Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Gilroy steps down!

• 05-09-2012 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭

I for one wish Pat all the best and thank him for his efforts with Dublin, reformed the footballers approach and brought us an All-Ireland.

Who's next for the seniors? A certain Dessie Farrell might be a fine replacement what do people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Jason Ryan. It's more than just a coincidence that they stepped down in the same week :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

I for one wish Pat all the best and thank him for his efforts with Dublin, reformed the footballers approach and brought us an All-Ireland.

Who's next for the seniors? A certain Dessie Farrell might be a fine replacement what do people think?

Link??

Don't see anything on RTE or Irish Times or do you have an inside track..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

Gutted to be honest, Gilroy changed Dublin football and got rid of the crap sideshows we had during the 00's which was a big job. Good luck to whatever he does in the future.
    I know it's a bit early to mention replacements but I think Dessie Farrell should be given a go, has done wonders with the Minors for the past few years, 2 All-Ireland final appearances in a row speaks a lot about his management credentials

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Link??

On Off The Ball on Newstalk now :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Link??

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0905/336467-pat-gilroy-resigns-from-dublin-positon/

Gutted! Thanks for the great memories Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Dublin are a better team for Gilroys reign and i'm glad he has something to show for his three years in charge. Not that he's done anything wrong but the time is right for a new man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Link??

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gilroy-steps-down-as-dublin-manager-565856.html

Right decision by Gilroy - has done a huge service to Dublin football, as has his backroom team but it would have been very difficult for him to get the team up for it for one more crack. Nothing much wrong with Dublin football so a new man with fresh ideas could get Dublin over the line next year.. Don't see Jason Ryan getting it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Gutted to be honest, Gilroy changed Dublin football and got rid of the crap sideshows we had during the 00's which was a big job. Good luck to whatever he does in the future.
    I know it's a bit early to mention replacements but I think Dessie Farrell should be given a go, has done wonders with the Minors for the past few years, 2 All-Ireland final appearances in a row speaks a lot about his management credentials

My thinking exactly and there would be no room for ego nonsense under Farrell either, I'd be very confident he would continue the same mentality within the panel that Gilroy implemented.

He played with a few of the senior lads Alan Brogan, Cluxton, Cullen, Cahill etc as a leader to them already and has nurtured the young lads coming through as minor manager. Could be a perfect set up.

Right decision by Gilroy - has done a huge service to Dublin football, as has his backroom team but it would have been very difficult for him to get the team up for it for one more crack. Nothing much wrong with Dublin football so a new man with fresh ideas could get Dublin over the line next year.. Don't see Jason Ryan getting it tbh.

Can't see an outside manager as well, we know the county board are weary of that after Tommy Lyons reign, so I presume Farrell or up and coming club managers in the county will be considered

Jason Ryan. It's more than just a coincidence that they stepped down in the same week :cool:

I don't know, I have alot of respect for Jason Ryan, a solid level headed guy but I don't think he's for this appointment.

Me too but you'd think its Farrells if he wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I was being sarcastic in my post RE. Ryan. Farrell's all the way. Was just ribbing the piss out of my father and friends earlier on that Ryan was going to succeed Gilroy, and that was before Gilroy even announced that he was stepping down. Spooky!

Surely the under 21 manager Gavin would be fairly close to it too?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

More likely than Dessie.

Well done to Pat, deserves the well earned rest to get back to the day job and the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

I'd have Jim Gavin preferably and give Dessie the U21s job

I was being sarcastic in my post RE. Ryan. Farrell's all the way. Was just ribbing the piss out of my father and friends earlier on that Ryan was going to succeed Gilroy, and that was before Gilroy even announced that he was stepping down. Spooky!

Ah I see, well I kept calm with your suggestion despite feeling quite nervous at it ;-) I just wouldn't intentionally disrespect a good man like Jason.

Good shout , he's done a good job as well, think they'd favour Farrell though.

Ah I see, well I kept calm with your suggestion despite feeling quite nervous at it ;-) I just wouldn't intentionally disrespect a good man like Jason.

Could picture the ramblings on the hill if things went wrong, "Feckin Cultie bastard", "Why's a bogger managing us!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Completely agree ,,, two U21 titles in 3 years speaks for itself ... no better man to blend the up and coming fellas into the senior team .. the likes of O'Conghaile, McCaffrey, O'Brien and even Costello from the minors

DoctaDee wrote: »

Completely agree ,,, two U21 titles in 3 years speaks for itself ... no better man to blend the up and coming fellas into the senior team .. the likes of O'Conghaile, McCaffrey, O'Brien and even Costello from the minors

Very true, either way I find it nice and reassuring we have two potential solid candidates there already in the set up at some level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Disappointed but not surprised to hear this. After last year's success he was already considering stepping aside. I'm grateful to him for orchestrating one of my most precious sporting memories - seeing Dublin lift Sam after what seemed like a lifetime of waiting.

I do think though, that it's the right decision for him. I wish him all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Gilroy obviously did a very good job. I could not foresee what followed after he lost to Kerry by 15+ in 2009 and followed it up by conceding 5 goals to Meath in 2010. It was more or less solidly good thereafter.

However, he still very well could have won another All-Ireland with that team. They certainly could have won the 2010 and 2012 semi-finals that they lost. (That's not to say they were the better team on either occasion, before anyone berates me, boards.ie-style).

He also certainly should have won the NFL in 2011. It was all worth though, I suppose, to beat Kerry in an All-Ireland Final. That doesn't happen to Dublin very often and it was an amazing day.

I think Gavin would do a better job because he would know the younger players who he managed at under-21 level. Fit Brogans, and the removal of O'Gara and Connolly from the squad are of vital importance next year I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

copacetic wrote: »
    More likely than Dessie.

Well done to Pat, deserves the well earned rest to get back to the day job and the family.

Agreed, Best of Luck to Pat and thanks for some fantastic memories.
    I think Dessie would be a great choice and is just what Dublin need at the moment.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

It's weird to say it as a Meath man, but he came across as a very likeable guy. I think seeing Dublin win the AI last season (while not exactly my favourite sight) was made easier that he was managing them and not Caffrey (who I really disliked).
    Unlike us, it's not like they're short of good options to replace him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Gilroy stepping down is a huge loss to Dublin!!

County board should beg on all fours for him to stay tbh!!

Good luck to him though!!

Gilroy obviously did a very good job. I could not foresee what followed after he lost to Kerry by 15+ in 2009 and followed it up by conceding 5 goals to Meath in 2010. It was more or less solidly good thereafter.

A lot changed from the Kerry game the previous year (new system, basically 6 new backs etc.) but the opening game of the championship against Wexford Dublin were atrocious. Next game they were slaughtered and the full back line were crucified. It would have been easy for Gilroy to lose his nerve and bring back the old guard but he didn't. He deserves great credit for moulding that team into All Ireland winners, especially when you consider the average age of the 6 defenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 gccbrrr

Link??

On Off The Ball on Newstalk now :cool:
    Also on hill16.ie and gaa.
    Not too shocked but had wished for another year.
    Thanks for the good times anyway pat. LEGEND!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Gilroy came across as pure gent.

Wish him all the best.

Think he did right thing if im honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

This is Jim Gavins job if he wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Wish the man all the best in his future endevours and hope he gets to spend some quality time with his family. He brought Sam home for the first time in my adult life and for that, he shall always be regarded as a personal hero of mine. Sunday 18th of September 2011 shall live long in many a Dub's memory.

PatGilroy.jpg

IrishAm wrote: »
    Wish the man all the best in his future endevours and hope he gets to spend some quality time with his family. He brought Sam home for the first time in my adult life and for that, he shall always be regarded as a personal hero of mine. Sunday 18th of September 2011 shall live long in many a Dub's memory.

PatGilroy.jpg

100% spot on!!!!!

Rochey18 wrote: »
    This is Jim Gavins job if he wants it.

A good Towers man! Is this your opinion or have you heard word through the grapevine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

Both.

The plan for the underage structure was for the managers to stem from the underage system to the senior side.

Resulting in Gavin being the new senior manager and Dessie taking over the U21s.

Got a message tonight that Gavin is number 1 choice. Of course with Dublin anything can happen, just like the appointment of Gilroy.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Both.

The plan for the underage structure was for the managers to stem from the underage system to the senior side.

Resulting in Gavin being the new senior manager and Dessie taking over the U21s.

Got a message tonight that Gavin is number 1 choice. Of course with Dublin anything can happen, just like the appointment of Gilroy.

Sound.

I would be happy with either or.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The man did what no other Dublin manager could do since 1995. So fair play to him.

I wish him all the luck in the future. Go n-éirí an t-adh leis as seo amach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Best of luck to Pat and thank you for the many brilliant memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Fit Brogans, and the removal of O'Gara and Connolly from the squad are of vital importance next year I think.

Personally I would chuck Connolly out of the Squad until he gains some consistency and some of the mindless red cards he has gotten himself . But I would Keep O' Gara he has a certain fear factor about him and seems to be built like a tank so he could be a good impact substitute .

I have to say Pat Gilroy made september 18th 2011 one of the best days in my life as a Dub living in Cavan 6 years now it was finally great to shut all the culchies up that day . They where so sickened to see the Dubs win because to them Kerry had us beaten before a ball was kicked . The best thing he did though for me personally was the fact he put fear back into the Dublin shirt which was sorely lacking .

Thank You for Everything Pat !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Personally I would chuck Connolly out of the Squad until he gains some consistency and some of the mindless red cards he has gotten himself . But I would Keep O' Gara he has a certain fear factor about him and seems to be built like a tank so he could be a good impact substitute .

I have to say Pat Gilroy made september 18th 2011 one of the best days in my life as a Dub living in Cavan 6 years now it was finally great to shut all the culchies up that day . They where so sickened to see the Dubs win because to them Kerry had us beaten before a ball was kicked . The best thing he did though for me personally was the fact he put fear back into the Dublin shirt which was sorely lacking .

Thank You for Everything Pat !!!!!!
    Ah moronic post "culchies"?? Are you serious?? Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭bren2001

Im sad to see the back of Pat. Never got involved in player politics and was never afraid to drop players e.g. Jason Sherlock. Always played what he thought was his best 15 players. Fixed a lot of problem in Dublin football.

I would like to see Deise Farrell given a go. Done very well with the minors although Jim Gavin probably deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Dublinproud

Jim Gavin has to be number one on the list.

Just hope he isn't to busy with work commitments.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

bren2001 wrote: »
    Done very well with the minors although Jim Gavin probably deserves it.

It might of escaped your notice but Jim Gavin has also 'done very well'. He's not getting it on 'deserve' or time put in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Jim Gavin has to be number one on the list.

Just hope he isn't to busy with work commitments.

Thats what I've heard. He is a trained pilot Irish Air Corp, now working with IAA. Not sure his Air Corp qualifications are recognised in the commercial world. Think he may be sitting commercial exams and this may take up his time.

J K wrote: »
    It might of escaped your notice but Jim Gavin has also 'done very well'. He's not getting it on 'deserve' or time put in.

If Jim Gavin gets it it is because he deserves it because of the work he has put in and the results he has got. If he does get it it is on 'deserve'.

I would prefer to see Dessie Farrell. I happen to not like Jim Gavin for my own reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

bren2001 wrote: »
    . I happen to not like Jim Gavin for my own reasons.

That's fair enough. But his track record more than qualifies him for the job.

J K wrote: »
    That's fair enough. But his track record more than qualifies him for the job.

I dont think at one point I have said that if he gets the job that he wasnt getting it on his track record. Its his track record that would make him deserve it. Im sure if he gets it he will do an excellent job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Some rumblings about him before the u21 final if I remember correctly, not exactly the most humble manager to grace the sidelines. The quality of this year's Dublin u21 team speaks for itself.

Personally I would chuck Connolly out of the Squad until he gains some consistency

You would chuck out a player until he becomes consistent? Sure put him on a fish and chip diet until he becomes fit, while you are at it.

Dermos the real deal. A class act. In decades from now he will be remembered as a Dublin great. His time shall come.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

IrishAm wrote: »
    Sure put him on a fish and chip diet until he becomes fit

You think Jack Charlton is the next Dublin Manager?