Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be careful

• 02-09-2012 7:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭

Hey guys just wanted to try warn you to prevent what happened to me yesterday happening to any of you guys.

No matter how obvious it seems that you are in a safe spot dont trust it. Move. Get into a 100% safe spot.

I got hit in the face with a ball from 10 metres yesterday morning from a 5 wood. Stood in a place and was waiting for a guy to hit. Stood there thousands of times and it just seems impossible to get hit. Freak accident.

Hi thoscon cheers for concern in other thread. I guess I jinxed the **** out of myself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

the lawman wrote: »
    Hey guys just wanted to try warn you to prevent what happened to me yesterday happening to any of you guys.

No matter how obvious it seems that you are in a safe spot dont trust it. Move. Get into a 100% safe spot.

I got hit in the face with a ball from 10 metres yesterday morning from a 5 wood. Stood in a place and was waiting for a guy to hit. Stood there thousands of times and it just seems impossible to get hit. Freak accident.

Hi thoscon cheers for concern in other thread. I guess I jinxed the **** out of myself!!

Hope all works out ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

You and your friend are hackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

You and your friend are hackers

You have no clue about the details on what happened and you come in here and spout such ignorant drivel it outstands me.

Seriously why did you bother? Is it to gee me up for my surgery tomorrow? I abhor people like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

u and ur friend sound like hackers

u and ur friends are $%$$%££"$%$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

Don't mind gob****es like him.sorry to hear you have to have surgery hope it goes ok.
    surprised it hasn't happened on the 3rd before seen lots of people standing at their bags when others tee off and have seen loads top the ball straight into water,Austin was telling me the last time this happened the same lad was involved.
    Hope it doesn't keep you off the course for to long

thoscon wrote: »
    Don't mind gob****es like him.sorry to hear you have to have surgery hope it goes ok.
    surprised it hasn't happened on the 3rd before seen lots of people standing at their bags when others tee off and have seen loads top the ball straight into water,Austin was telling me the last time this happened the same lad was involved.
    Hope it doesn't keep you off the course for to long

Cheers thoscon. I was standing right over on the left hand side of the path. Never seen a ball go that left before. He wasn't a friend of mine and I say he feels terrible.

I have some surgery to do on my lip tomorrow and have to fix up some teeth so I'm hoping I'll be smiling soon.

maybe this is not the place - but what are the injuries ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Cheers thoscon. I was standing right over on the left hand side of the path. Never seen a ball go that left before. He wasn't a friend of mine and I say he feels terrible.

I have some surgery to do on my lip tomorrow and have to fix up some teeth so I'm hoping I'll be smiling soon.

Hope you feel better soon the lawman. I know how it feels to get hit by a golf ball but can't imagine how it felt getting hit in the face.

**** it, awful , but the eyes are ok, and the head. Will be grand (please God).

I know you never say it will be grand to someone who is not well.

Not getting into too much detail FDP but a fully lacerated lip and some fractured teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

i got lamped in the head with a ball a few years ago, a freak shot too.
    get well soon.

Not getting into too much detail FDP but a fully lacerated lip and some fractured teeth.

How did they get you off course, walk in, buggy ?

Best of luck , don't feel you need to answer, just good to know for others what to do In Case of Emergency on course.

Great of you to let people know - we all need reminders. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

banned permanently.

How did they get you off course, walk in, buggy ?

Best of luck , don't feel you need to answer, just good to know for others what to do In Case of Emergency on course.

Great of you to let people know - we all need reminders. Thanks.

Walked until 18 fairway and owner came out in buggy to get me. Was in shock so just got up and started walking. Friend brought to the various hospitals I was in!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

That's horrible luck pal, we've all done it though. Get well soon bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Best of luck with your recovery mate. Hope it goes well for you. Sounds awful and fair play coming on here to give a reminder to others. Just not something you expect to happpen.

The wum guy above - wow. Can his posts be deleted or something? Sick in the head doesn't even cover that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

I saw the post last night about what had happened lawman. Hope all is ok and you make a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Sorry to hear that and hope all goes well with recovery Lawman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Sorry to hear that, just awful and I hope you recover soon. Although you're probably smashed up in bits, thank God you were able to get up & walk away from it. I saw someone cop a 5i in the forehead 30yds from where it was struck. Puts the shivers down me everytime I visualise it again. You're right tho, we are all sometimes guilty of being complacent when playing/watching. Better off being somewhere where it's physically imposible for someone in your group to hit you.

Get well soon mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Get well soon, I hope your surgery is successful and you heal fast and you keep your spirits high. You might be on liquids only for a bit so it will be a great excuse to down a few pints! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Sorry to hear that Lawman . I hope your well soon .

I will definitly be more cautious in future of where I'm standing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Get well soon Lawman, best wishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Awful thing to happen, hope it's not too bad and you won't be scarred for life, also for those of us who don't know the hole or course in question can you explain/describe what happened exactly so we can take the correct precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭MrTrebus

get well soon mate,

just from the other side,
    I hit an elderly gentleman in the chest with a ball off a teebox couple of years ago.
    He was standing off the fairway and I pulled my drive.
    It was horrible for me too even though he shouldn't have been standing there.
    Id say the guy that hit you is feeling pretty bad at the minute too !

Anyway, hopefully you'll be okay and back out playing soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

that's crappy luck lawman.
    get better soon and don't pay any attention to the troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Unlucky lawman, that's a fair 'aul whack to take, hope the surgery works out ok.
    Guilty of it myself,standing in safe spots but in hindsight all it takes is a shank or socket and I'd end up unconscious! Gonna take your advice on board now though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Hey Lawman,

Really sorry to hear what happened and wish you a speedy recovery.

To try cheer you up a bit drop me a PM when your back playing and I will organise a free fourball for you and your friends at Moyvalley.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

just reading this now, christ that sounds nasty. Get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Hey hope you get better soon , thats terrible

Wow thanks for all the best wishes guys it really means a lot. Golfers are the best of the best.

Feeling pretty down as I will be scarred nicely for life!! **** it though I walked away from from it and Im still walking.

Had my lip sutured this morning with 10 stitches and I'll see a dental surgeon on Friday. I'll keep you posted but I'll be playing again for sure.

I got my friend to contact the guy who hit me to let him know the crack. Hope he's ok to be honest as he must be feeling pretty awful. I hold no bad will to him and I'll talk to him when I can actually speak properly!!

Thanks TinCup that's very kind of you.

Again thanks golf boardies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

fuuuck just seen this now Tommy, very sorry to hear this, I hope you have a swift recovery, best wishes man

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Hey Lawman, I have a 2 ball voucher for both Esker Hills and Palmerstown and you are more than welcome to join me for a round on either course when ever you feel up to it.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Hey Lawman, I have a 2 ball voucher for both Esker Hills and Palmerstown and you are more than welcome to join me for a round on either course when ever you feel up to it.

Thanks charlie thats very nice of you. I will be away from golf for a bit but I'll give you a shout when back swinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

Shame that had to happen on a golf outing of all things. Get well soon lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Best of luck in your recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

Wow thanks for all the best wishes guys it really means a lot. Golfers are the best of the best.

Feeling pretty down as I will be scarred nicely for life!! **** it though I walked away from from it and Im still walking.

Had my lip sutured this morning with 10 stitches and I'll see a dental surgeon on Friday. I'll keep you posted but I'll be playing again for sure.

I got my friend to contact the guy who hit me to let him know the crack. Hope he's ok to be honest as he must be feeling pretty awful. I hold no bad will to him and I'll talk to him when I can actually speak properly!!

Thanks TinCup that's very kind of you.

Again thanks golf boardies.

that's the right way to look it ,it cud have been much much worse ,hopefully it won't be to long before your back burning up rathcore :-)
    I know nothing about the golf insurance but will it kick in now and help with the medical expenses ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭acejeff

Very sorry to hear about your accident lawman, horrible thing to happen, very glad to hear that it wasn't the eye or side of the head (when someone mentioned it on here yesterday you fear the worst). Wishing you a speedy recovery so that you'll be back out on the course soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

Hi Lawman.. Hope you recover soon and return to the golfing community . I came very close to hitting a playing partner from a long way out recently at the Captains Prize in Ballykisteen but thank God it missed him. The fellow who hit you must be devestated.

Best wishes for a speedy recovery

Dak

thoscon wrote: »
    that's the right way to look it ,it cud have been much much worse ,hopefully it won't be to long before your back burning up rathcore :-)
    I know nothing about the golf insurance but will it kick in now and help with the medical expenses ?

My brother has been onto Brenda in Core and the golfsure insurance guys have been on too. The medical bills are not too bad and will be covered easily as I had my surgery in James's. The dental bills will be high so thats where I'll need their help. There is a limit though so I hope to be sorted within that amount.

Friday with the dental experts will shed some light on the next steps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Sorry to hear this and it's very easy to happen. A golf ball (or club) can do serious damage. I always ensure that people are behind the ball and in a safe place before I hit but there's always the one time in a year that something weird happens (like hitting a tree and coming back).

I did hit somebody in the mouth once and I know what damage it does. I had hit a bad shot and then took a practice swing after hitting the ball - he assumed that I had finished and walked right into the club.

Anyway, hope the damage heals quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭liverbear

Sorry to hear your news lawman best of luck with the recovery. Hard to think of positives but thank god you didnt get it a few inches higher on the temple or somewhere that could have been fatal. Wishing you a speedy recovery and hope you can get back swinging soon. I also hope it doesnt effect your personal life too much or ability to make an income. good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

Really sorry to hear what happened and all the best for a speedy recovery.

Apologies if you are not in the humour to talk about it - but how and where did it happen on the course?

Having played Rathcore several times - I am just curious to know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Really sorry to hear the bad news. I know the pain of smashed teeth from a (non-golf related) accident in my youth & its not fun!

Hope everything goes well with the repair work & recovery.

Something like that really does make you remember the damage that can be done on a golf course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Really sorry to hear what happened and all the best for a speedy recovery.

Apologies if you are not in the humour to talk about it - but how and where did it happen on the course?

Having played Rathcore several times - I am just curious to know..

Judging by lawmans description earlier it was the 3rd hole where the tee is elevated and theres a few bushes lads would normally stand behind to keep out of the way. 3rd is sharp dog-leg left with the ferns up on your left & lake in front of tee. Best of luck with your recovery lawman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

All the best lawnman, hopefully you make a full, quick speedy recovery and are back out enjoying your golf soon.

Best of luck on Friday at the dentist!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Judging by lawmans description earlier it was the 3rd hole where the tee is elevated and theres a few bushes lads would normally stand behind to keep out of the way. 3rd is sharp dog-leg left with the ferns up on your left & lake in front of tee. Best of luck with your recovery lawman.

Yeah it was the 3rd hole alright. I'll try my best to describe the event as best I can:

I hit a 6 iron first safely onto the corner of the dogleg. A friend did the same. My other friend hit into the big shrubs on left and the guy who hit me went into the water. I went down to the bags to throw my friend up a ball. I stayed on the left of the path closer to the 5th green than the water. I have done this many times and I felt safe enough. My friend re-hit and he was safely on the fairway. The other guy was getting ready and I felt a little more nervous so I moved back more towards the 5th green by 2 metres. He caught a 5 wood really well but on the wrong line. Low, hard and left. All day in the hospital I just kept thinking that that 2 metres has cost me so much.

Just a freak accident that I hope never happens to anyone on here or anywhere else for that matter.

Thanks for all the kind words everyone. Coming into this thread the last few days has helped me a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭taylorconor95

I know how you feel. I was out practicing one day a few years ago when I was about 15. The practice ground is out of bounds on the course, and anyone who drives anywhere near it is supposed to shout fore.

Anyway I got hit in the face and was lying on the ground with a small pool of blood forming when the guy who hit me came up and said sorry. He gave me his ball (a top flite for gods sake) and then continued playing!! Good thing the club pro was there to call an ambulance because the guy who hit me coulnt have given a $;$.

Hope you get well soon though, its a pretty nasty experience

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Get well soon lawman.

To add to many of the good will gestures we'd love to have you at a boards outing in the future as our guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

I know how you feel. I was out practicing one day a few years ago when I was about 15. The practice ground is out of bounds on the course, and anyone who drives anywhere near it is supposed to shout fore.

Anyway I got hit in the face and was lying on the ground with a small pool of blood forming when the guy who hit me came up and said sorry. He gave me his ball (a top flite for gods sake) and then continued playing!! Good thing the club pro was there to call an ambulance because the guy who hit me coulnt have given a $;$.

Hope you get well soon though, its a pretty nasty experience

Jesus what a d&*khead !!
    You should have pursued that one
    To not call fore and then to act like that afterwards - bloody hell !! :eek:

@lawman - best of luck in recovery and thanks for posting this here. It will make me think again about where I stand and I'm sure will do same for others