people want you to do. You don't know any more about the Up then you do about the Picanto. The Up has no connection to your previous Polo. So it was the VW badge that attracted you.

I know you got a good finance deal, but did you check to see what deals other brands had?

To be fair the vw finance deal is very good.

The fact you dont get what a horrible, predicable [finance deal] choice you made is infact the point. Do you want to understand the hate or not? Ive actually had 3 VWs, but jesus, I at least tried the interesting fringe stuff.

PS: You mention VW reliability, I dont know your expectation, but they generally come out slightly below average in analysis and surveys. The door's close mighty well though.

Look it up Octavias are based on Jetta chassis not golfs. Just completely ignore the boot as that suits your argument. My questionable critera Is relistic and in real Life you sit in cars you don't read dimensions off a page. I wouldn't expect an Octavia to be the same size of these huge passats you go on about as somehow there is 8k euro of extra metal on a passat or is 90 percent of that money just extra for the badge. If the golfs are so good according to you why do taxi drivers buy Octavias over golf o ye because there bigger and taxi drivers just want a good car not a badge or maybe all taxi drivers are wrong in there choice.

The Jetta and golf chassis are the same, as is the octavia and Seat Leon and a few other variations.

Taxi drivers use octavia's as they are cheaper then a Golf/Jetta.

So you did exactly what the VW marketing people want you to do. You don't know any more about the Up then you do about the Picanto. The Up has no connection to your previous Polo. So it was the VW badge that attracted you.

I know you got a good finance deal, but did you check to see what deals other brands had?

Yes.. I checked Kia, picanto to buy was more expensive, APR was higher, same with the Mazda, and Hyundai...

This time the vw suited me, next time it might not, regardless of badge, and I don't want to be one of those people who sticks with what they know.. I did it this time but only because it genuinely suited me.

colm_mcm wrote: »

I agree, but I think even the OP will admit that it wasn't the finance deal that made him walk into a VW dealer.

Whats wrong with a good finance deal and low tax?

And as a car enthusiastic, FWD is a no no? Whys that? Some the best fun in a car can be had in a FWD. 205 GTi springs to mind!

amg-slurp wrote: »
    Whats wrong with a good finance deal and low tax?

And as a car enthusiastic, FWD is a no no? Whys that? Some the best fun in a car can be had in a FWD. 205 GTi springs to mind!

Yeah, ok, which AMG is FWD? :rolleyes:
    Start separate threads for each of these.

The fact you dont get what a horrible, predicable [finance deal] choice you made is infact the point. Do you want to understand the hate or not? Ive actually had 3 VWs, but jesus, I at least tried the interesting fringe stuff.

Are you saying I should have gotten a different model, or what are you saying?

I don't need something bigger, I need something cheap to run, and insure as I'm a learner, waiting on my test and my insurance only cost me an extra €17 to go from third party on polo to fully comp on up! (Note spelling)..
    That is why I picked it.. I may be predictable, but like a lot of people I don't have money to burn.. And if I don't need anything bigger, I'm not going to buy it.

And by the same logic, in future I'm not going to pay big money for a vw if I can get something cheaper that will do the same.

Yeah, ok, which AMG is FWD? :rolleyes:
    Start separate threads for each of these.

Sorry? What has AMG got to do with this?

Start seperate threads for what exactly?

*insert rolleyes smilie here to feel smug

To be fair if I wanted a tiny car, I'd have an up over an aygo/107/c1,

No way I'd drive a picanto or a Chevy spark.

At 11745, it's cheaper than a base iQ by about 2 grand.

Incidentally I really like the iQ.

If I knew shag all about cars (quite probable) and I saw the cool vw ad, I'd probably buy one. The finance deal would be the icing on the cake

I agree, but I think even the OP will admit that it wasn't the finance deal that made him walk into a VW dealer.

Her, and no it wasn't.. It was actually my bank when I walked in and asked about car finance. Guy wouldn't even entertain me coz I earn under thirty grand.. He told me vw do a better finance deal.. I looked it up and he was right.

RoverJames wrote: »
    S

Look it up? Lol
    So in real life you can't fit in the back of a golf? IIRC you started the stupid Octavia passat comparison. The ole taxi drivers chestnut, class.

I will always be way out numbered by vw fans and that's grand I don't care. This stupid Octavia passat comparison I made if you asked a normal person who couldn't care about brands they wouldn't think it's a stupid comparison as they would see they are roughly the same size I know the passats bigger. And according to you every taxi driver has basically made the wrong choice. You will always get the back up on this thread to make your comments as at the end of the day there is loads of vw fans and I don't have a problem with that. But at the end of the day I didn't say vw's are terrible cars but yet to you Octavias are the worst cars ever. We have two Octavias and they work perfect for us 60mpg everytime. And according to a previous poster who has a golf they do 55mpg. So Octavias are, cheaper to buy, bigger than golfs, more efficient, have a way better spec. But yet because the golf has a vw badge to you it is a way better car well that sounds stupid to me. But to all the vw fans I'm sure it makes perfect sense.

To be fair if I wanted a tiny car, I'd have an up over an aygo/107/c1,

No way I'd drive a picanto or a Chevy spark.

At 11745, it's cheaper than a base iQ by about 2 grand.

Incidentally I really like the iQ.

If I knew shag all about cars (quite probable) and I saw the cool vw ad, I'd probably buy one. The finance deal would be the icing on the cake
    In fairness, I knew shag all about cars, ill admit it.

... I read so many online reviews and comparisons before I went ahead with it..

I'm on here because I don't want to continue to know shag all about cars..

Car insurance, though.. I know loads of things about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I'd say you were chuffed OP to get a free tax disc worth €160 having spent thousands...:P

In fairness, I knew shag all about cars, ill admit it.

... I read so many online reviews and comparisons before I went ahead with it..

I'm on here because I don't want to continue to know shag all about cars..

Car insurance, though.. I know loads of things about that!

As long as you like the car, that's all that matters.